Search Shoe

Nike Air Zoom BB NXT Review

Nike Air Zoom BB NXT
Nike Air Zoom BB NXT
Nike Air Zoom BB NXT
Nike Air Zoom BB NXT
8.4
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$179.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
7/2020
Ranking:
Traction
9.6
Cushion
9.3
Materials
8.3
Support
6.8
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
50%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

6 likes
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
in 7 shops
$110.00
$180
18 likes
Black / Electric Green
Black / Electric Green
in 4 shops
$179.99
8 likes
Blue Void / Metallic Gold Coin / Black
Blue Void / Metallic Gold Coin / Black
from DICK's
$179.99
0 likes
White / White / Flash Crimson / Hyper Violet
White / White / Flash Crimson / Hyper Violet
in 3 shops
$180.00

Summary of 4 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Great traction even on dusty courts
Crazy-comfortable cushioning
Cons:
Lacks stability on lateral cuts
Expensive retail price

Performance of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

With the Air Zoom BB NXT, Nike included a lot of new technology focused on providing the most responsive basketball shoe ever. The traction is insane and the multi-directional pattern works well on clean and dusty courts. The cushioning setup is the highlight of the shoe with full-length double-stacked React and Zoom Air in the forefoot creating a super comfortable ride. The materials give good support and breathability but could be a little more premium considering the price point. The lockdown is nice, but the support suffers at times because of the high ride and plush cushioning setup. Overall, the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT provides great cushioning and traction with next-gen technology.
See all 4 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

The 8.4 average overall rating ranks #80 of 138 shoes overall
8.9
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
Overall the Nike Zoom BB NXT is a fun shoe to play in with fantastic traction and cushion! They aren't perfect, but its a good improvement step for Nike and a refreshing change of pace. I do wish they had been able to fix the lateral Zoom Air and lacing cable issues prior to releasing.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.4
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
Almost everything about this shoe is awesome: the traction, the heel-to-toe-transition, the materials. But Nike just did too much with the React cushioning - it's super soft and comfortable but I didn't feel secure on lateral cuts because the midsole is so thick and unstable.
Watch the video
8.4
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
The Nike Air Zoom BB NXT is a very comfortable shoe with interesting new tech. The cushioning is insane and I really liked the traction too. The only downsides are the lacking stability on lateral cuts and the hefty retail price of $180.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
The Nike Air Zoom BB NXT is an above-average sneaker that is very comfortable and features awesome cushioning and traction. Materials and lockdown are solid but stability is an issue. Overall, a good pick for big hoopers looking for a lot of impact protection, but at a price of $180, there are better and more affordable options on the market.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

The 9.6 average traction rating ranks #2 of 138 shoes overall
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
The traction on the Zoom BB NXT is beastly! I've only played outdoors so far, but I would expect them to be outstanding indoors as well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
I was only able to play outdoors, but the first impression from testing on my wooden floor looks like these will have an incredible bite. On an outdoor court, the bite was also really good.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
The traction setup on this shoe is insane and the bite is ridiculous! On dusty courts, you will have to wipe the dust off the tacky rubber occasionally.
Watch the video
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
The multidirectional rubber outsole provides phenomenal traction and is very durable. I was able to stop on a dime in every direction.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

The 9.3 average cushion rating ranks #19 of 138 shoes overall
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
This cushion featuring triple-layer React, the third layer being the insole, is just as good as it sounds. These ride really high off the ground which definitely takes some time to get used to, but you're getting a ton of cushion throughout your whole foot. The only drawback is that the cushion is somewhat unstable in the forefoot area on certain movements.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
The cushioning is insane - I love it soo much! The double-stacked React in the heel offers crazy compression and is soft and bouncy. The only downside is the very bad court feel as the cushioning is super high-off-the-ground.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
The full-length React midsole featuring two Zoom units in the forefoot is super, super comfortable, and provides a ton of impact protection. And even though you are really high off-the-ground, the shoe still feels relatively responsive and offers a decent amount of court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
The cushioning is crazy comfortable and offers a ton of impact protection. Unfortunately, the super thick and high-off-the-ground midsole takes away from stability on lateral cuts.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

The 8.3 average materials rating ranks #77 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
These materials have a textile upper which is comfortable, easily breaks in, and is pretty durable. They work well, but aren't anything special. It would've been nice to see some more premium materials given the price.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
The mesh/textile materials are surprisingly thin, soft, and durable. The tongue and Achilles area are nicely padded and very comfortable.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
The textile materials are supportive and feel nice on foot. Overall, the materials could be a little more premium, especially compared to other shoes in this price range.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
The upper is made from lightweight Mesh which provides a lot of stability and the foam tongue feels very comfortable and plush. The quality is a little sub-par as the materials are thick, not breathable, and feel a little excessive.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

The 6.8 average support rating ranks #135 of 138 shoes overall
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
The support in general is solid, but the lateral Zoom Air unit lacks stability and can cause some issues at times. The moderator plate works great for cushion and torsion. The internal heel counter works well too and I had no issues there.
Watch the Video|Read the article
6.0
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
My foot was locked in on the footbed and I had no issues with containment. I didn't roll my ankle, but I felt uncomfortable on lateral cuts because this shoe is pretty unstable due to the soft and high midsole.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
I felt some instabilities on lateral cuts because the cushioning is so high off-the-ground. Other than that, the heel was locked down, the torsional rigidity was good and I didn't slip on the footbed.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
The lacing system really locks down your feet and keeps them in place safely. However, the shoe is very unstable on lateral cuts because it is so high off-the-ground.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

The 8.8 average fit rating ranks #42 of 138 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
Lockdown was solid and the shoes fit like a glove. The nylon lace cable does chafe my pinky toes which was pretty annoying.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
Super easy to put on with a nice one-to-one fit. The toe box was snug initially but broke in after a few wears.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
Overall the fit is really good, but there is some slight rubbing on the side of the foot at times.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
The fit wraps around your foot and is extremely comfortable.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50% average outdoor rating ranks #53 of 138 shoes overall
good
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
I've been surprised with the durability of the outsole. These have been great outdoors.
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
The rubber is not durable enough for extended outdoor play.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
Seems like normal width. If you have a wide foot I'd go up half a size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
Consider going up half a size if you're a wide footer.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
August 26, 2020
I went down half a size because the shoe looked like a runner, but other WearTesters team members said true to size worked for them.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
August 4, 2020
True to size fits me very well.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
August 3, 2020
True to size worked for me.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
July 22, 2020
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $110:
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
in 7 shops
$110.00
$180
Black / Electric Green
Black / Electric Green
in 4 shops
$179.99
Blue Void / Metallic Gold Coin / Black
Blue Void / Metallic Gold Coin / Black
from DICK's
$179.99
White / White / Flash Crimson / Hyper Violet
White / White / Flash Crimson / Hyper Violet
in 3 shops
$180.00
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
$110.00
on JD Sports
White / Metallic Gold / Black
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
White / Metallic Gold / Black
46 likes
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
Nike Zoom Freak 2
Black / Off Noir / White / Solar Flare
38 likes
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Court Purple / Black / University Gold
32 likes
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
Adidas D.O.N Issue #2
Glory Mint / Signal Green / Solar Red
28 likes
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
Nike Renew Elevate
White / Black / Flash Crimson / White
26 likes
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
Nike Kobe 5 Protro
Forest Green / Metallic Red Bronze / Speed Yellow
24 likes