Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017

Released 8/2017, High Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
9 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
2 ratings
Comfortable Flyknit material and incredible traction

Best Suitable For:

Perfect shoe for guards who value court feel

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $159.99
StockX
from $500.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.2
Cushion
7.6
Materials
8.9
Support
8.4
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
17%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
15 likes
College Navy / Deep Royal Blue
College Navy / Deep Royal Blue
from StockX
$500.00
24 likes
White / Metallic Silver
White / Metallic Silver
No stores found
14 likes
Multi-Color / Black
Multi-Color / Black
No stores found
13 likes
Pale Grey / Sail
Pale Grey / Sail
No stores found
11 likes
University Red / Reflect Silver
University Red / Reflect Silver
No stores found
15 likes
Black / Metallic Silver
Black / Metallic Silver
No stores found
21 likes
Cool Grey / Black
Cool Grey / Black
No stores found

Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017 Review

Pros:
amazing traction
very comfortable
Cons:
React cushion is dissapointing

Performance of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Reviewers really like the comfortable Flyknit material and the incredible (and very squeaky) traction. The only downside of the shoe is the completely new React cushioning which is not able to convince the critics. Many find it to be dead or lifeless and would prefer a traditional Nike Zoom cushioning. Outside of that, the shoe gets very good grades for its overall performance.
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #97 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 27, 2017
I am a big fan of the comfort and amazing traction of the FlyKnit version of the Hyperdunk 2017.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
You feel super fast in these shoes. The Hyperdunk 2017 is one of the top performers of 2017
 More details
8.7
December 27, 2017
Overall, I can highly recommend this shoe for players of every position. Me, as a guard, I love this shoe as I get decent impact protection and a great court feel!
 More details
The Nike React Hyperdunk 2017 is by far one of the most solid shoes I’ve played in this year
 More details
8.6
January 1, 2017
HD2017 has taken the top Hyperdunk spot. Better traction than previous Hyperdunks, better cushioning than the 2012-14 version, great fit, good stability and excellent containment… what more do you want?
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
Amazing traction, good support and the addition of React cushioning is welcome. I like shoes you can just put on, and they don't get in the way.
 More details
8.5
Overall, this is a really good shoe. Good traction, nice material and solid lockdown. Support could have been a little better. At $160 it is a little expensive.
 More details
The Nike Hyperdunk 2017 Flyknit isn’t a bad shoe. The cushion isn’t what I expected, but it’s tolerable. The lateral containment wasn’t the best, but it won’t keep me from hooping in these again.
 More details
I’d say the React Hyperdunk was disappointing. It is a hard shoe to recommend when better options are available at all price points.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #79 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
March 15, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.9
May 10, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #38 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #87 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
December 27, 2017
I feel like someone took a glue stick and went over the bottom of my shoes!
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
On a clean court you will be sticking!
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
Traction is phenomenal and collects very little dust.
 More details
The outsole did take some time to break-in but afterwards, it’s amazing — especially that extended outrigger.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Almost Kobe IX level.. almost.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
I absolutely loved the traction!
 More details
8.0
The traction is phenomenal on clean courts, but on dusty courts you need to wipe frequently.
 More details
The traction was so good I was on the court stopping on a dime when I didn’t have to.
 More details
I found the traction to be first class in every regard.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.6 (ranks #171 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 9.0 (ranks #71 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
December 27, 2017
The Rect cushioning felt really nice playing in it.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Good amount of impact protection and very responsive, but not very bouncy.
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
I can't complain too much, decent bounce and impact protection.
 More details
A big guy like myself — someone who has a heavy in-step and lands hard — requires something more cushioned
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Overall I really liked the full length React foam set up even if it isn’t the most fun feeling or bounciest set up.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
Responsive and firm cushioning with decent impact protection.
 More details
8.0
React Cushioning feels pretty nice but I wasn't blown away by the performance. Feels like a more firm and responsive Lunarlon.
 More details
The React foam was stiff, and it had no life — it was super dead.
 More details
I found React to feel lifeless, and lacking in almost all areas.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.9 (ranks #43 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #95 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 27, 2017
The FlyKnit version is really comfortable.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Super soft and no break-in period.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The full FlyKnit upper feels really comfortable and gives you a nice 1:1 fit.
 More details
The upper is constructed entirely of Flyknit and it’s super comfortable around the foot
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
I had no issues at all with the materials.
 More details
9.0
The materials feel really nice, no break in needed!
 More details
The materials are extremely comfortable.
 More details

Support of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #118 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #114 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 27, 2017
Really nice containment, no heel slippage -reminded me of the Kobe 9.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Lockdown and support was good, but the upper is a bit too stretchy for hard cuts.
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
I had slight problems on very hard lateral cuts because the FlyKnit stretches and doesn't provide as much containment as the mesh version.
 More details
The support comes directly from the fit, and the fit was wonderful once fully broken in
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The HD does a great job with stability thanks to the pods along the lateral side of the shoe.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
The support was good, but not the greatest.That's because the FlyKnit does sacrifice in this area in exchange for more comfort.
 More details
8.0
Support and lockdown are pretty solid.
 More details
Too much lateral movement, other than that, everything else was good.
 More details
The heel is solidly stabilized thanks to these elements, and the aforementioned tongue padding offers enough protection to further lock the heel in from the top.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #53 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 7.5 (ranks #163 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
January 1, 2017
The fit was just incredible.
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
The materials give you a nice 1:1 fit, but with my wide feet I had a slightly uncomfortable break-in period.
 More details
One of my favorite aspects of the shoe is the fit
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
I was very pleased with the fit of the HD17.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The FlyKnit upper molds around your feet very well.
 More details
Once the Flyknit broke in, the materials loosened up, causing some dead space in the toebox.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

User Durability Rating: 8.5 (ranks #102 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 16.7 (ranks #151 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #141 of 205)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
3
fair
January 1, 2017
Durability for outdoor play isn't the best.
 More details
If you play outdoors, the outsole prob wouldn’t last very long.
 More details
I wouldn't really recommend these for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
4
regular
3
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
A little bit narrow
 More details
very narrow
December 27, 2017
The FlyKnit version of this shoe runs very narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
Even for a wide-footer like myself, I went with my natural size
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Wide footers will want to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
Wide footer may need to go half a size up
 More details
slightly narrow
The shoes fit a bit snug out of the box.
 More details

Size of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
7
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
January 1, 2017
True to size
 More details
true to size
I recommend going true to size
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
A little short length wise but true to size overall.
 More details
true to size
December 27, 2017
True to size.
 More details
true to size
Go true to size
 More details
½ size large
I have a narrow foot, I went with my usual size, and should have gone a 1/2 size down.
 More details
½ size small
As a 13, I didn’t have the luxury of going up a half size when I bought my pair, but consider it you prefer your shoes with a little more room.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: