Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1

Released 1/2023, Low Top, Jimmy Butler, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
9.2
USER RATING
3 ratings
Jimmy Butler's debut shoe has impressive cushioning and support.

Best Suitable For:

A perfect pickup for fast, quick players who rely on stability.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $139.99
KicksCrew
from $137.00
StockX
from $139.00
GOAT
from $153.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (5)
User Ratings (3)
Traction
8.0
Cushion
8.8
Materials
7.6
Support
8.8
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
10%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1
Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1
Jordan Why Not Zero.6
Jordan Why Not Zero.6
Jordan Zion 3
Jordan Zion 3
Adidas Dame 8
Adidas Dame 8
Jordan Luka 2
Jordan Luka 2
Jordan Tatum 2
Jordan Tatum 2
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.27.9(0.3)8.0(0.2)7.9(0.3)8.3(0.1)7.6(0.6)
User Rating9.28.6(0.6)8.0(1.2)8.6(0.6)8.6(0.6)6.6(2.6)
Best Price$139.99
$99.99
$140
$77.97
$140
$130
$71.97
$130
$124.99
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight370g - 390g380g - 390gNA390g - 410g390g - 410gNA
 Show More
19 likes
'Black Multi'
'Black Multi'
from KicksCrew
$137.00
16 likes
"Iron & Blood"
"Iron & Blood"
from 3 Resellers
$139.00
17 likes
"Year of the Rabbit"
"Year of the Rabbit"
from KicksCrew
$140.00
41 likes
Buzzer Beater
Buzzer Beater
from KicksCrew
$143.00
14 likes
"Dawn"
"Dawn"
from 3 Resellers
$145.00
56 likes
University Blue
University Blue
from KicksCrew
$150.00
23 likes
Marqutte University
Marqutte University
from KicksCrew
$160.00
30 likes
"Miami"
"Miami"
from 2 Resellers
$166.00
53 likes
"Miami Black"
"Miami Black"
from 2 Resellers
$167.00
8 likes
"Gold Medal"
"Gold Medal"
from KicksCrew
$194.00
11 likes
"Xi'an"
"Xi'an"
from KicksCrew
$222.00
15 likes
Coffee
Coffee
No stores found
18 likes
"Taiyuan"
"Taiyuan"
No stores found
22 likes
"Purple Crystal"
"Purple Crystal"
No stores found
5 likes
"White Green"
"White Green"
No stores found
11 likes
"White Gold"
"White Gold"
No stores found
7 likes
"Black Gold"
"Black Gold"
No stores found
9 likes
"Milestone"
"Milestone"
No stores found

Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1 Review

Pros:
Drop-in Boom midsole is bouncy and comfy
Lockdown is stable and secure
Cons:
The outsole picks up dust quickly
Materials could be better for the price

Performance of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Li-Ning's Jimmy Butler (JB) 1 is the latest shoe to feature a foam outsole. The performance is solid on clean indoor courts, but dust pickup can cause issues. The drop-in Boom foam midsole and shank plate create a springy cushioning setup. The support is secure and stable. Many reviewers mention they enjoyed how locked down they felt. The materials are thin, light, and breathable but could be more premium for the price. Li-Ning's done a solid job with Jimmy's debut sneaker. They nailed the cushioning and support.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #207 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
July 11, 2023
The Li-Ning JB1 is a fast and stable shoe. The shoe is also incredibly bouncy. I love the construction as well. There's not much to complain about.
 More details
8.4
July 11, 2023
The Li-Ning JB1 is an expensive shoe but a solid performer. The cushioning is springy, and I experienced no issues with the traction.
 More details
8.2
July 11, 2023
I felt responsive and quick playing in the Li-Ning JB1. The upper is minimal, the cushion is comfortable, and the traction is decent.
 More details
8.2
July 11, 2023
The Li-Ning JB1 is a solid shoe but is overpriced at retail. The cushioning is a top feature, but shifty players might want to double-check with the lateral containment.
 More details
7.8
July 11, 2023
The Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1 is only a decent performer on clean hardwood courts. The materials are the main disappointment, but the cushioning feels good.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

