Rigorer AR 1

Released 8/2023, Low Top, Austin Reaves, 
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
13 ratings
The Rigorer AR 1 is an incredibly responsive and fast shoe because of its impressive traction.

Best Suitable For:

These shoes are a fantastic pick for players who change their pace often.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $48.00
KicksCrew
from $100.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (13)
Traction
9.3
Cushion
8.1
Materials
8.1
Support
8.4
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
80%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Rigorer AR 1
Rigorer AR 1
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
New Balance TWO WXY V3
New Balance TWO WXY V3
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Jordan One Take 4
Jordan One Take 4
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.48.8(0.4)8.7(0.3)8.7(0.3)8.3(0.1)8.1(0.3)
User Rating8.99.0(0.1)9.1(0.2)9.0(0.1)8.7(0.2)8.4(0.5)
Best Price$139.99
$106.99
$160
$119.99
$60.97
$160
$79.99
$110
$99.99
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight380g - 390g350g - 360g350g - 360g350g - 360g330g - 350g310g - 330g
 Show More
18 likes
"Stars & Stripes"
"Stars & Stripes"
from 2 Resellers
$48.00
59 likes
"Ice Cream Special Box"
"Ice Cream Special Box"
from KicksCrew
$135.00

Rigorer AR 1 Review

Pros:
Top-tier traction
Responsive cushioning setup
Cons:
Materials feel plasticky
Heel cushioning takes getting used to

Performance of the Rigorer AR 1:

Austin Reaves' debut signature shoe, the Rigorer AR 1, delivers big time. Reviewers agree that traction is the highlight feature. It provides excellent multidirectional coverage, and it performs well on all surfaces. The cushioning is responsive and quick. There's a bit of bounciness, and the insole feels comfortable, too. The materials keep the shoe well-ventilated and comfortable. The uppers, in particular, feel supportive. Combined with the materials, the lacing system and the shoe's base keep you contained and stable. Overall, the Rigorer AR 1 is an impressive first signature shoe for Austin Reaves with outstanding traction.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #142 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
August 21, 2023
The Rigorer AR 1 is incredibly responsive. The shoe transitions from high speed to low speed very well. The traction is fantastic, and it's a highlight feature.
 More details
8.8
September 7, 2023
The Rigorer AR 1 excels at being a fast and responsive shoe. I never worried when playing in the AR 1. Traction is top-tier.
 More details
8.4
December 19, 2023
The Rigorer AR1 is an excellent shoe, especially considering the price. The support is secure and locked down, while the traction pattern works well.
 More details
8.4
June 2, 2024
The Rigorer AR 1 is a banger. It offers excellent performance for the price and is a fun and comfortable shoe to play in.
 More details
8.3
March 22, 2024
The Rigorer AR 1 is one of the best budget shoes available. The traction is the best feature. Cushioning is minimal, but it's not a hindrance.
 More details
8.2
August 23, 2023
The Rigorer AR 1 is a solid shoe for players who enjoy low-to-the-ground, responsive sneakers with subtle bounce.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The Rigorer AR 1 is a solid option at this price. I love the traction, and the cushioning feels balanced. It's a versatile shoe I can get down with.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Rigorer AR 1:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #81 of 311)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.3
December 8, 2023
Pros: Great traction. Very clean design and nice colorways. Super responsive cushion Cons: Heel slippage due to silicon tab on heel. Cushion takes while to break in and soften a bit. Shoe feels very plasticy and the QC isn't great with glue stains frequent.
 More details
8.3
November 25, 2023
Traction wasn’t sticking but to be fair the gym was the dustiest that ive ever seen it. I also didnt use the grip sprits so i’ll update this review for next time i play other than the traction sliding i really enjoyed the shoe
 More details
8.6
January 21, 2024
the heel slippage at first is kinda bad, recomend buying a newer color way, break in, or buying a grip socks if you acidentally bought the old color way
 More details
8.6
November 10, 2023
The purple colorway with the translucent outsole still has great traction, but dust does hinder performance slightly
 More details
10.0
September 23, 2023
This is amazing shoes for me and my favorite shoe of all time hope you like it such as i do.
 More details

Traction of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #39 of 311)
User Traction Rating: 9.2 (ranks #76 of 311)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
August 21, 2023
The multidirectional coverage is outstanding. The traction stops on a dime.
 More details
10.0
September 7, 2023
The traction provides top-tier performance on any surface. It's unfazed by court conditions.
 More details
9.0
December 19, 2023
The radial outsole pattern works well to provide traction.
 More details
9.0
June 2, 2024
The traction is insane on clean courts, but it still performs well on dirtier courts. I never had issues with slipping or sliding.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The traction performance feels really good.
 More details
9.0
August 23, 2023
The traction was on point for all the courts I played on.
 More details
9.0
June 2, 2024
The traction is one of my favourite features. It feels versatile on every court. I had no issues. The grip is nice and the bite feels solid.
 More details

Cushion of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.1 (ranks #200 of 311)
User Cushion Rating: 8.4 (ranks #163 of 311)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 21, 2023
The foam is bouncy, especially the Showtime foam under the forefoot. Combined with the shank, the midsole is very versatile.
 More details
8.0
September 7, 2023
The EVA foam feels comfortable, and the insole feels nice too.
 More details
8.0
December 19, 2023
The cushioning feels low to the ground. It's well-cushioned without compromising impact protection.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The foam is catered to guards. It has adequate impact protection. The court feel and responsiveness are also impressive. I enjoy the setup.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The cushioning setup is minimal, but it feels comfortable for the price. You get minimal impact protection and a solid court feel.
 More details
8.0
August 23, 2023
A lot of impact protection comes from the thick insole. The foam is low to the ground and responsive.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The cushioning is balanced between court feel and impact protection. It doesn't make me feel fast, but it works for reactionary players.
 More details

Materials of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #163 of 311)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #119 of 311)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 21, 2023
The beads in the tongue keep your foot feeling comfortable. Ventilation is also impressive.
 More details
9.0
September 7, 2023
The materials are soft and supportive. The tongue is unique and comfortable.
 More details
8.0
December 19, 2023
For performance, the materials work. I also enjoy the layering on the upper.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The upper is all textile. It's not premium but it gets the job done.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The materials remind me of Flywire. It feels stiff around the outrigger, but it breaks in.
 More details
8.0
August 23, 2023
The upper is screen mesh with heavy use of fuse. It helps add durability and support but has a break-in time. It feels plasticky but softens up as you play.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The quality could be better, but I can't argue for this price. I like how the shoe feels on foot, especially the laces.
 More details

Support of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #164 of 311)
User Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #173 of 311)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 21, 2023
The lockdown from the lacing system is impressive.
 More details
8.0
September 7, 2023
I was good to go with lateral containment and stability.
 More details
9.0
December 19, 2023
The lateral support is well-contained. You feel secure during all movements.
 More details
9.0
June 2, 2024
I didn't experience any heel slippage. The materials and cushion setup keep my foot on the footbed well. I felt contained.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The lacing system and upper contain your feet well. Support is not an issue.
 More details
8.0
August 23, 2023
The shoe felt supportive during play, and I felt secure laterally. Heel lockdown is okay, not the best. There's no heel slippage, though.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
I didn't have issues with lockdown. I think it would've been better if I picked a smaller size.
 More details

Fit of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #207 of 311)
User Fit Rating: 8.9 (ranks #85 of 311)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 21, 2023
The fit feels streamlined.
 More details
9.0
September 7, 2023
The fit feels snug, which I enjoy. It breaks in nicely without stretching.
 More details
8.0
December 19, 2023
There's some space in the forefoot length-wise because I couldn't get my regular half-size.
 More details
8.0
June 2, 2024
The fit feels decent and snug. I felt some pressure around the midfoot, but it didn't hinder me much.
 More details
8.0
August 23, 2023
The midfoot feels snug because of the foam from the midsole wrapping upwards, but I had no issues with the fit.
 More details
7.0
June 2, 2024
The fit felt tricky for me. The shoe fits snugly on the sides, but there's too much length for my preferences.
 More details

Durability of the Rigorer AR 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.9 (ranks #74 of 311)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Rigorer AR 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 80.0 (ranks #57 of 311)
User Outdoor Rating: 68.8 (ranks #106 of 311)
Good (100%)
7
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
1
fair
August 21, 2023
I think you can wear these shoes outdoors.
 More details
good
December 19, 2023
This outsole will work outdoors.
 More details
good
March 22, 2024
The solid rubber options are durable enough for outdoor use.
 More details
fair
August 23, 2023
The rubber is thick and pliable. I think this shoe is okay for outdoor use.
 More details
good
June 2, 2024
The grooves are thin, but I'm comfortable using the rubber outsole outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Rigorer AR 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
7
regular
10
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
August 21, 2023
2E feet consider going up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 7, 2023
The forefoot feels snug.
 More details
slightly narrow
June 2, 2024
People with wide feet might want to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
August 23, 2023
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the Rigorer AR 1:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
13
slightly long
5
very long
0
true to size
August 21, 2023
People with a narrow or medium foot can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
September 7, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
December 19, 2023
I had to go up half a size because they didn't have my 8.5.
 More details
true to size
June 2, 2024
The fit feels close to true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 23, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size large
June 2, 2024
I could have gone half a size down personally.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: