Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Adidas Harden Vol. 2

Released 2/2018, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
9.2
USER RATING
2 ratings
Thick Boost cushioning provides a ton of impact protection

Best Suitable For:

Works especially well for bigger guards and heavier players

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $150.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (2)
Traction
7.6
Cushion
9.4
Materials
8.6
Support
8.7
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Vol. 2
Adidas Harden Vol. 2
Nike Cosmic Unity
Nike Cosmic Unity
Under Armour Anatomix Spawn 3
Under Armour Anatomix Spawn 3
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Nike Lebron 18 Low
Nike Lebron 18 Low
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.68.8(0.2)9.0(0.4)8.8(0.2)8.8(0.2)8.5(0.1)
User Rating9.28.7(0.5)8.7(0.5)9.3(0.1)9.6(0.4)8.4(0.8)
Best Price$139.99
$149.99
$99.99
$169.99
$225
$79.97
$160
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight460g - 480g400g - 410g340g - 360g410g - 430g360g - 370g410g - 430g
 Show More
23 likes
Bold Red / Light Solid Grey
Bold Red / Light Solid Grey
from StockX
$150.00
22 likes
Black / Scarlet-Grey
Black / Scarlet-Grey
from StockX
$166.00
31 likes
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Trace Royal
Core Black / Gold Metallic / Trace Royal
from StockX
$240.00
29 likes
Grey / Running White / Grey
Grey / Running White / Grey
from StockX
$240.00
19 likes
Core Black / Grey / Iron Metallic
Core Black / Grey / Iron Metallic
from StockX
$299.00
42 likes
Green / Multi-Color
Green / Multi-Color
from StockX
$538.00

Adidas Harden Vol. 2 Review

Pros:
Great impact protection
Good all-round shoe
Cons:
Heavy weight
Inconsistent traction

Performance of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

The Harden Vol. 2 is a nice improvement over James Harden' first signature sneaker. The thicker Boost cushioning provides a ton of impact protection while remaining responsive enough for guards. The traction is great on clean courts but requires you to wipe a lot on dusty courts. Materials are not premium but perform very well and give you all the support you need. Overall, this is a shoe that works especially well for bigger guards and heavier players who look for a lot of cushioning and support.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #84 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.2
March 4, 2018
We really enjoyed playing in these. The Harden Vol. 2 should work well for everyone - responsive enough for guards but the support and comfortable cushioning will work well for bigger guys too!
 More details
Overall a great shoe, but unfortunately, the inconsistency that I experienced with the traction will likely keep the Harden Vol 2 out of my rotation.
 More details
8.8
March 4, 2018
The Harden Vol2 is extremely fun to wear! Overall I feel that Adidas improved everything compared to the V1.
 More details
Unless you play on crispy clean courts I wouldn't recommend the Harden Vol 2 because there are a bunch of better options on the market.
 More details
8.6
June 12, 2018
The Harden 2 will defintely stay in my gym bag for a while! I especially loved the comfortable materials and the Boost cushioning. Everything about this sneaker just worked for me - and they are just flat out fun to play in!
 More details
8.5
February 26, 2018
Overall the Harden Vol. 2 is a great performer. Some nitpicking: I would have liked the heel to be a little less clunky and the Boost cushioning to be a little softer in the forefoot.
 More details
Overall, this shoe is pretty good. Great shoe if you have bad knees, you need a lot of comfort and impact protection and you can live with the lackluster traction.
 More details
7.8
February 26, 2018
Amazing cushioning, very nice materials and support. Traction is solid but I wasn't happy with the fit.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

User Rating: 9.2 (ranks #31 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
January 13, 2022
I’ll keep this short, the only thing that held back the Harden Vol. 2 was the weight… and the inconsistent traction ;)
 More details
9.8
January 21, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.6 (ranks #200 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #141 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 4, 2018
Traction needs a little break in time but stopping power is great on clean courts. Attracts a lot of dust though.
 More details
Unfortunately, the traction on the Harden Vol 2 just wasn’t as good as that of the original.
 More details
8.0
March 4, 2018
Traction is ridiculously good on clean floors, but you need to wipe a lot on dusty courts.
 More details
On a clean court, the traction was solid, but the Harden Vol 2 collects dust like nobody's business.
 More details
8.0
June 12, 2018
I thought the traction was pretty solid. You will have to wipe every now and then but then you get good traction. To be safe, get a colorway with a white outsole, as players with a black or grey outsole reported more problems with the traction than others.
 More details
9.0
February 26, 2018
This traction pattern performs very well. I usually play on really dust courts, but as long as you wipe, you will not have any problems.
 More details
The traction was pretty disappointing and just didn't grip the floor. Don't even bother on a dusty court.
 More details
7.0
February 26, 2018
On a clean court the traction is great, but unfortunately, the rubber is a real dust collector.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.4 (ranks #25 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 10.0 (ranks #7 of 233)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
March 4, 2018
This Boost cushioning setup is really nice. Very comfortable but still remains responsive and provides good court feel.
 More details
Boost cushioning works really well.
 More details
9.0
March 4, 2018
Firm Boost setup is a nice blend of speed and impact protection.
 More details
Thick Boost cushioning does a great job with impact protection.
 More details
9.0
June 12, 2018
Full length boost provides a ton of bounce and impact protection as well as a surprising amount of responsiveness. This is the best and most versatile Boost experience on the hardwood!
 More details
9.0
February 26, 2018
A lot of impact protection in the heel but very responsive in the forefoot.
 More details
This shoe is very, very comfy due to the huge amount of Boost. Court feel and responsiveness could be better.
 More details
10.0
February 26, 2018
The Boost cushioning is incredible. I don't know how you could hate on that!
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #72 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 9.0 (ranks #57 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 4, 2018
The materials are soft and pliable.
 More details
Materials aren't premium but perform very well.
 More details
9.0
March 4, 2018
Sure it isn’t Primeknit but it looks premium with all that texture and color and performs just as well.
 More details
Materials are pretty basic but perform well.
 More details
9.0
June 12, 2018
Zero break-in time!
 More details
8.0
February 26, 2018
The forged fiber, textile, and mesh are pretty nice.
 More details
The mesh in the forefoot feels really nice, the synthetic panel on the back works well.
 More details
8.0
February 26, 2018
Materials are not flashy but perform very well.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #87 of 233)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #76 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 4, 2018
Very supportive - great lockdown, wide base and super strong materials.
 More details
For a Guard shoe, the support is here and shouldn’t let you down.
 More details
9.0
March 4, 2018
I really enjoyed the wide outsole and never felt in danger or turning my ankle at all.
 More details
Wide base, strong mesh, and adjustable lacing system provide pretty good support.
 More details
8.0
June 12, 2018
I had no complaints when it came to support.
 More details
8.0
February 26, 2018
I had no side-to-side movement, but a little heel slippage in the beginning which was fixed by playing with the adjustable lacing system.
 More details
This shoe gives really good support and the customizable lacing system gives you a lot of options to adapt the lockdown to your preferences.
 More details
8.0
February 26, 2018
Internal heel counter, adaptive lacing system, lateral outrigger and great fit of the bootie setup do a very nice job!
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #73 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #64 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 4, 2018
Great lockdown in the forefoot and lateral containment, but I would have liked the heel to be a little higher to avoid heel slippage.
 More details
I love how it fits and feels.
 More details
9.0
March 4, 2018
The heel needs a little break in, otherwise, the shoe fits nicely out of the box.
 More details
The one-piece bootie feels great on foot.
 More details
9.0
June 12, 2018
The lockdown is absolutely amazing and the lacing system is almost too good!
 More details
I had no problems with heel slippage or lateral containment. The bootie construction fit me very well.
 More details
6.0
February 26, 2018
Adjustable lacing system provides great lockdown. But there is an elastic band that separates the forefoot from the backfoot, which was really uncomfortable in the beginning.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

User Durability Rating: 10.0 (ranks #10 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #110 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #23 of 233)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
0
fair
March 4, 2018
Outdoor use should be okay as the rubber is pretty hard.
 More details
fair
February 26, 2018
Outdoors you will be okay - just not for a very long time.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
5
regular
4
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
March 4, 2018
The Vol. 2 is a little narrower than the Harden Volume 1.
 More details
regularly wide
Wide footers should try them on because they don't stretch very much.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 4, 2018
Wide footers like myself will want to go true to size because these run snug true to size.
 More details
slightly narrow
The shoe fits pretty snug
 More details
slightly narrow
June 12, 2018
The Harden Volume is a little bit tight.
 More details
regularly wide
February 26, 2018
I have slightly wide feet but these fit me perfectly.
 More details
slightly narrow
Go true to size if you are a wide-footer.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Vol. 2:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
4
slightly long
3
very long
1
½ size large
March 4, 2018
Runs slightly long.
 More details
½ size large
March 4, 2018
Per usual Adidas runs slightly long but it’s shorter than the V1.
 More details
true to size
The fit on the Harden Vol 2 is true to size.
 More details
runs large
June 12, 2018
I went down half a size (like always with adidas) but I could have gone down even more
 More details
true to size
February 26, 2018
Unlike other Adidas shoes, these fit me well going true to size.
 More details
½ size large
The 10 was a little to snug, and the 10.5 was a little too long. I need a 10.25!
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: