Search Shoe

Under Armour Curry 3 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$139.99
Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
10/2016
# of Reviews:
10
Traction
8.9
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.9
Support
8.6
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
30%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Under Armour Curry 3:

Bolt Orange / Steel / Black
$139.99
from Eastbay
White / Royal / Taxi
White / Royal / Taxi
No stores found
Royal Blue / White / Yellow
Royal Blue / White / Yellow
No stores found
Red / Grey / White
Red / Grey / White
No stores found
Rocket Red / Aluminum / Black
Rocket Red / Aluminum / Black
No stores found
White / Blue / Grey
White / Blue / Grey
No stores found
Steel / Aluminum / Black
Steel / Aluminum / Black
No stores found
Artillery Green / Black / Radiate
Artillery Green / Black / Radiate
No stores found
White / Metallic Silver / Aluminum
White / Metallic Silver / Aluminum
No stores found
Steel / Team Royal / Carolina Blue
Steel / Team Royal / Carolina Blue
No stores found
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
Neptune / Sable / Metallic Gold​
Neptune / Sable / Metallic Gold​
No stores found
Grey Matter / Rhino Grey / Black
Grey Matter / Rhino Grey / Black
No stores found
Systematic / White
Systematic / White
No stores found
Black / Carolina Blue
Black / Carolina Blue
No stores found
Peacock Blue / Black
Peacock Blue / Black
No stores found
White / Navy
White / Navy
No stores found

PROS:

  • Amazing traction
  • Nice materials

CONS:

  • Firm cushioning
  • Break-in time

Summary of 10 Expert Reviews:

Under Armour is still relatively new to the basketball sneaker game but the Curry 3 is already seen as one of the most consistent and well-performing signature lines on the market. This shoe is optimized for Steph Curry's style of play and gives you amazing traction and court feel for quick crossovers and cuts to the hoop. As Steph is rather light and doesn't play above the rim, the cushioning is really firm and impact protection is minimal.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Under Armour Curry 3:

The 8.6 average overall rating ranks #55 of 116 shoes overall
8.8
Analykix.com
January 29, 2018
Am I happy with how the shoe performed? Yes. Would I recommend it? Yes!
8.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The Curry 3 is a good performer on the court. I recommend these if you like firm and responsive cushioning.
Watch the video
7.8
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Despite the great build quality and solid materials, the Curry 3 is a shoe that didn’t work for my play style. If you’re a fast-paced guard that loves court feel (like Steph Curry himself) you’ll probably enjoy this shoe. However, more explosive players and those who need more impact protection should probably look elsewhere.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.2
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I really enjoyed the shoe. The traction in dusty conditions was a little lackluster. Other than that, it's a really nice shoe with amazing materials, good support and decent cushioning.
Watch the video
8.6
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The Curry 3 is a solid and smooth shoe that performs well in every category but nothing outstanding. Slightly softer cushioning than the Curry 2/2.5 and softer materials but not an upgrade overall.
8.8
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Overall, I really enjoyed the Curry 3 and hooped in them a lot. They definitely got the job done! I really expect a lot from Under Armour going forward!
Watch the video
8.8
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Steph obviously values traction and light-weight support and the Curry 3 gives you exactly that. The cushion setup is highly responsive but delivers only average impact protection. To me, the Curry 3 falls just short of being a top-tier on-court performer.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.8
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
You get great traction, Charged cushioning, and great lockdown after a short break in. If you are looking for a quick response and death-grip sticky soles, look no further.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I rank the Curry 3 above the Curry 2 and the Curry 2.5 but only by a very slim margin. There are some improvements, but overall the shoe performs very similar.
Watch the video
9.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Curry 3 is a great shoe on-court. Especially speedy guards will enjoy their time in these. If you’re a fan of the Curry 1 and 2 then you’ll likely love the 3.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Under Armour Curry 3:

The 8.8 average traction rating ranks #41 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Analykix.com
January 29, 2018
Even when the court is dusty, it still plays great with minimal wiping.
8.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
I did not slip once!
Watch the video
7.0
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Curry 3 has a traction pattern that doesn’t feel great, but performs decently well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Great traction on clean courts, but the fine grooves make it hard to wipe off dust.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Traction on clean floors is great. As dust accumulates just be ready to wipe.
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The traction performs just as well as the Curry 2 did.
Watch the video
10.0
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Under Armour has always been fantastic when it comes to traction, but it just took things to a whole other level with the Curry 3.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I was able to drive and cut and never slipped.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The traction is really solid but takes a little to break in.
Watch the video
10.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Herringbone is utilized once again, and like the Curry models that have come before the 3, traction is beastly.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Under Armour Curry 3:

The 8.0 average cushion rating ranks #93 of 116 shoes overall
8.5
Analykix.com
January 29, 2018
Charged cushion was used and can be felt in the heel area with a firmer Micro-G foam used throughout the rest of the midsole.
7.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The Charged cushioning is a little firmer than in other Under Armour models. I would have liked a little more impact protection.
Watch the video
7.0
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I was greeted with a firm ride that provided a lot of court feel.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The Charged cushioning is nothing special. Very little impact protection and bounce but great court feel.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Charged is back again and even though it’s the same name, it feels slightly softer than before especially in the heel.
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The cushioning is on the firmer side and gives you great court feel.
Watch the video
9.0
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
This time around the responsive foam cushioning is a little more forgiving.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Charged Cushioning provides very little bounce or impact protection.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The cushion is plush at first but bottoms out rather fast. Court feel is very responsive.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The cushion is pretty firm and impact protection is minimal. Court feel is awesome.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Under Armour Curry 3:

The 8.9 average materials rating ranks #28 of 116 shoes overall
8.5
Analykix.com
January 29, 2018
There's nothing to complain about.
9.0
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The materials department is where I think the Curry 3 really shines.
Watch the Video|Read the article
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The materials are the strong point of the shoe. After breaking the shoe in the upper feels really soft and conforms to your feet.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Threadborne is a nice, tightly wound textile upper that provides a pliable fit without being stretchy.
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Materials could have been better. Too much fuse for my liking.
Watch the video
9.0
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Under Armour's new Threadborne material, fuse overlays and the fan-favorite Anafoam are a great mix of materials.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Under Armour has brought us Threadborne, its version of a woven upper material, and it’s nice.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The materials are soft, lightweight and fairly supportive too.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Other than the traction, the materials are my favorite part of the shoe.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Under Armour Curry 3:

The 8.6 average support rating ranks #59 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
No side-to-side movement and great lockdown of the heel.
Watch the video
7.0
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
As a whole, the support and lockdown on the Curry 3 would work really well for any type of player, big or small.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Support is very good. My ankles felt safe at all times.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
The support of the Curry 3 worked well as I felt like my ankles were just propped up straight at all times.
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Heel counter and carbon fiber mid-foot shank do a good job. Once you put your shoe on, you're locked in!
Watch the video
9.0
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
If you’re a quick guard who needs a shoe that has a lot of support features but still has a lightweight feel, the Curry 3 will be exactly what you’re looking for.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Curry 3 hits you smack in the face with support features.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
For some strange reason, I felt rather wobbly in this shoe as the base is rather narrow.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
As long as the shoe fits you properly you shouldn’t have any issues with support.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Under Armour Curry 3:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #86 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Analykix.com
January 29, 2018
Asymmetrical lacing makes adjusting your laces pretty easily.
7.5
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
I didn't like the dead space in the toe box.
Watch the video
9.0
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The tongue is nice and plush, and the top of the shoe provides a good amount of cushion when surrounding the ankle.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Doesn't fit as well as the previous Curry models. Too much toe room for me.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Overall, the fit is great but worsens with play due to the laces loosening.
7.0
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The fit doesn’t really conform to your foot. I felt like my foot was sitting in the shoe as opposed to the shoe feeling like an extension of my foot.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Lockdown in the heel is super solid and the midfoot lacing straps you down into the shoe.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
It's kind of stiff and snug when you first put them on. But after breaking them in the fit really well.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The slight asymmetrical lacing system provides the midfoot with a wonderfully secure feel.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 30% average outdoor rating ranks #60 of 116 shoes overall
no
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
I don't recommend playing outdoors in these.
Watch the video
fair
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The rubber is hard but not very thick. Outdoor use should be okay.
Watch the video
fair
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I’ve heard mixed reviews on the Curry 3’s outdoor coverage but it worked just fine for me
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The rubber is not exactly outdoor-friendly so durability on concrete will be less than stellar.
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The rubber used is pretty firm so the Curry 3 would be a viable option outdoors.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Under Armour Curry 3:

regularly wide
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
The Curry 3 is regularly wide.
Watch the video
regularly wide
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I went with my normal size and both the length and the width felt good.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly wide
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Too much toe room for my liking.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Wide-footers, true to size should work okay, but Shrek-feet may want to roll on past.

Size of the Under Armour Curry 3:

true to size
Analykix.com
January 29, 2018
I suggest you get your usual size.
true to size
RicheeKim
December 27, 2017
Definitely go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
QuickKicks [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
True to size is the way to go.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Go true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I went true to size with my normal 11.
½ size large
Jarron Ramos [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I decided to go a half-size down and I’m 100% confident that was the right decision.
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Length-wise, if you want a super-snug fit, go down a half size and you will be great.
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
The shoe runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Curry 3 fit me perfectly true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
Deals from $139.99:
Bolt Orange / Steel / Black
$139.99
from Eastbay