Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Puma MB.02

Released 10/2022, Mid Top, LaMelo Ball, 
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
16 ratings
The Puma MB.02 is an upgrade in almost every way, especially the support.

Best Suitable For:

Players who rely on footwork and enjoy extra impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
Foot Locker
Buy Now
Champs Sports
StockX
from $126.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (16)
Traction
9.1
Cushion
8.0
Materials
7.7
Support
8.8
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Puma MB.02
Puma MB.02
Nike Air Max Impact 3
Nike Air Max Impact 3
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Nike KD 14
Nike KD 14
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Adidas Pro Model 2G
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.48.4(0.0)8.9(0.5)8.9(0.5)8.1(0.3)8.3(0.1)
User Rating8.88.9(0.1)8.6(0.2)9.2(0.4)8.3(0.5)8.2(0.6)
Best Price
$135
$76.97
$90
$79.99
$140
$56.96
$150
$79.99
$120
$59.99
$100
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
WeightNA340g - 360g350g - 370g380g - 400gNA390g - 410g
 Show More
53 likes
Fiery Coral / Ultra Orange
Fiery Coral / Ultra Orange
in 3 shops
$135.00

Puma MB.02 Review

Pros:
Support features are top notch
Plenty of impact protection
Cons:
Can pick up dust
Breathability could be better

Performance of the Puma MB.02:

The Puma MB.02 has a reliable traction pattern, but reviewers report dust can build up, so remember to wipe. Reviewers agree the cushioning feels denser than the MB.01. It offers more impact protection, but the bounce is minimal. The materials on the shoe are thinner, making it easier to break them in on this year's model. Puma's done a great job of implementing the support features. Strategically placed fuse overlays maximize the containment of the shoe. Overall, Puma takes a step in the right direction with incremental upgrades to the Puma MB.02. It plays well and comes with a reasonable price tag.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #114 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
November 7, 2022
I couldn't find anything wrong with the Puma MB.02. It's an excellent performance basketball shoe. The support and stability were solid, and the traction and cushion were reliable.
 More details
8.8
November 15, 2022
The Puma MB.02 is a quick, fast shoe with fantastic traction and adequate cushioning. The support also holds up well because of the materials.
 More details
8.4
November 23, 2022
Overall, the Puma MB.02 is an improvement in LaMelo's shoe line. It has improved traction and materials while the support and cushioning remain solid.
 More details
8.2
November 7, 2022
The Puma MB.02 is a solid shoe that's best for players who rely on impact protection to help with heavy footwork. The cushioning is stable and protective, and the traction grips well.
 More details
8.2
November 12, 2022
The Puma MB.02 is one of the best basketball shoes for support. It also has solid cushioning and reliable traction.
 More details
7.6
December 4, 2022
I was not impressed with the Puma MB.02 compared to the MB.01. The traction is solid, but most other features were better on the previous model.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Puma MB.02:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #78 of 238)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.6
November 19, 2022
Idk why, but this Shoe feels super lightweight. At first, it looks super heavy but feels the complete other way. Cushioning is super good. Fit is super good. Traction is fairly good. I'm a bigger dude with knee issues so this pair suits perfect for me. Impact protection on these are one of the best I tried so far. About the esthetics: Could be less orange and more red otherwise super cool looking shoes. But opinions change. Current Rota: Jordan 36 Low / Curry 10 / MB. 02
 More details
9.5
November 21, 2022
Overall good shoes. The cushion is really good, you feel excellent support on your heel as well as on the whole foot. One thing I would say is that the shoe has high soles. So, you feel pretty tall, but it's not a problem or something
 More details
9.6
Tuesday at 02:21 PM
The shoes have a lot of design, I hate the shoes is that they collect dust quickly and in the rest it is good.
 More details
8.6
November 14, 2022
Better than the Mb01 everything in the mb02 is better than the mb01 especially the traction
 More details
10.0
January 14, 2023
Son las mejores zapatillas del mercado actualmente y me parecen hermosas
 More details

Traction of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #51 of 238)
User Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #113 of 238)
10 - Amazing
9
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
10.0
November 7, 2022
The traction had a hard bite when I played on dusty courts. I had no sliding issues.
 More details
10.0
November 15, 2022
The traction performs extremely well. I stopped on a dime regularly.
 More details
9.0
November 23, 2022
I love the traction of the MB.02. The rubber is pliable and stretchy, and the pattern grips hard.
 More details
9.0
November 7, 2022
The traction holds up phenomenally indoors from a durability perspective. The shoe performs best on hardwood courts.
 More details
8.5
November 12, 2022
The traction pattern is thin, so the shoe needs a lot of wiping to handle dust. Despite the dust, it performs well.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The traction performed well, but not as well as the MB.01.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #159 of 238)
User Cushion Rating: 9.4 (ranks #24 of 238)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
November 7, 2022
I felt some bounce, but the impact protection was solid.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The Nitro foam feels comfortable and offers solid impact protection. It isn't the best cushioning for bounce, though.
 More details
8.0
November 23, 2022
The cushioning needs a lot of break-in time. The Nitro foam eventually becomes comfortable for impact protection with some bounce in the forefoot, though.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
Puma puts Nitro foam in the heel and forefoot in the MB.02. The rest of the cushioning is a compression-moulded EVA. It feels dense, but it provides impact protection.
 More details
8.0
November 12, 2022
The cushioning feels like an upgrade to the MB.01. It offers a lot of impact protection and some bounce.
 More details
7.0
December 4, 2022
You can feel the difference in foams underfoot. It feels soft and is better for impact protection than energy return. The encasing rubber feels dense and clunky, though. It's not to my liking.
 More details

Materials of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.7 (ranks #198 of 238)
User Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #106 of 238)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
November 7, 2022
The materials are breathable, so I didn't experience much sweat.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The materials are thin and durable, but it doesn't offer a premium feel.
 More details
8.0
November 23, 2022
The MB.02 includes more screen mesh material than the MB.01. There are also additional plastic materials for extra support. It's also thin and well-ventilated.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
The upper is similar to the MB.01. It feels like a chainlink TPU mesh.
 More details
7.0
November 12, 2022
The materials aren't as thick on the MB.02, which makes the shoe easier to break in. Breathability could be better.
 More details
7.0
December 4, 2022
The upper feels stiffer than the previous model, even after breaking the shoe in.
 More details

Support of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #61 of 238)
User Support Rating: 9.1 (ranks #37 of 238)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
November 7, 2022
The stability was excellent. I had no issues with ankle support.
 More details
9.0
November 15, 2022
I had zero issues with support and lockdown. The materials and heel counter keeps you contained laterally.
 More details
9.0
November 23, 2022
The upper does a solid job of providing lateral support. Heel containment and lockdown are also top-notch.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
The rubber compound under the midfoot is harder than the rest, which offers additional torsional stability.
 More details
9.0
November 12, 2022
This shoe is extremely supportive. The fuse overlay keeps you contained, and the laces lock you into the shoe. It's the second-best basketball shoe for support.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The shoe supports your foot well, but the stiffness isn't too comfortable.
 More details

Fit of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #65 of 238)
User Fit Rating: 8.7 (ranks #92 of 238)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
November 7, 2022
The fit was easy to figure out, and I didn't need to adjust anything.
 More details
9.0
November 15, 2022
The shoe fits me well. It feels identical to the MB.01.
 More details
8.0
November 23, 2022
The shoe fits nicely around my foot.
 More details
8.0
November 7, 2022
The upper makes you feel like you're really being held tightly. It fits well for most players.
 More details
8.5
November 12, 2022
The length is almost perfect, and the laces lock you down once you dial them in.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
I had to go down half a size to get the snug fit I like
 More details

Durability of the Puma MB.02:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #128 of 238)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Puma MB.02:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #189 of 238)
User Outdoor Rating: 40.9 (ranks #161 of 238)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
7
no
November 15, 2022
The grooves are too thin to perform well outdoors.
 More details
no
November 7, 2022
The rubber is tough, but the treads are too narrow to take outdoors.
 More details
no
November 12, 2022
I don't recommend using this shoe outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Puma MB.02:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
3
regular
15
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
slightly narrow
November 15, 2022
The toe box feels snug.
 More details
regularly wide
November 23, 2022
There isn't much space in the toe box. Wide footers need to be careful.
 More details
regularly wide
November 7, 2022
People with 2E feet can go true to size if they like a 1-to-1 fit or up half a size for more room.
 More details
regularly wide
November 12, 2022
Stick true to size for a 1-to-1 fit unless you have an extremely wide foot.
 More details
regularly wide
December 4, 2022
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the Puma MB.02:

very small
0
slightly small
3
true to size
16
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
November 7, 2022
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 15, 2022
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 7, 2022
People with narrow and medium-shaped feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 12, 2022
Stick true to size.
 More details
½ size large
December 4, 2022
I went down half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: