Search Shoe

Adidas Dame 4 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$114.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
10/2017
# of Reviews:
11
Traction
8.5
Cushion
9.2
Materials
8.8
Support
8.7
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
0%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Adidas Dame 4:

Scarlet Red / White / Scarlet Red
Scarlet Red / White / Scarlet Red
No stores found
Running White / Core Black
Running White / Core Black
No stores found
Core Black / Core Black / Footwear White
Core Black / Core Black / Footwear White
No stores found
Utility Black / Energy Blue / Yellow
Utility Black / Energy Blue / Yellow
No stores found
Core Black / Running White
Core Black / Running White
No stores found
Grey / Core Black / Grey
Grey / Core Black / Grey
No stores found
White / White / Gum
White / White / Gum
No stores found
Core Black / Running White / Grey
Core Black / Running White / Grey
No stores found
Cloud White / Crystal White / Core Black
Cloud White / Crystal White / Core Black
No stores found
Core Black / Footwear White / Grey Five
Core Black / Footwear White / Grey Five
No stores found
Core Black / Scarlet / Gold Metallic
Core Black / Scarlet / Gold Metallic
No stores found
Scarlet / Hi-Res Red / Core Black
Scarlet / Hi-Res Red / Core Black
No stores found

PROS:

  • Affordable price
  • Great court feel

CONS:

  • Traction takes time to break in

Summary of 11 Expert Reviews:

The Adidas Dame 4, Damian Lillard's latest signature sneaker, gets a lot of love from shoe critics. The cushioning is optimized for lighter guards and provides great court feel while still offering a decent amount of impact protection. The traction takes a little while to break in, but then it works really well - especially on clean courts. The fit of the Dame 4 is very snug and provides great lockdown and support, especially considering the extremely low silhouette of the shoe. If you are a quick guard and you are looking for a low-to-the-ground, responsive and light basketball shoe at an affordable price, then the Adidas Dame 4 is the perfect shoe for you!
See all 11 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Dame 4:

The 8.8 average overall rating ranks #26 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
Decent cushion, good fit, good materials — the shoe is good for everything on the court and gives you a great overall package.
8.6
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
The Dame 4 is an underrated shoe that works very well for quick guards.
Watch the video
8.5
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
Traction, cushion, fit were all great, and the support system is all I need. This is one of the best-value sneakers I have ever worn!
Watch the video
8.8
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I loved playing in these. Perfect for guards who want to be low to the ground and are looking for a very responsive shoe.
Watch the video
8.5
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
This is probably the best performing shoe to hoop in right now! This shoe is really smooth and I come back to it all the time.
Watch the video
8.6
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
I really really really enjoy playing in this shoe but only on clean or slightly dusty floors. But the fact that I would even consider playing in these despite the meh traction speaks volumes about how fun this shoe is overall.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
This is a really good performance basketball shoe - probably one of the best basketball shoes of 2017! Especially at the low list price of $115.
Watch the video
8.8
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
The Dame 4 is the perfect shoe for quick guards and offers amazing performance at a very affordable price.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Dame line continues to be the best signature you can get for your money. Bang for your buck like no other.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
With good cushioning, good fit, and good materials, the Dame 4 is good at everything. As an overall package, this is one of the most complete and fun shoes to play in that you will ever find.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I was having so much fun in this kick I didn’t want to stop. If there was a category for “fun to play in” I would rate the Dame 4 Hall of Fame!
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Adidas Dame 4:

The 8.5 average traction rating ranks #64 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
This traction was as spot on as any other shoe I’ve played in this year.
9.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
I play on one of the dustiest courts of London and this traction did a fantastic job.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
These gripped the floor very well for me!
Watch the video
7.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
The traction started off really bad but got a lot better after breaking in. Overall, the traction is solid, but you will need to wipe a lot on dusty courts.
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
The traction is a bit inconsistent and collects dust very fast. In clean gyms, it works very well.
Watch the video
7.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
After the break-in period, the traction isn't bad but it definitely isn’t middle top to top tier either.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Takes a really long time to break in. The traction is not as good as the Dame 2 or 3, but still really solid.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
On clean courts, the bite of the traction pattern is amazing. On dusty courts, it still held up pretty well.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The traction pattern worked and it worked really well.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The Dame 4 doesn’t feel aggressive in stops, but it never slipped out or slid while playing, which makes me a happy player.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
As weird as this outsole may look, the performance is insane.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Adidas Dame 4:

