Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Air Zoom BB NXT

Released 7/2020, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
5 ratings
Super comfortable shoe with soft React cushioning and great traction

Best Suitable For:

Works best for big guys looking for a lot of impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $179.99
DICK's
$41.97
$180
Buy Now
StockX
from $72.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.3
Cushion
9.2
Materials
8.2
Support
6.8
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
41 likes
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
Sport Red / White / Obsidian
from DICK's
$41.97
$180
45 likes
Blue Void / Metallic Gold Coin / Black
Blue Void / Metallic Gold Coin / Black
from DICK's
$71.97
$180
24 likes
Spruce Aura / Royal Pulse / Hyper Blue
Spruce Aura / Royal Pulse / Hyper Blue
from DICK's
$78.97
$180
42 likes
Barely Volt / Copa / Bright Crimson / Black
Barely Volt / Copa / Bright Crimson / Black
from DICK's
$179.99
50 likes
Black / Electric Green
Black / Electric Green
from StockX
$105.00
25 likes
White / Black / Melon Tint / Hyper Royal
White / Black / Melon Tint / Hyper Royal
from StockX
$129.00
52 likes
Deep Royal Blue / Volt / Lemon Venom / Deep Royal Blue
Deep Royal Blue / Volt / Lemon Venom / Deep Royal Blue
from StockX
$135.00
59 likes
White / White / Flash Crimson / Hyper Violet
White / White / Flash Crimson / Hyper Violet
from StockX
$141.00
32 likes
Black / University Red
Black / University Red
from StockX
$169.00
34 likes
Blue Void / Black / Metallic Gold Coin
Blue Void / Black / Metallic Gold Coin
No stores found

Nike Air Zoom BB NXT Review

Pros:
Great traction even on dusty courts
Crazy-comfortable cushioning
Cons:
Lacks stability on lateral cuts
Expensive retail price

Performance of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

With the Air Zoom BB NXT, Nike included a lot of new technology focused on providing the most responsive basketball shoe ever. The traction is insane and the multi-directional pattern works well on clean and dusty courts. The cushioning setup is the highlight of the shoe with full-length double-stacked React and Zoom Air in the forefoot creating a super comfortable ride. The materials give good support and breathability but could be a little more premium considering the price point. The lockdown is nice, but the support suffers at times because of the high ride and plush cushioning setup. Overall, the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT provides great cushioning and traction with next-gen technology.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #131 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Overall the Nike Zoom BB NXT is a fun shoe to play in with fantastic traction and cushion! They aren't perfect, but its a good improvement step for Nike and a refreshing change of pace. I do wish they had been able to fix the lateral Zoom Air and lacing cable issues prior to releasing.
 More details
8.4
August 4, 2020
Almost everything about this shoe is awesome: the traction, the heel-to-toe-transition, the materials. But Nike just did too much with the React cushioning - it's super soft and comfortable but I didn't feel secure on lateral cuts because the midsole is so thick and unstable.
 More details
8.4
August 3, 2020
The Nike Air Zoom BB NXT is a very comfortable shoe with interesting new tech. The cushioning is insane and I really liked the traction too. The only downsides are the lacking stability on lateral cuts and the hefty retail price of $180.
 More details
The Nike Air Zoom BB NXT is an above-average sneaker that is very comfortable and features awesome cushioning and traction. Materials and lockdown are solid but stability is an issue. Overall, a good pick for big hoopers looking for a lot of impact protection, but at a price of $180, there are better and more affordable options on the market.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The Nike Zoom BB NXT has an amazing cushion setup that feels plush and bouncy. It's a great all-around sneaker to hoop in, and it truly reminds me of the early setups of the Hyperdunk.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #96 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
February 9, 2022
Great shoe with great cushioning, but at a price. It’s super high off the ground, so if you roll your ankle, shits gonna hurt. Happened to me and now I’m out for 2 weeks. Traction is solid, very squeaky, support is decent, and comfort is also quite mediocre. I would recommend these for heavier players who need the cushioning.
 More details
8.6
January 19, 2022
This is a pretty good shoe overall. The midsole is very comfortable with the double stacked React, is very comfortable and bouncy, but VERY unstable which is a flaw that’s hard to ignore for some. But that did not stop me from having fun in these!
 More details
8.0
January 11, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
February 19, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.6
January 10, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #23 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #46 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The traction on the Zoom BB NXT is beastly! I've only played outdoors so far, but I would expect them to be outstanding indoors as well.
 More details
9.0
August 4, 2020
I was only able to play outdoors, but the first impression from testing on my wooden floor looks like these will have an incredible bite. On an outdoor court, the bite was also really good.
 More details
10.0
August 3, 2020
The traction setup on this shoe is insane and the bite is ridiculous! On dusty courts, you will have to wipe the dust off the tacky rubber occasionally.
 More details
The multidirectional rubber outsole provides phenomenal traction and is very durable. I was able to stop on a dime in every direction.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The traction reminds me of the LeBron 17 as they use similar groove patterns. Dust pickup was not a problem, and the grip was impressive.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.2 (ranks #32 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.6 (ranks #13 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
This cushion featuring triple-layer React, the third layer being the insole, is just as good as it sounds. These ride really high off the ground which definitely takes some time to get used to, but you're getting a ton of cushion throughout your whole foot. The only drawback is that the cushion is somewhat unstable in the forefoot area on certain movements.
 More details
9.0
August 4, 2020
The cushioning is insane - I love it soo much! The double-stacked React in the heel offers crazy compression and is soft and bouncy. The only downside is the very bad court feel as the cushioning is super high-off-the-ground.
 More details
9.0
August 3, 2020
The full-length React midsole featuring two Zoom units in the forefoot is super, super comfortable, and provides a ton of impact protection. And even though you are really high off-the-ground, the shoe still feels relatively responsive and offers a decent amount of court feel.
 More details
The cushioning is crazy comfortable and offers a ton of impact protection. Unfortunately, the super thick and high-off-the-ground midsole takes away from stability on lateral cuts.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
The shoe has three layers of React cushioning and two Zoom pods located under the forefoot. It is an extremely comfortable setup.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.2 (ranks #108 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.2 (ranks #108 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
These materials have a textile upper which is comfortable, easily breaks in, and is pretty durable. They work well, but aren't anything special. It would've been nice to see some more premium materials given the price.
 More details
9.0
August 4, 2020
The mesh/textile materials are surprisingly thin, soft, and durable. The tongue and Achilles area are nicely padded and very comfortable.
 More details
8.0
August 3, 2020
The textile materials are supportive and feel nice on foot. Overall, the materials could be a little more premium, especially compared to other shoes in this price range.
 More details
The upper is made from lightweight Mesh which provides a lot of stability and the foam tongue feels very comfortable and plush. The quality is a little sub-par as the materials are thick, not breathable, and feel a little excessive.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The entire upper is made of mesh. It's much softer compared to other meshes on the market and feels very premium.
 More details

Support of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Support Rating: 6.8 (ranks #198 of 205)
User Support Rating: 7.0 (ranks #172 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
The support in general is solid, but the lateral Zoom Air unit lacks stability and can cause some issues at times. The moderator plate works great for cushion and torsion. The internal heel counter works well too and I had no issues there.
 More details
6.0
August 4, 2020
My foot was locked in on the footbed and I had no issues with containment. I didn't roll my ankle, but I felt uncomfortable on lateral cuts because this shoe is pretty unstable due to the soft and high midsole.
 More details
7.0
August 3, 2020
I felt some instabilities on lateral cuts because the cushioning is so high off-the-ground. Other than that, the heel was locked down, the torsional rigidity was good and I didn't slip on the footbed.
 More details
The lacing system really locks down your feet and keeps them in place safely. However, the shoe is very unstable on lateral cuts because it is so high off-the-ground.
 More details
7.0
May 6, 2021
I wish they added more heel padding to help secure the ankle, but the heel counter and lacing tightly help to alleviate that. It also has a wide base that helps you feel stable.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #63 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #71 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Lockdown was solid and the shoes fit like a glove. The nylon lace cable does chafe my pinky toes which was pretty annoying.
 More details
9.0
August 4, 2020
Super easy to put on with a nice one-to-one fit. The toe box was snug initially but broke in after a few wears.
 More details
8.0
August 3, 2020
Overall the fit is really good, but there is some slight rubbing on the side of the foot at times.
 More details
The fit wraps around your foot and is extremely comfortable.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
There is a bit of extra space in the front of the shoe by the toes, but otherwise, it fits decently.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

User Durability Rating: 8.8 (ranks #70 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #91 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #40 of 205)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
1
I've been surprised with the durability of the outsole. These have been great outdoors.
 More details
no
August 4, 2020
The rubber is not durable enough for extended outdoor play.
 More details
fair
May 6, 2021
The rubber is hard. The grooves are also deep and thick.
 More details

Width of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
1
regular
6
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
regularly wide
August 4, 2020
Seems like normal width. If you have a wide foot I'd go up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
August 3, 2020
Consider going up half a size if you're a wide footer.
 More details
regularly wide
May 6, 2021
If you're a wide footer go true to size or a half a size up.
 More details

Size of the Nike Air Zoom BB NXT:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
7
slightly long
3
very long
0
½ size large
I went down half a size because the shoe looked like a runner, but other WearTesters team members said true to size worked for them.
 More details
true to size
August 4, 2020
True to size fits me very well.
 More details
true to size
August 3, 2020
True to size worked for me.
 More details
true to size
Runs true to size.
 More details
½ size large
May 6, 2021
If you want some toe space, go true to size, but if you want your toes to feel snug and against the shoe, go half a size down.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: