Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike KD 14

Released 4/2021, Mid Top, Kevin Durant
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
3 reviews
The KD14 is a great overall performer with no obvious weaknesses.

Best Suitable For:

A versatile shoe that works for all type of players.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
Champs Sports
Buy Now
Finishline
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
9.1
Cushion
9.3
Materials
8.2
Support
8.6
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
72 likes
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
in 7 shops
$119.99
$150
59 likes
Royal Blue / Pale Coral / Coconut Milk
Royal Blue / Pale Coral / Coconut Milk
in 6 shops
$119.99
$150
73 likes
Black / Yellow Strike / Bright Crimson
Black / Yellow Strike / Bright Crimson
in 3 shops
$150.00
64 likes
White / Black / Grey
White / Black / Grey
in 6 shops
$150.00
23 likes
Grey Fog / Particle Grey / Peach Cream / Sunset Pulse
Grey Fog / Particle Grey / Peach Cream / Sunset Pulse
in 3 shops
$150.00
30 likes
Light Bone / Multi-Color / Cyan Pink
Light Bone / Multi-Color / Cyan Pink
in 3 shops
$150.00
41 likes
Black / Grey / Lime
Black / Grey / Lime
in 4 shops
$150.00
13 likes
White / Black
White / Black
in 4 shops
$150.00
18 likes
Black / Fusion Red / White / Yellow Strike
Black / Fusion Red / White / Yellow Strike
in 6 shops
$150.00
7 likes
Game Royal / White / Black
Game Royal / White / Black
in 3 shops
$150.00
5 likes
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
in 4 shops
$150.00
8 likes
Black / Volt / White
Black / Volt / White
in 4 shops
$150.00
4 likes
Navy / White
Navy / White
in 2 shops
$150.00
1 likes
Wolf Grey / Black / White
Wolf Grey / Black / White
from Eastbay
$150.00
1 likes
Black / Black / Laser Crimson
Black / Black / Laser Crimson
from Eastbay
$150.00
37 likes
White / Lime Green / Multi
White / Lime Green / Multi
from StockX
$103.00

Nike KD 14 Review

Pros:
Soft & comfortable cushioning
Doesn't have any weaknesses
Cons:
A little bulky

Performance of the Nike KD 14:

For some reviewers, the traction of the KD14 took a little to break-in, but they all agreed that it provides a ton of grip on clean courts and doesn't have much trouble with dusty courts either. The Zoom Strobel and Cushlon midsole provide a perfect mix of comfort, impact protection, and responsiveness. One reviewer coined it the softest KD to date. Materials are a little cheap to the touch but they are comfortable on foot and combined with the wide base and plastic enforcement on the sides provide a lot of lockdown and support. The fit is less narrow than previous KD's and should work for most players unless you have super wide feet. Overall, reviewers agree that the KD14 is a slight improvement over the KD13 and a great overall performer that is absolutely worth the $150 price tag.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD 14:

The 8.8 average overall rating ranks #24 of 186 shoes overall
9.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
The Nike KD 14 is one of the best shoes of 2021 so far. The cushion feels like a springy marshmallow, the traction was fantastic, the support and lockdown were great. The shoe does everything well from a performance basketball perspective.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
Every aspect of the KD14 performs really well and I like it better than the KD13. The cushion feels awesome and the traction and fit work well after a short break-in period. Also, the $150 price is fair considering all the tech you are getting.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
The KD 14 might be my #1 favorite shoe to play in right now! Awesome traction, minimal materials, and responsiveness without compromising impact protection - I absolutely love playing in them!
Watch the video
8.6
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The KD 14 is very comfortable, a lot of fun to play in, and just a great shoe overall.
Watch the video
8.4
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
The KD 14 is one of the most versatile shoes out right now. It has the best technology that Nike has to offer, making it so that everyone can play in the shoe regardless of position. I feel like the KD 14 has something to offer for everyone and it's one of my favorite shoes to play in right now.
Watch the video

User Reviews of the Nike KD 14:

There are 3 user ratings with an average rating of 8.9
9.2
THGuser2004
Saturday at 11:03 AM
Just the best shoe to play in this season fr. Got No issue
8.2
Fin
Yesterday at 03:36 AM
The KD14 was a very good shoe, the traction and the cushioning are top tier. However, there is very little arch support and the shoe becomes slightly unstable when there are heavy impacts and the cushlon compresses a bit too much. That causes a bit of unstability. I went up half a size since I have flat and semi-wide feet. It felt great since I can then crank down the laces. Do not go outdoor with them.
9.2
saggienuts
Today at 05:22 PM
This shoe is probably the best shoe I have ever owned, although I did have one flaw that I haven't found online. My left shoe had a weird popping sensation whenever I walked or ran, and was particularly annoying. Other than that, the shoes are amazing and I might order another pair to see if that sound is fixed.

Traction of the Nike KD 14:

The 9.1 average traction rating ranks #37 of 186 shoes overall
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
The traction on these guys is just amazing. I had no issues indoors or outdoors. I have zero complaints.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
The traction took a little bit to break in, but then they gripped the floor pretty well.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
The traction is top tier! Even on a dusty court, the KD14 was gripping like crazy.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The traction on the KD14 is freaking amazing. You'll stop on a dime on clean courts and even on dusty courts, you won't have any issues!
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
The traction is very solid.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike KD 14:

The 9.3 average cushion rating ranks #20 of 186 shoes overall
9.5
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
The cushion is fantastic just like last year. This is the best balance of everything when it comes to cushioning in a basketball shoe.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
The cushion on the KD14 feels great! It feels low-to-the-ground but you still get great impact protection.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
Easily my favorite cushioning set up right now! You get a nice bounce from the Zoom Strobel when you are running and extra impact protection by the Cushlon foam on heavier impacts.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The full-length Cushlon midsole with a Zoom Strobel unit feels very plush and comfortable. You get a lot of impact protection but you still feel quick on your feet - just a great combination of technologies.
Watch the video
9.0
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
The full-length Zoom in the KD 14 feels nice underfoot.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike KD 14:

The 8.2 average materials rating ranks #99 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
The materials hold up well and are fairly breathable. From a performance perspective, I have no issues. They get the job done.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
The multi-layered Mesh materials are a big improvement compared to the KD13. They are comfortable, flexible but not very breathable.
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
The materials are thin, minimal, and conform nicely to your feet. The ankle is nicely padded and the tongue is comfortable as well. The strap is annoying when tying your shoes.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The top-level Mesh materials feel a little cheap but they get the job done and feel comfortable on foot.
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
The multi-layer mesh on the upper makes the shoe feel and look premium. There's very minimal break-in time.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike KD 14:

The 8.6 average support rating ranks #82 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
I did have issues getting the strap to stay down but the heel lockdown was still perfect. I am also pleasantly surprised with how wide they are and how well the outrigger works.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
The strap, the midfoot pieces on the sides, and the wide base combine to provide great support!
Watch the video
8.0
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
The strap adds support to the midfoot section. I had no issues with lateral support, and the internal heel counter prevented heel slippage.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The internal heel counter locks down the heel, I didn't have any side-to-side movement on the footbed, and the lateral stability was solid thanks to the wide base.
Watch the video
9.0
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
I do believe the strap will help improve the support of the shoe. There's also strategic replacement of thicker materials around the show to improve stability.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike KD 14:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #103 of 186 shoes overall
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
They fit pretty well for me when I went up half a size. Because of the upper being mostly a fuse shell, there isn't much stretch and it locks you down well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The materials conform nicely to my feet, and the heel is locked in nicely, but there's a tiny bit of dead space in the toe box.
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
The combination of the strap and materials on the shoe help keep the fit secure.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 25.0% average outdoor rating ranks #110 of 186 shoes overall
no
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
The rubber grooves are pretty soft and won't hold up well outdoors.
Watch the video
fair
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
Occasional outdoor use should be okay.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike KD 14:

slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
Feels a little snug out of the box, but I went true to size and didn't have an issue.
Watch the video
very narrow
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
For me the fit is perfect, but if you have wide feet you might need to go up a full size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
As a slightly wide-footer I went true to size and it took a little to break in and become comfortable in the forefoot.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
The toe box is kind of slim.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike KD 14:

½ size small
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
June 21, 2021
I went up half a size and they fit me perfectly, I would still recommend going into a store to try them especially if you're a wide footer.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
May 4, 2021
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
The Sole Brothers
May 10, 2021
If you have narrow feet go true to size, wider feet might need to go up in size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
May 4, 2021
The KD 14 runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
KickGenius
June 14, 2021
True to size felt perfect for me, but beware of the forefoot.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
in 7 shops
$119.99
$150
Royal Blue / Pale Coral / Coconut Milk
Royal Blue / Pale Coral / Coconut Milk
in 6 shops
$119.99
$150
Black / Yellow Strike / Bright Crimson
Black / Yellow Strike / Bright Crimson
in 3 shops
$150.00
White / Black / Grey
White / Black / Grey
in 6 shops
$150.00
Grey Fog / Particle Grey / Peach Cream / Sunset Pulse
Grey Fog / Particle Grey / Peach Cream / Sunset Pulse
in 3 shops
$150.00
Light Bone / Multi-Color / Cyan Pink
Light Bone / Multi-Color / Cyan Pink
in 3 shops
$150.00
Black / Grey / Lime
Black / Grey / Lime
in 4 shops
$150.00
White / Black
White / Black
in 4 shops
$150.00
Black / Fusion Red / White / Yellow Strike
Black / Fusion Red / White / Yellow Strike
in 6 shops
$150.00
Game Royal / White / Black
Game Royal / White / Black
in 3 shops
$150.00
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
in 4 shops
$150.00
Black / Volt / White
Black / Volt / White
in 4 shops
$150.00
Navy / White
Navy / White
in 2 shops
$150.00
Wolf Grey / Black / White
Wolf Grey / Black / White
from Eastbay
$150.00
Black / Black / Laser Crimson
Black / Black / Laser Crimson
from Eastbay
$150.00
Black / Copa / Orange Trance / White
$119.99
on Champs Sports