Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kyrie 5

Released 11/2018, High Top, Kyrie Irving, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
9 reviews
8.4
USER RATING
10 ratings
Great court-feel, lockdown, and stability

Best Suitable For:

Works best for quick guards who prefer court feel over impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
DICK's
$39.97
$130
Buy Now
StockX
from $166.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.2
Cushion
8.0
Materials
7.9
Support
9.0
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
30%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
48 likes
White/Black
White/Black
from DICK's
$39.97
$130
66 likes
University Red/Black/Pure Platinum
University Red/Black/Pure Platinum
from StockX
$166.00
108 likes
White/Deep Royal Blue/Glacier Blue
White/Deep Royal Blue/Glacier Blue
from StockX
$171.00
65 likes
Black/Hyper Pink/Volt
Black/Hyper Pink/Volt
from StockX
$180.00
54 likes
Multi Color/Multi Color
Multi Color/Multi Color
from StockX
$183.00
75 likes
Black/Black/Black
Black/Black/Black
from StockX
$188.00
74 likes
Obsidian/Light Currentt Blue/Scream Green
Obsidian/Light Currentt Blue/Scream Green
from StockX
$189.00
23 likes
Game Royal/White
Game Royal/White
from StockX
$200.00
63 likes
White/Cyber
White/Cyber
from StockX
$210.00
101 likes
Light Bone/Green/Red
Light Bone/Green/Red
from StockX
$212.00
62 likes
White/Black
White/Black
from StockX
$215.00
23 likes
Midnight Navy/White
Midnight Navy/White
from StockX
$235.00
36 likes
Black/White
Black/White
from StockX
$235.00
78 likes
Black/White Bright Crimson/Amarillo Blue Lagoon
Black/White Bright Crimson/Amarillo Blue Lagoon
from StockX
$238.00
31 likes
University Red/White
University Red/White
from StockX
$241.00
89 likes
Multi Color/Multi Color
Multi Color/Multi Color
from StockX
$246.00
34 likes
Wolf Grey/Black
Wolf Grey/Black
from StockX
$250.00
40 likes
"Spongebob Squarepants"
"Spongebob Squarepants"
from StockX
$291.00
44 likes
Game Royal
Game Royal
from StockX
$320.00
68 likes
Black/Metallic Gold/White
Black/Metallic Gold/White
from StockX
$328.00
115 likes
White/Multi Color
White/Multi Color
from StockX
$500.00

Nike Kyrie 5 Review

Pros:
Great ankle support
A lot of court feel
Cons:
Traction takes a while to break-in

Performance of the Nike Kyrie 5:

The latest shoe in the Kyrie signature series is very similar to previous shoes in the series. It focuses on support and court-feel and gives you the ability for quick crossovers and creative attacks of the basket. The new Nike Zoom Air Turbo cushioning remains firm and is clearly optimized for court feel - if you are looking for comfortable shoes with a lot of impact protection, then you won't be happy with the Kyrie 5. Overall, this is a very supportive shoe that works best for guards looking to imitate Kyrie's playing style.
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #93 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
Simply put, the Kyrie 5 is a fantastic shoe for the money, and would be a fantastic shoe at any price.
 More details
9.0
I really like the Nike Zoom Air Turbo and the Flytrap shroud. The Kyrie 5 is an upgrade over the Kyrie 4 and works best for quick players who prefer court feel over soft cushioning.
 More details
8.8
December 3, 2018
I love these! If you liked the Kyrie 2 or 4, then you are going to love the Kyrie 5.
 More details
The Nike Kyrie 5 offers plenty of court feel, a little bit of cushion, great lockdown and aggressive traction wrapped up in a lightweight package.
 More details
The Kyrie 5 is a fun shoe that caters to the needs of those that play a more grounded game and require unrestricted mobility.
 More details
8.3
December 14, 2018
This is a very good shoe that does everything well with great traction, fit, and decent cushioning.
 More details
8.2
February 23, 2019
The Kyrie 5 is a very solid shoe. The main pros are lockdown and court feel, cons are the cushioning of the outsole and the lacking padding of the inner material.
 More details
7.6
January 6, 2019
The Kyrie 5 is a solid shoe. The support and cushioning are great, but the traction is disappointing.
 More details
7.6
February 11, 2019
The Kyrie 5 probably won't find its way back into my gym bag any time soon - the traction was just too bad in my pair.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Kyrie 5:

User Rating: 8.4 (ranks #131 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
February 10, 2022
This shoe has been my only pair of indoor basketball shoes and have never failed me once. Traction is great, very durable and relatively clean with just the wipe of the hand. Only thing is the breathability in it, but I don't really care about that too much.
 More details
8.5
January 11, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.3
March 19, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.8
December 12, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.4
January 19, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.2 (ranks #136 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #133 of 205)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
2
Like any sneaker, you’ll need to swipe now and then for maximum grip, but the traction is excellent right out of the box!
 More details
8.0
The traction is hit and miss. In the beginning it is really slippery on dusty courts, but it gets better after breaking it in. On clean courts, the traction is great.
 More details
9.0
December 3, 2018
The traction bites really hard on clean courts. On dusty courts, it' a little more inconsistent.
 More details
The traction works well, even on the worst courts.
 More details
The traction was exceptional.
 More details
8.0
December 14, 2018
Works great on clean floors but needs ocassional wiping on dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
February 23, 2019
The traction is still very good, but it's a step back from the Kyrie 4.
 More details
7.0
January 6, 2019
For a Kyrie model, the traction is a little disappointing. Picks up a lot of dust and performance is very inconsistent.
 More details
6.0
February 11, 2019
Straight out of the box, the traction was awful. After the break-in, on some days the traction was solid, other days it was terrible. Overall, the experience was very inconsistent.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #150 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 7.7 (ranks #137 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
10.0
The Air Zoom Turbo bag is truly outstanding, and responsive from any angle. This may very well be my new favorite cushioning from Nike.
 More details
8.0
The cushioning feels very similar to the Kyrie 4. Very low-to-the-ground, responsive with great heel-to-toe-transition.
 More details
8.0
December 3, 2018
Solid impact protection, nice heel-to-toe transition, and bouncy feel of the Nike Zoom Air in the forefoot. Overall, the setup is rather stiff and responsive like we are used to from Kyrie signature models.
 More details
The new Zoom Air Turbo gives a nice minimal under-foot feel while offering a fast, fluid and agile ride.
 More details
The shoe is designed for maximum court-feel; the cushion isn’t overly bouncy, it does its job.
 More details
8.0
December 14, 2018
The new Noom Turbo is technically improved but I still prefer the softer Zoom of the Kyrie 4.
 More details
8.0
February 23, 2019
The cushioning is not great, but it gets the job done. Court feel is great though.
 More details
8.0
January 6, 2019
Forefoot Nike Zoom Turbo sounds like a gimmick but works really well.
 More details
8.0
February 11, 2019
The Air Zoom Turbo is a more low-profile version of Nike Zoom Air and provides a lot of court feel and explosiveness.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.9 (ranks #157 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #101 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
The engineered mesh feels really nice and needs very little break-in time.
 More details
8.0
December 3, 2018
The materials don't feel premium in-hand but they get the job done!
 More details
The engineered mesh takes a little to break-in but gets the job done.
 More details
The engineered Mesh is nice, lightweight and breaks-in rather quickly
 More details
7.0
February 23, 2019
I would have loved more padding inside the shoe.
 More details
7.0
January 6, 2019
The engineered mesh is supportive, durable, breathable but also pretty stiff.
 More details
7.0
February 11, 2019
The materials are pretty much 100% mesh. They get the job done, but there are better options out there.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #36 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #100 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The overall fit and lockdown are so good that the heel has nowhere to move and the collar-padding eliminates any slipping or sliding.
 More details
9.0
I like the lockdown provided by the Flytrap shroud and the stability of the less-rounded outsole.
 More details
10.0
December 3, 2018
Really good ankle support, very wide base and great lateral containment.
 More details
The support is solid - I have no complaints.
 More details
The shoe keeps you secure on the footbed and fully locked-in.
 More details
8.0
December 14, 2018
Fairly high and stiff ankle collar and firm heel counter provide good support.
 More details
9.0
February 23, 2019
No slippage, no internal movement, absolutely no dead space. I felt securely locked in at all times.
 More details
9.0
January 6, 2019
This is probably the most supportive guard shoe currently on the market.
 More details
9.0
February 11, 2019
Support is very similar to previous Kyrie models.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #66 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #76 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Kyrie 5 is really hard to get on but once the shoe is laced up, the experience is hard to beat.
 More details
8.0
A little difficult to get on, but the comfort and fit were absolutely solid for me.
 More details
9.0
December 3, 2018
I love the fit of the Kyrie 5.
 More details
Top of my foot felt snug and secure but not restrictive.
 More details
This is probably one of the best locked down shoes to date.
 More details
9.0
December 14, 2018
The Kyrie 5 fits great out of the box with no heel slip or side to side movement.
 More details
9.0
February 23, 2019
The fit is really snug, but if I wear thin socks, these fit nicely.
 More details
7.0
January 6, 2019
The fit is good for narrow feet but I struggled mightily with my wider feet.
 More details
8.0
February 11, 2019
The fit provided a snug 1:1 experience but could have been a little more comfortable for me.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kyrie 5:

User Durability Rating: 8.6 (ranks #88 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kyrie 5:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 30.0 (ranks #116 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 30.0 (ranks #130 of 205)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
6
Bad (0%)
4
fair
The rubber held up pretty well outdoors.
 More details
fair
December 3, 2018
The rubber grooves are super deep and pretty durable.
 More details
Outdoor players will also enjoy the traction, even if it doesn’t last as long as they may want it to.
 More details
I would suggest playing with these indoor mainly.
 More details
no
January 6, 2019
I wouldn't recommend outdoor use because the rubber compound is extremely soft.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kyrie 5:

very narrow
4
slightly narrow
6
regular
7
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
Slightly narrow, but not enough to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
December 3, 2018
A little tight at first, but the materials stretch out over time.
 More details
very narrow
The Kyrie 5 fits very snug.
 More details
very narrow
Snugggg! If you have a slightly wide-foot like myself, I say go 1/2 size up to save yourself from a lack of blood flow.
 More details
very narrow
December 14, 2018
As a wide footer, I went up half a size to 11.5 and they fit me perfectly.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 23, 2019
The fit is very snug.
 More details
very narrow
January 6, 2019
The Kyrie 5 fits extremely snug.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kyrie 5:

very small
0
slightly small
3
true to size
12
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
The Kyrie 5 runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
December 3, 2018
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
True to size is what I’d go with if possible.
 More details
true to size
December 14, 2018
True to size fit but Kyries are not that fat feet friendly.
 More details
true to size
February 23, 2019
Run true to size.
 More details
true to size
February 11, 2019
I went true to size
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: