Search Shoe

Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$159.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
8/2017
# of Reviews:
9
Traction
9.2
Cushion
7.6
Materials
8.9
Support
8.4
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
17%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

White / Metallic Silver
White / Metallic Silver
No stores found
Multi-Color / Black
Multi-Color / Black
No stores found
Pale Grey / Sail
Pale Grey / Sail
No stores found
University Red / Reflect Silver
University Red / Reflect Silver
No stores found
Black / Metallic Silver
Black / Metallic Silver
No stores found
Cool Grey / Black
Cool Grey / Black
No stores found
College Navy / Deep Royal Blue
College Navy / Deep Royal Blue
No stores found

PROS:

  • amazing traction
  • very comfortable

CONS:

  • React cushion is dissapointing

Summary of 9 Expert Reviews:

Reviewers really like the comfortable Flyknit material and the incredible (and very squeaky) traction. The only downside of the shoe is the completely new React cushioning which is not able to convince the critics. Many find it to be dead or lifeless and would prefer a traditional Nike Zoom cushioning. Outside of that, the shoe gets very good grades for its overall performance.
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

The 8.5 average overall rating ranks #61 of 116 shoes overall
8.5
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
Amazing traction, good support and the addition of React cushioning is welcome. I like shoes you can just put on, and they don't get in the way.
Watch the video
9.0
KickGenius
December 27, 2017
I am a big fan of the comfort and amazing traction of the FlyKnit version of the Hyperdunk 2017.
Watch the video
8.7
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
Overall, I can highly recommend this shoe for players of every position. Me, as a guard, I love this shoe as I get decent impact protection and a great court feel!
Watch the video
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
I’d say the React Hyperdunk was disappointing. It is a hard shoe to recommend when better options are available at all price points.
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Nike Hyperdunk 2017 Flyknit isn’t a bad shoe. The cushion isn’t what I expected, but it’s tolerable. The lateral containment wasn’t the best, but it won’t keep me from hooping in these again.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.5
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Overall, this is a really good shoe. Good traction, nice material and solid lockdown. Support could have been a little better. At $160 it is a little expensive.
Watch the video
8.6
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
HD2017 has taken the top Hyperdunk spot. Better traction than previous Hyperdunks, better cushioning than the 2012-14 version, great fit, good stability and excellent containment… what more do you want?
8.6
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Nike React Hyperdunk 2017 is by far one of the most solid shoes I’ve played in this year
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
You feel super fast in these shoes. The Hyperdunk 2017 is one of the top performers of 2017
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

The 9.2 average traction rating ranks #20 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
I absolutely loved the traction!
Watch the video
10.0
KickGenius
December 27, 2017
I feel like someone took a glue stick and went over the bottom of my shoes!
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
Traction is phenomenal and collects very little dust.
Watch the video
10.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
I found the traction to be first class in every regard.
10.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The traction was so good I was on the court stopping on a dime when I didn’t have to.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The traction is phenomenal on clean courts, but on dusty courts you need to wipe frequently.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Almost Kobe IX level.. almost.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The outsole did take some time to break-in but afterwards, it’s amazing — especially that extended outrigger.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
On a clean court you will be sticking!
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

The 7.6 average cushion rating ranks #99 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
Responsive and firm cushioning with decent impact protection.
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
December 27, 2017
The Rect cushioning felt really nice playing in it.
Watch the video
8.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
I can't complain too much, decent bounce and impact protection.
Watch the video
6.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
I found React to feel lifeless, and lacking in almost all areas.
7.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The React foam was stiff, and it had no life — it was super dead.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
React Cushioning feels pretty nice but I wasn't blown away by the performance. Feels like a more firm and responsive Lunarlon.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall I really liked the full length React foam set up even if it isn’t the most fun feeling or bounciest set up.
7.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
A big guy like myself — someone who has a heavy in-step and lands hard — requires something more cushioned
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Good amount of impact protection and very responsive, but not very bouncy.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

The 8.9 average materials rating ranks #33 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
KickGenius
December 27, 2017
The FlyKnit version is really comfortable.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The full FlyKnit upper feels really comfortable and gives you a nice 1:1 fit.
Watch the video
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The materials are extremely comfortable.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The materials feel really nice, no break in needed!
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I had no issues at all with the materials.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The upper is constructed entirely of Flyknit and it’s super comfortable around the foot
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Super soft and no break-in period.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

The 8.4 average support rating ranks #73 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
The support was good, but not the greatest.That's because the FlyKnit does sacrifice in this area in exchange for more comfort.
Watch the video
9.0
KickGenius
December 27, 2017
Really nice containment, no heel slippage -reminded me of the Kobe 9.
Watch the video
8.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
I had slight problems on very hard lateral cuts because the FlyKnit stretches and doesn't provide as much containment as the mesh version.
Watch the video
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The heel is solidly stabilized thanks to these elements, and the aforementioned tongue padding offers enough protection to further lock the heel in from the top.
7.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Too much lateral movement, other than that, everything else was good.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Support and lockdown are pretty solid.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The HD does a great job with stability thanks to the pods along the lateral side of the shoe.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The support comes directly from the fit, and the fit was wonderful once fully broken in
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Lockdown and support was good, but the upper is a bit too stretchy for hard cuts.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

The 8.8 average fit rating ranks #43 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
The FlyKnit upper molds around your feet very well.
Watch the video
8.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The materials give you a nice 1:1 fit, but with my wide feet I had a slightly uncomfortable break-in period.
Watch the video
7.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Once the Flyknit broke in, the materials loosened up, causing some dead space in the toebox.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I was very pleased with the fit of the HD17.
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
One of my favorite aspects of the shoe is the fit
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The fit was just incredible.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 17% average outdoor rating ranks #79 of 116 shoes overall
no
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I wouldn't really recommend these for outdoor use.
Watch the video
no
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
If you play outdoors, the outsole prob wouldn’t last very long.
Watch the Video|Read the article
fair
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Durability for outdoor play isn't the best.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

very narrow
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The FlyKnit version of this shoe runs very narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
The shoes fit a bit snug out of the box.
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Wide footer may need to go half a size up
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Wide footers will want to go up half a size.
regularly wide
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Even for a wide-footer like myself, I went with my natural size
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
A little bit narrow
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Hyperdunk Flyknit 2017:

true to size
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
True to size.
Watch the video
½ size small
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
January 1, 2017
As a 13, I didn’t have the luxury of going up a half size when I bought my pair, but consider it you prefer your shoes with a little more room.
½ size large
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I have a narrow foot, I went with my usual size, and should have gone a 1/2 size down.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Go true to size
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
A little short length wise but true to size overall.
true to size
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I recommend going true to size
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
True to size
Watch the video