Search Shoe

Nike AlphaDunk Review

Nike AlphaDunk
Nike AlphaDunk
Nike AlphaDunk
Nike AlphaDunk
Deals from $95.97
7.5
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$179.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
9/2019
Traction
5.0
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
7.5
Outdoor
NA
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike AlphaDunk:

Total Orange/White/Black
Total Orange/White/Black
in 3 shops
$95.97
$180
Multi-Color/Black/Photo Blue/Voltage Purple
Multi-Color/Black/Photo Blue/Voltage Purple
in 5 shops
$95.97
$180
Metallic Silver/Red Orbit/Hyper Royal
Metallic Silver/Red Orbit/Hyper Royal
in 4 shops
$95.97
$180
Black/Wolf Grey/Black
Black/Wolf Grey/Black
in 4 shops
$96.97
$180
Black/White/Photo Blue
Black/White/Photo Blue
in 4 shops
$96.97
$180
Racer Pink/Black/Volt
Racer Pink/Black/Volt
in 4 shops
$96.97
$180

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Huge Air Zoom unit

CONS:

Horrible traction
Very bulky

Performance of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Is the Nike AlphaDunk a worthy successor to Nike's popular Hyperdunk line? Unfortunately, the traction is absolutely horrendous - even on clean courts. Some reviewers didn't even want to play in these because they were afraid to hurt themselves! The huge Nike Zoom unit in the forefoot provides a lot of bounce and impact protection but sacrifices court feel. The upper material is very strong and supportive but doesn't feel great in-hand. The Nike AlphDunk is a good fit for big guys looking for a shoe that feels like a tank. Quick and shifty players shouldn't buy this shoe because of the lacking traction and court feel.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Nike AlphaDunk:

The 7.5 average overall rating ranks #117 of 123 shoes overall
7.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
The Nike AlphaDunk is not a good performance basketball shoe! This shoe is way too bulky and the traction is horrible. I can only recommend this shoe to slow and heavy big guys.
Watch the video
7.4
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
No! Don't get it! Especially for $180, this is a no go. The traction was just horrible and I don't like the aesthetics either.
Watch the video
7.6
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
$180 is a huge price for an average performer like that. The traction is just too bad - I can't recommend the Nike AlphaDunk.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike AlphaDunk:

The 5.0 average traction rating ranks #122 of 123 shoes overall
5.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
The traction is worse than horrible! I really didn't want to play in these because I was afraid of hurting myself.
Watch the video
5.0
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
On clean courts the traction is good but I experienced a little bit of sliding on straight movements. On dusty courts, this shoe sucks!
Watch the video
5.0
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
I've played over two weeks in the AlphaDunk and the traction is just really bad and picks up a lot of dust.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike AlphaDunk:

The 8.3 average cushion rating ranks #77 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
Double-stacked Zoom in the heel and a huge Zoom Air unit in the forefoot. I would have preferred more court feel and heel-to-toe transition.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
The extremely large forefoot Zoom unit is super bouncy and feels really comfortable. Great impact protection, okay responsiveness, but you don't get a lot of court feel.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
The cushion is really nice and bouncy, but you lose a little bit of court feel. If you are looking for impact protection, this shoe has you covered!
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike AlphaDunk:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #92 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
The Flyknit upper material feels a little harder and plasticky than the Battleknit from the Lebron 16. On-foot the materials are comfortable and supportive.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
I don't like the way the "bubbly" Flyknit looks and feels in-hand, but it's soft and conforms nicely to your feet.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
The upper material is comparable to the Battleknit of the Lebron 16. The upper is TPU-coated which delivers a lot of support but feels a little rough.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike AlphaDunk:

The 8.3 average support rating ranks #82 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
Lockdown and support are great, but mobility and stability were not good at all for me. It was just too bulky for me.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
Good ankle support and lockdown, but I did feel my foot hitting the outside material on lateral movements.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
The support is just fine: no heel slippage, no side-to-side movements on the footbed, and a ton of torsional rigidity and stability.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike AlphaDunk:

The 7.5 average fit rating ranks #107 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
The fit was pretty roomy in the midfoot and the lacing system didn't allow me to lace it more tightly. Other than that, the fit was good.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
The fit is pretty good, but the shoe can be a little tough to get on.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

No opinions on outdoor use found

Width of the Nike AlphaDunk:

slightly wide
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
A little bit roomy overall.
Watch the video
regularly wide
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
Not crazy wide or narrow.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
Unless you have really wide feet, you will be okay.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike AlphaDunk:

true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 16, 2019
Fits perfectly lengthwise.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
September 4, 2019
Go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
September 4, 2019
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $95.97:
Total Orange/White/Black
Total Orange/White/Black
in 3 shops
$95.97
$180
Multi-Color/Black/Photo Blue/Voltage Purple
Multi-Color/Black/Photo Blue/Voltage Purple
in 5 shops
$95.97
$180
Metallic Silver/Red Orbit/Hyper Royal
Metallic Silver/Red Orbit/Hyper Royal
in 4 shops
$95.97
$180
Black/Wolf Grey/Black
Black/Wolf Grey/Black
in 4 shops
$96.97
$180
Black/White/Photo Blue
Black/White/Photo Blue
in 4 shops
$96.97
$180
Racer Pink/Black/Volt
Racer Pink/Black/Volt
in 4 shops
$96.97
$180