The 9.2 average cushion rating ranks #18 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
Cushion works well for those who look for a low ride and immediate responsiveness.
9.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
The full-length Bounce cushioning is low to the ground, soft and responsive - just what you want as a quick guard.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
The Bounce cushioning is more on the responsive side which works well for explosive players.
Watch the video
10.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Full-length bounce cushioning is really nice. Probably one of the lowest basketball shoes ever with a very good court feel. Impact protection is still good, especially in the heel.
Watch the video
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
I really like the Bounce cushioning.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Full-length Bounce is back again and I have zero complaints.
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Man, do I love the cushioning in these. The perfect combination of comfort, responsiveness, court feel and impact protection.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
Low-to-the-ground, very responsive and decent impact protection. The "Bounce" cushioning does a great job.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Very low to the ground, but the "Bounce" cushioning doesn't make you feel like you’re playing in a super firm cushion.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Normally, I like a more cushioned feel but the Dame 4 felt so fast and fun that losing a little cushioning was outweighed.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
This setup is one of the best low profile setups I have ever experienced. You can really feel the court underneath your foot.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Adidas Dame 4:

The 8.8 average materials rating ranks #40 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
For a “budget model” to provide materials of this caliber is amazing.
8.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
The materials feel nice but look dirty very quickly.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
The materials are soft and comfortable, durability might be a problem.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Materials are super nice and comfortable. The materials actually feel very premium - especially for the affordable price,
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Materials aren’t high end in name, but feel and look premiumish.
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
Soft and comfy - I really like the materials.
Watch the video
8.5
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
After the break-in period the materials feel really nice.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Nice mesh that allows for much better airflow than the Dame 3 did.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The upper is thick but not stiff and provides a combination of flex and padding that immediately forms to your foot and feels like an extension of your foot.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Anything I did the materials were right there with me. No pinching, binding, nothing — just nicely ventilated mesh.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Adidas Dame 4:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #45 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
Internal heel counter, torsional support plate and lateral outrigger produce a shoe that is just flat out stable.
8.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
Internal heel counter, cable lacing system, and lateral outrigger provide good support. You need to tie the shoe really tightly to avoid heel slippage.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
The support systems are minimal but get the job done!
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I had problems with slight heel slippage. Otherwise, the materials are strong and durable and provide excellent support for such a low shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
This shoe is more supportive than I expected.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Midfoot support is good and stability is excellent thanks to a very wide outsole and firmer, lower cushioning.
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I had problems with the lacing system which made my foot move around a little inside the shoes. Otherwise, support is good.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
Gone are the problems I had with heel slippage in the Dame 3. Overall, I had no problems at all with support.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Fairly flat and stable base, outrigger, internal heel counter, midfoot torsional shank, and a wonderful 1-to-1 fit provide you with excellent support.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Overall, it isn’t restrictive, but definitely stable and supportive.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
If the fit is right, then the support is outstanding.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Adidas Dame 4:

The 8.8 average fit rating ranks #36 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
The shoe wraps around your foot seamlessly and acts like an extension of your body.
9.0
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
The fit was perfectly fine.
Watch the video
9.0
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Snug as a bug.
Watch the video
8.0
KickGenius
January 1, 2017
Initially, it was hard to put this shoe on, but now my feet are slipping right in.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
No heel slip, no lace pressure, no deadspace and no side to side movement
8.5
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
A very nicely fitting shoe.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The entire shoe fit me perfectly 1-to-1 and felt like they were made for me.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The fit is so tight - the lacing system is almost not even needed.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Lockdown is crazy. The compression collar holds you in place and the lacing system is fire.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 0% average outdoor rating ranks #101 of 116 shoes overall
no
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
The rubber is soft, outdoor hoopers might want to reconsider.
no
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
I don't recommend these to play outdoors.
Watch the video
no
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
I don't think these materials will last long outdoors.
Watch the video
no
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
Outdoor use is not recommended. Traction pattern is shallow, and rubber is on the softer side.
Watch the video
no
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Would I play in the Dame 4 outdoors? Probably not. I don’t think the pattern would last very long and the rubber is on the softer side.
Watch the Video|Read the article
no
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
The rubber is soft, so my guess is don’t do it.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Adidas Dame 4:

slightly wide
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
For those that prefer a very close snug fit, consider half size down.
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
These run pretty narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
For wide feet, I would stick with the regular size.
slightly narrow
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Those with wide feet may want to go true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article
slightly narrow
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Right off the bat narrow footers I’d say go down half a size, and wide footers stay true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Size of the Adidas Dame 4:

true to size
Stanley T. [weartesters.com]
December 29, 2017
True to size.
true to size
PureKicks
December 27, 2017
I got mine true to size.
Watch the video
½ size large
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
December 27, 2017
I went down half a size.
Watch the video
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
January 1, 2017
I went half a size down, to my regular Adidas size.
Watch the video
½ size large
Schwollo
January 1, 2017
Runs slightly large.
½ size large
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
January 1, 2017
I recommend going down half a size.
Watch the video
½ size large
RicheeKim
January 1, 2017
Go down half a size from what you are wearing in Nike's or Under Armours.
Watch the video
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
I prefer to go 1/2 size down.
Watch the Video|Read the article
½ size large
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
If you absolutely like your toes with no wiggle room, drop .5 down
½ size large
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
January 1, 2017
Right off the bat narrow footers I’d say go down half a size, and wide footers stay true to size.
Watch the Video|Read the article