Search Shoe

Nike Cosmic Unity

Nike Cosmic Unity
Nike Cosmic Unity
Nike Cosmic Unity
Nike Cosmic Unity
Add to Favourites
8.8
The Nike Cosmic Unity is made from 25% recycled trash but doesn't perform like trash at all.
based on 4 expert reviews
based on 4 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Best for players who need a good mix of impact protection and court feel.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
Champs Sports
Buy Now
Finishline
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
8.3
Cushion
9.3
Materials
9.0
Support
8.8
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
33%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
3/2021
Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
27 likes
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
in 7 shops
$119.99
$150
48 likes
Natural / Natural / Total Orange / Green Glow
Natural / Natural / Total Orange / Green Glow
in 3 shops
$149.99
57 likes
Particle Grey / Total Crimson / Black / Chambray Blue
Particle Grey / Total Crimson / Black / Chambray Blue
in 4 shops
$150.00
26 likes
Aprict Agate / Black / Lime Glow
Aprict Agate / Black / Lime Glow
in 7 shops
$150.00
54 likes
Black / White / Ghost
Black / White / Ghost
in 4 shops
$150.00
31 likes
Sapphire / Atomic Orange / Glacier Blue / Green Glow
Sapphire / Atomic Orange / Glacier Blue / Green Glow
from StockX
$105.00

Nike Cosmic Unity Review

Pros:
Balanced cushion
Great support
Cons:
Inconsistent traction on dust

Performance of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The Nike Cosmic Unity is part of Nike's sustainability push and made from at least 25% trash. Is the performance on the court trash as well? The traction features a traditional herringbone pattern that performs well on clean courts but struggles a little on dusty surfaces. The cushion setup uses the same Zoom Air Strobel as the KD 12 and 13 and provides nice impact protection and responsiveness. The midsole is very low to the ground and gives your great court feel. The knit materials are nice to the touch and very durable. Performance-wise you'll have no issues! The support provides everything you've come to expect from performance basketball shoes with solid lateral stability and containment. Overall the Nike Cosmic Unity is a solid performer in every category. Just watch out if you play on dusty courts often.
See all 4 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The 8.8 average overall rating ranks #20 of 176 shoes overall
8.6
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The Nike Cosmic Unity is a great shoe. The cushion felt very good after breaking them in, and the materials feel premium. My only complaint about the shoe is the extra weight coming from the protruding heel cup.
Watch the video
8.8
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
The Cosmic Unity is super nice! Similar to the KD 13, but better quality and a little bulkier. I feel like any position or type of player would enjoy playing in these. These will be in my rotation and I really liked playing in them.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
Overall, I have loved playing in the Nike Cosmic Unity. They provide the stability and cushion I want and love. There's nothing I can complain about!
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.8
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
The Nike Cosmic Unity retails for $150 and is a really solid shoe for the price. The only thing I didn't like in these was the traction on dust. I'm hoping the other colorways have better traction.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The 8.3 average traction rating ranks #103 of 176 shoes overall
8.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The cushion is good but not top-notch.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
The herringbone outsole performs pretty well. It doesn't have the best stop, but there weren't any slip outs and the experience was consistent overall.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
The herringbone traction is a beautiful thing. Nothing too special about the outsole but herringbone just works well. I only got to play in these outdoors and the outsole did a great job.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
The herringbone pattern is pretty spaced out here and worked well on clean courts. On dusty courts, I was sliding here and there even after some wiping.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The 9.3 average cushion rating ranks #21 of 176 shoes overall
9.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
I needed to break in the cushion a bit because of the Phylon. Once broken in, I loved the feel of the full-length Zoom Strobel. It was very bouncy while staying low to the ground.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
The cushion is my favorite part about the shoe! The full-length Zoom Strobel is very similar to the KD 13. It's bouncy with good impact protection, and great court feel. Overall, it's an ideal cushion setup.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
This cushion uses a full-length Zoom Air Strobel unit similar to the KD 12 and 13 but is low to the ground like a Kyrie. This gives you a ton of court feel without sacrificing too much cushion. I felt super stable and mobile at all times!
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
They use the same Air strobel unit as the KD 13 and have great impact protection and responsiveness. The court feel was also really good because the midsole sat very low to the ground. I am really happy with the cushion here.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The 9.0 average materials rating ranks #16 of 176 shoes overall
9.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
I needed a little bit of break-in time to get the upper to feel comfortable, but the knit material used does feel premium.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
The mostly recycled materials are pretty nice. A little stiff in the beginning, but the materials broke in well. These conformed to my foot quite well.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
The upper is made of thick knit and textiles and it's really durable and needed almost no break-in time. It wasn't very breathable, but it's one of the nicer knit builds in recent years.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
The knit upper material is really nice. It feels good to the touch and I had no containment issues. Performance-wise these got the job done just fine.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The 8.8 average support rating ranks #52 of 176 shoes overall
9.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
The upper is very supportive without feeling too rigid. The midsole also wraps up onto the midfoot to help keep you on the footbed. The Nike Cosmic Unity has top-notch support and lockdown.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
Support and lockdown are good. I had no lateral containment issues or problems with lateral stability. Heel slippage was an issue for me, but it didn't prevent me from having fun in these.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
The beefy midsole did a nice job of holding my foot in place in the forefoot, midfoot, and heel. As long as these fit you properly, you won't have to worry about support at all.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
I had absolutely zero issues with the support. There was no heel slippage or side-to-side movement on the footbed. Lateral stability was nice because of the wide base. Overall, the support is very good!
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The 8.8 average fit rating ranks #45 of 176 shoes overall
8.0
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
I had no problems with the fit of the shoe. It's very comfortable once broken in.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
The shoe fits me quite well and is easy to put on.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
I had a little heel slip initially, but when the shoe warmed up and became more flexible it wasn't an issue. Lockdown was solid through all of my wear and I had no issues.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
There is no dead space in the toe box. I really enjoyed the snug fit!
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 33.3% average outdoor rating ranks #91 of 176 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
Durability is bad outdoors.
Watch the video
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
Durability has been okay outdoors.
Watch the Video|Read the article
fair
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
I had some fraying after playing in these outdoors.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

slightly narrow
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
The width is normal to slightly narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
March 21, 2021
If you have wide feet I'd go up half a size.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

true to size
MARKCHES
May 6, 2021
Go true to size for regular foot shape and half a size up for wide foot shape.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
March 26, 2021
True to size should be good.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
March 21, 2021
True to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
in 7 shops
$119.99
$150
Natural / Natural / Total Orange / Green Glow
Natural / Natural / Total Orange / Green Glow
in 3 shops
$149.99
Particle Grey / Total Crimson / Black / Chambray Blue
Particle Grey / Total Crimson / Black / Chambray Blue
in 4 shops
$150.00
Aprict Agate / Black / Lime Glow
Aprict Agate / Black / Lime Glow
in 7 shops
$150.00
Black / White / Ghost
Black / White / Ghost
in 4 shops
$150.00
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
$119.99
on Champs Sports