Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017

Released 7/2017, High Top, 
Add to Favourites
9.0
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
9.0
USER RATING
1 ratings
Comfortable Boost cushioning, premium materials and great traction

Best Suitable For:

Works for players of all positions

Price Comparison:

Available at 0 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
No shops found

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.6
Cushion
9.3
Materials
8.7
Support
9.0
Fit
9.3
Outdoor
8%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
55 likes
Footwear White / Footwear White / Core Black
Footwear White / Footwear White / Core Black
No stores found
28 likes
Grey / Grey
Grey / Grey
No stores found
26 likes
Light Grey/Solar Yellow
Light Grey/Solar Yellow
No stores found
29 likes
Black/Footwear White/Scarlet
Black/Footwear White/Scarlet
No stores found
27 likes
Trace Khaki
Trace Khaki
No stores found
42 likes
Capital Blue / Running White / Dark Navy
Capital Blue / Running White / Dark Navy
No stores found
53 likes
Equipment Yellow / Core Black / Bold Gold
Equipment Yellow / Core Black / Bold Gold
No stores found

Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017 Review

Pros:
Excellent cushioning
Sock-like fit
Cons:
Upper is a little stiff in the beginning

Performance of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Succeeding the very successful and much beloved 2016 model is a difficult task, but the Crazy Explosive 2017 pulls it off! Reviewers love everything from the excellent (but slightly firmer) cushioning, to the premium materials, great fit and excellent support. The only slight negative is the stiffer upper that takes a while to break in but then becomes really comfortable. One of the best-reviewed shoes in 2017 so far!
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Rating: 9.0 (ranks #10 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
January 1, 2017
Crazy good performance, looks dope, premium materials. Overall, an amazing shoe, get it!
 More details
The adidas Crazy Explosive 2017 Primeknit is a great shoe! I love this thing like crazy and it is by far my favorite hoop shoe of 2017 so far. It’s number one in my rotation and I’m pretty sure it will be in many of yours as well.
 More details
9.2
Improved fit and killer cushioning should put the Crazy Explosive 2017 PK on everyone’s radar this year if you play basketball. Grab this shoe if you need traction for indoor courts, #Boostislife cushioning, a locked-in fit, and quick support.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
Great shoe! If you can - get the solid rubber version as it offers slightly improved traction.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
I am really happy with the Crazy Explosive 2017. Crazy comfortable, great cushioning and traction.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Feels like playing in a sock with good traction and Boost cushioning!
 More details
8.8
January 1, 2017
I think most players will enjoy the Crazy Explosive 2017 because it does everything well if not great and really gives the player an excellent one to one fit with a low to ground yet well cushioned ride.
 More details
8.5
I prefer the 2016 version over the Crazy Explosive 2017. The traction is identical, cushioning is a lot firmer and less plush, lockdown and support are a little better and the materials are a lot stiffer and less comfortable. Overall, still a very solid shoe.
 More details

User Reviews of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

User Rating: 9.0 (ranks #48 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 20, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.6 (ranks #96 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #88 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 1, 2017
Traction is really good!
 More details
Traction is phenomenal on clean as well as dusty courts.
 More details
9.0
On clean, indoor courts, enjoy. Seriously, for that surface, this is one of the top patterns, perhaps ever.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The solid rubber works really well and picks up less dust than the translucent version.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
The traction gets the job done. I didn't have to wipe a lot, even on dustier courts.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
I didn't have any problems with the traction, performs really well.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Works great on clean floors but requires a fair amount of wiping on dusty floors.
 More details
8.0
The traction is not the best compared to other shoes, but it is still solid. Excellent on clean courts, but on dusty courts you will need to wipe a lot.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #30 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #72 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
January 1, 2017
Caged full-length boost is really plush. Overall an amazing setup, maybe the best available.
 More details
The cushion is beast-mode. I love it!
 More details
9.0
2017 PK is quicker on-foot and on-court than the 2016 with the same great impact protection and energy return.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
You can't go wrong with full-length boost.
 More details
10.0
December 27, 2017
Boost is just incredible. Comfortable, super responsive and great court feel - how is that even possible?
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Boost Cushioning is really nice!
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The set up feels ever so slightly firmer than last year’s which is great for me
 More details
8.0
Boost feels really stiff compared to the last years model.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #58 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #50 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 1, 2017
Forged Primeknit is a little stiff in the beginning but gets really soft after breaking in. Materials are great and super premium, but a little too stiff for my liking.
 More details
I preferred the materials of the previous Crazy Explosive model, but overall, I still love this setup.
 More details
9.0
The knit is flexible and form-fitting and doesn’t stretch too much while playing, which is great.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
PrimeKnit upper is very comfortable and looks great.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Forged PrimeKnit is thicker and provides more support than last years thinner PrimeKnit.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Doesn't feel as soft or flexible as last years. No issues here for me but it takes a few runs to get the upper to break in.
 More details
8.0
Forged PrimeKnit is a lot more stiff and solid compared to the 2016 version.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #43 of 205)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #65 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
January 1, 2017
No heel slippage, very good lockdown and support.
 More details
Support was great.
 More details
9.0
The wide forefoot keeps you upright on lateral moves. The cage on the lateral side keeps the foot contained over the footbed, and the stiffer knit holds true on push-offs and plants.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
Big heel counter, no side-to-side movement and lateral outrigger that provides additional stability.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
Even though the PrimeKnit is backed by TPU, the upper is not as supportive as I'd like it to be.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Stability is once again excellent on the Crazy Explosive thanks a large flat outsole, low ride and infinity shank.
 More details
9.0
Support and lockdown is really good.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Fit Rating: 9.3 (ranks #5 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #60 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 1, 2017
The snug fit is really, really nice.
 More details
This year we now have five eyelets and everything from the forefoot to heel was contained nicely so I had no issues.
 More details
10.0
Perfect. Nothing else should be said!
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The 1:1 fit of the one piece bootie is super nice.
 More details
10.0
December 27, 2017
The fit is super comfortable because of the soft PrimeKnit upper. One of the most comfortable shoes I ever played in!
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
The fit on the CE 17 is fantastic and really gives a one to one sock like feel.
 More details
8.0
Fit is really comfortable except in one location. The TPU outrigger on the lateral side caused a lot of pain in my pinkie toe.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

User Durability Rating: 9.0 (ranks #57 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 8.3 (ranks #159 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #114 of 205)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
5
no
January 1, 2017
Durability might be better compared to last year, but I still don't think it will be good outdoors.
 More details
I do not recommend hooping outdoors in these.
 More details
If you need a long-term, durable outdoor shoe, the Explosive may not be for you.
 More details
fair
December 27, 2017
I think the solid rubber will hold up outdoors.
 More details
no
January 1, 2017
The Crazy Explosive is still prone to peeling and wear so not really recommended for outdoor use.
 More details
To all my outdoor hoopers: I wouldn't recommend this shoe.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
1
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly wide
Wide footer friendly
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Slightly narrow, but not very narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Wide footers should go up half a size maybe even a full size because these run tight.
 More details
slightly narrow
Slightly narrow in the forefoot.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Crazy Explosive PrimeKnit 2017:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
5
slightly long
1
very long
0
½ size large
January 1, 2017
Go down half a size.
 More details
true to size
Fits true to size.
 More details
true to size
Unless you have a really wide foot, stay true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
This is one Adidas shoe that fits true to size
 More details
½ size small
January 1, 2017
Wide footers should go up half a size maybe even a full size because these run tight.
 More details
true to size
Runs true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: