Search Shoe

Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$119.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
4/2018
# of Reviews:
5
Traction
9.3
Cushion
8.8
Materials
7.8
Support
8.0
Fit
7.8
Outdoor
100%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

Core Black / Gold Metallic / Carbon
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Carbon
No stores found
Core Black / Red
Core Black / Red
No stores found
Core Black / Solid Grey / Core Black
Core Black / Solid Grey / Core Black
No stores found
Cloud White / Grey / Grey
Cloud White / Grey / Grey
No stores found

PROS:

  • Amazing traction
  • Works outdoors

CONS:

  • Heel slippage

Summary of 5 Expert Reviews:

The Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018 has amazing traction that works well on all surfaces - even on dusty courts or outdoors. The Boost cushioning is firmer and more responsive but less comfortable compared to the Adidas Crazy Explosive which works well for quick guards. A lot of reviewers complained about issues with the fit in the form of dead space in the toe box and problems with heel slippage - make sure to go down half a size to limit these issues. Overall, the Crazylight Boost is an underestimated performance basketball shoe that offers great bang for the buck!
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

The 8.3 average overall rating ranks #90 of 116 shoes overall
8.2
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
It's almost as if Adidas read my blog and fixed all the issues I had with the predecessor. Great shoe that almost any player will enjoy - especially at the affordable price!
8.6
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
This is a top-tier performer for a very affordable price. This is going to be on the list of shoes with the best traction!
Watch the video
7.5
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
Amazing cushioning, good traction and solid materials - this could have been a 9.0! But dead space in the toebox and excessive heel slippage killed the Crazy Light Boost 2018 for me.
Watch the video
8.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
Insane traction, responsive cushioning and a very affordable price. I actually prefer the Crazylight Boost over the more expensive Adidas Harden 2.
Watch the video
8.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Very good traction and perhaps the best Boost cushioning in a basketball sneaker. Make sure to go down half a size because the fit didn't work for me in my true size.

Traction of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

The 9.3 average traction rating ranks #13 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
The nice pliable rubber with deep grooves takes a little to break-in but then it provides great grip. Well done Adidas!
10.0
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
The traction is amazing!
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
The traction performs very well on clean courts but you will need to wipe a lot on dusty courts.
Watch the video
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
This traction is insane! I had no problems even on mildly dusty courts.
Watch the video
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The Crazylight Boost 2018 had serious grip on every surface.

Cushion of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

The 8.8 average cushion rating ranks #46 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
Boost cushioning provides a great blend of impact protection and court feel that most players will like.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
You can't go wrong with Boost cushioning.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
Great court feel and responsiveness with decent impact protection - perfect for my playing style.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
Very firm and responsive, not as spongy as the Crazy Explosive.
Watch the video
10.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The Crazylight Boost 2018 may be the most cushion-y Boost we have seen in basketball.

Materials of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

The 7.8 average materials rating ranks #99 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
The stretchy mesh upper didn't let me down.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
The materials are very pliable and feel soft. I would have preferred them to be a little thinner though.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
Materials are not premium but they do their job.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
Soft and flexible, nothing spectacular but gets the job done.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The materials are very basic but comfortable on foot.

Support of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

The 8.0 average support rating ranks #98 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
Overall I had no issues with support and stability.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
Lateral containment, lockdown, and support are very good. I had a tiny bit of heel slippage.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
Great forefoot lockdown, and stable base, but I experienced a lot of heel slippage. I felt like I could slide out of these shoes at all times.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
I had some slight heel slippage. Other than that, the CLB 2018 felt very stable and supportive.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Solid midfoot shank and good forefoot lockdown, but support suffered from heel slippage and movement of the feet.

Fit of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

The 7.8 average fit rating ranks #100 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
Heel slip is improved compared to the CLB 2016 but still not perfect.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
There is a little bit of dead space in the front.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
I had a little bit of dead space in the toe box.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
The Crazy Light Boost 2018 is very comfortable.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
The shoe was very roomy and the simple lacing system did very little to hold my foot down.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 100% average outdoor rating ranks #12 of 116 shoes overall
good
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
Hard and thick rubber - outdoor use should be good!
Watch the video
good
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
This shoe should last outdoors for a while.

Width of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
The width is normal.
Watch the video
slightly wide
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
A little bit wider than the CLB 2016.
Watch the video
very wide
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Wide-footers will love this shoe because it’s one of the few shoes today that should fit all but the widest of feet with no issues.

Size of the Adidas Crazylight Boost 2018:

runs large
Schwollo
August 8, 2018
These run long similar to the CLB 2016. If you don't have wide feet go down half a size.
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
May 4, 2018
True to your Adidas size / half a size down from your Nike size.
Watch the video
½ size large
RicheeKim
April 17, 2018
Runs half a size long.
Watch the video
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
April 17, 2018
Like all Adidas shoes, I went down half a size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
April 17, 2018
Go half a size down.