Search Shoe

Li-Ning Way of Wade 8 Review

9.3
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$225
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
1/2020
Ranking:
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.7
Materials
9.0
Support
9.7
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
100%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

17 likes
"First Born"
"First Born"
from StockX
$148.00
9 likes
Team "No Sleep"
Team "No Sleep"
No stores found
9 likes
Pearl White
Pearl White
No stores found

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Incredible stability and lockdown
Plush and responsive cushioning
Cons:
Kind of heavy
Requires some break in

Performance of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The traction on the Way of Wade 8 was much improved from previous models and was great on every type of floor. The cushion setup was very comfortable, but also responsive and reviewers loved the BOOM cushion. The materials feature a mostly Cordura upper that is very durable and rigid. They conform to the foot very well. The fit was also good and required some breaking in initially. The lacing system and toe strap create really good lockdown. The support was the highlight of the shoe and lateral containment and stability were great. They have solid ankle support as well. Overall, the Way of Wade 8 is a great all around shoe with very few weaknesses. They come at a high price, but bring awesome craftsmanship.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The 9.3 average overall rating ranks #1 of 138 shoes overall
9.2
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
Overall, I fully enjoyed playing in this shoe and it will definitely be in my rotation. It is a very responsive shoe with great traction, cushion, and stability to back it up. The craftsmanship of the Way of Wade 8 is incredible.
Watch the video
9.5
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
Overall the Way of Wade 8 was fire! These are just a great hoop shoe and the traction was finally superb. These are a double thumbs up.
Watch the video
9.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
Overall, the Way of Wade 8 surprised me and was a great shoe to play in. They are definitely expensive, but I feel like I got what I paid for in the materials and Carbon Fiber. If these sound interesting to you, I'd recommend trying them out and you might be pleasantly surprised.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #32 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
The traction performed incredibly well on a clean court and these have a really nice squeak. The WOW 8 didn't perform that well on dust for me and wasn't too easy to wipe. Overall, traction was incredible just watch out if you're playing on dust.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
The one thing I was most excited about on the Way of Wade 8 was the traction. It was fire! No issues at all and I think they killed it with this traction. It didn't matter if it was a clean or dirty court, it just worked. These are A1.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
I played in the Way of Wade 8 on several types of floors and was pleasantly surprised each time! Previous models have had issues with traction, but these did a great job on the hardwood. I only had issues when I stepped in some sweat which is expected.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The 9.7 average cushion rating ranks #5 of 138 shoes overall
10.0
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
They are using full-length BOOM cushioning here which has to be one of my favorite cushion technologies. It looks pretty similar to Boost, but this feels lighter and more comfortable. It is plush, soft, and a really nice bounce to it. There is also good impact protection and court feel. It had everything I wanted in a cushion setup and is incredible.
Watch the video
10.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
This cushion setup is called BOOM and it performed exactly how it sounds! These are more responsive and slightly less plush than the Way of Wade 6. It feels great on foot and provides a soft and responsive setup.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
These use BOOM cushion which is similar to Boost without being as soft. This cushion setup is great at absorbing impact similar to Nike Zoom Air which really impressed me. Outdoors they shined where the blacktop was very unforgiving and definitely held their own.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #16 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
In the forefoot and most of the upper they are using a Cordura fabric which is known for its durability. It has a rugged, durable feel without being thick. It feels soft and supportive which conforms to your foot well. I was slightly disappointed they couldn't use the Boa lacing system here, but the traditional laces work well.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
The upper was a super durable mesh which this is probably the nicest mesh I've seen on a shoe. It is durable and supportive, so I think that these will last you for a full season. They take a little bit of time to break in which I didn't have an issue with. Overall I think these materials are dope.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
The main material used here is Cordura's Nylon with some TPU fuse panels for added durability. The material didn't stretch much which overall made these a great build for basketball style moves. There was nice flexibility, but with strong support to back it up.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The 9.7 average support rating ranks #1 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
The lateral containment was incredible and I had no doubts about it. The plastic coming up the side with the foam and the strap really lock you in. The lateral stability is great too with an outrigger and a wide base. There is good ankle support too because the materials around the area are very rigid. One thing I didn't like is how high the ankle piece comes up on the back.
Watch the video
10.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
How can I put this... EXCEL-EN-TE! Looking at the support on these I can't complain about anything. The heel cup was made after a race car seat and I just felt locked in the whole time. The strap on these is also functional and works great.
Watch the video
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
The support on these is Hall of Fame level. They were very supportive without being too restrictive. Using EVA and TPU caging helps a lot with lateral cuts and changing direction. These also feature a Carbon Fiber shank which wasn't too much for me and broke in well.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #13 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
The fit in the forefoot area was a little snug at first but broke in well. One issue I had was a piece of the foam was rubbing the side of my foot, but I was able to loosen the laces and it fixed the issue. The strap on the front tightens your forefoot very well. Overall the fit was great after breaking in.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
The lockdown here is great and very secure all the way around. I liked the traditional lacing system here as opposed to the Boa-style lacing which I find just adds unnecessary weight.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100% average outdoor rating ranks #7 of 138 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
These should be okay for outdoor use. The outsole material is pretty hard and thick.
Watch the video
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
These were great outdoors even on a dirty court in the winter. The outsole held up well and the wear looked similar to what it would look like after playing on an indoor court.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

regularly wide
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
Wide footers can probably go true to size, just be prepared to be a little snug.
Watch the video

Size of the Li-Ning Way of Wade 8:

½ size large
The Sole Brothers
March 18, 2020
These run a little long and I'd recommend going down half a size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
February 29, 2020
If you have a narrow foot I'd say go down half a size. I did and it fits me perfectly.
Watch the video
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 18, 2020
I'd recommend going down half a size because these fit a bit long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
White / Metallic Gold / Black
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
White / Metallic Gold / Black
46 likes
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Nike Zoom Freak 2
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
38 likes
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
32 likes
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
Adidas D.O.N Issue #2
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
28 likes
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
Nike Renew Elevate
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
26 likes
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
24 likes