Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Dame 4

Released 10/2017, Low Top, Damian Lillard, 
Add to Favourites
8.8
EXPERT RATING
11 reviews
9.2
USER RATING
2 ratings
Provides responsive cushioning, good traction and great lockdown.

Best Suitable For:

Works best for quick guards looking for a low-to-the-ground, responsive and light basketball shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $114.99
StockX
from $80.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.5
Cushion
9.2
Materials
8.8
Support
8.7
Fit
8.8
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
15 likes
Utility Black / Energy Blue / Yellow
Utility Black / Energy Blue / Yellow
from StockX
$80.00
11 likes
White / White / Gum
White / White / Gum
from StockX
$161.00
17 likes
Core Black / Core Black / Footwear White
Core Black / Core Black / Footwear White
from StockX
$218.00
6 likes
"BAPE" - Black / Green / Gum
"BAPE" - Black / Green / Gum
from StockX
$298.00
18 likes
Cloud White / Crystal White / Core Black
Cloud White / Crystal White / Core Black
from StockX
$442.00
27 likes
Running White / Core Black
Running White / Core Black
No stores found
15 likes
Core Black / Running White
Core Black / Running White
No stores found
12 likes
Grey / Core Black / Grey
Grey / Core Black / Grey
No stores found
14 likes
Scarlet Red / White / Scarlet Red
Scarlet Red / White / Scarlet Red
No stores found
13 likes
Core Black / Running White / Grey
Core Black / Running White / Grey
No stores found
12 likes
Core Black / Footwear White / Grey Five
Core Black / Footwear White / Grey Five
No stores found
16 likes
Core Black / Scarlet / Gold Metallic
Core Black / Scarlet / Gold Metallic
No stores found
14 likes
Scarlet / Hi-Res Red / Core Black
Scarlet / Hi-Res Red / Core Black
No stores found

Adidas Dame 4 Review

Pros:
Affordable price
Great court feel
Cons:
Traction takes time to break in

Performance of the Adidas Dame 4:

The Adidas Dame 4, Damian Lillard's latest signature sneaker, gets a lot of love from shoe critics. The cushioning is optimized for lighter guards and provides great court feel while still offering a decent amount of impact protection. The traction takes a little while to break in, but then it works really well - especially on clean courts. The fit of the Dame 4 is very snug and provides great lockdown and support, especially considering the extremely low silhouette of the shoe. If you are a quick guard and you are looking for a low-to-the-ground, responsive and light basketball shoe at an affordable price, then the Adidas Dame 4 is the perfect shoe for you!
See all 11 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Rating: 8.8 (ranks #46 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
Decent cushion, good fit, good materials — the shoe is good for everything on the court and gives you a great overall package.
 More details
The Dame line continues to be the best signature you can get for your money. Bang for your buck like no other.
 More details
9.0
This is a really good performance basketball shoe - probably one of the best basketball shoes of 2017! Especially at the low list price of $115.
 More details
I was having so much fun in this kick I didn’t want to stop. If there was a category for “fun to play in” I would rate the Dame 4 Hall of Fame!
 More details
9.0
With good cushioning, good fit, and good materials, the Dame 4 is good at everything. As an overall package, this is one of the most complete and fun shoes to play in that you will ever find.
 More details
8.8
January 1, 2017
I loved playing in these. Perfect for guards who want to be low to the ground and are looking for a very responsive shoe.
 More details
8.8
January 1, 2017
The Dame 4 is the perfect shoe for quick guards and offers amazing performance at a very affordable price.
 More details
8.6
December 27, 2017
The Dame 4 is an underrated shoe that works very well for quick guards.
 More details
8.6
January 1, 2017
I really really really enjoy playing in this shoe but only on clean or slightly dusty floors. But the fact that I would even consider playing in these despite the meh traction speaks volumes about how fun this shoe is overall.
 More details
8.5
January 1, 2017
This is probably the best performing shoe to hoop in right now! This shoe is really smooth and I come back to it all the time.
 More details
8.5
December 27, 2017
Traction, cushion, fit were all great, and the support system is all I need. This is one of the best-value sneakers I have ever worn!
 More details

User Reviews of the Adidas Dame 4:

User Rating: 9.2 (ranks #23 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.6
January 15, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.8
December 28, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #108 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #85 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
This traction was as spot on as any other shoe I’ve played in this year.
 More details
The traction pattern worked and it worked really well.
 More details
8.0
Takes a really long time to break in. The traction is not as good as the Dame 2 or 3, but still really solid.
 More details
As weird as this outsole may look, the performance is insane.
 More details
9.0
The Dame 4 doesn’t feel aggressive in stops, but it never slipped out or slid while playing, which makes me a happy player.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
The traction started off really bad but got a lot better after breaking in. Overall, the traction is solid, but you will need to wipe a lot on dusty courts.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
On clean courts, the bite of the traction pattern is amazing. On dusty courts, it still held up pretty well.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
I play on one of the dustiest courts of London and this traction did a fantastic job.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
After the break-in period, the traction isn't bad but it definitely isn’t middle top to top tier either.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The traction is a bit inconsistent and collects dust very fast. In clean gyms, it works very well.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
These gripped the floor very well for me!
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.2 (ranks #33 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #99 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
Cushion works well for those who look for a low ride and immediate responsiveness.
 More details
Very low to the ground, but the "Bounce" cushioning doesn't make you feel like you’re playing in a super firm cushion.
 More details
10.0
Man, do I love the cushioning in these. The perfect combination of comfort, responsiveness, court feel and impact protection.
 More details
This setup is one of the best low profile setups I have ever experienced. You can really feel the court underneath your foot.
 More details
9.0
Normally, I like a more cushioned feel but the Dame 4 felt so fast and fun that losing a little cushioning was outweighed.
 More details
10.0
January 1, 2017
Full-length bounce cushioning is really nice. Probably one of the lowest basketball shoes ever with a very good court feel. Impact protection is still good, especially in the heel.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Low-to-the-ground, very responsive and decent impact protection. The "Bounce" cushioning does a great job.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The full-length Bounce cushioning is low to the ground, soft and responsive - just what you want as a quick guard.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Full-length Bounce is back again and I have zero complaints.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
I really like the Bounce cushioning.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The Bounce cushioning is more on the responsive side which works well for explosive players.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #55 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 9.5 (ranks #8 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
For a “budget model” to provide materials of this caliber is amazing.
 More details
Nice mesh that allows for much better airflow than the Dame 3 did.
 More details
9.0
Soft and comfy - I really like the materials.
 More details
Anything I did the materials were right there with me. No pinching, binding, nothing — just nicely ventilated mesh.
 More details
9.0
The upper is thick but not stiff and provides a combination of flex and padding that immediately forms to your foot and feels like an extension of your foot.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Materials are super nice and comfortable. The materials actually feel very premium - especially for the affordable price,
 More details
8.5
January 1, 2017
After the break-in period the materials feel really nice.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
The materials feel nice but look dirty very quickly.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Materials aren’t high end in name, but feel and look premiumish.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
The materials are soft and comfortable, durability might be a problem.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #81 of 205)
User Support Rating: 10.0 (ranks #6 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
Internal heel counter, torsional support plate and lateral outrigger produce a shoe that is just flat out stable.
 More details
Fairly flat and stable base, outrigger, internal heel counter, midfoot torsional shank, and a wonderful 1-to-1 fit provide you with excellent support.
 More details
8.0
I had problems with the lacing system which made my foot move around a little inside the shoes. Otherwise, support is good.
 More details
If the fit is right, then the support is outstanding.
 More details
9.0
Overall, it isn’t restrictive, but definitely stable and supportive.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
I had problems with slight heel slippage. Otherwise, the materials are strong and durable and provide excellent support for such a low shoe.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Gone are the problems I had with heel slippage in the Dame 3. Overall, I had no problems at all with support.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
Internal heel counter, cable lacing system, and lateral outrigger provide good support. You need to tie the shoe really tightly to avoid heel slippage.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Midfoot support is good and stability is excellent thanks to a very wide outsole and firmer, lower cushioning.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
This shoe is more supportive than I expected.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
The support systems are minimal but get the job done!
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.8 (ranks #51 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #58 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The shoe wraps around your foot seamlessly and acts like an extension of your body.
 More details
The entire shoe fit me perfectly 1-to-1 and felt like they were made for me.
 More details
Lockdown is crazy. The compression collar holds you in place and the lacing system is fire.
 More details
9.0
The fit is so tight - the lacing system is almost not even needed.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Snug as a bug.
 More details
8.5
January 1, 2017
A very nicely fitting shoe.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The fit was perfectly fine.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
No heel slip, no lace pressure, no deadspace and no side to side movement
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Initially, it was hard to put this shoe on, but now my feet are slipping right in.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Dame 4:

User Durability Rating: 7.0 (ranks #168 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Dame 4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #188 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #112 of 205)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
6
no
The rubber is soft, outdoor hoopers might want to reconsider.
 More details
Would I play in the Dame 4 outdoors? Probably not. I don’t think the pattern would last very long and the rubber is on the softer side.
 More details
The rubber is soft, so my guess is don’t do it.
 More details
no
January 1, 2017
Outdoor use is not recommended. Traction pattern is shallow, and rubber is on the softer side.
 More details
no
December 27, 2017
I don't recommend these to play outdoors.
 More details
no
December 27, 2017
I don't think these materials will last long outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Dame 4:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
5
regular
1
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly wide
For those that prefer a very close snug fit, consider half size down.
 More details
slightly narrow
Those with wide feet may want to go true to size.
 More details
slightly narrow
Right off the bat narrow footers I’d say go down half a size, and wide footers stay true to size.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
These run pretty narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
For wide feet, I would stick with the regular size.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Dame 4:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
4
slightly long
8
very long
0
true to size
True to size.
 More details
½ size large
I prefer to go 1/2 size down.
 More details
½ size large
I recommend going down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
Right off the bat narrow footers I’d say go down half a size, and wide footers stay true to size.
 More details
½ size large
If you absolutely like your toes with no wiggle room, drop .5 down
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
I went half a size down, to my regular Adidas size.
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
Go down half a size from what you are wearing in Nike's or Under Armours.
 More details
true to size
December 27, 2017
I got mine true to size.
 More details
½ size large
January 1, 2017
Runs slightly large.
 More details
½ size large
December 27, 2017
I went down half a size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: