Search Shoe

Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$119.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
7/2019
# of Reviews:
3
Traction
8.0
Cushion
8.7
Materials
9.0
Support
9.0
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
100%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

-25%
Outpost Green / Beta Red
$89.99
from Eastbay
1 more shops
-25%
Black / White
$89.99
from Eastbay
2 more shops
-25%
White / Halo Grey / Black
$89.99
from Eastbay
2 more shops
-25%
Red / Glow Orange / Black
$89.99
from Eastbay
1 more shops
-25%
Blue / Red
$89.99
from Eastbay
2 more shops
-25%
Taxi / High Vis Yellow
$89.99
from Eastbay
1 more shops
-25%
Team Orange / Glow Orange
$89.99
from Eastbay
1 more shops
-25%
Harbor Blue / Teal Rush / Wire
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Black / Limelight
$89.99
from Eastbay
1 more shops
-25%
Academy / Lime Light
$89.99
from Eastbay
2 more shops
-25%
Kinetic Purple / Beta Red / Black
$89.99
from Eastbay
-13%
Mod Gray / White
$104.99
from Champs Sports
2 more shops
Purple / Peach Plasma
$120.00
from Under Armour
Forest Green / Phosphor Green
$120.00
from Under Armour
Teal Vibe / Teal Rush
$120.00
from Under Armour
Red
$120.00
from Under Armour
Black / Black
$120.00
from Under Armour

PROS:

  • Premium materials
  • Comfortable fit

CONS:

  • Inconsistent traction

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

The first Under Armour HOVR Havoc was a hit with reviewers, so how does the second version perform? Unfortunately, the traction has taken a step back and is inconsistent, even on clean courts. The HOVR cushioning is a nice mix of responsiveness and impact protection, not too firm but not too soft either. Materials feel surprisingly premium in-hand, comfortable on-foot and do a great job locking your feet down. The mid-foot shank, outrigger, and heel counter provide a lot of support and stability. Overall, the HOVR Havoc is a good performer that could have been great with more consistent traction.
See all 3 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #33 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
The Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2 is another solid basketball shoe with traction that's built Ford tough and cushioning that's a little firm but kept me stable and made me feel faster than I really am.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.6
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
Except for the occasional slip out, the HOVR Havoc 2 is a very good performer. But I think that you can find better-performing sneakers at $120.
Watch the video
8.6
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
The HOVR Havoc 2 is a good performer but a step down from top-tier performers. I liked almost everything about this shoe but the traction was a little too inconsistent for me.
Watch the video

Traction of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

The 8.0 average traction rating ranks #85 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
Once the outsole broke-in the grip was great.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
Regardless of which court I played on, I experienced occasional slips on hard cuts.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Traction is solid, especially on clean courts. But on dusty courts, I sometimes slipped out on step backs and crossovers.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

The 8.7 average cushion rating ranks #56 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
I found the HOVR to be on the firmer side. The setup provides a lot of stability and court feel but there is not a lot of impact protection.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
Really good impact protection without sacrificing too much court feel or responsiveness. I can play hours in these shoes and my legs never feel dead.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Court feel is nice and impact protection is solid - nothing spectacular here.
Watch the video

Materials of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #16 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
The micro-molded mesh molds around your feet for a perfect 1:1 fit.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
The materials feel very premium in-hand and on-foot.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Feels premium in-hand, looks dope and is very comfortable on foot.
Watch the video

Support of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #13 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
Support is solid.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
I didn't have any heel slippage, no side-to-side movements on the footbed, and the HOVR cushioning forms an outrigger that provided lateral stability.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Lateral support is very good thanks to the caging of the outsole, ankle support is solid, and I felt stable overall thanks to the low and wide base.
Watch the video

Fit of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #16 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
The build. last and lacing system do a great job.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
No dead space and great 1:1 fit for my feet.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Fits really well like every Under Armour for me.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100% average outdoor rating ranks #5 of 116 shoes overall
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
The rubber is thick enough to be durable for outdoor use.
Watch the Video|Read the article
good
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Strong, strong rubber with very deep grooves which will work very well outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

slightly narrow
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
They are snug width-wise.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
For a slightly wide-footer like me, this shoe felt pretty tight in the forefoot.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Nice and snug fit.
Watch the video

Size of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 2:

½ size small
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2019
Runs slightly snug lengthwise.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
RicheeKim
July 31, 2019
Going true to size works perfectly well.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
July 13, 2019
Go true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $89.99:
-25%
Outpost Green / Beta Red
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Black / White
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
White / Halo Grey / Black
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Red / Glow Orange / Black
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Blue / Red
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Taxi / High Vis Yellow
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Team Orange / Glow Orange
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Harbor Blue / Teal Rush / Wire
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Black / Limelight
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Academy / Lime Light
$89.99
from Eastbay
-25%
Kinetic Purple / Beta Red / Black
$89.99
from Eastbay
-13%
Mod Gray / White
$104.99
from Champs Sports
Purple / Peach Plasma
$120.00
from Under Armour
Forest Green / Phosphor Green
$120.00
from Under Armour
Teal Vibe / Teal Rush
$120.00
from Under Armour
Red
$120.00
from Under Armour
Black / Black
$120.00
from Under Armour