User Rating: 9.2 (ranks #33 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
November 8, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
10.0
March 7, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.4
July 14, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #221 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #53 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 11, 2023
The tread grips well, especially indoors.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The outsole is foam. I had no issues with my grip on dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The foam outsole bites on clean courts, but the stop isn't as hard as the Curry shoes, which is a pro for the JB1. The shoe picks up dust moderately quickly.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
Dust pickup is an issue, but the overall traction performance was on point.
 More details
7.0
July 11, 2023
I never felt 100% confident in this traction. I had minor slippage. The rubber grips, but it doesn't bite.
 More details

Cushion of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #98 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #78 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 11, 2023
The drop-in midsole is contoured and moulds to your foot well. When combined with the shank plate, the Boom foam feels like a bouncy springboard.
 More details
9.0
July 11, 2023
Li-Ning uses a drop-in Boom midsole. The foam is thick and offers plenty of impact protection. It also feels bouncy.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The forefoot feels springy, which I like. The Boom foam feels comfortable, but the sock liner of the drop-in midsole could be better.
 More details
9.0
July 11, 2023
The Boom drop-in midsole is responsive and supportive. I was genuinely surprised by the impact protection and compression.
 More details
9.0
July 11, 2023
The Boom drop-in midsole provides excellent impact protection and feels responsive.
 More details

Materials of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.6 (ranks #257 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #151 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
July 11, 2023
The upper is entirely Boom fibre, which is a TPU mesh. The tongue is my favourite part of the shoe too. I love how padded it is.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The materials are comfy, and there's no break in time.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
Materials and build quality are solid. The upper is thin but comfortable.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The upper is breathable. The materials are of good quality. The tongue bothered me during play, but it's not a dealbreaker.
 More details
6.0
July 11, 2023
The textile becomes more flexible after a break-in period. The materials are a mixed bag overall. The build quality is a disappointment, though.
 More details

Support of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #76 of 303)
User Support Rating: 9.3 (ranks #26 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 11, 2023
The heel counter and TPU plate on the midpart of the shoe keep you contained very well.
 More details
9.0
July 11, 2023
The support is fantastic. The forefoot is locked down, and the midfoot wing keeps you contained. The lace lock also secures your foot.
 More details
9.0
July 11, 2023
I was good to go for support and lockdown. I felt incredibly secure and stable.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The lockdown was fine. I didn't have heel slippage issues, but lateral containment wasn't the best. My feet slid to the edge of the shoe a bit.
 More details
9.0
July 11, 2023
The lockdown is impressive, and the shoe keeps you contained laterally with no issues.
 More details

Fit of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #209 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #54 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
July 11, 2023
I'm pleasantly surprised with how accommodating the shoe is.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
I had no issues with the fit of the shoe. It's comfortable.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The shoe fits me well.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
In my proper size, the shoe fit me nicely.
 More details
8.0
July 11, 2023
The JB1 is easy to put on, even if your foot is wide. There's enough padding for the shoe to fit comfortably.
 More details

Durability of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.0 (ranks #219 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 10.0 (ranks #232 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #237 of 303)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
5
fair
July 11, 2023
The rubber is fine for outdoors, but don't expect longevity.
 More details
no
July 11, 2023
Do not use these shoes outdoors.
 More details
no
July 11, 2023
The outsole is not suited for outdoor courts. The durability was wearing down indoors.
 More details
no
July 11, 2023
It doesn't look like the grooves are durable enough for outdoor use.
 More details
no
July 11, 2023
I don't recommend taking these shoes outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
1
regular
6
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
July 11, 2023
The width is surprisingly accommodating.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 11, 2023
The width feels average to slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
July 11, 2023
The shoe is average width.
 More details
regularly wide
July 11, 2023
The toe box is wide enough for most players.
 More details

Size of the Li-Ning Jimmy Butler 1:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
6
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
July 11, 2023
Go true to size if you have a medium or 2E foot. Narrow footers can go true to size for a roomy fit or half a size down for a snug fit.
 More details
true to size
July 11, 2023
Follow your size in centimetres.
 More details
true to size
July 11, 2023
I suggest most people go true to size.
 More details
½ size small
July 11, 2023
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
July 11, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: