Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Jordan Why Not Zero.5

Released 2/2022, Mid Top, Russell Westbrook, 
Add to Favourites
7.8
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
9.1
USER RATING
9 ratings
The Jordan Why Not .5 implements a solid cushioning setup.

Best Suitable For:

Players that enjoy the feeling of forefoot Zoom.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
Nike
Buy Now
Foot Locker
Eastbay
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
6.8
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.0
Support
8.0
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
3 likes
Black / Watermelon / Sapphire / Mint Foam
Black / Watermelon / Sapphire / Mint Foam
in 7 shops
$106.97
$150
62 likes
"Childhood"
"Childhood"
in 5 shops
$130.00
$150
32 likes
"Raging Grace"
"Raging Grace"
in 6 shops
$130.00
$150
32 likes
Beach / Rattan / Vast Grey / Off Noir
Beach / Rattan / Vast Grey / Off Noir
from StockX
$140.00

Jordan Why Not Zero.5 Review

Pros:
Zoom unit feels nice
Cons:
Poor performing traction
Quality of the materials

Performance of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Russell Westbrook's latest signature shoe is held back by its poor traction. Reviewers agree that it just doesn't grip well. Its cushion could be the one saving grace. The forefoot Zoom feels bouncy and provides a nice ride. Reviewers also agree that the quality of the materials isn't the best, but it doesn't hinder performance whatsoever. The fit conforms to your foot once you've broken the shoe in. There are also no issues with the support and lockdown, and the shoe feels stable laterally. Overall, the Jordan Why Not .5 has everything you need in a performance basketball shoe except the traction. It could be much better if it gripped the court consistently.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Rating: 7.8 (ranks #177 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.3
March 13, 2022
I would recommend the Jordan Why Not 0.5 to all types of basketball players. The shoe was super responsive, and I felt explosive and quick playing in them.
 More details
7.8
March 16, 2022
If the traction played better, the Jordan Why Not .5 would be a much better shoe. It checked all the boxes needed in a shoe, but the traction is a big con in my books.
 More details
7.8
April 5, 2022
The Jordan Why Not Zero.5 offers a lot in terms of fit and comfort, but the performance is hindered by the traction.
 More details
7.4
March 23, 2022
I cannot recommend the Jordan Why Not Zero.5. The traction does not bite, making it potentially dangerous to play in this shoe. It's a shame because everything else was solid.
 More details

User Reviews of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

User Rating: 9.1 (ranks #25 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
April 15, 2022
I am a wide footed person so i decided to go half a size up just like i did for the 4.0, however i recommended going true to size, as this shoe is a slightly wider fit. feels amazing on feet, the materials for the Honour the gift version very nice, and overall the shoe looks very aesthetically pleasing especially for a basketball sneaker. Zoom is great in the forefoot, only issue is the traction, which is not very gripy and on my pair is already starting to wear significantly.
 More details
8.9
March 27, 2022
Everything about the shoe is amazing. Love the support and lockdown in why not.5. it's comfortable and feels good on foot. You can feel the forefoot zoom and it's really good. The only downside of the shoe is traction on dusty courts but if you're playing on clean a court you're good to go.
 More details
9.2
March 8, 2022
I am Westbrick in these shoes but i still can dunk which is always the case wearing this shoes.
 More details
8.6
March 16, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
February 6, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Traction Rating: 6.8 (ranks #192 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.9 (ranks #93 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
9.0
March 13, 2022
I was shocked with how well the traction held up on a dusty court. The traction was beastly for me.
 More details
7.0
March 16, 2022
The traction performance is not that good. In the first week, it was not biting hard at all. It did get a bit better over time, though.
 More details
6.0
April 5, 2022
The traction is not the best. The tread itself looks like it would perform, but the pattern is too close together to grab the court.
 More details
5.0
March 23, 2022
The Why Not Zero.5 features a nub-like traction pattern, and it's straight-up not good. It performs ok on clean courts. Anything less than that, though, you're going to slide.
 More details

Cushion of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #138 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #43 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
March 13, 2022
The cushioning felt great. The forefoot Zoom is noticeable, but it could be better.
 More details
8.0
March 16, 2022
The cushioning setup is my favourite part of the shoe. It reminds me of the Jordan 34 and 35.
 More details
8.0
April 5, 2022
The midfoot is a standard foam setup until you get to the forefoot Zoom Air unit. The shoe definitely feels bouncy. The only downside is that the performance tapers off when the foam bottoms out.
 More details
8.0
March 23, 2022
The forefoot Zoom unit feels bouncy, and fans of Zoom units will enjoy this setup. The Phylon foam provides decent impact protection, but it isn't the best.
 More details

Materials of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #125 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 9.1 (ranks #26 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
March 13, 2022
The shoe has a nice amount of padding and feels comfortable on foot. My only complaint with the materials is that they aren't too breathable.
 More details
8.0
March 16, 2022
The materials are thin, and they conform to your foot nicely. The shoe feels cozy overall. However, the quality isn't the best.
 More details
8.0
April 5, 2022
The upper materials feel comfortable and secure around your foot. The lacing setup, however, isn't the best.
 More details
8.0
March 23, 2022
Overall, the material used isn't the best and not the most premium. It does the job in terms of performance, though. So, I can't complain.
 More details

Support of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #147 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #70 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
March 13, 2022
I had no issues with heel slippage, and the support was solid. My foot felt locked down.
 More details
8.0
March 16, 2022
I had no issues with lateral containment. The shoe isn't the widest, but the lateral stability was still solid.
 More details
8.0
April 5, 2022
The shoe offers your ankle a ton of freedom of movement while still providing tremendous lockdown.
 More details
8.0
March 23, 2022
I had no support issues in this shoe.
 More details

Fit of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #106 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 9.4 (ranks #12 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
March 16, 2022
It's a pretty snug fit in this shoe, which I like.
 More details
9.0
April 5, 2022
This show might be the most comfortable fitting basketball shoe I've put on my foot.
 More details
8.0
March 23, 2022
After breaking in, I didn't have any issues with the fit. My foot felt secure and locked in while playing in these.
 More details

Durability of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #104 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #161 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 57.1 (ranks #80 of 205)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
4
Bad (0%)
2
no
April 5, 2022
The traction gave me the most trouble on painted outdoor courts.
 More details

Width of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
3
regular
8
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
March 16, 2022
I would recommend going up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
regularly wide
April 5, 2022
If your foot is over a 2E, you should go up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
March 23, 2022
It was only a little bit narrow in the forefoot area.
 More details

Size of the Jordan Why Not Zero.5:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
9
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
March 16, 2022
I went true to size and it fits me really well.
 More details
true to size
April 5, 2022
They run a hair long. Go true to size if you have a medium or wide foot. Half a size down if you have a narrow foot.
 More details
true to size
March 23, 2022
I am a slightly wide-footer, and I felt fine going true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: