Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas D.O.N Issue #3

Released 7/2021, Low Top, Donovan Mitchell, 
Add to Favourites
8.0
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
8.3
USER RATING
14 ratings
The D.O.N Issue #3 is a dependable shoe with solid materials and great traction.

Best Suitable For:

Best for players looking for a responsive and lightweight shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 5 shops | Official Retail Price: $109.99
Foot Locker
$79.99
$110
Buy Now
Champs Sports
$79.99
$110
Adidas
$88.00
$110
See all 5 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (5)
User Ratings (14)
Traction
8.3
Cushion
7.6
Materials
8.1
Support
8.0
Fit
7.7
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas D.O.N Issue #3
Adidas D.O.N Issue #3
Under Armour Curry 9
Under Armour Curry 9
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Puma Clyde Hardwood
Air Jordan 36 Low
Air Jordan 36 Low
Nike KD 15
Nike KD 15
Under Armour Curry 8
Under Armour Curry 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.08.9(0.9)8.7(0.7)9.2(1.2)9.1(1.1)8.9(0.9)
User Rating8.39.4(1.1)8.3(0.0)9.5(1.2)9.5(1.2)9.0(0.7)
Best Price
$79.99
$110
$159.99
$99.99
$120
$164.99
$185
$150
$159.99
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight380g - 380g320g - 330g460g - 480gNA370g - 390g320g - 340g
 Show More
30 likes
Cloud White / Team Navy / Team Green
Cloud White / Team Navy / Team Green
in 3 shops
$79.99
$110
36 likes
Team Power Red / Cloud White / Vivid Red
Team Power Red / Cloud White / Vivid Red
in 3 shops
$88.00
$110
20 likes
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Cloud White
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Cloud White
from Adidas
$88.00
$110
19 likes
Scarlet / Core Black / Solar Red
Scarlet / Core Black / Solar Red
from Foot Locker
$99.99
$110
24 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Core Black
Core Black / Cloud White / Core Black
in 3 shops
$109.99
36 likes
Dark Blue / Red / Team Colleg Gold
Dark Blue / Red / Team Colleg Gold
from Foot Locker
$109.99
25 likes
Royal Blue / Cloud White / Victory Blue
Royal Blue / Cloud White / Victory Blue
from Champs Sports
$110.00
40 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
Cloud White / Core Black / Crystal White
from Champs Sports
$110.00
18 likes
Team Navy / Cloud White / Crew Navy
Team Navy / Cloud White / Crew Navy
from Champs Sports
$110.00
18 likes
Team Mid Grey / Cloud White / Team Light Grey
Team Mid Grey / Cloud White / Team Light Grey
from Champs Sports
$110.00
20 likes
White / Metallic Gold / White
White / Metallic Gold / White
from Champs Sports
$110.00
21 likes
Core Black / Bright Cyan / Active Purple
Core Black / Bright Cyan / Active Purple
in 2 shops
$110.00
27 likes
Pulse Aqua / Bold Blue / Bright Cyan
Pulse Aqua / Bold Blue / Bright Cyan
from Champs Sports
$110.00
7 likes
Clear Grey / Purple Rush / Semi Screaming Green
Clear Grey / Purple Rush / Semi Screaming Green
in 3 shops
$110.00
2 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Vivid Red
Cloud White / Core Black / Vivid Red
from Champs Sports
$110.00
1 likes
Blue / Yellow / Bright Cyan
Blue / Yellow / Bright Cyan
from Champs Sports
$120.00
27 likes
Core Black / Team Colleg Gold / Cloud White
Core Black / Team Colleg Gold / Cloud White
from StockX
$48.00
26 likes
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
Team Navy / Cloud White / Vivid Red
from StockX
$55.00
21 likes
Sonic Ink / Solar Red / Hazy Emerald
Sonic Ink / Solar Red / Hazy Emerald
from StockX
$75.00
35 likes
Dark Blue / Red / Team Colleg Gold
Dark Blue / Red / Team Colleg Gold
from StockX
$79.00
25 likes
Core Black / Green / Cloud White
Core Black / Green / Cloud White
from StockX
$90.00
18 likes
Light Pink / Clear Pink / Team College Purple
Light Pink / Clear Pink / Team College Purple
from StockX
$93.00
64 likes
Team Colleg Purple / Acid Orange / Halo Mint
Team Colleg Purple / Acid Orange / Halo Mint
from StockX
$105.00

Adidas D.O.N Issue #3 Review

Pros:
Traction grips well indoors and outdoors.
Comfortable materials.
Cons:
Heel slippage.
Not much impact protection.

Performance of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

The traction on the D.O.N Issue #3 is the best and most consistent part of the shoe. The rubber is thick, and the pattern is wide, which helps the shoe grip well on most surfaces. The cushion is full-length Lightstrike, and it feels very responsive. It also feels light when on feet. Reviewers agree that the D.O.N Issue #3 features comfortable materials that don't need any break-in time. The support and lockdown of the shoe seem consistent laterally. However, the consistency can vary depending on your size when it comes to heel lockdown. Overall, the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3 is a steady shoe with consistent traction, but make sure to get the right size.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Rating: 8.0 (ranks #174 of 219)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.3
January 22, 2022
Donovan Mitchell's latest shoe is a step up from last year's model, but the Adidas DON Issue #3 doesn't live up to the original. It has solid traction and adequate cushioning that will suit guard play.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
Overall, the D.O.N Issue #3 is a steady basketball shoe. It has dependable traction with a wide base. The cushion and support were also dependable for me.
 More details
The Adidas D.O.N Issue #3 has great traction and comfortable materials. It felt comfortable on foot, but the cushion doesn't hold up after playing more than three games at a time. The heel slippage also takes away from the shoe a bit. Overall, it is a responsive shoe that feels light on your feet.
 More details
8.0
July 25, 2021
As long as you consistently wipe, you're getting a good-performing shoe. The shoe feels light, the traction performs well enough, and the materials feel nice. The only issue to consider is that there is the potential for heel slippage.
 More details
7.6
August 5, 2021
The D.O.N Issue #3 is a lightweight shoe that provided a decent amount of court feel with the Lightstrike midsole. However, the traction, fit, and heel lockdown left a lot to be desired.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

User Rating: 8.3 (ranks #145 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
November 24, 2021
The D.O.N. Issue 3 was actually pretty good in my opinion. The Traction stopped on a dime but you have to wipe every now and then. The cushion is plush but very responsive. The materials are comfortable and they feel snug on foot. The support and fit are solid, I wasn't sliding out for the most part. But overall, I recommend the D.O.N. Issue 3 to all types of hoopers in the world.
 More details
7.6
March 27, 2022
I have a wide foot so fit is ok for me. For narrow or medium footers, go down 1/2 size. Lightstrike foam works like a charm! Traction is ok on clean courts. Traction isn't good on dusty courts. Impact protection is above average.
 More details
7.4
March 19, 2022
Fine looking shoes but feels kind of scary running in them because of not being true to size and the support level not being ideal. Also when court is dusty traction level is not great!
 More details
8.0
March 12, 2022
DON issue 3’s have got to be one of the best basketball shoes I’ve ever played in INDOORS, the traction is amazing and it holds up nice the only thing is a slight problem in comfort
 More details
9.2
November 1, 2021
Traction is pretty good, but not the best. The cushion is okay. Materials are comfortable and breathable. The fit is perfect for me it is a little wide though. It is very supportive.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #131 of 219)
User Traction Rating: 8.1 (ranks #144 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.5
January 22, 2022
Overall, the traction works well. It sticks hard but can be affected by dust.
 More details
9.0
July 20, 2021
The traction is a huge upgrade for Mitchell's signature line. The grooves are wider and thicker which helps it grip better.
 More details
The traction on these is pretty good on both indoor and outdoor courts.
 More details
8.0
July 25, 2021
The spiderweb-like traction pattern is pretty good for the most part. I slipped a bit, but it was minimal.
 More details
7.0
August 5, 2021
The traction was not that good. It was inconsistent, and for the most part, it did not bite as hard as other shoes on the market. It performed well indoors, but on dusty courts, I was sliding a lot.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.6 (ranks #180 of 219)
User Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #130 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 22, 2022
The full-length Lightstrike midsole offers plushness and comfort, but it lacks the bounciness of other cushions. It also feels responsive.
 More details
7.0
July 20, 2021
The cushion in the D.O.N Issue #3s sits somewhere between the Harden Vol. 4 and the Dame 7. It has a little bit of bounciness but is very responsive.
 More details
The feel of the cushion is similar to the Harden 4 and the Dame 7, but it is thicker. It's responsive and light but isn't the plushest cushion.
 More details
8.0
July 25, 2021
The Lightstrike feels exactly like what you would expect. It's similar to Bounce but not as dense. The shoe feels responsive, and it has good heel cushioning.
 More details
8.0
August 5, 2021
The full-length Lightstrike is nice because it is lightweight. It provides a good amount of court feel but is lacking in impact protection.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #124 of 219)
User Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #129 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
0
8.5
January 22, 2022
The materials don't feel premium, but they are soft to the touch. I didn't have any problems playing in the shoe.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
The materials don't require any break-in time and appear to be decently durable.
 More details
The tongue feels really nice, and the overall materials remind me of the Dame 2. They require no break-in time but aren't the most breathable.
 More details
8.0
July 25, 2021
The upper is completely textile, but some rubber and fuse hits are placed strategically for durability. They definitely get the job done.
 More details
8.0
August 5, 2021
After an initial break-in period, the materials are a definite upgrade from the D.O.N Issue #2. It performs well and feels soft once broken in.
 More details

Support of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #164 of 219)
User Support Rating: 7.6 (ranks #171 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
1
9.0
January 22, 2022
I think that support is one of the best aspects of the shoe. The shoe feels stable and secure.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
I experienced no heel slippage. The footbed keeps you very well contained.
 More details
The lateral TPU provides good support and keeps you contained laterally. The downside is that I experienced quite a bit of heel slippage.
 More details
8.0
July 25, 2021
I had some heel slippage in only my right shoe. Nothing too extreme, but just noticeable enough to make me feel a bit insecure. Everything else about the support felt good.
 More details
8.0
August 5, 2021
For lateral containment, I had no issues. The setup with the foam coming up the sides of the shoe performed well. I did have a little heel slippage, but that is mostly subjective to my foot.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.7 (ranks #191 of 219)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #103 of 219)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
7.5
January 22, 2022
The fit is solid in the midfoot, but there is space in the forefoot. I also experienced a lot of heel slippage because of the sock liner.
 More details
8.0
July 20, 2021
The fit is not as snug as other recent Adidas models in the midfoot, which is a welcome improvement for me.
 More details
I was able to go true to size.
 More details
8.0
July 25, 2021
The materials lay nicely over your feet, and the tongue feels nice as well.
 More details
7.0
August 5, 2021
The fit is not for me. It fit well length-wise, but the toe box had a lot of extra room. You may like it if you like a roomier fit.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #117 of 219)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #86 of 219)
User Outdoor Rating: 57.1 (ranks #91 of 219)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
6
Bad (0%)
2
fair
January 22, 2022
The rubber is hard, and I didn't experience much fraying.
 More details
fair
July 20, 2021
There's isn't much fraying on my pair yet.
 More details
The grooves are quite thick. So, the outdoor bite is still pretty good.
 More details
fair
August 5, 2021
The rubber is fairly hard, but the grooves aren't the best.
 More details

Width of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
1
regular
12
slightly wide
5
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 22, 2022
Go up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly wide
July 20, 2021
The shoe does a decent job of accommodating wider feet.
 More details
regularly wide
July 25, 2021
I have slightly wide feet, and the shoe felt good going down half a size. Keep in mind, it may feel tight when first trying them on.
 More details
slightly wide
August 5, 2021
It is a little bit wide.
 More details

Size of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #3:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
12
slightly long
7
very long
0
true to size
January 22, 2022
Go true to size if you have a normal or narrow-width foot.
 More details
½ size large
July 20, 2021
Go half a size down for regular footers and true to size for wide footers.
 More details
true to size
There is a bit of extra space at the front of the shoe, but not enough to make me want to go half a size down.
 More details
½ size large
July 25, 2021
I recommend going down half a size.
 More details
true to size
August 5, 2021
It fit true to size, but there is too much space in the forefoot for my liking.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: