Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas D Rose 9

Released 7/2018, High Top, Derrick Rose, 
Add to Favourites
7.6
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
NA
USER RATING
0 ratings
Well-performing Bounce cushioning tech

Best Suitable For:

Great looking sneaker for players with wide feet

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $171.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (0)
Traction
6.6
Cushion
8.9
Materials
8.1
Support
8.0
Fit
6.4
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas D Rose 9
Adidas D Rose 9
Nike Air Zoom GT Jump
Nike Air Zoom GT Jump
Air Jordan 36
Air Jordan 36
Nike Lebron 19
Nike Lebron 19
Nike Lebron 18
Nike Lebron 18
Nike Kyrie 8
Nike Kyrie 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.68.8(1.2)9.1(1.5)8.3(0.7)8.2(0.6)8.5(0.9)
User RatingNA9.19.38.48.89.1
Best Price$139.99
$97.17
$180
$185
$107.97
$200
$69.97
$200
$79.97
$140
Type of CutHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh Top
Weight400g - 410g460g - 480g370g - 390g550g - 570g490g - 510g370g - 390g
 Show More
10 likes
Grey
Grey
from StockX
$171.00
18 likes
White / Pink / Black
White / Pink / Black
from StockX
$216.00
22 likes
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Grey Three
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Grey Three
No stores found
12 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Scarlet
Core Black / Cloud White / Scarlet
No stores found
17 likes
Core Black / Scarlet / Footwear White
Core Black / Scarlet / Footwear White
No stores found
10 likes
Core Black / Green / Purple
Core Black / Green / Purple
No stores found
13 likes
Footwear White / Core Black / Gum
Footwear White / Core Black / Gum
No stores found
15 likes
Black / Gold
Black / Gold
No stores found
13 likes
Core Black / Shock Red / Legend Purple
Core Black / Shock Red / Legend Purple
No stores found
16 likes
Grey / Shock Yellow / Grey
Grey / Shock Yellow / Grey
No stores found

Adidas D Rose 9 Review

Pros:
Well-balanced cushioning
Cons:
Horrible traction on dusty courts
Wide and loose fit

Performance of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Compared to previous models, the on-court performance of the D Rose 9 is disappointing. The narrow traction pattern picks up a lot of dust and requires wiping after almost every play. Adidas decided to replace the Boost cushioning with the cheaper (but very well-performing!) Bounce technology. The materials look nice but might be a little too soft for a performance shoe. The most problematic part of the D Rose 9 is the very wide and loose fit that doesn't provide the lockdown and containment needed for quick cuts and crossovers.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Rating: 7.6 (ranks #201 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 8, 2018
I would not recommend this shoe for $140. The traction is pretty bad and the fit didn't work for me.
 More details
7.8
The D Rose 9 is a solid performer, but there are better performers at a more affordable price out there.
 More details
7.5
August 8, 2018
We loved the cushioning! Unfortunately, the traction is lackluster and the fit works only for players with very wide feet.
 More details
If you require traction and lockdown from your basketball shoes you need to look elsewhere. You should only get the D Rose 9 if you are a stationary shooter, you don't rely on quickness and you like the look and casual appeal of the D Rose 9.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas D Rose 9:

No user reviews so far

Traction of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Traction Rating: 6.6 (ranks #213 of 219)
User Traction Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
6.5
August 8, 2018
The traction of the D Rose 9 is atrocious - especially on dusty courts.
 More details
7.0
The traction pattern is probably the most inconsistent I ever experienced.
 More details
6.0
August 8, 2018
On a dusty court, you have to wipe after every play!
 More details
On a clean court, the traction is decent. But the lines of the traction pattern are really close together and attract a on of dust.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.9 (ranks #72 of 219)
User Cushion Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
August 8, 2018
Low-to-the-ground feeling in the forefoot and thicker cushioning in the rear. I would have liked a little more bounce in the forefoot, but I can't really complain.
 More details
8.0
I usually like Bounce cushioning, but my knees didn't like the tougher setup of the D Rose 9.
 More details
10.0
August 8, 2018
The Bounce cushioning provides good impact protection, great court feel and responsiveness and a slight bounce.
 More details
The Bounce cushioning offers great court feel and the impact protection is fine - I just didn't fall in love with it.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #127 of 219)
User Materials Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
August 8, 2018
The knitted materials feel amazing on-foot, but they tend to get hot after playing a while.
 More details
8.0
The knit upper is nice, flexible and durable.
 More details
9.0
August 8, 2018
We like the soft and thin knitted materials.
 More details
The materials are a bright spot and bring a casual appeal to the D Rose 9.
 More details

Support of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #181 of 219)
User Support Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 8, 2018
No side-to-side movement and zero heel slippage.
 More details
8.0
I felt secure and comfortable thanks to the strong lockdown and internal heel counter.
 More details
The materials are just not enough to keep hard-driving, slashing players contained.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Fit Rating: 6.4 (ranks #219 of 219)
User Fit Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
2
7.5
August 8, 2018
There is a lot of dead space in the toe box.
 More details
8.0
I should have gone down half a size. But after using extra insoles and a second pair of socks the fit was good.
 More details
5.0
August 8, 2018
Doesn't work very well for narrow feet.
 More details
The fit was way too big in my regular 10.5. Combine this, with the soft knit and roomy toe box and my feet were swimming inside the D Rose 9.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas D Rose 9:

User Durability Rating: NA 
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #199 of 219)
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
0
Bad (0%)
2
no
August 8, 2018
The rubber is very pliable and thin, I wouldn't use these outdoors.
 More details
Outdoors? Nope, the pattern is shallow and the rubber is soft.
 More details

Width of the Adidas D Rose 9:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
0
slightly wide
1
very wide
3
very wide
August 8, 2018
If you have chunky feet, this might be a great option.
 More details
slightly wide
Wide footers will like this shoe!
 More details
very wide
August 8, 2018
If you are a wide-footer you are going to love this shoe!
 More details
very wide
Around the toe box, there is a ton of room and empty space.
 More details

Size of the Adidas D Rose 9:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
0
slightly long
1
very long
2
runs large
August 8, 2018
Go down half a size from your regular size you have in Nikes or Under Armours.
 More details
½ size large
Go down half a size.
 More details
runs large
August 8, 2018
I went down a full size, this shoe runs very long.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: