Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike KD 14

Released 4/2021, Mid Top, Kevin Durant, 
Add to Favourites
8.9
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
9.3
USER RATING
77 ratings
The KD14 is a great overall performer with no obvious weaknesses.

Best Suitable For:

A versatile shoe that works for all type of players.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
DICK's
$78.72
$150
Buy Now
Finishline
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (77)
Traction
9.4
Cushion
9.3
Materials
8.1
Support
8.7
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Nike Air Max Impact 3
Nike Air Max Impact 3
Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Zion 2
Puma Rise NITRO
Puma Rise NITRO
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.98.9(0.0)8.3(0.6)8.4(0.5)8.3(0.6)8.1(0.8)
User Rating9.38.7(0.6)8.3(1.0)8.8(0.5)8.8(0.5)8.2(1.1)
Best Price
$78.72
$150
$99.99
$140
$75
$100
$69.97
$90
$119.97
$140
$125
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight380g - 400g350g - 370g390g - 410g340g - 360g400g - 420gNA
 Show More
119 likes
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
from DICK's
$78.72
$150
52 likes
Game Royal / White / Black
Game Royal / White / Black
in 4 shops
$80.96
$150
38 likes
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
in 3 shops
$85.47
$150
96 likes
Black / Grey / Lime
Black / Grey / Lime
from DICK's
$94.47
$150
54 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from DICK's
$94.47
$150
37 likes
Black / Volt / White
Black / Volt / White
in 4 shops
$94.47
$150
23 likes
Valentine Day
Valentine Day
in 5 shops
$98.97
$150
106 likes
Royal Blue / Pale Coral / Coconut Milk
Royal Blue / Pale Coral / Coconut Milk
from DICK's
$149.99
149 likes
White / Black / Grey
White / Black / Grey
from DICK's
$149.99
45 likes
Black / Fusion Red / White / Yellow Strike
Black / Fusion Red / White / Yellow Strike
from DICK's
$149.99
96 likes
Black / Black / Laser Crimson
Black / Black / Laser Crimson
from DICK's
$149.99
94 likes
"Ron English"
"Ron English"
from DICK's
$149.99
21 likes
Navy / White
Navy / White
in 2 shops
$150.00
43 likes
Black / Multicolor
Black / Multicolor
from Foot Locker
$150.00
77 likes
"Aunt Pearl"
"Aunt Pearl"
in 3 shops
$150.00
27 likes
Green / Burgundy / Black
Green / Burgundy / Black
from Foot Locker
$150.00
64 likes
White / Lime Green / Multi
White / Lime Green / Multi
from StockX
$89.00
30 likes
Lapis / Turquoise Blue / Light Liquid Lime / Hyper Pink
Lapis / Turquoise Blue / Light Liquid Lime / Hyper Pink
from StockX
$95.00
76 likes
Black / Red
Black / Red
from StockX
$111.00
39 likes
Wolf Grey / Black / White
Wolf Grey / Black / White
from StockX
$118.00
159 likes
Black / Yellow Strike / Bright Crimson
Black / Yellow Strike / Bright Crimson
from StockX
$119.00
54 likes
Grey Fog / Particle Grey / Peach Cream / Sunset Pulse
Grey Fog / Particle Grey / Peach Cream / Sunset Pulse
from StockX
$173.00
46 likes
Court Purple / Black / White
Court Purple / Black / White
from StockX
$200.00
83 likes
Light Bone / Multi-Color / Cyan Pink
Light Bone / Multi-Color / Cyan Pink
No stores found

Nike KD 14 Review

Pros:
Soft & comfortable cushioning
Doesn't have any weaknesses
Cons:
A little bulky

Performance of the Nike KD 14:

For some reviewers, the traction of the KD14 took a little to break-in, but they all agreed that it provides a ton of grip on clean courts and doesn't have much trouble with dusty courts either. The Zoom Strobel and Cushlon midsole provide a perfect mix of comfort, impact protection, and responsiveness. One reviewer coined it the softest KD to date. Materials are a little cheap to the touch but they are comfortable on foot and combined with the wide base and plastic enforcement on the sides provide a lot of lockdown and support. The fit is less narrow than previous KD's and should work for most players unless you have super wide feet. Overall, reviewers agree that the KD14 is a slight improvement over the KD13 and a great overall performer that is absolutely worth the $150 price tag.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Rating: 8.9 (ranks #15 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Nike KD 14 is one of the best shoes of 2021 so far. The cushion feels like a springy marshmallow, the traction was fantastic, the support and lockdown were great. The shoe does everything well from a performance basketball perspective.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The Nike KD 14 provides excellent grip, stability, and cushion - especially when moving from side to side. It also does this without compromising much at all performance-wise.
 More details
Every aspect of the KD14 performs really well and I like it better than the KD13. The cushion feels awesome and the traction and fit work well after a short break-in period. Also, the $150 price is fair considering all the tech you are getting.
 More details
9.0
May 10, 2021
The KD 14 might be my #1 favorite shoe to play in right now! Awesome traction, minimal materials, and responsiveness without compromising impact protection - I absolutely love playing in them!
 More details
8.9
February 1, 2022
I definitely recommend the Nike KD 14. They have one of the best tractions out right now and a fantastic cushion. The support is also solid with the cheap-feeling materials being the only con.
 More details
8.8
January 22, 2022
Overall, the Nike KD 14 is another step forward in Kevin Durant's shoe line. They're light on foot, breathable, and the traction is great.
 More details
8.6
May 4, 2021
The KD 14 is very comfortable, a lot of fun to play in, and just a great shoe overall.
 More details
8.4
June 14, 2021
The KD 14 is one of the most versatile shoes out right now. It has the best technology that Nike has to offer, making it so that everyone can play in the shoe regardless of position. I feel like the KD 14 has something to offer for everyone and it's one of my favorite shoes to play in right now.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike KD 14:

User Rating: 9.3 (ranks #21 of 229)
10 - Amazing
24
9 - Great
50
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.3
March 28, 2022
The Nike KD14 is an amazing performer for basically everybody. The traction is great and it doesn’t pick up too much dust. The cushion is amazing and it is very soft with great impact protection and bounce. The support was pretty good and the shoe locked you in pretty well. The materials were pretty good but it got a little hot after playing in it for a while. The durability on the materials weren’t that great but the rubber holds up very well. Overall it’s a great shoe and I would recommend it.
 More details
9.4
June 24, 2022
This shoe is amazing,I think it’s actually the best shoe that I own right now.It is very small,I had to go one size up.Personally I think the traction,on a clean court,is as good as the curry 8 and curry 9.The zoom unit makes it be very bouncy and you don’t need to brake in for it to work.You rarely need to wipe the bottom of the shoe because it rarely picks up dust.I have been playing with the KD14 on dusty courts for 5-6 months and I wiped only 2 times.The shoe can’t hold up on otutdoor courts
 More details
9.0
April 6, 2022
The traction was great and bites good. It does require a wipe after 6 or 4 plays though. The cushion was amazing. The Cushlon and full length Zoom strobel provided amazing compression. Support was pretty good, my foot didn't roll over on itself at all. The materials were good, very minimal and felt good on foot. The fit for me was nice, but go down half a size. You can play outdoors in these if you want. Overall, good ball shoe for any position. This is my go-to.
 More details
9.4
April 24, 2022
The traction is just below the Curry 9, the cushion is the best thing about this shoe, super bouncy! The materials are really thin but not the most premium for the price and the heel is not clunky so heel to toe transition is very nice. This is a good shoe for non guard positions. But The kd 15 will be out in like a month or 2 so I would recommend that for gaurds but the kd 14 is a very nice performer all round
 More details
8.2
October 25, 2021
The KD14 was a very good shoe, the traction and the cushioning are top tier. However, there is very little arch support and the shoe becomes slightly unstable when there are heavy impacts and the cushlon compresses a bit too much. That causes a bit of unstability. I went up half a size since I have flat and semi-wide feet. It felt great since I can then crank down the laces. Do not go outdoor with them.
 More details

Traction of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.4 (ranks #25 of 229)
User Traction Rating: 9.5 (ranks #30 of 229)
10 - Amazing
44
9 - Great
37
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The traction on these guys is just amazing. I had no issues indoors or outdoors. I have zero complaints.
 More details
10.0
January 22, 2022
The outsole has wider right angles and linear panels, allowing it to grip more intimately into the court.
 More details
The traction took a little bit to break in, but then they gripped the floor pretty well.
 More details
10.0
May 10, 2021
The traction is top tier! Even on a dusty court, the KD14 was gripping like crazy.
 More details
10.0
February 1, 2022
As far as the traction goes, it was fantastic. I had no need to wipe dust and had zero slide-outs.
 More details
10.0
January 22, 2022
The traction on these performs just as well as the KD 13s, if not better.
 More details
10.0
May 4, 2021
The traction on the KD14 is freaking amazing. You'll stop on a dime on clean courts and even on dusty courts, you won't have any issues!
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2021
The traction is very solid.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #29 of 229)
User Cushion Rating: 9.5 (ranks #24 of 229)
10 - Amazing
47
9 - Great
32
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The cushion is fantastic just like last year. This is the best balance of everything when it comes to cushioning in a basketball shoe.
 More details
10.0
January 22, 2022
The full-length Cushlon and Zoom Strobel make the shoe ridiculously comfortable underfoot.
 More details
The cushion on the KD14 feels great! It feels low-to-the-ground but you still get great impact protection.
 More details
10.0
May 10, 2021
Easily my favorite cushioning set up right now! You get a nice bounce from the Zoom Strobel when you are running and extra impact protection by the Cushlon foam on heavier impacts.
 More details
9.0
February 1, 2022
The added Cushlon provides plenty of step-in comfort, and the Zoom Strobel helps the shoe feel cushy right out of the box.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
These still have the Zoom Strobel, but they don't have any additional Zoom units in the shoe. Despite this, it still feels comfortable and responsive because of the Cushlon.
 More details
9.0
May 4, 2021
The full-length Cushlon midsole with a Zoom Strobel unit feels very plush and comfortable. You get a lot of impact protection but you still feel quick on your feet - just a great combination of technologies.
 More details
9.0
June 14, 2021
The full-length Zoom in the KD 14 feels nice underfoot.
 More details

Materials of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #130 of 229)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #72 of 229)
10 - Amazing
12
9 - Great
34
8 - Good
34
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The materials hold up well and are fairly breathable. From a performance perspective, I have no issues. They get the job done.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The materials are thicker and more maximalist for comfort compared to other shoes. However, they aren't great in terms of durability.
 More details
The multi-layered Mesh materials are a big improvement compared to the KD13. They are comfortable, flexible but not very breathable.
 More details
8.0
May 10, 2021
The materials are thin, minimal, and conform nicely to your feet. The ankle is nicely padded and the tongue is comfortable as well. The strap is annoying when tying your shoes.
 More details
7.5
February 1, 2022
The base is screen mesh with some synthetic overlaying it. The materials feel cheap, but they do work.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The materials have a nice feel to them, and they are thicker than materials found on most basketball shoes.
 More details
8.0
May 4, 2021
The top-level Mesh materials feel a little cheap but they get the job done and feel comfortable on foot.
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2021
The multi-layer mesh on the upper makes the shoe feel and look premium. There's very minimal break-in time.
 More details

Support of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #77 of 229)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #52 of 229)
10 - Amazing
24
9 - Great
39
8 - Good
17
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I did have issues getting the strap to stay down but the heel lockdown was still perfect. I am also pleasantly surprised with how wide they are and how well the outrigger works.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The lateral bridge included in the midfoot really helps to discourage your foot from rolling over.
 More details
The strap, the midfoot pieces on the sides, and the wide base combine to provide great support!
 More details
8.0
May 10, 2021
The strap adds support to the midfoot section. I had no issues with lateral support, and the internal heel counter prevented heel slippage.
 More details
9.0
February 1, 2022
The materials, internal heel counter, and lateral plate help keep your foot contained.
 More details
8.0
May 4, 2021
The internal heel counter locks down the heel, I didn't have any side-to-side movement on the footbed, and the lateral stability was solid thanks to the wide base.
 More details
9.0
June 14, 2021
I do believe the strap will help improve the support of the shoe. There's also strategic replacement of thicker materials around the show to improve stability.
 More details

Fit of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #122 of 229)
User Fit Rating: 9.1 (ranks #33 of 229)
10 - Amazing
32
9 - Great
30
8 - Good
18
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
They fit pretty well for me when I went up half a size. Because of the upper being mostly a fuse shell, there isn't much stretch and it locks you down well.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The fit will work for players with most foot shapes. The materials and support features also conform nicely to your foot.
 More details
9.0
February 1, 2022
It's a wider-looking shoe, but the last is actually narrow. If you don't like a snug fit, I'd suggest trying them on first. Once you do get the right size, they feel like a 1 to 1 fit.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The lacing system makes these easy to get on foot. However, there isn't much room in the toe box, so take that into consideration when deciding on fit.
 More details
8.0
May 4, 2021
The materials conform nicely to my feet, and the heel is locked in nicely, but there's a tiny bit of dead space in the toe box.
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2021
The combination of the strap and materials on the shoe help keep the fit secure.
 More details

Durability of the Nike KD 14:

User Durability Rating: 8.7 (ranks #85 of 229)
10 - Amazing
10
9 - Great
34
8 - Good
20
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike KD 14:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #139 of 229)
User Outdoor Rating: 53.3 (ranks #104 of 229)
Good (100%)
10
Fair (50%)
31
Bad (0%)
9
fair
January 22, 2022
It doesn't use the most durable rubber, but the tread is deep.
 More details
The rubber grooves are pretty soft and won't hold up well outdoors.
 More details
fair
May 10, 2021
Occasional outdoor use should be okay.
 More details
no
January 22, 2022
The rubber feels soft, so it may not be the best for outdoor wear.
 More details

Width of the Nike KD 14:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
35
regular
40
slightly wide
7
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
If you have a wider foot, you might want to go up a half size.
 More details
slightly narrow
Feels a little snug out of the box, but I went true to size and didn't have an issue.
 More details
very narrow
May 10, 2021
For me the fit is perfect, but if you have wide feet you might need to go up a full size.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 1, 2022
The shoe fits narrow in the forefoot.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
If you have wider feet or like more room in the toe box, you might want to consider going up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
May 4, 2021
As a slightly wide-footer I went true to size and it took a little to break in and become comfortable in the forefoot.
 More details
slightly narrow
June 14, 2021
The toe box is kind of slim.
 More details

Size of the Nike KD 14:

very small
3
slightly small
15
true to size
59
slightly long
8
very long
0
½ size small
I went up half a size and they fit me perfectly, I would still recommend going into a store to try them especially if you're a wide footer.
 More details
½ size small
January 22, 2022
If you have longer toes or a wider foot, I would definitely go up half a size.
 More details
true to size
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
May 10, 2021
If you have narrow feet go true to size, wider feet might need to go up in size.
 More details
½ size small
February 1, 2022
I went up half a size because the 10.5 was too small for me.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
I went true to size, and I was happy with the fit.
 More details
true to size
May 4, 2021
The KD 14 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
June 14, 2021
True to size felt perfect for me, but beware of the forefoot.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: