Search Shoe

Adidas D Rose 9 Review

Adidas D Rose 9
Adidas D Rose 9
Adidas D Rose 9
Adidas D Rose 9
Adidas D Rose 9
7.6
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$139.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
7/2018
Traction
6.6
Cushion
8.9
Materials
8.1
Support
8.0
Fit
6.4
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas D Rose 9:

Core Black / Silver Metallic / Grey Three
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Grey Three
No stores found
White / Pink / Black
White / Pink / Black
No stores found
Grey
Grey
No stores found
Core Black / Cloud White / Scarlet
Core Black / Cloud White / Scarlet
No stores found
Core Black / Scarlet / Footwear White
Core Black / Scarlet / Footwear White
No stores found
Core Black / Green / Purple
Core Black / Green / Purple
No stores found
Footwear White / Core Black / Gum
Footwear White / Core Black / Gum
No stores found
Black / Gold
Black / Gold
No stores found
Core Black / Shock Red / Legend Purple
Core Black / Shock Red / Legend Purple
No stores found
Grey / Shock Yellow / Grey
Grey / Shock Yellow / Grey
No stores found

Summary of 4 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Well-balanced cushioning

CONS:

Horrible traction on dusty courts
Wide and loose fit

Performance of the Adidas D Rose 9:

Compared to previous models, the on-court performance of the D Rose 9 is disappointing. The narrow traction pattern picks up a lot of dust and requires wiping after almost every play. Adidas decided to replace the Boost cushioning with the cheaper (but very well-performing!) Bounce technology. The materials look nice but might be a little too soft for a performance shoe. The most problematic part of the D Rose 9 is the very wide and loose fit that doesn't provide the lockdown and containment needed for quick cuts and crossovers.
See all 4 reviews

Reviews of the Adidas D Rose 9:

The 7.6 average overall rating ranks #115 of 123 shoes overall
7.8
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
The D Rose 9 is a solid performer, but there are better performers at a more affordable price out there.
Watch the video
7.5
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
We loved the cushioning! Unfortunately, the traction is lackluster and the fit works only for players with very wide feet.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
I would not recommend this shoe for $140. The traction is pretty bad and the fit didn't work for me.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
If you require traction and lockdown from your basketball shoes you need to look elsewhere. You should only get the D Rose 9 if you are a stationary shooter, you don't rely on quickness and you like the look and casual appeal of the D Rose 9.

Traction of the Adidas D Rose 9:

The 6.6 average traction rating ranks #119 of 123 shoes overall
7.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
The traction pattern is probably the most inconsistent I ever experienced.
Watch the video
6.0
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
On a dusty court, you have to wipe after every play!
Watch the video
6.5
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
The traction of the D Rose 9 is atrocious - especially on dusty courts.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
On a clean court, the traction is decent. But the lines of the traction pattern are really close together and attract a on of dust.

Cushion of the Adidas D Rose 9:

The 8.9 average cushion rating ranks #41 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
I usually like Bounce cushioning, but my knees didn't like the tougher setup of the D Rose 9.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
The Bounce cushioning provides good impact protection, great court feel and responsiveness and a slight bounce.
Watch the video
8.5
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
Low-to-the-ground feeling in the forefoot and thicker cushioning in the rear. I would have liked a little more bounce in the forefoot, but I can't really complain.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
The Bounce cushioning offers great court feel and the impact protection is fine - I just didn't fall in love with it.

Materials of the Adidas D Rose 9:

The 8.1 average materials rating ranks #85 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
The knit upper is nice, flexible and durable.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
We like the soft and thin knitted materials.
Watch the video
8.5
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
The knitted materials feel amazing on-foot, but they tend to get hot after playing a while.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
The materials are a bright spot and bring a casual appeal to the D Rose 9.

Support of the Adidas D Rose 9:

The 8.0 average support rating ranks #101 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
I felt secure and comfortable thanks to the strong lockdown and internal heel counter.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
No side-to-side movement and zero heel slippage.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
The materials are just not enough to keep hard-driving, slashing players contained.

Fit of the Adidas D Rose 9:

The 6.4 average fit rating ranks #123 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
I should have gone down half a size. But after using extra insoles and a second pair of socks the fit was good.
Watch the video
5.0
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
Doesn't work very well for narrow feet.
Watch the video
7.5
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
There is a lot of dead space in the toe box.
Watch the video
5.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
The fit was way too big in my regular 10.5. Combine this, with the soft knit and roomy toe box and my feet were swimming inside the D Rose 9.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #107 of 123 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
The rubber is very pliable and thin, I wouldn't use these outdoors.
Watch the video
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
Outdoors? Nope, the pattern is shallow and the rubber is soft.

Width of the Adidas D Rose 9:

slightly wide
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
Wide footers will like this shoe!
Watch the video
very wide
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
If you are a wide-footer you are going to love this shoe!
Watch the video
very wide
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
If you have chunky feet, this might be a great option.
Watch the video
very wide
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
August 8, 2018
Around the toe box, there is a ton of room and empty space.

Size of the Adidas D Rose 9:

½ size large
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
Go down half a size.
Watch the video
runs large
The Sole Brothers
August 8, 2018
I went down a full size, this shoe runs very long.
Watch the video
runs large
RicheeKim
August 8, 2018
Go down half a size from your regular size you have in Nikes or Under Armours.
Watch the video