Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Puma Rise NITRO

Released 8/2022, Mid Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.1
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.1
USER RATING
4 ratings
The Puma Rise NITRO is another solid performer in Puma's basketball lineup.

Best Suitable For:

Players looking for a comfortable and reliable shoe

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $124.99
Foot Locker
Buy Now
Champs Sports
Finishline

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (4)
Traction
7.8
Cushion
7.5
Materials
8.5
Support
8.0
Fit
8.5
Outdoor
17%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Puma Rise NITRO
Puma Rise NITRO
Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Zion 1
Jordan Zion 1
Jordan Why Not Zero.5
Jordan Why Not Zero.5
Under Armour Curry HOVR Splash
Under Armour Curry HOVR Splash
New Balance TWO WXY
New Balance TWO WXY
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.18.3(0.2)8.0(0.1)7.8(0.3)7.8(0.3)8.9(0.8)
User Rating8.18.8(0.7)8.1(0.0)8.9(0.8)9.1(1.0)8.6(0.5)
Best Price
$125
$72.97
$140
$99.99
$120
$89.99
$150
$110
$79.99
$140
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight410g - 420g400g - 420g380g - 390g350g - 370g330g - 340g350g - 370g
 Show More
11 likes
Sun Stream / Blue Atoll
Sun Stream / Blue Atoll
from Finishline
$125.00
9 likes
Puma Black / Sunset Glow
Puma Black / Sunset Glow
from Finishline
$125.00
6 likes
Puma White / Puma Black
Puma White / Puma Black
in 3 shops
$125.00
6 likes
Lime Squeeze / Harbor Mist
Lime Squeeze / Harbor Mist
No stores found

Puma Rise NITRO Review

Pros:
Has comfortable materials
Reliable traction
Cons:
Not durable enough for outdoors
Breathability could be better

Performance of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Puma continues to provide consistent and reliable traction with the Puma Rise NITRO. The cushioning isn't the bounciest or most responsive. It is comfortable, though. Most reviewers agree that the materials feel comfortable and the shoe is well padded. The fit is snug, but the shoe provides a solid 1-to-1 fit. The materials and fit work together to provide your feet with solid lockdown and containment. Overall, the Puma Rise NITRO is a reliable performance basketball shoe. It fits right into the Puma basketball lineup.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Rating: 8.1 (ranks #182 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
September 6, 2022
I definitely recommend the Puma Rise NITRO. The cushioning, traction, and materials work together to provide a comfortable shoe.
 More details
The Puma Rise Nitro plays similarly to the MB.01 Low. It has a reliable fit, support, and materials, but it doesn't play well outdoors. The cushioning is also underwhelming.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The Puma Rise NITRO is a solid shoe held back by the traction pattern. It has average traction, but the cushioning feels comfortable, and the materials are better than expected.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The Puma Rise NITRO is a comfortable performance shoe with flexible materials and dependable traction. I only wish the cushion was plusher.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Puma Rise NITRO:

User Rating: 8.1 (ranks #187 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
September 25, 2022
It´s a bit bulky shoe, not a lot forefoot flex. On the other side, i had no problem with traction or cushion. Good shoe, maybe not for the guards in need of a flexible shoe!
 More details
7.6
December 15, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.4
January 5, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.0
January 7, 2023
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.8 (ranks #190 of 238)
User Traction Rating: 7.5 (ranks #201 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 6, 2022
I had no issues with the traction, and I love how they implemented the wave pattern.
 More details
The traction is best on lateral movements and cuts. I didn't slip or have any other issues with the performance. Overall, it's reliable.
 More details
7.0
November 15, 2022
The traction performance took a while to break in, but it still felt middle of the pack.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The traction is another highlight of the shoe. It grabs the floor nicely.
 More details

Cushion of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.5 (ranks #202 of 238)
User Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #159 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 6, 2022
The cushioning is one of my favourite parts of the shoe. The foam feels soft and reminds me of Adidas's Bounce cushioning.
 More details
I wasn't impressed with the Nitro cushioning. It provides some responsiveness and bounce, but it could be better.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The full-length Nitro foam feels comfortable with tons of impact protection. It just isn't bouncy.
 More details
7.0
December 4, 2022
The Nitro foam is not too impressive, in my opinion. It is low to the ground and responsive, though.
 More details

Materials of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #74 of 238)
User Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #120 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
September 6, 2022
The shoe is well padded, which feels comfortable. I enjoyed how the materials felt during play.
 More details
The knit materials are soft and snug. The shoe also includes a lot of padding. Breathability is not good, though.
 More details
9.0
November 15, 2022
The quality of the knit materials is amazing for the price. It feels cozy and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The upper is a dual-layered knit material that feels durable and comfortable.
 More details

Support of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #170 of 238)
User Support Rating: 7.8 (ranks #190 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 6, 2022
The heel lockdown was amazing on this shoe. The materials also keep you contained nicely.
 More details
Once you lace the shoes up, your feet aren't going anywhere. The containment is solid.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The lateral containment and stability were exceptional.
 More details
8.0
December 4, 2022
The strategically placed PWR tape and the lateral support pieces keep you secure. The heel cup also provides stability.
 More details

Fit of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #79 of 238)
User Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #174 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
September 6, 2022
Puma also includes Power Tape to help with the fit and support. It conforms to your feet nicely.
 More details
My favourite thing about the shoe is the fit. It's a close and snug, 1-to-1 fit.
 More details
8.0
November 15, 2022
The fit feels tight. I prefer a snug fit, but this shoe is too snug. I would enjoy this fit better if I went up half a size.
 More details
9.0
December 4, 2022
The snugness of the sneaker is a highlight because it provides a 1-to-1 fit. It feels like the shoe hugs your foot.
 More details

Durability of the Puma Rise NITRO:

User Durability Rating: 8.0 (ranks #165 of 238)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Puma Rise NITRO:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 16.7 (ranks #173 of 238)
User Outdoor Rating: 75.0 (ranks #67 of 238)
Good (100%)
1
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
2
I don't recommend taking this shoe outside. The rubber is too soft.
 More details
no
November 15, 2022
Durability seems bad.
 More details
fair
December 4, 2022
The rubber is durable, but the grooves are really thin.
 More details

Width of the Puma Rise NITRO:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
2
regular
5
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
Your best bet is to try them on if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 15, 2022
Go up a full size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
December 4, 2022
The shoe feels narrow.
 More details

Size of the Puma Rise NITRO:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
4
slightly long
1
very long
0
true to size
I recommend going true to size.
 More details
½ size small
November 15, 2022
I recommend going up at least half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: