Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Dame 8

Released 12/2021, Low Top, Damian Lillard, 
Add to Favourites
7.9
EXPERT RATING
7 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
21 ratings
Damian Lillard's latest shoe is fun but inconsistent.

Best Suitable For:

Recommended if you play on clean courts and looking for comfortable, supportive shoes.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
DICK's
$54.37
$120
Buy Now
Finishline
$70.00
$120
Champs Sports
$79.99
$120
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (7)
User Ratings (21)
Traction
7.3
Cushion
8.3
Materials
8.0
Support
8.3
Fit
7.7
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Dame 8
Adidas Dame 8
Adidas Exhibit A
Adidas Exhibit A
Nike Adapt BB 2.0
Nike Adapt BB 2.0
Adidas D.O.N Issue #2
Adidas D.O.N Issue #2
Nike KD Trey 5 IX
Nike KD Trey 5 IX
Li-Ning Way of Wade 9
Li-Ning Way of Wade 9
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.98.3(0.4)8.1(0.2)8.3(0.4)7.9(0.0)8.2(0.3)
User Rating8.68.5(0.1)8.5(0.1)8.4(0.2)8.2(0.4)9.0(0.4)
Best Price
$54.37
$120
$109.99
$199.97
$400
$99.99
$74.97
$90
$225
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight390g - 410g380g - 390g570g - 590g420g - 430g320g - 340g410g - 420g
 Show More
7 likes
Core Black / Core Black / Core Black
Core Black / Core Black / Core Black
from DICK's
$54.37
$120
7 likes
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Grey Six
Core Black / Silver Metallic / Grey Six
in 6 shops
$70.00
$120
8 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Grey One
Cloud White / Core Black / Grey One
in 6 shops
$70.00
$120
32 likes
Yellow Tint / Glory Purple / Signal Green
Yellow Tint / Glory Purple / Signal Green
in 4 shops
$79.99
$120
25 likes
Dash Grey / Grey One / Clear Mint
Dash Grey / Grey One / Clear Mint
from DICK's
$119.99
28 likes
Cloud White / Vivid Red / Core Black
Cloud White / Vivid Red / Core Black
from DICK's
$119.99
11 likes
Core Black / Grey Six / Panther Cyan
Core Black / Grey Six / Panther Cyan
in 2 shops
$120.00
19 likes
Blue Rush / Pulse Mint / Solar Pink
Blue Rush / Pulse Mint / Solar Pink
from Adidas
$120.00
14 likes
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Carbon
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Carbon
from DICK's
$129.99
17 likes
Signal Cyan / Silver Metallic / Shock Cyan
Signal Cyan / Silver Metallic / Shock Cyan
in 4 shops
$130.00
13 likes
Grey Three / Red / Core Black
Grey Three / Red / Core Black
in 5 shops
$130.00
0 likes
Core Black / Bright Orange / Legacy Burgundy
Core Black / Bright Orange / Legacy Burgundy
from Adidas
$130.00
1 likes
Core Black / Team Yellow / Vivid Red
Core Black / Team Yellow / Vivid Red
in 2 shops
$140.00
5 likes
Cloud White / Silver Metallic / Gold Metallic
Cloud White / Silver Metallic / Gold Metallic
from StockX
$70.00
23 likes
Energy Aqua / Core Black / Team Shock Pink
Energy Aqua / Core Black / Team Shock Pink
from StockX
$90.00

Adidas Dame 8 Review

Pros:
Bounce Pro cushion is great
Very supportive
Cons:
Traction is inconsistent on dust

Performance of the Adidas Dame 8:

The latest entry in Damian Lillard's signature shoe line with Adidas, the Dame 8, features a new cushion setup. It utilizes Bounce Pro, a cushion that is a pleasure to play in and feels great underfoot. When it comes to the traction, the Dame 8 is too inconsistent. Dust is a big problem for these. The materials are light and feel comfortable on foot. Make sure to get the right size as the fit can be tricky for those that prefer a snug fit. The support and lockdown are also not an issue at all for these. Overall, the Adidas Dame 8 has a few pros going for it, but it doesn't quite live up to the performance of some of the earlier models in the lineup.
See all 7 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Rating: 7.9 (ranks #193 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
February 22, 2022
Overall, I think the performance of the Adidas Dame 8 will suit many players. The shoe definitely delivers as my only gripes were minor.
 More details
8.4
January 6, 2022
Overall, the Adidas Dame 8 is a solid pickup at its current price point. The inconsistency with the traction is the only downside. The cushion is an improvement from last year and the fit and support were perfect.
 More details
8.2
January 22, 2022
The Adidas Dame 8 is a great pick for players looking for easy push-off power or stability for hard pivoting. They're also versatile as they play well on different surfaces and can accommodate many foot shapes.
 More details
7.8
January 8, 2022
The Adidas Dame 8 could have been a strong performer but are held back by the traction. I had a lot of problems when it came to slippage. Other than that, the materials are comfortable, and the cushion provides a good amount of impact protection.
 More details
7.8
January 22, 2022
The Dame 8 plays very similarly to the Dame 7 even with the slight changes made. Still a well-balanced shoe overall, nothing stands out in a good or bad way.
 More details
7.4
January 11, 2022
The Adidas Dame 8's Bounce Pro cushion setup is a joy to play in. However, other aspects of the shoe, such as traction and fit, are too inconsistent for me to recommend these.
 More details
7.2
February 22, 2022
I had high hopes for the Adidas Dame 8, but the traction didn't work for me, and the materials had a lot of room for improvement.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Dame 8:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #115 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.3
July 18, 2022
Solid shoe with a very good cushion.Its also very stylish,I would recommend it for any player who want a responsive shoe with great cushion.The only thing that is not so good is the traction because the shoe picks up very much dust.
 More details
9.2
January 12, 2022
The traction was pretty bad in the beggining, but once I broke them in it became pretty consistent, it just needs a quick wipe every once in a while and youre good to go
 More details
9.2
October 2, 2022
The dames are good, sometime inconsistent on dust but it has great durability.
 More details
7.6
December 23, 2021
The shoe is pretty good but not better than the last one.
 More details
7.2
January 31, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.3 (ranks #210 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 8.1 (ranks #161 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
1
9.0
February 22, 2022
The traction stuck to the court well for me. It bit really well to clean courts but picked up dust easily.
 More details
8.0
January 6, 2022
The Dame 8 features a modified herringbone pattern for the most part, and it performs alright. You won't have issues on clean courts, but mild dust can cause problems when making hard lateral movements.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
It has a surprisingly tacky feeling outsole. The tread pattern also allows the shoe to feel quick.
 More details
6.0
January 8, 2022
The traction was not good at all. I slipped a lot even after breaking them in for a few hours.
 More details
7.0
January 22, 2022
The traction is definitely good, but maybe not great.
 More details
6.0
January 11, 2022
On a clean court, you won't have any problems. However, if the court is dusty, these were terrible. It's a dust magnet, and it takes a lot of effort to wipe.
 More details
6.0
February 22, 2022
The traction picks up dust regardless of the court conditions. It did not perform well for me, which was disappointing.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #138 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #101 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
11
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 22, 2022
The cushion feels bouncy and soft. I enjoyed my time playing in this shoe.
 More details
8.0
January 6, 2022
Adidas is using a new setup they're calling Bounce Pro. It offers a lot of impact protection in the heel before tapering off into a more firm cushion in the forefoot. It feels more fluid than the Dame 7 setup.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The new Bounce Pro cushion used in the Dame 8 is an upgrade from regular Bounce. It feels denser than traditional Bounce while still feeling light compared to Boost.
 More details
9.0
January 8, 2022
I was surprised by how nice the Bounce Pro felt. It provides a lot of impact protection and compression in the heel. It does get more firm in the forefoot, though.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The dual-density Bounce Pro cushion feels solid in a good way.
 More details
8.0
January 11, 2022
The Bounce Pro cushion has a lot of impact protection. It also feels soft yet bouncy.
 More details
8.0
February 22, 2022
Adidas uses Bounce Pro in the Dame 8. The dual-density Bounce feels nice, but the shank plate makes it hard to flex the shoe.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #146 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #109 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
20
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
February 22, 2022
Materials on the shoe aren't the most premium, but they get the job done.
 More details
8.0
January 6, 2022
There is a decent quality mesh used for the majority of the shoe. However, there are textiles mixed into the high wear areas.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The upper on these Dames are some of the most rugged designs in recent years. The only concern is that toe dragging can wear away at the materials.
 More details
8.0
January 8, 2022
The materials feel solid. I had no issues, and they are comfortable on foot.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
There is nothing super special about the materials, but it is light and breathable.
 More details
8.0
January 11, 2022
A textile mesh makes up a majority of the shoe. The materials are soft and feel cozy on foot.
 More details
8.0
February 22, 2022
The materials look nice, but they could've been better support-wise. They performed decently enough, though.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #139 of 233)
User Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #121 of 233)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 22, 2022
I never had any issues with the support and lockdown. The heel counter and width of the shoe help keep you secure.
 More details
9.0
January 6, 2022
I had zero issues with support and lockdown. There were no issues with sliding on the footbed or heel slippage.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
They provide a strong stitched reinforcement. The heel lockdown allows for next to no heel slippage, but it causes these to feel long and boxy.
 More details
8.0
January 8, 2022
I experienced a tad bit of heel slippage, but it didn't affect me at all once I started playing. Otherwise, I felt locked down.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
I had no issues with the support. The cushion and upper combine to keep you contained.
 More details
8.0
January 11, 2022
I had no issues with lateral containment. Lateral stability was also good.
 More details
7.0
February 22, 2022
The upper of the shoe and lacing system did not have the support that I would've liked.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.7 (ranks #202 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #123 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
February 22, 2022
There is some extra length and room in the toe box that had me questioning the fit at times, but overall it was good.
 More details
9.0
January 6, 2022
The Dame 8 is more accomodating than last year's model. I didn't experience any type of tightness or pressure with these.
 More details
7.0
January 22, 2022
The fit is the biggest con of the shoe. They fit generously because of the space in the toe box area.
 More details
8.0
January 8, 2022
I had no issues at all when it came to the fit of the Adidas Dame 8.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The shoe has a little too much room towards the front of the shoe.
 More details
7.0
January 11, 2022
The fit was not the best for me. There was too much room in the toe box area, and it does stretch out after breaking in.
 More details
7.0
February 22, 2022
Similar to other Adidas shoes, the forefoot area could be more secure. The shoe was also roomy in the toe box in terms of length.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Dame 8:

User Durability Rating: 8.9 (ranks #73 of 233)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Dame 8:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #86 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 71.9 (ranks #73 of 233)
Good (100%)
9
Fair (50%)
8
Bad (0%)
2
fair
January 22, 2022
They're one of the better shoes on the market for combined outdoor and indoor play.
 More details
fair
January 22, 2022
I tested these outdoors and didn't see a lot of fraying.
 More details
fair
January 11, 2022
The grooves are thick, and the rubber looks like it could hold up.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Dame 8:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
1
regular
17
slightly wide
8
very wide
0
regularly wide
February 22, 2022
The width was on the money for me.
 More details
slightly wide
January 6, 2022
I have a slightly wide foot, and going down half a size was not an issue for me.
 More details
regularly wide
January 22, 2022
The toe box accommodates narrow, medium, and wide widths.
 More details
regularly wide
January 22, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
slightly wide
January 11, 2022
I would say these are slightly wide.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Dame 8:

very small
1
slightly small
4
true to size
10
slightly long
13
very long
0
true to size
February 22, 2022
Going true to size was the best decision.
 More details
½ size large
January 6, 2022
I would say that these run half a size big.
 More details
½ size large
January 22, 2022
If you have a narrow foot or short toes, I would be going down half a size.
 More details
true to size
January 8, 2022
I went true to size and had no issues.
 More details
½ size large
January 22, 2022
I would suggest going down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
January 11, 2022
These run long, so I would suggest going down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
February 22, 2022
I had to go half a size down.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: