New Balance TWO WXY V4

Released 10/2023, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
9.1
USER RATING
5 ratings
The New Balance TWO WXY V4 is a fantastic all-around shoe with improved impact protection from the cushioning.

Best Suitable For:

This is the perfect pick for players seeking versatility in play style and court surface durability.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
DICK's
$69.98
$120
StockX
from $125.00
KicksCrew
from $178.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (5)
Traction
8.7
Cushion
8.5
Materials
8.0
Support
8.6
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
75%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

New Balance TWO WXY V4
New Balance TWO WXY V4
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
New Balance TWO WXY V3
New Balance TWO WXY V3
Jordan Luka 1
Jordan Luka 1
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.48.8(0.4)8.7(0.3)8.5(0.1)8.3(0.1)8.7(0.3)
User Rating9.19.0(0.1)9.0(0.1)8.9(0.2)8.7(0.4)9.1(0.0)
Best Price
$69.98
$120
$99.98
$160
$119.99
$82.99
$110
$79.99
$110
$71.97
$160
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight370g - 370g350g - 360g350g - 360g360g - 380g330g - 350g350g - 360g
 Show More
13 likes
Optic White / Team Red
Optic White / Team Red
from DICK's
$69.98
$120
9 likes
Optic White / Team Navy
Optic White / Team Navy
from DICK's
$69.98
$120
18 likes
Green / Yellow / Grey
Green / Yellow / Grey
from DICK's
$79.98
$120
6 likes
Grey
Grey
from DICK's
$107.99
$120
4 likes
Optic White / Cobalt / True Red
Optic White / Cobalt / True Red
from DICK's
$119.99
20 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from DICK's
$119.99
39 likes
Bright Sky / Aura / Summer Aqua
Bright Sky / Aura / Summer Aqua
from DICK's
$119.99
13 likes
Black
Black
from DICK's
$119.99
8 likes
Neo Flame / Team Red / Team Royal
Neo Flame / Team Red / Team Royal
from DICK's
$119.99
8 likes
Team Sky / Blue / Spice blue / Team Royal
Team Sky / Blue / Spice blue / Team Royal
from DICK's
$119.99
3 likes
Lemon Zest / Bleached Lime
Lemon Zest / Bleached Lime
from DICK's
$119.99
16 likes
White / White
White / White
from KicksCrew
$264.00
12 likes
Optic White / Mercury Red / Gold
Optic White / Mercury Red / Gold
No stores found

New Balance TWO WXY V4 Review

Pros:
Improved impact protection and cushioning
Reliable traction
Cons:
Lack of internal padding
The fit can be tricky

Performance of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

New Balance continues to deliver impressive and reliable performance with its TWO WXY line. The traction provides excellent grip, and the rubber is durable enough for indoor and outdoor play. The combination of Fresh Foam and FuelCell provides improved impact protection and comfort while remaining responsive. It's an impressive balance. Reviewers called the materials light, flexible, and breathable. The only complaint is the lack of heel padding and sculpting. Some reviewers mention the fit is long. Others say the materials need to break in before the shoe fits well. Support and lockdown aren't an issue. The improved cushioning provides additional stability during play. The New Balance TWO WXY V4 is another solid performer in the TWO WXY lineup, this time with better impact protection.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #139 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 10, 2023
The New Balance TWO WXY V4 exceeds in multiple ways. There's no better option for players seeking maximalist protection and minimalist pop and explosion.
 More details
8.5
New Balance did not disappoint with the TWO WXY V4. The cushioning feels better this year, and the traction continues to perform well.
 More details
8.2
October 22, 2023
The New Balance TWO WXY V4 is the complete package. It has the cushioning and traction to cater to all positions and play styles.
 More details
I prefer the New Balance TWO WXY V3 to the TWO WXY V4, but the impact protection and outsole durability are better on the V4. The fit is tricky, but the traction remains reliable.
 More details
8.2
November 15, 2023
The New Balance TWO WXY V4 feels quick, responsive, and comfortable. The cushioning is soft, the traction performs well, and the materials are supportive.
 More details
8.2
February 18, 2024
The New Balance TWO WXY V4 is a fun shoe to play in. I enjoyed the cushioning and the traction.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

User Rating: 9.1 (ranks #49 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
December 15, 2023
Very good shoe. Containment was outstanding, plush but responsive cushion, decent traction, and comfy materials. Also, durability is good for outdoor courts (Tested on). Hoping some cooler colorways come out in this shoe because it is a beastly performer which I will certainly be buying again. Also, it runs ever so slightly snug, so wide footers, look to get this in the 2E width.
 More details
8.8
December 23, 2023
Fit is a little long but traction is very nice cushion is very surprising. Shoe isnt very bouncy but its comfortable and very very light def in this shoe is very fun as switching def positioning is very easy because of how light the shoe is
 More details
9.0
March 24, 2024
Good cushioning but traction pattern is very thick. Good fit and materials.
 More details
9.0
November 20, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.4
March 7, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.7 (ranks #126 of 305)
User Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #188 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 10, 2023
You get a lot of grip with this traction pattern.
 More details
9.0
The traction is very reliable. I never had issues with movement, and I never had to wipe.
 More details
8.0
October 22, 2023
The traction works perfectly fine. I had no problems.
 More details
The traction feels excellent. I didn't have any issues.
 More details
9.0
November 15, 2023
The traction is surprisingly good after an initial break-in period. It doesn't pick up much dust, either.
 More details
8.0
February 18, 2024
The traction performance feels pretty good on clean and dusty courts. I never experienced any issues.
 More details

Cushion of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #146 of 305)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #73 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 10, 2023
The cushioning feels lively because the shoe has the most supportive shank. The combination of Fresh Foam and FuelCell combine to provide a balance of bounce and shock absorption.
 More details
9.0
New Balance did a fantastic job with this cushioning setup. It provided enough support without sacrificing much court feel.
 More details
9.0
October 22, 2023
The cushioning exceeded my expectations. The impact protection provides a safe and secure landing every time. There's no break-in time, either.
 More details
The impact protection improves from the V3. The FuelCell and Fresh Foam are stable but not as responsive.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2023
The heel is soft and comfortable. The compression feels impressive. There's not much bounce, but the impact protection is solid.
 More details
8.0
February 18, 2024
The cushioning feels very comfortable. There's plenty of impact protection but the high stack creates a lack of court feel.
 More details

Materials of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #176 of 305)
User Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #36 of 305)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
October 10, 2023
I love the drag guard. The upper is also light and supportive.
 More details
8.0
The materials are a solid mix of mesh and synthetics.
 More details
8.0
October 22, 2023
The materials are light and flexible.
 More details
The materials get the job done, but they are not premium.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2023
I like how soft and supportive the mesh material feels. The upper setup is comfortable.
 More details
8.0
February 18, 2024
The thick mesh feels comfortable on my feet. I have no complaints about the material usage.
 More details

Support of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #112 of 305)
User Support Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 305)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
October 10, 2023
The lockdown is comfortable, and the shoe feels secure because of the upper material and lacing system.
 More details
8.5
The cushioning and traction help add stability to the shoe, and after breaking in the fit, the shoe feels plenty supportive.
 More details
8.0
October 22, 2023
The stability and support are decent. I had no issues with lateral containment, too.
 More details
The sculpting around the heel could be better. The support and lockdown are solid if you manage the fit.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2023
I didn't have any issues with support and lockdown. The materials are supportive, and the lateral stability is solid, too.
 More details
9.0
February 18, 2024
I had zero support issues in this shoe. You're covered laterally, and the materials do a great job of containing you.
 More details

Fit of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #179 of 305)
User Fit Rating: 9.2 (ranks #24 of 305)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 10, 2023
Fit is one of the best features because New Balance offers multiple widths.
 More details
8.0
The forefoot is more snug than the V3. I wish the heel area had more padding, too. Once broken in, the shoe fits well.
 More details
8.0
October 22, 2023
The fit feels standard.
 More details
The fit feels long and narrow but feels better with a runner's loop.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2023
The shoe fits me well. There's only a bit of extra room at the front of the shoe.
 More details
8.0
February 18, 2024
I have a slightly wide foot, so I needed to break in the snug forefoot area. It feels close to a 1-to-1 fit. I like it.
 More details

Durability of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

User Durability Rating: 8.5 (ranks #142 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 75.0 (ranks #59 of 305)
User Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #5 of 305)
Good (100%)
6
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
0
fair
October 10, 2023
The durometer is high enough for outdoors, but beware of wearing them down.
 More details
good
The outsole is durable enough for all surfaces.
 More details
good
October 22, 2023
This shoe is outdoor-friendly.
 More details
This option works fantastic outdoors.
 More details
fair
November 15, 2023
Outdoor play should be fine.
 More details
fair
February 18, 2024
The outsole feels durable but I wouldn't use these outdoors.
 More details

Width of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
6
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
October 10, 2023
Get the 2E option from New Balance if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
Wide footers should see if New Balance offers a wide option.
 More details
regularly wide
October 22, 2023
The width feels average.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 15, 2023
The toe box is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 18, 2024
The forefoot is a bit narrow but it breaks in.
 More details

Size of the New Balance TWO WXY V4:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
8
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
October 10, 2023
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
Go true to size, but be prepared to break in the shoe.
 More details
true to size
October 22, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size small
November 15, 2023
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
February 18, 2024
The shoe fits true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: