Puma MB.03

Released 9/2023, Mid Top, LaMelo Ball, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
11 ratings
The Puma MB.03 offers a slightly plusher cushioning while keeping a consistent trend in the LaMelo lineup.

Best Suitable For:

This shoe is best for players who want a stable shoe with plenty of impact protection.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $100.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (11)
Traction
8.3
Cushion
8.1
Materials
8.0
Support
8.6
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
20%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Puma MB.03
Puma MB.03
Adidas AE 1
Adidas AE 1
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
New Balance Kawhi 3
New Balance Kawhi 3
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.7(0.4)8.1(0.2)8.2(0.1)7.9(0.4)7.7(0.6)
User Rating8.89.3(0.5)9.3(0.5)8.4(0.4)8.4(0.4)8.5(0.3)
Best Price$139.99
$120
$101.97
$170
$159.99
$59.99
$120
$53.97
$110
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
WeightNANA330g - 350gNA360g - 380gNA
 Show More
87 likes
Purple Glimmer / Green Gecko
Purple Glimmer / Green Gecko
from StockX
$100.00
28 likes
Fluro Green / PUMA Green / Fluro Yellow
Fluro Green / PUMA Green / Fluro Yellow
from StockX
$102.00

Puma MB.03 Review

Pros:
Plenty of impact protection
Impressive traction despite the dust pickup
Cons:
The upper is not breathable
Outsole picks up dust quickly

Performance of the Puma MB.03:

Puma continues to play it safe with LaMelo Ball's signature shoe line. The Puma MB.03 only slightly improves on the previous models. Reviewers note the traction picks up dust quickly, but it doesn't affect the performance. The shoe is impressively grippy and reliable. The cushioning sacrifices some court feel to provide additional impact protection. The setup feels plush but is somewhat dense. The materials feel cheap, but it doesn't hinder performance. Breathability also isn't the best. Support and lockdown are secure because of the sturdy materials and extra overlays. The Puma MB.03 doesn't mess with the line much. Impact protection and traction performance are the main highlights.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #167 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.7
November 11, 2023
The Puma MB.03 has impressive traction and support. This iteration is similar to the previous two, and I enjoy playing in this shoe.
 More details
8.6
The Puma MB.03 is my favourite performer in LaMelo's signature line. The fit feels great, the materials are improved, and the traction is elite.
 More details
8.3
November 8, 2023
The Puma MB.03 is a stable and supportive sneaker. The cushioning is my favourite part, but I dislike the shoe's weight.
 More details
8.2
September 28, 2023
Not much has changed with the Puma MB.03. The heel impact protection is slightly improved, while the other features remain solid.
 More details
8.2
November 11, 2023
The Puma MB.03 is such a comfortable shoe. The foam is forgiving, and I enjoy the upper material setup. The main downside is the weight.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2023
If you like consistency, consider the Puma MB.03. LaMelo Ball's line is consistent. All of the features work well together.
 More details
7.8
November 8, 2023
I didn't enjoy playing in the Puma MB.03. Puma took steps back with the materials, traction, and cushioning. Support and lockdown are impressive, though.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Puma MB.03:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #99 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
February 27, 2024
Overall great fit and comfort but slippery on dusty courts. Might get better with break in over time
 More details
9.4
December 29, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.2
November 19, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.1
November 19, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.5
January 7, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #187 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #169 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
November 11, 2023
It doesn't matter if you're on clean or dirty surfaces. This traction pattern will hold you down. Just make sure to wipe the dust.
 More details
10.0
The traction performance is elite. The grip felt great, no matter the court surface.
 More details
8.0
November 8, 2023
The traction picks up lots of dust, but if you wipe it, the performance is solid.
 More details
8.0
September 28, 2023
Dust pickup is an issue. It doesn't slide out, and the performance is still solid, though.
 More details
8.0
November 11, 2023
The outsole tread is my favourite part of the shoe. It feels physically tacky.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2023
The traction was solid. I didn't experience much slipping.
 More details
7.0
November 8, 2023
The traction doesn't perform well. It's decent on clean courts, but dust causes lots of sliding.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.1 (ranks #195 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #97 of 303)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
November 11, 2023
The cushioning is plush after you break it in. The foam sits high off the ground, so you lose some court feel.
 More details
7.0
The Nitro foam setup is the same as the MB.02. Impact protection is a highlight, but there isn't much court feel.
 More details
9.0
November 8, 2023
I love the Nitro foam cushioning. It feels great on foot.
 More details
8.0
September 28, 2023
The cushioning is the same setup, but it feels slightly softer. The foam is better for impact protection than bounce.
 More details
8.0
November 11, 2023
The Nitro foam is less dense, so it feels more forgiving. It's more catered towards shock absorption and stability.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2023
The Nitro-infused foam feels comfortable during play. It has a decent balance of protection and court feel.
 More details
8.0
November 8, 2023
The full-length Nitro offers solid impact protection, but you're high off the ground. The court feel and responsiveness are reduced.
 More details

