New Balance TWO WXY V2

Released 6/2022, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
5 ratings
Traction on the TWO WXY V2 is outstanding, but the other features don't disappoint.

Best Suitable For:

Ideal for players willing to give up some cushion for the other performance aspects fundamentals will enjoy this shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
GOAT
from $72.00
StockX
from $75.00
KicksCrew
from $82.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (5)
User Ratings (5)
Traction
9.6
Cushion
8.2
Materials
8.6
Support
7.8
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
38%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

New Balance TWO WXY V2
New Balance TWO WXY V2
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Puma MB.01 Lo
Puma MB.01 Lo
Nike Lebron 20
Nike Lebron 20
Under Armour Curry 11
Under Armour Curry 11
Puma All Pro Nitro
Puma All Pro Nitro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.58.4(0.1)8.9(0.4)8.8(0.3)8.7(0.2)8.5(0.0)
User Rating8.88.5(0.3)8.8(0.0)9.2(0.4)8.6(0.2)9.2(0.4)
Best Price$129.99
$129.99
$150
$79.99
$120
$119.99
$200
$90
$160
$72.99
$130
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight330g - 350gNANA390g - 410gNA380g - 400g
 Show More
20 likes
Velocity Red / Ream Royal
Velocity Red / Ream Royal
from 2 Resellers
$72.00
30 likes
Night tide / Pink glow
Night tide / Pink glow
from 3 Resellers
$75.00
25 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from 3 Resellers
$85.00
34 likes
White / Bleach Blue
White / Bleach Blue
from 2 Resellers
$95.00
32 likes
Pale Blue Chill / Deep Violet
Pale Blue Chill / Deep Violet
from 3 Resellers
$102.00
16 likes
Black / Green / Purple
Black / Green / Purple
No stores found

New Balance TWO WXY V2 Review

Pros:
The traction bites hard
Materials are form-fitting and comfortable
Cons:
Material quality could be more premium
Not offered in wide fit options

Performance of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Reviewers agree that traction is the best feature of the shoe. It bites hard on just about every surface. The cushioning is low to the ground and offers a good amount of court feel. The impact protection in the heel is adequate but could be better in the forefoot. No issues were reported support-wise. It gets the job done. The FitWeave Lite that New Balance uses for the upper is comfortable and conforms nicely to your feet during play. With its hard-biting traction and no glaring weaknesses, the New Balance TWO WXY V2 might be New Balance's best basketball shoe.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #116 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The New Balance TWO WXY V2 provides a nearly flawless experience. Some players might prefer a bit more cushion, but I had no complaints. This shoe could be New Balance's best offering yet.
 More details
8.4
June 8, 2022
The New Balance TWO WXY V2 is a fun shoe to play in, and it's a good shoe for players needing their feet to plant and grip in tight spaces such as under the rim.
 More details
8.4
June 25, 2022
I really enjoyed playing in the New Balance TWO WXY V2. The traction is outstanding, and all other aspects of the shoe such as cushioning and support held their own.
 More details
8.2
June 16, 2022
I would say that the New Balance TWO WXY V2 is the best performer in New Balance's basketball lineup. Every performance aspect of the shoe is solid.
 More details
8.2
July 7, 2022
The New Balance TWO WXT V2 is one of the best shoes available. It has one of the best traction setups I've ever played in, but be careful if you need a lot of lateral containment.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #107 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.9
March 15, 2023
Let's just say, it's not a bad shoe. Traction is well above average with a strong bite and OK performance on dusty courts. But the worse part for me was the cushioning. The shoe plays low to the ground but there is little to no protection under the forefoot. Personally, this is the worst shoe for consistent running up and down the court. The fuelcell is just not the best for constant, fast movement or footwork. The shoe also doesn't offer much bounce and is probably best for grounded players.
 More details
9.6
July 24, 2022
The new balance two wxy is the best performing shoe new balance has made yet and best I’ve seen in a long time it’s a good shoe for a player who needs traction four foot flex and responsiveness to play quick I definitely recommend this shoe for you
 More details
9.0
February 21, 2023
True to size , 10/10 traction , 9/10 cushion Do not missed this great basketball shoes for your collection
 More details
9.0
August 9, 2022
Calzado liviano, cómodo y con buenas prestaciones. Buena tracción y amortización!
 More details
8.6
November 21, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.6 (ranks #11 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 9.4 (ranks #43 of 303)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
This outsole does not disappoint. It'll cover you in every direction.
 More details
9.0
June 8, 2022
The outsole tread is by far my favourite part of the shoe. The traction grips much harder than the previous shoe.
 More details
10.0
June 25, 2022
The traction is absolutely amazing. I didn't have to break it in, and they bit hard. This shoe has top-tier traction.
 More details
9.0
June 16, 2022
The traction on the shoe is really, really nice. It bites hard and feels tacky.
 More details
10.0
July 7, 2022
I had no issues with the traction. I didn't need to wipe them either. It's one of the best tractions I've ever tested.
 More details

Cushion of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #193 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #186 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The shoe rides low to the ground and offers an acceptable amount of impact protection.
 More details
8.0
June 8, 2022
The midsole is made entirely of FuelCell and encases the Abzorb heel puck. It offers a lot of energy absorption but not so much energy return.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The cushioning setup surprised me. It's extremely low-to-the-ground, so the court feel is awesome. The impact protection is also better than expected.
 More details
8.0
June 16, 2022
The FuelCell feels good. The cushion offers impact protection in the heel, but the forefoot is thin.
 More details
7.5
July 7, 2022
The forefoot is low to the ground and doesn't offer much impact protection. The heel section does offer some impact protection, though.
 More details

Materials of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #67 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #73 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I thoroughly enjoyed the flexibility and next to no break-in time that the FitWeave Lite upper provides.
 More details
9.0
June 8, 2022
The materials are smooth, padded, and comfortable. The upper allows for a flowing style of movement with few restrictions.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The upper feels nice and is comfortable on foot. The materials conformed nicely to my feet. The only downside is that the quality isn't the best.
 More details
8.0
June 16, 2022
The materials aren't the most premium feeling, but they more than get the job done. I can't complain, considering the price.
 More details
8.5
July 7, 2022
New Balance uses Fit Weave Lite for the materials. It's lightweight and breathable. I like the setup.
 More details

Support of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Support Rating: 7.8 (ranks #263 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #185 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
Overall, my experience with the support was positive. I just wish that the torsional bar was more beefed up.
 More details
8.0
June 8, 2022
The lockdown of the laces is good, and the materials help keep you secure.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The support is adequate but could be better. I had no issues, though.
 More details
8.0
June 16, 2022
I didn't have any issues with the support.
 More details
6.0
July 7, 2022
Once you crank the laces down, the heel lockdown is solid. However, I did experience issues with lateral containment and staying on the footbed.
 More details

Fit of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #89 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #146 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I had no issues with the fit, thanks to the materials. Just make sure you lace up tight.
 More details
8.0
June 8, 2022
The upper of the shoe locks you into a more snug fit.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The fit is snug, but the materials, especially in the toe box, stretch out the more you wear them.
 More details
8.0
June 16, 2022
The upper fit is snug and locked down, but the materials provide padding and cushioning, making the shoe feel comfortable.
 More details
9.0
July 7, 2022
I enjoyed the fit of the shoe. There wasn't much movement inside the shoe, which I prefer.
 More details

Durability of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

User Durability Rating: 8.8 (ranks #91 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 37.5 (ranks #156 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 66.7 (ranks #108 of 303)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
2
It may not last the longest outdoors because of the thinner grooves.
 More details
fair
June 8, 2022
The rubber is hard but thin.
 More details
fair
June 25, 2022
The grooves are thin, but the rubber is hard.
 More details
no
July 7, 2022
The rubber compound doesn't look like it will hold up outdoors.
 More details

Width of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
2
regular
7
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
June 8, 2022
If your foot width is 2E, you can go true to size for a 1-to-1 fit or up half a size for a roomier fit.
 More details
slightly narrow
June 25, 2022
The shoe is slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
June 16, 2022
If your foot is wide, I recommend going half a size up.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 7, 2022
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the New Balance TWO WXY V2:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
10
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
I went true to size and found this to be a great fit.
 More details
true to size
June 8, 2022
People with narrow and medium-shaped feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
June 25, 2022
I went true to size, and it fits me well.
 More details
true to size
June 16, 2022
The TWO WXY V2 does run true to size.
 More details
true to size
July 7, 2022
I'm going to say they fit true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: