Search Shoe
Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3
Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3
Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3
Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3

Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3 Review

Add to Favourites
8.4
A great all-around performer for a nice price.
based on 2 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Best for quick guards who need a responsive and supportive shoe.

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
9.0
Cushion
7.5
Materials
7.5
Support
9.0
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
0%

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
7/2020
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Colorways of Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

6 likes
Beta / Purple
Beta / Purple
in 3 shops
$82.50
$110
9 likes
Academy / Graphite Blue
Academy / Graphite Blue
in 3 shops
$84.99
$110
17 likes
Cerise / Blackout Purple
Cerise / Blackout Purple
in 2 shops
$84.99
$110
7 likes
Steel / Mod Gray / Metallic Silver
Steel / Mod Gray / Metallic Silver
in 3 shops
$84.99
$110
11 likes
Black / White / Metallic Silver
Black / White / Metallic Silver
from Eastbay
$94.99
$110
10 likes
Pitch Gray / Black
Pitch Gray / Black
in 2 shops
$110.00
4 likes
White / Halo Gray
White / Halo Gray
in 2 shops
$110.00
7 likes
Saxon Green / Laser Green
Saxon Green / Laser Green
No stores found
7 likes
Seaglass Blue / Enamel Blue
Seaglass Blue / Enamel Blue
No stores found
12 likes
Versa Red / Rush Red
Versa Red / Rush Red
No stores found

Summary of 2 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Consistent traction on all courts
Great support and fit
Cons:
Materials aren't very premium
Lacks impact protection

Performance of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The Under Armour Hovr Havoc 3 uses a traction pattern that looks like a modern take on the classic herringbone pattern. It works well on clean courts but needs some wiping on dirty courts. The cushion setup is very responsive and offers a good court feel, but doesn't protect your feet from hard landings very well. It works best for quick guards who are light on their feet. The materials aren't the most premium, but performance-wise they definitely get the job done. The half bootie upper construction fits true to size and all reviewers thought that it offered a very comfortable 1 to 1 fit. Another strong point is the support of this shoe. The wide base provides lateral stability for hard cuts and the lacing system keeps your feet locked down and prevents any slipping on the footbed. Overall, the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3 is a great performer in the budget category - especially for guards who value court feel and responsiveness over impact protection.
See all 2 reviews

Reviews of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The 8.4 average overall rating ranks #90 of 153 shoes overall
8.4
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
Overall the HOVR Havoc 3 was a solid performer for $110! It was great in pretty much all categories and didn't have any real low points.
Watch the video
8.4
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3 retails for $110 and I think you're getting a pretty solid performer for the price. I wish they had a little nicer materials and more impact protection, but everything else on the shoe was fine.
Watch the video

Traction of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The 9.0 average traction rating ranks #36 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
I only got to test these outdoors, and the performance there was really good. On my wood floors inside they had a good bite too. They might pick up some dust because of the traction pattern.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The modified herringbone traction pattern stops on a dime on clean courts. On dusty courts, it was still nice, but I had to wipe consistently to maintain a good grip.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The 7.5 average cushion rating ranks #130 of 153 shoes overall
7.0
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
The cushion was pretty good initially, but once I started playing hard my feet began to hurt. The court feel is really good, but the impact protection is lacking.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
This HOVR cushion setup performs similarly to other models using this tech. It is very responsive with nice court feel, but the impact protection isn't the most forgiving. Definitely catered more towards guards.
Watch the video

Materials of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The 7.5 average materials rating ranks #139 of 153 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
Under Armour used a mesh material that is fused up pretty well and I liked it. It is supportive yet thin enough to conform to my foot. Quality-wise the materials aren't the best, but on-foot they are very, very nice.
Watch the video
7.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The textile mesh upper is very thin and covered in fuse which doesn't feel great to the touch, but worked just fine. Although these materials weren't the most premium, the performance was fine.
Watch the video

Support of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #22 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
I had no issues with lateral containment and my heel felt locked in. The materials don't stretch, so they held my foot in place very well. The low, wide base made for great lateral stability too.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The internal heel counter and sculpting kept my heel locked in. I had no side to side movement on the footbed and felt very stable thanks to the wide base.
Watch the video

Fit of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #15 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
These fit me perfectly. They are pretty snug in the toe box, which is just the way I like it. I also really like the heel tab which makes these pretty easy to put on.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The half booty construction is close to a 1 to 1 fit and feels amazing.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0.0% average outdoor rating ranks #118 of 153 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
The outsole wasn't durable and I wouldn't recommend these for outdoor use.
Watch the video

Width of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
If you have a wide foot or like a slightly loose fit I'd suggest going up half a size.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
A little narrow and I'd suggest going up half a size if you have pretty wide feet and don't want pressure on the sides of your feet.
Watch the video

Size of the Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
July 31, 2020
These fit true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
July 22, 2020
The fit is true to size for me.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Beta / Purple
Beta / Purple
in 3 shops
$82.50
$110
Academy / Graphite Blue
Academy / Graphite Blue
in 3 shops
$84.99
$110
Cerise / Blackout Purple
Cerise / Blackout Purple
in 2 shops
$84.99
$110
Steel / Mod Gray / Metallic Silver
Steel / Mod Gray / Metallic Silver
in 3 shops
$84.99
$110
Black / White / Metallic Silver
Black / White / Metallic Silver
from Eastbay
$94.99
$110
Pitch Gray / Black
Pitch Gray / Black
in 2 shops
$110.00
White / Halo Gray
White / Halo Gray
in 2 shops
$110.00
Beta / Purple
$82.50
on Under Armour

Under Armour HOVR Havoc 3 Performance Review