Materials of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #174 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #89 of 303)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
November 11, 2023
The materials feel cheap, but I like how they perform. The setup is strong and durable.
 More details
9.0
The materials are the main upgrade. The textile upper is soft and supportive. There's no break-in time, and I had no issues with upper flexibility.
 More details
8.0
November 8, 2023
Materials are soft, and the step-in comfort is solid. The mesh isn't breathable because it's heavy-duty.
 More details
8.0
September 28, 2023
The mesh upper feels similar to the previous versions.
 More details
8.0
November 11, 2023
The upper is substantially built and padded. The downside is the shoe will hold onto moisture.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2023
I prefer the mesh material on the MB.03 to the last model. It's comfortable after a break-in period.
 More details
7.0
November 8, 2023
I'm not a fan of the stiff upper. It's durable but not soft.
 More details

Support of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #113 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #144 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
November 11, 2023
The heel counter and rubber outsole provide plenty of stability. The extra overlay materials also help keep you secure on the footbed.
 More details
8.0
Everything is stable because of the fit. It's sturdy and rigid but lacks flexibility.
 More details
8.0
November 8, 2023
I have no issues with heel lockdown or stability.
 More details
9.0
September 28, 2023
Stability and support are better than most low-top shoes on the market.
 More details
9.0
November 11, 2023
The offset lacing offers better lockdown. The upper construction also helps keep you secure and contained.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2023
I like the security of the heel counter, and I had no issues with lockdown.
 More details
9.0
November 8, 2023
The support and lockdown are outstanding. You're good to go. My only complaint is the slight heel slippage.
 More details

Fit of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #136 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #139 of 303)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
November 11, 2023
The fit is 1-to-1. There's no extra room or volume. It feels snug.
 More details
9.0
The 1-to-1 fit is another highlight of the shoe. There's zero dead space around the shoe.
 More details
8.0
September 28, 2023
My true-to-size feels secure while not being too tight.
 More details
8.0
November 11, 2023
The fit is much more forgiving than previous LeMelo shoes. I needed no break-in time, and the shoe accepts orthotics well.
 More details
8.0
December 9, 2023
The fit is solid as well.
 More details
8.0
November 8, 2023
I like a snug fit, and I enjoyed the fit of the MB.03.
 More details

Durability of the Puma MB.03:

User Durability Rating: 8.1 (ranks #208 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Puma MB.03:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 20.0 (ranks #210 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 22.2 (ranks #246 of 303)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
6
Bad (0%)
8
no
November 11, 2023
I wouldn't take these shoes outdoors.
 More details
Durability is not the best.
 More details
fair
November 11, 2023
The durometer is high enough for outdoors, but I recommend keeping these shoes indoors.
 More details
no
December 9, 2023
I recommend staying indoors.
 More details
fair
November 8, 2023
The shoe is okay for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the Puma MB.03:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
4
regular
11
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
November 11, 2023
The midfoot feels slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
The width is slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
September 28, 2023
The width is average.
 More details
regularly wide
November 11, 2023
The shoe is wide-foot friendly.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 8, 2023
The width is slightly narrow.
 More details

Size of the Puma MB.03:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
14
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
November 11, 2023
I went with my standard size 10.5.
 More details
true to size
I recommend going with your regular basketball shoe size.
 More details
true to size
September 28, 2023
The fit is true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 11, 2023
Narrow, medium, and 2E feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
December 9, 2023
To me, this shoe runs true to size.
 More details
½ size small
November 8, 2023
I went up half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: