Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike AlphaDunk

Released 9/2019, High Top, 
Add to Favourites
7.5
EXPERT RATING
3 reviews
NA
USER RATING
0 ratings
Nike's successor to the popular Hyperdunk line is a very disappointing performance shoe

Best Suitable For:

Only works for slow, heavy big guys looking for support and impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $179.99
DICK's
$86.97
$180
Buy Now
StockX
from $90.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
5.0
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
7.5
Outdoor
NA

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
23 likes
Racer Pink/Black/Volt
Racer Pink/Black/Volt
from DICK's
$86.97
$180
28 likes
Black/White/Photo Blue
Black/White/Photo Blue
from StockX
$90.00
20 likes
Multi-Color/Black/Photo Blue/Voltage Purple
Multi-Color/Black/Photo Blue/Voltage Purple
from StockX
$90.00
24 likes
Metallic Silver/Red Orbit/Hyper Royal
Metallic Silver/Red Orbit/Hyper Royal
from StockX
$114.00
21 likes
Black/Wolf Grey/Black
Black/Wolf Grey/Black
from StockX
$150.00
17 likes
Total Orange/White/Black
Total Orange/White/Black
from StockX
$150.00

Nike AlphaDunk Review

Pros:
Huge Air Zoom unit
Cons:
Horrible traction
Very bulky

Performance of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Is the Nike AlphaDunk a worthy successor to Nike's popular Hyperdunk line? Unfortunately, the traction is absolutely horrendous - even on clean courts. Some reviewers didn't even want to play in these because they were afraid to hurt themselves! The huge Nike Zoom unit in the forefoot provides a lot of bounce and impact protection but sacrifices court feel. The upper material is very strong and supportive but doesn't feel great in-hand. The Nike AlphDunk is a good fit for big guys looking for a shoe that feels like a tank. Quick and shifty players shouldn't buy this shoe because of the lacking traction and court feel.
See all 3 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Rating: 7.5 (ranks #198 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.6
September 4, 2019
$180 is a huge price for an average performer like that. The traction is just too bad - I can't recommend the Nike AlphaDunk.
 More details
7.5
September 16, 2019
The Nike AlphaDunk is not a good performance basketball shoe! This shoe is way too bulky and the traction is horrible. I can only recommend this shoe to slow and heavy big guys.
 More details
7.4
September 4, 2019
No! Don't get it! Especially for $180, this is a no go. The traction was just horrible and I don't like the aesthetics either.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike AlphaDunk:

No user reviews so far

Traction of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Traction Rating: 5.0 (ranks #210 of 211)
User Traction Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
3
5.0
September 4, 2019
I've played over two weeks in the AlphaDunk and the traction is just really bad and picks up a lot of dust.
 More details
5.0
September 16, 2019
The traction is worse than horrible! I really didn't want to play in these because I was afraid of hurting myself.
 More details
5.0
September 4, 2019
On clean courts the traction is good but I experienced a little bit of sliding on straight movements. On dusty courts, this shoe sucks!
 More details

Cushion of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #131 of 211)
User Cushion Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 4, 2019
The cushion is really nice and bouncy, but you lose a little bit of court feel. If you are looking for impact protection, this shoe has you covered!
 More details
8.0
September 16, 2019
Double-stacked Zoom in the heel and a huge Zoom Air unit in the forefoot. I would have preferred more court feel and heel-to-toe transition.
 More details
9.0
September 4, 2019
The extremely large forefoot Zoom unit is super bouncy and feels really comfortable. Great impact protection, okay responsiveness, but you don't get a lot of court feel.
 More details

Materials of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #151 of 211)
User Materials Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 4, 2019
The upper material is comparable to the Battleknit of the Lebron 16. The upper is TPU-coated which delivers a lot of support but feels a little rough.
 More details
8.0
September 16, 2019
The Flyknit upper material feels a little harder and plasticky than the Battleknit from the Lebron 16. On-foot the materials are comfortable and supportive.
 More details
8.0
September 4, 2019
I don't like the way the "bubbly" Flyknit looks and feels in-hand, but it's soft and conforms nicely to your feet.
 More details

Support of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #136 of 211)
User Support Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
September 4, 2019
The support is just fine: no heel slippage, no side-to-side movements on the footbed, and a ton of torsional rigidity and stability.
 More details
8.0
September 16, 2019
Lockdown and support are great, but mobility and stability were not good at all for me. It was just too bulky for me.
 More details
8.0
September 4, 2019
Good ankle support and lockdown, but I did feel my foot hitting the outside material on lateral movements.
 More details

Fit of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.5 (ranks #191 of 211)
User Fit Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 4, 2019
The fit is pretty good, but the shoe can be a little tough to get on.
 More details
7.0
September 4, 2019
The fit was pretty roomy in the midfoot and the lacing system didn't allow me to lace it more tightly. Other than that, the fit was good.
 More details

Durability of the Nike AlphaDunk:

User Durability Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike AlphaDunk:

Expert Outdoor Rating: NA 
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
0
Bad (0%)
0

Width of the Nike AlphaDunk:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
2
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
regularly wide
September 4, 2019
Unless you have really wide feet, you will be okay.
 More details
slightly wide
September 16, 2019
A little bit roomy overall.
 More details
regularly wide
September 4, 2019
Not crazy wide or narrow.
 More details

Size of the Nike AlphaDunk:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
3
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
September 4, 2019
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
September 16, 2019
Fits perfectly lengthwise.
 More details
true to size
September 4, 2019
Go true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: