Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Cosmic Unity

Released 3/2021, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
10 ratings
The Nike Cosmic Unity is made from 25% recycled trash but doesn't perform like trash at all.

Best Suitable For:

Best for players who need a good mix of impact protection and court feel.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
DICK's
Buy Now
StockX
from $84.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.3
Cushion
9.3
Materials
9.0
Support
8.8
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
33%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
43 likes
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
Black / Barely Volt / Smoke Grey / Black
from DICK's
$149.99
93 likes
Particle Grey / Total Crimson / Black / Chambray Blue
Particle Grey / Total Crimson / Black / Chambray Blue
from DICK's
$149.99
50 likes
Aprict Agate / Black / Lime Glow
Aprict Agate / Black / Lime Glow
from DICK's
$149.99
33 likes
University Red / Black / Crimson Bliss
University Red / Black / Crimson Bliss
from DICK's
$149.99
19 likes
Black / White / Crimson
Black / White / Crimson
from DICK's
$149.99
29 likes
Green / White / Orange
Green / White / Orange
from DICK's
$149.99
24 likes
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from DICK's
$149.99
127 likes
Black / White / Ghost
Black / White / Ghost
from StockX
$86.00
59 likes
Sapphire / Atomic Orange / Glacier Blue / Green Glow
Sapphire / Atomic Orange / Glacier Blue / Green Glow
from StockX
$89.00
35 likes
Game Royal / Black / Copa Lime Glow
Game Royal / Black / Copa Lime Glow
from StockX
$123.00
92 likes
Natural / Natural / Total Orange / Green Glow
Natural / Natural / Total Orange / Green Glow
from StockX
$149.00

Nike Cosmic Unity Review

Pros:
Balanced cushion
Great support
Cons:
Inconsistent traction on dust

Performance of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

The Nike Cosmic Unity is part of Nike's sustainability push and made from at least 25% trash. Is the performance on the court trash as well? The traction features a traditional herringbone pattern that performs well on clean courts but struggles a little on dusty surfaces. The cushion setup uses the same Zoom Air Strobel as the KD 12 and 13 and provides nice impact protection and responsiveness. The midsole is very low to the ground and gives your great court feel. The knit materials are nice to the touch and very durable. Performance-wise you'll have no issues! The support provides everything you've come to expect from performance basketball shoes with solid lateral stability and containment. Overall the Nike Cosmic Unity is a solid performer in every category. Just watch out if you play on dusty courts often.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Rating: 8.8 (ranks #28 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Overall, I have loved playing in the Nike Cosmic Unity. They provide the stability and cushion I want and love. There's nothing I can complain about!
 More details
8.8
March 21, 2021
The Nike Cosmic Unity retails for $150 and is a really solid shoe for the price. The only thing I didn't like in these was the traction on dust. I'm hoping the other colorways have better traction.
 More details
8.8
March 26, 2021
The Cosmic Unity is super nice! Similar to the KD 13, but better quality and a little bulkier. I feel like any position or type of player would enjoy playing in these. These will be in my rotation and I really liked playing in them.
 More details
8.6
May 6, 2021
The Nike Cosmic Unity is a great shoe. The cushion felt very good after breaking them in, and the materials feel premium. My only complaint about the shoe is the extra weight coming from the protruding heel cup.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #53 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
January 26, 2022
I had a black outsole and the traction never panned out, on clean courts the bite is good not great, on dust the bite is decent, if dust is present you will be sliding frequently (Black Outsole!) Cushion is bouncy, very low to the ground as well Support, lockdown, and fit are the best aspects of the shoe, as they keep your fit locked in greatly True to Size
 More details
9.0
October 27, 2021
Good-looking colorway. Great material.
 More details
9.0
January 10, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.3
March 19, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
December 22, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #122 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #122 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The herringbone traction is a beautiful thing. Nothing too special about the outsole but herringbone just works well. I only got to play in these outdoors and the outsole did a great job.
 More details
8.0
March 21, 2021
The herringbone pattern is pretty spaced out here and worked well on clean courts. On dusty courts, I was sliding here and there even after some wiping.
 More details
8.0
March 26, 2021
The herringbone outsole performs pretty well. It doesn't have the best stop, but there weren't any slip outs and the experience was consistent overall.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The cushion is good but not top-notch.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #24 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #31 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
This cushion uses a full-length Zoom Air Strobel unit similar to the KD 12 and 13 but is low to the ground like a Kyrie. This gives you a ton of court feel without sacrificing too much cushion. I felt super stable and mobile at all times!
 More details
9.0
March 21, 2021
They use the same Air strobel unit as the KD 13 and have great impact protection and responsiveness. The court feel was also really good because the midsole sat very low to the ground. I am really happy with the cushion here.
 More details
10.0
March 26, 2021
The cushion is my favorite part about the shoe! The full-length Zoom Strobel is very similar to the KD 13. It's bouncy with good impact protection, and great court feel. Overall, it's an ideal cushion setup.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
I needed to break in the cushion a bit because of the Phylon. Once broken in, I loved the feel of the full-length Zoom Strobel. It was very bouncy while staying low to the ground.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #14 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 9.4 (ranks #11 of 205)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The upper is made of thick knit and textiles and it's really durable and needed almost no break-in time. It wasn't very breathable, but it's one of the nicer knit builds in recent years.
 More details
9.0
March 21, 2021
The knit upper material is really nice. It feels good to the touch and I had no containment issues. Performance-wise these got the job done just fine.
 More details
9.0
March 26, 2021
The mostly recycled materials are pretty nice. A little stiff in the beginning, but the materials broke in well. These conformed to my foot quite well.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
I needed a little bit of break-in time to get the upper to feel comfortable, but the knit material used does feel premium.
 More details

Support of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #57 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #75 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The beefy midsole did a nice job of holding my foot in place in the forefoot, midfoot, and heel. As long as these fit you properly, you won't have to worry about support at all.
 More details
9.0
March 21, 2021
I had absolutely zero issues with the support. There was no heel slippage or side-to-side movement on the footbed. Lateral stability was nice because of the wide base. Overall, the support is very good!
 More details
8.0
March 26, 2021
Support and lockdown are good. I had no lateral containment issues or problems with lateral stability. Heel slippage was an issue for me, but it didn't prevent me from having fun in these.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
The upper is very supportive without feeling too rigid. The midsole also wraps up onto the midfoot to help keep you on the footbed. The Nike Cosmic Unity has top-notch support and lockdown.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #43 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #67 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I had a little heel slip initially, but when the shoe warmed up and became more flexible it wasn't an issue. Lockdown was solid through all of my wear and I had no issues.
 More details
9.0
March 21, 2021
There is no dead space in the toe box. I really enjoyed the snug fit!
 More details
9.0
March 26, 2021
The shoe fits me quite well and is easy to put on.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
I had no problems with the fit of the shoe. It's very comfortable once broken in.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #108 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 33.3 (ranks #108 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 57.1 (ranks #82 of 205)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
6
Bad (0%)
2
Durability has been okay outdoors.
 More details
fair
March 21, 2021
I had some fraying after playing in these outdoors.
 More details
no
March 26, 2021
Durability is bad outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
7
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
slightly narrow
March 21, 2021
If you have wide feet I'd go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 26, 2021
The width is normal to slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
May 6, 2021
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the Nike Cosmic Unity:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
11
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
True to size.
 More details
true to size
March 26, 2021
True to size should be good.
 More details
true to size
May 6, 2021
Go true to size for regular foot shape and half a size up for wide foot shape.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: