Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Air Jordan 36

Released 9/2021, High Top, Michael Jordan, 
Add to Favourites
9.1
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
9.3
USER RATING
32 ratings
The latest Air Jordan mainline signature model is, once again, a top-performing shoe.

Best Suitable For:

Great for players that are looking for a top-tier performance basketball shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $184.99
Eastbay
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.4
Materials
9.0
Support
9.1
Fit
8.9
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
115 likes
Black / White / Bright Mango / Hyper Violet
Black / White / Bright Mango / Hyper Violet
in 5 shops
$169.99
$185
112 likes
White / Black / Psychic Energy
White / Black / Psychic Energy
from DICK's
$184.99
97 likes
"Year Of The Tiger"
"Year Of The Tiger"
in 5 shops
$185.00
102 likes
Black / Infrared 23
Black / Infrared 23
in 7 shops
$185.00
35 likes
Green / Gold
Green / Gold
in 3 shops
$185.00
124 likes
White / Metallic / Gold
White / Metallic / Gold
from StockX
$200.00
87 likes
Blue Jay / White / Mardi Gras
Blue Jay / White / Mardi Gras
from StockX
$205.00
64 likes
White / Blue Void / Photo Blue / University Red
White / Blue Void / Photo Blue / University Red
from StockX
$225.00
77 likes
University Red / Black / Running White
University Red / Black / Running White
from StockX
$247.00
63 likes
University Red / Gold / Running White
University Red / Gold / Running White
from StockX
$252.00

Air Jordan 36 Review

Pros:
Absolutely no issues at all with the traction
Cushion feels amazing
Cons:
The outsole can be a tiny bit unsteady
They fit narrow and snug

Performance of the Air Jordan 36:

The Air Jordan 36 continues the recent trend from Jordan brand and picks up right where the last two models left off. The traction is phenomenal. It performs well on both clean and dusty courts. All reviewers agree that the cushioning used in the 36 performs amazingly, but they also agree that the Air unit protruding from the outsole is unnecessary. The fit is snug and narrow, so if that's not your cup of tea, consider sizing up. Materials are slimmed way down this year. They make the shoe lightweight without sacrificing much in terms of comfort and durability. The surprisingly strong upper and the outsole materials wrapping upward towards the midsole make the support in this shoe solid. Being the latest signature shoe in the lineup, the Air Jordan 36 delivers and is yet another high-quality performance basketball shoe.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Rating: 9.1 (ranks #2 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
January 22, 2022
Overall, the Jordan 36 might be my favourite basketball shoe to play in right now. The traction is one of the best on the market and responsive cushioning.
 More details
9.3
Sunday at 08:43 AM
The Jordan 36 is a fantastic overall shoe. It offers traction, support, and cushioning. I don't think you can go wrong, especially considering the materials.
 More details
9.2
September 13, 2021
The Jordan 36 is one of my favourite shoes to play in right now. They're lightweight, they have a nice bite, and I love the cushion setup.
 More details
9.1
The latest entry in the Air Jordan line is a strong performer, just like the previous two models. The full-length Zoom Air Strobel is amazing. The traction is outstanding. Materials are durable. There really aren't any downsides to this shoe.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
Jordan brand continues to deliver with the 36. The traction is consistent. There's plenty of impact protection, and the materials make it incredibly lightweight. It's a strong performer overall.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
Compared to many other releases this year, the Jordan 36 is a stand-out shoe. The shoe gives you a lot of push-off power and performance. The only downside is that the comfort doesn't keep up with the excellent performance.
 More details
9.0
April 15, 2022
The Air Jordan 36 is a great performer. It's fun and bouncy, and I can't get enough of the cushion setup.
 More details
8.5
November 3, 2021
Overall, the Jordan 36 is a great shoe for big men and forwards. It provides impact protection, and there really aren't any major issues with the traction.
 More details

User Reviews of the Air Jordan 36:

