Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kyrie 4

Released 12/2017, Mid Top, Kyrie Irving, 
Add to Favourites
8.7
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
10 ratings
Great fit, good traction, and much-improved impact protection

Best Suitable For:

Affordable, well-rounded basketball shoe

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $119.99
StockX
from $167.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.4
Cushion
8.7
Materials
8.7
Support
9.0
Fit
8.9
Outdoor
67%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
63 likes
Red Orbit / Metallic Gold
Red Orbit / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$167.00
42 likes
Dark Obsidian / Black
Dark Obsidian / Black
from StockX
$169.00
37 likes
Black / Metallic Silver
Black / Metallic Silver
from StockX
$220.00
45 likes
Black / Dark Grey
Black / Dark Grey
from StockX
$221.00
30 likes
Silver / Metallic Gold / Light Gum Brown
Silver / Metallic Gold / Light Gum Brown
from StockX
$228.00
31 likes
Black / Multi-Color
Black / Multi-Color
from StockX
$240.00
69 likes
White / Deep Royal / Gum / Light Brown
White / Deep Royal / Gum / Light Brown
from StockX
$245.00
19 likes
Light Aqua / Neo Turquoise
Light Aqua / Neo Turquoise
from StockX
$250.00
12 likes
Midnight Navy / White
Midnight Navy / White
from StockX
$250.00
36 likes
Pitch Blue / Metallic Gold
Pitch Blue / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$275.00
29 likes
Black / Black
Black / Black
from StockX
$279.00
27 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from StockX
$301.00
49 likes
Multi Color / Multi Color
Multi Color / Multi Color
from StockX
$304.00
33 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from StockX
$305.00
24 likes
White / Deep Royal Blue
White / Deep Royal Blue
from StockX
$323.00
44 likes
University Red / Black
University Red / Black
from StockX
$323.00
16 likes
Game Royal / White
Game Royal / White
from StockX
$323.00
49 likes
Black / White / Anthracite / Light Racer Blue
Black / White / Anthracite / Light Racer Blue
from StockX
$338.00
43 likes
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from StockX
$347.00
52 likes
White / Multi-Color
White / Multi-Color
from StockX
$350.00
46 likes
Black / Black / Laser Fuchsia
Black / Black / Laser Fuchsia
from StockX
$398.00
75 likes
Black / Rage Green / Black
Black / Rage Green / Black
from StockX
$450.00
79 likes
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from StockX
$465.00
18 likes
University Red / White
University Red / White
No stores found
25 likes
Wolf Grey / Black
Wolf Grey / Black
No stores found

Nike Kyrie 4 Review

Pros:
Improved cushion
Fair price
Cons:
Less traction than previous Kyrie models

Performance of the Nike Kyrie 4:

The Kyrie 4 is the best overall performer of the Kyrie signature line and works well across all categories. The cushioning is much more comfortable than in previous models and provides great impact protection while still offering responsive court feel. The engineered mesh upper and suede feel comfortable and supportive and provide a great 1:1 fit - there is no heel slippage or lateral movement. The traction doesn't quite live up to the levels of the Kyrie 3 or 2 but is still decent and requires minimal wiping. At $120 retail, this is a great pick for everybody that is looking for a well-rounded basketball shoe.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Rating: 8.7 (ranks #64 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.1
December 29, 2017
At $120, the Kyrie 4 is an absolute steal! This is a very well constructed shoe and an absolute beast on the court. Probably my favorite shoe to play in right now!
 More details
Overall, the Nike Kyrie 4 is Nike’s best performer this year. There’s just enough cushion for most, solid traction, fantastic fit and adequate support — and all of comes at a “team” friendly price point of $120.
 More details
The Kyrie 4 is the best Kyrie to date. This shoe has everything and is Nike’s best all-around hooping kick right now.
 More details
9.0
January 21, 2018
This is the best Kyrie signature shoe ever. The traction is amazing and the cushion and materials are vastly improved.
 More details
9.0
The Kyrie 4 is one of Nike’s best-performing signature shoes that works well at all positions.
 More details
8.6
January 5, 2018
The Kyrie 4 is a phenomenal addition to the Kyrie line. It comes with improved cushioning and materials, great fit and support. The traction is a little disappointing, but for $120 these are a great pickup!
 More details
8.5
Definitely the best shoe in the Kyrie signature line so far. Perfect for quick guards who don't rely a lot on impact protection.
 More details
8.4
January 1, 2017
I had a lot of fun in the Kyrie 4! I give them a B+ - it's not quite elite, but almost there. However, at a $120 price these offer great value!
 More details
8.4
January 5, 2018
All in all, the Kyrie 4 is a solid shoe that does everything fairly well, while doing nothing outstanding or really poorly. Cushioning has improved, the traction is decent overall and I really liked the comfort of the plush interior.
 More details
8.3
January 29, 2018
Overall, I am satisfied with the Kyrie 4. Minimal break-in time, great traction and a fair price. The Kyrie 4 gets the job done!
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 4:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #83 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
January 13, 2022
The Nike Kyrie 4 is a nice shoe for guards. It is a reliable low to the ground shoe. The traction was pretty good on a clean court, but it slipped a little on dust. The traction was still pretty good tho, so you should be fine. The cushion isn’t too bad, but it’s nothing special either. It is responsive and has amazing court feel. The support was pretty good, and the rounded outsole helped with stability, so that you dont roll your ankle easily. The upper wasn’t the best, but it was pretty good!
 More details
8.8
February 23, 2022
This is one of the first good shoes i played with. The traction was decent but sometimes i would slip some. Cushion is great and much better than previous kyrie models. The stability was amazing and i didn't have any problems with heel slip or containment. The ventilation is not great though as the shoe can get pretty hit for me, although i don't mind it much. Overall i think this is great for shifty players but it also has good stability for big men, aesthetically this is my favorite model.
 More details
8.6
January 23, 2022
The Kyrie 4 is pretty similar to the Kyrie 3, but a WHOLE lot comfier! I absolutely LOVED the Cushlon midsole, it provided a perfect amount of both cushion and response! The traction is a bit of a downgrade from the 3, but still pretty dang good for me. Overall I highly recommended this shoe for all positions!
 More details
8.6
December 14, 2021
Great shoe overall, but doesn't perform well enough outdoor and the cushion could be better.
 More details
8.9
May 13, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #120 of 211)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #85 of 211)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 29, 2017
Overall, the traction of the solid colorway is nice and requires minimal wiping.
 More details
This multi-directional herringbone traction pattern worked really nicely.
 More details
The traction did a great job after it broke in.
 More details
9.0
January 21, 2018
Not the best traction of the Kyrie line, but still amazing.
 More details
9.0
The multi-directional herringbone works well, but some break-in time and occasional wiping is required.
 More details
6.0
January 5, 2018
The traction started of really slippery but gut better after a break-in period. Unfortunately, it remained pretty inconsistent and never lived up to the high standards of previous Kyrie models.
 More details
8.0
Traction was hit or miss with the Kyrie 4. Dusty courts can be problematic.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The traction is pretty solid but I had to wipe pretty much any chance I got.
 More details
8.0
January 5, 2018
Overall, traction works well on clean floors and is serviceable on dusty floors but there are better options than the Kyrie 4 traction.
 More details
9.0
January 29, 2018
The traction on the Kyrie 4 is really aggressive.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #98 of 211)
User Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #130 of 211)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 29, 2017
The full-length cushlon provides cushion and impact protection without sacrificing court feel and responsiveness. I really enjoy this cushion setup.
 More details
Cushion is the best it’s ever been in any Kyrie model.
 More details
This setup is ideal for players looking for court feel that still need some adequate impact protection.
 More details
9.0
January 21, 2018
The full-length Cushlon feels soft under your feet and is a great balance for guards and even bigger guys.
 More details
9.0
As a big man I enjoyed the setup.
 More details
10.0
January 5, 2018
Wow - what an improvement! The zoom unit in the heel and the full-length cushlon sole provide great impact protection, nice heel-to-toe transition and a responsive court feel. Amazing!
 More details
8.0
By far the best cushioning setup in the Kyrie line, but still pretty firm. I would have liked more impact protection.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Nike Zoom unit in the heel and Cushlon foam in the forefoot is a great improvement over the Kyrie 3.
 More details
8.0
January 5, 2018
Heel cushioning is great and the cushlon sole is more comfortable than Phylon, but performs only decently to me during play.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2018
Low-profile cushioning is a great balance between impact protection and court feel.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #57 of 211)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #94 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 29, 2017
Engineered mesh upper feels good and the suede on the back is a nice touch.
 More details
Lightweight engineered mesh, nylon and suede heel - doesn't feel cheap at all!
 More details
We don't get anything premium but get some decent materials that come close.
 More details
9.0
January 21, 2018
The materials are good and feel comfortable straight out of the box this time.
 More details
9.0
Engineered mesh and suede are a great mix at this price.
 More details
9.0
January 5, 2018
The material is nice, simple and gets the job done! One of the best materials used in the Kyrie line.
 More details
9.0
The materials are really nice and don't require any break-in period.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
I love the sued leather panels, but the nylon backed mesh is a little disappointing.
 More details
8.0
January 5, 2018
Materials and build quality are about what you’d expect at the $120 retail price.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2018
The mesh and flywire feel fair.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #42 of 211)
User Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #100 of 211)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
December 29, 2017
For me, this is one of the best support systems I ever experienced in a basketball shoe. Great lockdown and no side-to-side movement at all.
 More details
Support on the Kyrie 4 was something I had no issues with.
 More details
I felt very secure.
 More details
9.0
January 21, 2018
Gives you all the support and lockdown a quick guard needs.
 More details
9.0
The "teeth" stabilize you laterally and the heel counter locks you down nicely.
 More details
9.0
January 5, 2018
No heel slippage, no lateral movement, overall great support.
 More details
9.0
Traditional flywire lacing system, broad base, and internal heel counter provide great support.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Very smooth heel-to-toe transition, the support is my favorite feature of the Kyrie 4.
 More details
9.0
January 5, 2018
Overall I feel support and stability are very good and even better than the Kyrie 3. Nice job Nike!
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2018
The support is fair and works well for smaller guys. Bigger guys might look for more support.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.9 (ranks #42 of 211)
User Fit Rating: 8.7 (ranks #89 of 211)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
December 29, 2017
The half-bootie upper, traditional lacing system and narrow cut provide a great 1-1 fit after a short break-in period.
 More details
I always felt secure in the shoe and never felt my foot sliding around at any time
 More details
As long as you tie these kicks up nice and snug you will be good to go.
 More details
9.0
The Kyrie series has always been solid from a fit standpoint.
 More details
9.0
January 5, 2018
The fit is super nice and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
I had some problems with the heel digging into my Achilles, but after breaking them in they became more comfortable.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The Kyrie 4 fits like a glove.
 More details
9.0
January 5, 2018
The plush interior is comfortable and provides enough wiggle room to accommodate different foot shapes. There was no lateral movement or heel slippage at all!
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kyrie 4:

User Durability Rating: 8.3 (ranks #122 of 211)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kyrie 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 66.7 (ranks #68 of 211)
User Outdoor Rating: 56.3 (ranks #88 of 211)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
2
good
January 21, 2018
A solid rubber colorway should be good outdoors.
 More details
no
January 5, 2018
The rubber is pretty soft, we wouldn't recommend outdoor use.
 More details
good
Traction pattern is thick enough for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kyrie 4:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
10
regular
4
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
very narrow
December 29, 2017
The Kyrie 4 runs very narrow in my opinion, I went up half a size because of my slightly wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
Wide footers may want to consider going up 1/2 size.
 More details
very narrow
The Kyrie 4 may be difficult for wide footers to enjoy.
 More details
slightly narrow
Wider-footers might need a half size up.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 5, 2018
The fit is slightly narrow but less so than the Kyrie 3.
 More details
slightly narrow
They are a little narrow in the front.
 More details
slightly wide
January 1, 2017
I had a little dead space in the toe box.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 5, 2018
Wide footers will probably want to go up half a size due to the narrow midfoot.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kyrie 4:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
18
slightly long
0
very long
0
true to size
December 29, 2017
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
The shoe fits snug but true to size.
 More details
true to size
True to size for narrow feet.
 More details
true to size
January 21, 2018
Fits true to size.
 More details
true to size
Generally, I’d say true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 5, 2018
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
The Kyrie 4 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 5, 2018
True to size.
 More details
true to size
January 29, 2018
If you are usually wearing a 10 - then get a 10!
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: