Adidas D.O.N Issue #4

Released 10/2022, Mid Top, Donovan Mitchell, 
Add to Favourites
7.9
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.4
USER RATING
23 ratings
The D.O.N Issue #4 provides outstanding lockdown and containment for players with quick moves.

Best Suitable For:

A solid pick for shifty guards who need containment.

Price Comparison:

Available at 5 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
Champs Sports
$59.99
$120
StockX
from $33.00
See all 5 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (23)
Traction
8.0
Cushion
7.5
Materials
8.0
Support
8.0
Fit
7.8
Outdoor
67%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
New Balance Kawhi 3
New Balance Kawhi 3
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Adidas AE 1
Adidas AE 1
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.98.2(0.3)7.7(0.2)8.7(0.8)8.1(0.2)8.8(0.9)
User Rating8.48.4(0.0)8.5(0.1)9.3(0.9)9.3(0.9)9.0(0.6)
Best Price
$59.99
$120
$159.99
$53.97
$110
$120
$101.97
$170
$132.99
$160
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopLow Top
Weight360g - 380gNANANA330g - 350g350g - 360g
 Show More
26 likes
Vivid Red / Core Black / Team Victory Red
Vivid Red / Core Black / Team Victory Red
from Champs Sports
$59.99
$120
15 likes
Team Power Red / Cloud White / Core Black
Team Power Red / Cloud White / Core Black
from DICK's
$119.99
18 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Carbon
Core Black / Cloud White / Carbon
from 3 Resellers
$41.00
20 likes
Core Black / Carbon / Grey Four
Core Black / Carbon / Grey Four
from 2 Resellers
$41.00
13 likes
Cloud White / Grey One / Grey Two
Cloud White / Grey One / Grey Two
from GOAT
$53.00
48 likes
Dash Grey / Bliss Lilac / Grey Two
Dash Grey / Bliss Lilac / Grey Two
from 2 Resellers
$62.00
9 likes
Core Black / Team Colleg Gold 2 / Cloud White
Core Black / Team Colleg Gold 2 / Cloud White
from 2 Resellers
$65.00
13 likes
Team Navy / Team Green / Team Colleg Gold
Team Navy / Team Green / Team Colleg Gold
from 2 Resellers
$66.00
39 likes
Impact Orange / Collegiate Gold / Core Black
Impact Orange / Collegiate Gold / Core Black
from 2 Resellers
$68.00
28 likes
Off White / Off White / Bliss
Off White / Off White / Bliss
from 2 Resellers
$71.00
35 likes
Purple Rush / Off White / Clear Aqua
Purple Rush / Off White / Clear Aqua
from 2 Resellers
$72.00
17 likes
Blue / Semi Mint Rush
Blue / Semi Mint Rush
from 2 Resellers
$73.00
11 likes
Royal Blue / Cloud White / Team Navy
Royal Blue / Cloud White / Team Navy
from 3 Resellers
$76.00
7 likes
Better Scarlet / Cream White / Shadow Red
Better Scarlet / Cream White / Shadow Red
from 2 Resellers
$80.00
17 likes
Team Navy / Cloud White / Core Black
Team Navy / Cloud White / Core Black
from GOAT
$107.00
17 likes
Core Black / Carbon / Grey Three
Core Black / Carbon / Grey Three
from GOAT
$118.00

Adidas D.O.N Issue #4 Review

Pros:
Comfortable and supportive materials
Stability and containment
Cons:
Lightstrike foam bottoms out quick
Dust can cause problems

Performance of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

The traction on Donovan Mitchell's fourth signature shoe is consistent and decently grippy most of the time. Dust can cause the occasional hiccup, but it doesn't happen too often. Reviewers agreed the Lightstrike foam is comfortable underfoot, but the cushioning doesn't provide much energy return. Materials on the shoe are lightweight, breathable, and offer plenty of support during lateral movements. The support and lockdown are outstanding on the shoe. It covers you throughout all kinds of different moves. The Adidas D.O.N Issue #4 is a solid next entry in Mitchell's lineup. It's a lightweight shoe with traction and support to fit guard playstyles.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Rating: 7.9 (ranks #254 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
January 10, 2023
The Adidas D.O.N. Issue #4 is a well-built shoe for containment, lockdown, and traction. It's a comfortable shoe overall but beware of the foam bottoming out.
 More details
If you want stability, then Adidas D.O.N Issue #4 is for you. The shoe has all the support features a performance shoe needs, and the traction performs well on clean courts.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2022
The Adidas D.O.N Issue #4 is a responsive shoe that performs best on clean courts. It's a pretty good performer, but it's a tad bulky for my liking.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
I wouldn't recommend the Adidas D.O.N. Issue #4. At best, it's alright for shootarounds and practice. The traction is too inconsistent, and the cushioning is stiff.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

User Rating: 8.4 (ranks #200 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.6
May 25, 2023
The D.O.N. Issue 4 is a cool looking shoe that keeps the foot well contained and stable while providing a responsive ride. Where the shoe falls short is fit and comfort. My pain point is the support plate that runs up both sides and underneath near the middle of the shoe. The shoe is quite narrow in that area, and that plate digs into the arch of my foot on the lateral side. The shoe is already a bit long, and doesn’t have great heel containment. This meant going up half a size was not an option
 More details
9.2
November 20, 2022
Naaaah I need to end this. I saw a lot of bad reviews on these and I ONLY SEE HATE. Like I am not capping when giving this review trust me. Traction is very good clean or dusty court. I never slipped and the court I have practices on is hella dusty. Cushion is actually nice and responsive with a lil give to it. Fit, Lockdown and materials all very good. Durability is also god tier imo. I have these longer than my harden vol 6 and the hardens are fried and these are INTACT. Just cop now and see
 More details
7.0
June 15, 2023
donovan must’ve partnered with swifter with these shoes cause they attract dust like no shoe i’ve owned before. I wipe my feet every time up and down the floor. I can’t make a quick cut cause my feet can’t catch on the ground. It feels like i’m running out there in just socks. I’ve only had these shoes for a few months but the paint and color is already chipping off parts of the shoes too. But for fit wise and cushion it’s fine, I like how it’s not too narrow around my feet.
 More details
8.9
April 8, 2024
This shoe is amazing. The traction is amazing, it pick a lot of dust but once you wipe is amazing again, the cushion os not great, in the beggining is good but eventually ir wears out a little and you can feel ir, its not bad but compared to like nike or Jordan cushion is a little worse, the materials are incredible, durable breatheble and soft and it gives your foot a lot of support, torsional and ankle, I only sprained my ankle once and ir was not the show, and very very responsive.
 More details
8.4
January 28, 2023
This shoes was a good option for me the price was great and the support was great it helped me alot in fast and quick moves. The cushioning was good but when dunking the cushion doesn't really absorb all the pressure when falling. The traction in clean court is incredible and squeaky but in outdoor the grip is good but not that great there's a low chance that you will slip on the ground. The fit is really great it holds on the foot it manages to stop the ankle from spraining it.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #222 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #227 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
1
9.0
January 10, 2023
The traction has a decent grip and offers a speedy playstyle.
 More details
Overall, the traction performance is good indoors and outdoors. Dusty courts do give the traction some issues, though.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2022
The traction performs best on clean courts after an initial break-in period. Dust causes problems in performance.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
The traction is okay on clean courts, but dust causes you to slip and slide.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.5 (ranks #261 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #208 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 10, 2023
The cushioning is entirely Lightstrike. It offers a light feeling underfoot.
 More details
The Lightstrike cushioning is my least favourite part of the shoe. The comfort level of the foam is average.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2022
The full-length Lightstrike feels comfortable and soft, but it bottoms out quicker than other foams.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
I needed to break the cushioning in. The Lightstrike is stiff, and the impact protection could be better. The court feel isn't there, either.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #183 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #104 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
13
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 10, 2023
Other brands should try to emulate the uppers of this shoe. It offers solid lockdown while remaining lightweight and breathable.
 More details
The upper is a nice-feeling jacquard material, but the breathability is not the best. It's comfortable, but not for sessions that run too long.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2022
The materials Adidas is calling Lightlock are thin and supportive without sacrificing comfort.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
The upper needs some break-in time. The materials aren't breathable, and the quality feels cheap too.
 More details

Support of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #218 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #198 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 10, 2023
The containment is customizable with the lacing system, and the uppers keep you contained well.
 More details
The support is one of the stronger aspects of the shoe. The shank plate prevents the shoe from twisting and folding too much, while the extra eyelets allow for additional customizability.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2022
The shank plate provides good torsional support. I also felt supported laterally.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
The overall lockdown is decent. The heel cup is solid, and the stability is solid. The poor traction negatively affects the support, though.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.8 (ranks #259 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #202 of 303)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 10, 2023
The fit of the shoe is generous.
 More details
The lacing system provides a locked-down, secure feeling, but the midfoot section is moderately snug.
 More details
8.0
November 3, 2022
My shoe fits pretty damn well.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
My fit felt alright but not perfect because of my high arch. The tongue and lacing system help with customizing the fit.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

User Durability Rating: 8.6 (ranks #123 of 303)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 66.7 (ranks #86 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #58 of 303)
Good (100%)
11
Fair (50%)
7
Bad (0%)
0
fair
January 10, 2023
The shoe might not last long outdoors.
 More details
good
The rubber compound will last outdoors.
 More details
fair
November 3, 2022
The rubber is hard, and the grooves are thick enough for outdoor play.
 More details

Width of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
8
regular
9
slightly wide
7
very wide
1
regularly wide
January 10, 2023
The shoe can accommodate most widths well.
 More details
slightly narrow
Going up half a size if you have wide feet will be helpful.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 3, 2022
It is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly wide
April 16, 2023
There will be dead space in the toe box of the shoe if you have narrow feet.
 More details

Size of the Adidas D.O.N Issue #4:

very small
1
slightly small
1
true to size
17
slightly long
6
very long
2
true to size
January 10, 2023
Go down half a size if you have a narrow foot. Otherwise, go true to size.
 More details
true to size
Going true to size will work for most people.
 More details
true to size
November 3, 2022
I went true to size with no issues.
 More details
runs large
April 16, 2023
The shoe runs a full-size large.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: