Puma MB.02

Released 10/2022, Mid Top, LaMelo Ball, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
9 reviews
8.7
USER RATING
68 ratings
The Puma MB.02 is an upgrade in almost every way, especially the support.

Best Suitable For:

Players who rely on footwork and enjoy extra impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $129.99
StockX
from $85.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (9)
User Ratings (68)
Traction
8.8
Cushion
7.8
Materials
7.7
Support
8.6
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Puma MB.02
Puma MB.02
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
New Balance Kawhi 3
New Balance Kawhi 3
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Adidas AE 1
Adidas AE 1
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.27.9(0.3)8.2(0.0)7.7(0.5)8.7(0.5)8.1(0.1)
User Rating8.78.4(0.3)8.4(0.3)8.5(0.2)9.3(0.6)9.3(0.6)
Best Price$129.99
$59.99
$120
$159.99
$56.99
$110
$120
$102.97
$170
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight410g - 420g360g - 380gNANANA330g - 350g
 Show More
122 likes
Fiery Coral / Ultra Orange
Fiery Coral / Ultra Orange
from StockX
$85.00

Puma MB.02 Review

Pros:
Support features are top notch
Plenty of impact protection
Cons:
Can pick up dust
Breathability could be better

Performance of the Puma MB.02:

The Puma MB.02 has a reliable traction pattern, but reviewers report dust can build up, so remember to wipe. Reviewers agree the cushioning feels denser than the MB.01. It offers more impact protection, but the bounce is minimal. The materials on the shoe are thinner, making it easier to break them in on this year's model. Puma's done a great job of implementing the support features. Strategically placed fuse overlays maximize the containment of the shoe. Overall, Puma takes a step in the right direction with incremental upgrades to the Puma MB.02. It plays well and comes with a reasonable price tag.
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #209 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
November 7, 2022
I couldn't find anything wrong with the Puma MB.02. It's an excellent performance basketball shoe. The support and stability were solid, and the traction and cushion were reliable.
 More details
8.8
November 15, 2022
The Puma MB.02 is a quick, fast shoe with fantastic traction and adequate cushioning. The support also holds up well because of the materials.
 More details
8.4
November 23, 2022
Overall, the Puma MB.02 is an improvement in LaMelo's shoe line. It has improved traction and materials while the support and cushioning remain solid.
 More details
8.2
August 18, 2023
The Puma MB.02 has a lot of standard but proven features. It provides a lot of bang for your buck with soft cushioning and solid traction.
 More details
8.2
November 7, 2022
The Puma MB.02 is a solid shoe that's best for players who rely on impact protection to help with heavy footwork. The cushioning is stable and protective, and the traction grips well.
 More details
8.2
November 12, 2022
The Puma MB.02 is one of the best basketball shoes for support. It also has solid cushioning and reliable traction.
 More details
Playing in the Puma MB.02 is a mixed bag for me. I like the traction and fit, but I don't like the stiff midsole.
 More details
7.6
December 4, 2022
I was not impressed with the Puma MB.02 compared to the MB.01. The traction is solid, but most other features were better on the previous model.
 More details
7.2
July 7, 2023
The Puma MB.02 takes a step back compared to the previous model. The traction is solid, but the cushioning and support are lacking.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Puma MB.02:

User Rating: 8.7 (ranks #134 of 303)
10 - Amazing
18
9 - Great
29
8 - Good
16
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
3
8.1
September 26, 2023
การยึดเกาะ:เป็นรองเท้าที่ยึดเกาะดีมากกกไม่ค่อยเเพ้ฝุ่นเบรคหยุดอย่างมั่นใจไม่มีไถล พื้นไม่เหมาะกับการเล่นปูนหยาบ เพราะค่อนข้างอ่อนเเอ่ เเต่ปูนขัดพอไหวเล่นได้หายห่วง เเต่เเนะนำพื้นปาเก้ ความนุ่ม:พอไหวเหมาะกับทุกตำเเหน่ง เท้าอยู่สูงกลางๆไม่สูงมากไม่ต่ำมาก ฟิวคอร์ดไม่เท่าโคบี้ ประมาณ เลบอน20 สำหรับคนหนักไม่เกิน70-80กิโลต้องใช้เวลาปวดนานยังไม่นุ่มตั้งเเต่ครั้งเเรก fit:ตรงไซร์ เท้ากว้างเผื่อครึ่งเบอร์หน้าเท้ากว่าไม่บีบเเต่ช่วงรู้ร้อยเชือกอาจจะบีบ(เฉพาะคน) Support:ทำได้ดีเหมาะกับคนชอบหุ้มข้อ วัสดุ โอเค
 More details
8.6
October 29, 2023
One of my favourite hoops shoe. The cushioning is absolutely incredible, super comfortable right out the box with not much need to break in. Traction is phenomenol, grips the floor well but does pick up dust. Material feels nice and decently durable. I've been playing in these on outdoor court for a year now and haven't lost much if any traction pattern. Only con I see is the heel slippage but lacing it tightly usually reduces it. In general, It is an amazing performer, especially for the price.
 More details
9.6
November 19, 2022
Idk why, but this Shoe feels super lightweight. At first, it looks super heavy but feels the complete other way. Cushioning is super good. Fit is super good. Traction is fairly good. I'm a bigger dude with knee issues so this pair suits perfect for me. Impact protection on these are one of the best I tried so far. About the esthetics: Could be less orange and more red otherwise super cool looking shoes. But opinions change. Current Rota: Jordan 36 Low / Curry 10 / MB. 02
 More details
7.8
July 11, 2023
The MB.02 is a great shoe overall but has some issues with it like the traction, materials etc. The materials feel cheap as after a while the shoe starts break a bit in the ankle area and the front of the toe. The traction is amazing on clean courts and has a nice bite, but a dusty court is this shoes enemy, when wearing the shoe on a dusty court i have to wipe a lot! The support was alright i have rolled my ankle in these shoes 2-3 times 1 of those times during a tryout.
 More details
8.1
April 30, 2023
Step down from its predecessor, but still a solid, all around silhouette. Nothing too bad, but also nothing special. Disruptive upper pinches your foot and creases fast, traction is good, but grooves are softer and shallower (less durable), DONT USE OUTDOORS. Fully exposed Nitro is stiffer and higher off the ground, but still okay. Especially when on sale, and with many good colorways this shoe is certainly one to have in your rotation.
 More details

Traction of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #114 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #127 of 303)
10 - Amazing
27
9 - Great
27
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
3
10.0
November 7, 2022
The traction had a hard bite when I played on dusty courts. I had no sliding issues.
 More details
10.0
November 15, 2022
The traction performs extremely well. I stopped on a dime regularly.
 More details
9.0
November 23, 2022
I love the traction of the MB.02. The rubber is pliable and stretchy, and the pattern grips hard.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The traction was solid. I didn't slip when playing.
 More details
9.0
November 7, 2022
The traction holds up phenomenally indoors from a durability perspective. The shoe performs best on hardwood courts.
 More details
8.5
November 12, 2022
The traction pattern is thin, so the shoe needs a lot of wiping to handle dust. Despite the dust, it performs well.
 More details
The traction is my favourite aspect of the shoe. It works well indoors. Make sure to wipe on dusty courts. The rubber compound is sticky and grippy.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The traction performed well, but not as well as the MB.01.
 More details
8.0
July 7, 2023
The traction is solid. It performs on all courts, but dust picks up quickly.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.8 (ranks #240 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.6 (ranks #134 of 303)
10 - Amazing
22
9 - Great
19
8 - Good
21
7 - Average
11
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
3
9.0
November 7, 2022
I felt some bounce, but the impact protection was solid.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The Nitro foam feels comfortable and offers solid impact protection. It isn't the best cushioning for bounce, though.
 More details
8.0
November 23, 2022
The cushioning needs a lot of break-in time. The Nitro foam eventually becomes comfortable for impact protection with some bounce in the forefoot, though.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
Heavier players will enjoy the Nitro foam more than lighter players. There's more cushioning and less court feel compared to the first model.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
Puma puts Nitro foam in the heel and forefoot in the MB.02. The rest of the cushioning is a compression-moulded EVA. It feels dense, but it provides impact protection.
 More details
8.0
November 12, 2022
The cushioning feels like an upgrade to the MB.01. It offers a lot of impact protection and some bounce.
 More details
The carrier foam is thick and dense. I didn't feel the softer Nitro foam as much as I'd like.
 More details
7.0
December 4, 2022
You can feel the difference in foams underfoot. It feels soft and is better for impact protection than energy return. The encasing rubber feels dense and clunky, though. It's not to my liking.
 More details
7.0
July 7, 2023
The Nitro foam doesn't get the job done. There's not enough impact protection in the heel.
 More details

Materials of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.7 (ranks #248 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #152 of 303)
10 - Amazing
15
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
28
7 - Average
16
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
3
8.0
November 7, 2022
The materials are breathable, so I didn't experience much sweat.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The materials are thin and durable, but it doesn't offer a premium feel.
 More details
8.0
November 23, 2022
The MB.02 includes more screen mesh material than the MB.01. There are also additional plastic materials for extra support. It's also thin and well-ventilated.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The mesh upper feels standard. It didn't wow me, but it performed as expected.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
The upper is similar to the MB.01. It feels like a chainlink TPU mesh.
 More details
7.0
November 12, 2022
The materials aren't as thick on the MB.02, which makes the shoe easier to break in. Breathability could be better.
 More details
The materials are engineered mesh and fuse. I don't enjoy the implementation, but it's durable and breathable.
 More details
7.0
December 4, 2022
The upper feels stiffer than the previous model, even after breaking the shoe in.
 More details
7.0
July 7, 2023
Breathability is non-existent, and the materials feel basic.
 More details

Support of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #118 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #112 of 303)
10 - Amazing
23
9 - Great
30
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
3
10.0
November 7, 2022
The stability was excellent. I had no issues with ankle support.
 More details
9.0
November 15, 2022
I had zero issues with support and lockdown. The materials and heel counter keeps you contained laterally.
 More details
9.0
November 23, 2022
The upper does a solid job of providing lateral support. Heel containment and lockdown are also top-notch.
 More details
9.0
August 18, 2023
Containment and lockdown are solid. I like the mid-cut design. I also like how contained the heel counter keeps my ankle.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
The rubber compound under the midfoot is harder than the rest, which offers additional torsional stability.
 More details
9.0
November 12, 2022
This shoe is extremely supportive. The fuse overlay keeps you contained, and the laces lock you into the shoe. It's the second-best basketball shoe for support.
 More details
I had no containment issues, and I felt locked in. The support is solid.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The shoe supports your foot well, but the stiffness isn't too comfortable.
 More details
7.0
July 7, 2023
The shoe lacks lateral stability and support. There's still no outrigger too.
 More details

Fit of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #144 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.7 (ranks #117 of 303)
10 - Amazing
20
9 - Great
25
8 - Good
24
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
3
10.0
November 7, 2022
The fit was easy to figure out, and I didn't need to adjust anything.
 More details
9.0
November 15, 2022
The shoe fits me well. It feels identical to the MB.01.
 More details
8.0
November 23, 2022
The shoe fits nicely around my foot.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The shoe is form-fitting.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
The upper makes you feel like you're really being held tightly. It fits well for most players.
 More details
8.5
November 12, 2022
The length is almost perfect, and the laces lock you down once you dial them in.
 More details
The fit feels slightly narrow, but it didn't affect performance. The fit does its job.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
I had to go down half a size to get the snug fit I like
 More details
7.0
July 7, 2023
The upper feels stiff and isn't flexible. There's also room in the toe box that causes my foot to bang the front of the shoe.
 More details

Durability of the Puma MB.02:

User Durability Rating: 8.3 (ranks #175 of 303)
10 - Amazing
14
9 - Great
15
8 - Good
18
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
2

Outdoor of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #254 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 46.7 (ranks #199 of 303)
Good (100%)
13
Fair (50%)
16
Bad (0%)
20
no
November 15, 2022
The grooves are too thin to perform well outdoors.
 More details
no
November 7, 2022
The rubber is tough, but the treads are too narrow to take outdoors.
 More details
no
November 12, 2022
I don't recommend using this shoe outdoors.
 More details
The tread is too thin for outdoor play.
 More details

Width of the Puma MB.02:

very narrow
5
slightly narrow
12
regular
50
slightly wide
6
very wide
2
slightly narrow
November 15, 2022
The toe box feels snug.
 More details
regularly wide
November 23, 2022
There isn't much space in the toe box. Wide footers need to be careful.
 More details
slightly wide
August 18, 2023
The base and forefoot feel slightly wide.
 More details
regularly wide
November 7, 2022
People with 2E feet can go true to size if they like a 1-to-1 fit or up half a size for more room.
 More details
regularly wide
November 12, 2022
Stick true to size for a 1-to-1 fit unless you have an extremely wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
The shoe fits narrower than the MB.01.
 More details
regularly wide
December 4, 2022
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the Puma MB.02:

very small
3
slightly small
9
true to size
58
slightly long
6
very long
0
true to size
November 7, 2022
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 15, 2022
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 18, 2023
I feel like the shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 7, 2022
People with narrow and medium-shaped feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 12, 2022
Stick true to size.
 More details
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size large
December 4, 2022
I went down half a size.
 More details
true to size
July 7, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: