Search Shoe

Adidas Dame 3 Review

Adidas Dame 3
Adidas Dame 3
Adidas Dame 3
Adidas Dame 3
8.6
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$114.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
12/2016
Ranking:
Traction
8.8
Cushion
8.8
Materials
8.2
Support
8.7
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
17%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas Dame 3:

Scarlet / Scarlet / Scarlet
Scarlet / Scarlet / Scarlet
No stores found
Footwear White / Footwear White / Gum4
Footwear White / Footwear White / Gum4
No stores found
White / Black / Red
White / Black / Red
No stores found
Black / Black / Black
Black / Black / Black
No stores found
Collegiate Royal / Running White
Collegiate Royal / Running White
No stores found
Maroon / Footwear White / Grey Two
Maroon / Footwear White / Grey Two
No stores found
Power Red / Running White
Power Red / Running White
No stores found
Multicolor / Multicolor
Multicolor / Multicolor
No stores found
Core Black / Footwear White / Core Black
Core Black / Footwear White / Core Black
No stores found
Footwear White / Scarlet / Navy
Footwear White / Scarlet / Navy
No stores found

Summary of 6 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Bounce Cushioning works well
Fair price

CONS:

Heel slippage
Uncomfortable fit at the ankle

Performance of the Adidas Dame 3:

The Adidas Dame 3 is uniformly praised for its Bounce cushioning and blade traction setup. The unique setup of the upper with many lacing holes to choose from allows you to customize the fit to your liking. Unfortunately, most critics had a hard time finding a comfortable fit. Complaints about heel slippage were common as well. Overall, this shoe is a great fit for players with a slightly wider foot (to prevent heel slippage) who look for a good overall performer at a fair price.
See all 6 reviews

Reviews of the Adidas Dame 3:

The 8.6 average overall rating ranks #51 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Overall, I would probably still go with the D Lillard 2 over the Dame 3. But the Dame 3 isn't bad at all and gets the job done. Most people will enjoy this shoe, especially once you found a lacing pattern that is comfortable for you.
Watch the video
8.2
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The improved traction really got me excited and I liked the faster feel of the Dame 3 cushioning. However, the lack of padding at the midfoot and especially around the ankle really made the lace pressure uncomfortable. I feel like the Dame 3 is one of those shoes that performs well in every catagory but just under performs as a shoe overall.
8.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Overall, this is a pretty solid hoops shoe, especially for the sticker price it goes for. You got great traction and cushioning, good support and lockdown and solid materials. Unfortunately the fit isn't very comfortable.
Watch the video
8.8
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Overall, it's a really, really nice shoe. The cushion is nice, the traction is good but not the best on dusty courts and the materials are good. The only two things I didn't like are that the shoe feels slightly bulky especially in the heel and the lockdown is not very good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The adidas Dame 3 is a great sneaker. It’s very well rounded in every category and it will accommodate most players and foot shapes. From the traction, to the plush and bouncy cushion, to the materials that balance durability without the need for break-in time — the adidas Dame 3 has it all.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.2
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Dame 3 combines great cushioning, good traction, killer materials, and a price that can’t be beat — into a package that, honestly, looks great too.

Traction of the Adidas Dame 3:

The 8.8 average traction rating ranks #44 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The traction is not mind-blowing but solid for sure.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Not quite top tier but close enough.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The traction of the Dame 3 is money.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
On a clean court you stop really, really hard. However, the shoes pick up a good amount of dust.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Blade traction setup works beautifully.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Dame 3 may have the best traction out right now.

Cushion of the Adidas Dame 3:

The 8.8 average cushion rating ranks #46 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I personally enjoy the bounce setup. Great balance, enough cushioning without overcompensating.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall I found it a firmer than last year but still comfortable enough.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Great cushioning!
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Cushioning is firmer than in previous models, impact protection is really good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Bounce makes a return to Damian Lillard’s third signature model and I couldn’t be happier.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Bounce was a revelation last year in the Lillard 2 !- low ride, bouncy (DUH!), and durable. More of the same in the Dame 3

Materials of the Adidas Dame 3:

The 8.2 average materials rating ranks #83 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I wasn't impressed with the materials. The shoe has a plastic feel to it, and needs time to break in
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
It doesn’t feel premium since it’s fused mesh but it works which is perfectly fine for me.
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I don't really like the fuse / mesh combo but the materials are pretty solid.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I really like the materials.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Fuse mesh makes its way onto the adidas Dame 3 and it’s a pretty cool material choice.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Mesh/fuse-like material seems like a step back, but it works.

Support of the Adidas Dame 3:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #58 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I didn't like the exaggerated TPU midfoot shank until I found a lacing pattern that fit better.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall support and stability is excellent on the Dame 3 even if the midfoot support is a little overdone.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Much more lateral support compared to last year's model
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Outrigger for stability and thick mid sole provide good support.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The support of the Dame 3 is greatly improved when directly compared to the D Lillard 2.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I landed on two different feet while playing in these and did not roll an ankle either time.

Fit of the Adidas Dame 3:

The 8.2 average fit rating ranks #89 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I like the fit on the Dame 3.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Very tiny heel slip which is fine. Lace pressure is painful because there isn’t much padding in the tongue or around the ankle collar.
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Uncomfortable around the ankle and a little bit of heel slippage
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
A good amount of heel slippage, otherwise fit was really good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The shoe held my foot in place so well I almost gave it a WearTesters Hall of Fame badge.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Multiple lacing holes mean everyone should be able to find a lacing style to fit their foot. Minimal heel slip.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 17% average outdoor rating ranks #83 of 123 shoes overall
fair
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
When I did take them outside the performance was fair
Watch the video
no
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The rubber is so soft, I wouldn't recommend outdoor use.
Watch the video
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The rubber is soft and the blade pattern isn’t really built for outdoors.

Width of the Adidas Dame 3:

regularly wide
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Width is okay.
Watch the video
regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Width is normal. maybe slightly narrow.
Watch the video

Size of the Adidas Dame 3:

½ size large
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Go half a size down.
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I recommend half a size down. Wide footers can go true to size.
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Runs large length-wise. I personally had to go down a size.
Watch the video
runs large
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Definitely go down half a size, maybe even a full size.
Watch the video
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I loved how the the shoe fit with a 1/2 down. Wide footers were generally good to go going true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Length-wise, true to size was perfect for me, but half down could easily be done