User Rating: 9.3 (ranks #11 of 205)
10 - Amazing
13
9 - Great
16
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.3
January 31, 2022
The bounciest feeling ZoomAir forefoot I have ever experienced! Shoe is super light weight, cushioning is responsive yet offers good impact absorption. Went true-to-size, the last is very tight in the toebox, but runs long lengthwise. I have about 5mm of dead space in front my big toe. The fit improves after few hours, making the shoe feel roomier and softer. Grip is nice. Only 2 small issues I have noticed so far - there is bit of heel slippage and also shoe makes squeaking noises at forefoot.
 More details
10.0
January 11, 2022
Although the width of this shoe is slightly narrow, the Air Jordan 36 is everything I want in a basketball shoe and in an Air Jordan, no less! A sleek, formfitting, super light upper from the lenoweave with awesome breathability and a minimalistic approach. Followed by a zoom strobel/unlocked forefoot zoom air combo that gives a hell of a bounce. Tried and true traction that grips pretty well. Finally, exceptional lockdown and support that keeps your foot locked in! Gonna get another pair!
 More details
9.0
May 14, 2022
I truly love the Jordan 36! The traction was top tier, about like the KD 14. The cushion is incredible, but the extra zoom unit did feel slightly unnecessary. The materials are super light and breathable while also staying supportive. The support was good. Overall these are a top performer that will accommodate almost any position and style of play. My only complaint was the ankle collar that needed breaking in.
 More details
9.5
February 5, 2022
Has really good traction, however it picks up dust often, but it's just 1 or 2 wipes, and it's just like the original. I have wider feet and I had to break it up until it was really comfortable. The cushion is superior, manages to absorb the impact REALLY good. It's NOT Made for outdoor basketball! It has this dental floss material which is see through and also ventilates really good.
 More details
9.0
January 31, 2022
I have to say the Jordan 36 is an upgrade over the Jordan 35 and 34. Great traction with some good impact protection which at the same time gives u that responsive feeling. Materials are very lightweight. Only downside for me is the fit, but hey, if I take a half size up it could fix the snug fit issues. Overall, I have to say Jordan 36 is one of top perfomers in 2021.
 More details

Traction of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #45 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.4 (ranks #30 of 205)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
20
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 22, 2022
The herringbone pattern on the Jordan 36 offers fantastic traction on basically every court, clean or dirty.
 More details
9.0
Sunday at 08:43 AM
The traction collects quite a bit of dust, but it is very tacky. Not a lot of gripes when it comes to traction.
 More details
10.0
September 13, 2021
On clean courts, the traction has a phenomenal bite. It picks up dust on dirtier courts, but it still performs well regardless.
 More details
9.5
The Air Jordan 36 has amazing traction. They perform fantastic on all types of courts and dirt was not a problem.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The traction works well and makes me feel quick on my feet.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The traction works well in combination with the materials and the cushioning to keep you secure when moving on the court.
 More details
9.0
April 15, 2022
The herringbone traction performed really well. You'll have no problems making shifty movements and stopping on a dime. It even performed well on mildly dusty courts.
 More details
7.8
November 3, 2021
The full-length herringbone traction performs well overall. However, it can bit a bit inconsistent. For the most part, when playing I didn't notice any issues with the traction.
 More details

Cushion of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.4 (ranks #19 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.5 (ranks #16 of 205)
10 - Amazing
27
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
9.5
January 22, 2022
The cushioning is incredible. The double-stacked Zoom Air in the forefoot feels amazing.
 More details
9.5
Sunday at 08:43 AM
The cushion is lightweight and springy. I absolutely love the Zoom Strobel and the insole as well.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The cushioning setup uses a full-length Zoom Strobel feels bouncy. It also offers a decent amount of compression and impact protection.
 More details
9.0
I love the cushion, but I consider them to be a step back compared to the last two models.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The full-length Zoom Air Strobel is an improvement on last year's model. It feels like a combination of the cushion on both the 34 and the 35. These feel springy and bouncy.
 More details
10.0
January 22, 2022
The cushion setup provides a wicked energy storage and release mechanism.
 More details
10.0
April 15, 2022
The full-length Zoom Strobel unit is amazing. Fans of Zoom will love the cushion in this shoe.
 More details
9.3
November 3, 2021
The cushioning is the best feature that this shoe has to offer. You feel bouncy and it can really be felt underfoot, especially in the forefoot.
 More details

Materials of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #12 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 9.2 (ranks #22 of 205)
10 - Amazing
16
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
10.0
January 22, 2022
The weave used for the upper is a lot stronger than it looks. There are no issues with durability, and it's very light.
 More details
10.0
Sunday at 08:43 AM
The shoe has fantastic breathability. It's also solid in terms of durability. I love the materials.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The materials are paper-thin but feel durable. It's both minimal and comfortable.
 More details
9.0
The materials are strong, lightweight, and well-ventilated.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
I like how lightweight they feel on foot. Breathability is also not going to be a problem.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
Jordan Brand uses a Leno weave upper that offers tons of lockdown. It also has a strong durability profile.
 More details
8.0
April 15, 2022
Materials on the shoe don't feel premium, but it's supportive and light. The shoe is comfortable on foot when playing.
 More details

Support of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Support Rating: 9.1 (ranks #8 of 205)
User Support Rating: 9.1 (ranks #32 of 205)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
17
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 22, 2022
The more minimal Eclipse plate used on the 36 offers excellent torsional rigidity. The heel counter also helps make this one of the most supportive shoes available.
 More details
9.5
Sunday at 08:43 AM
The strength of the materials helps to keep you locked in. It helps to provide fantastic lateral containment.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
For lateral containment, your foot is not moving off the footbed at all. There were also no issues with stability and support.
 More details
9.0
Lockdown is surprisingly good. Overall, the support is good from the midsole up. The only potential issue is the protruding shape of the air unit on the outsole.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
Lateral support and lockdown are good. I had no issues when making any movements in this shoe.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
This shoe isn't the most flexible, but it offers plenty of stability. The protrusion of the Zoom unit in the forefoot also makes the shoe slightly unsteady.
 More details
10.0
April 15, 2022
I had absolutely zero issues with the support on this shoe. There's no heel slippage or side-to-side movement on the footbed.
 More details
8.5
November 3, 2021
I had no heel slippage, and containment was solid. The materials do a decent job of securing your feet. One thing to consider is that every now and then I would feel a bit wobbly on certain cuts and movements.
 More details

Fit of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.9 (ranks #38 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #66 of 205)
10 - Amazing
13
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.5
January 22, 2022
The shoe fits me very snug right out of the box. It took me about 30-40 minutes to break them in. I think that they are as close as possible to a one-to-one fit.
 More details
8.5
Sunday at 08:43 AM
The length of the shoe is true to size, but with the width being narrow, I had to use thinner socks. Other than that, I had no issues.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
It fits snug, which is what I like.
 More details
9.0
They fit true to size but do feel a bit tight and narrow overall.
 More details
9.0
September 13, 2021
The upper is flexible and moulds to your feet.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The materials used on this shoe make it so that the shoe is stable and secure once you lock in your lacing.
 More details
8.0
April 15, 2022
I felt pretty good in this shoe. There was some snugness in the pinky toe area, but it didn't hinder my performance.
 More details

Durability of the Air Jordan 36:

User Durability Rating: 8.5 (ranks #94 of 205)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Air Jordan 36:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #119 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 26.2 (ranks #132 of 205)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
10
Bad (0%)
15
no
Sunday at 08:43 AM
I would not take these outdoors. The rubber compound is really soft.
 More details
fair
September 13, 2021
I didn't play outdoors in these, but the rubber feels like it could perform alright outdoors.
 More details
Definitely not made for outdoors. They started to fray after limited wear.
 More details
fair
September 13, 2021
They performed better than expected for me when playing outdoors.
 More details
fair
January 22, 2022
The compound used on the shoe is tough, but it doesn't have much depth.
 More details
no
November 3, 2021
The pattern is thin and pliable.
 More details

Width of the Air Jordan 36:

very narrow
6
slightly narrow
22
regular
11
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
If you're a wide-footer, I would say go up at least half a size.
 More details
very narrow
Sunday at 08:43 AM
This shoe is super narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 13, 2021
They're narrow and tight in the toe box.
 More details
slightly narrow
They feel narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 13, 2021
They fit narrowly around the pinky toe area.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
April 15, 2022
It fits a little narrow in the forefoot area. You might want to go up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 3, 2021
Around the midfoot, around the eclipse plate, the shoe fits narrow.
 More details

Size of the Air Jordan 36:

very small
1
slightly small
8
true to size
28
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
January 22, 2022
I would say that the shoe fits true to size.
 More details
true to size
Sunday at 08:43 AM
I would recommend going up half a size because of the width.
 More details
½ size small
September 13, 2021
If you don't like a tight fit, I would suggest going up half a size. If you have a wide foot, you might want to consider going up a full size. Try them on in-store when possible.
 More details
true to size
I went true to size, but I also enjoy a tight and narrow fit.
 More details
true to size
September 13, 2021
They fit snug out of the box, but they loosen up after some time.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
Going true to size works well if you have a narrow to normal-shaped foot.
 More details
true to size
April 15, 2022
I would say that the Jordan 36 does run true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: