Adidas Harden Volume 8

Released 3/2024, Low Top, James Harden, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
9.0
USER RATING
9 ratings
The Adidas Harden Volume 8 is a fantastic performer with excellent traction on clean courts and comfortable cushioning.

Best Suitable For:

The Harden Vol 8 is best for players who use powerful footwork to create space.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
StockX
from $110.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (10)
User Ratings (9)
Traction
9.0
Cushion
9.2
Materials
7.8
Support
8.8
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
7%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Adidas Harden Volume 8
Adidas Harden Volume 8
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Li-Ning Way of Wade All City 12
Li-Ning Way of Wade All City 12
Nike Lebron 21
Nike Lebron 21
Air Jordan 38 Low
Air Jordan 38 Low
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.68.9(0.3)8.8(0.2)8.9(0.3)8.9(0.3)8.6(0.0)
User Rating9.09.5(0.5)9.3(0.3)9.3(0.3)9.3(0.3)9.4(0.4)
Best Price
$159.99
$225
$94.99
$170
$149
$63.97
$200
$112.99
$175
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
WeightNA360g - 370g410g - 430gNANANA
 Show More
4 likes
Core Black / Cloud White / Cobalt Blue
Core Black / Cloud White / Cobalt Blue
in 3 shops
$160.00
32 likes
Green / Core Black / Lucid Pink
Green / Core Black / Lucid Pink
from StockX
$110.00
17 likes
Lucid Blue / Easy Yellow / Lucid Blue
Lucid Blue / Easy Yellow / Lucid Blue
from StockX
$119.00
24 likes
Hazy Copper / Core Black / Lucid Lemon
Hazy Copper / Core Black / Lucid Lemon
from StockX
$142.00
51 likes
Cloud White / Halo Silver / Core Black
Cloud White / Halo Silver / Core Black
from StockX
$142.00
37 likes
Cloud White / Core Black / Better Scarlet
Cloud White / Core Black / Better Scarlet
from StockX
$149.00
46 likes
Lucid Pink / Solar Red / Impact Orange
Lucid Pink / Solar Red / Impact Orange
from StockX
$155.00

Adidas Harden Volume 8 Review

Pros:
The Jetboost cushioning feels plush
Traction is tacky
Cons:
Heavy shoe for modern performance standards
Picks up dust quickly

Performance of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

James Harden's signature shoe continues to be one of the best on the market with the release of the Adidas Harden Volume 8. All reviewers agree the traction performance is excellent on clean courts, but the outsole picks up dust quickly. After the rubber warms up, the performance on dust improves. The full-length Jetboost cushioning setup provides comfort and responsiveness. The materials are interesting, especially the EVA sidewall. The shoe is comfortable, but it retains heat longer than other shoes. The weight is also on the heavier side. Support and lockdown are not an issue. The shoe's construction keeps you stable and secure through lateral movements. Overall, the Adidas Harden Volume 8 is another impressive performer because of the tacky traction and comfortable cushioning.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #88 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The Adidas Harden Vol 8 is a fantastic performer. I highly recommend this shoe. The traction is tacky, and the cushioning is very comfortable.
 More details
8.8
March 22, 2024
I like what Adidas is doing with the Harden Volume 8. The Jetboost cushioning feels protective and bouncy, and the traction performance is consistent.
 More details
8.8
March 22, 2024
The Adidas Harden Volume 8 is one of the best performance shoes of the year. The cushioning is comfortable, and the traction is slightly improved compared to last year.
 More details
8.7
March 17, 2024
The Adidas Harden Vol 8 is an excellent performer with standout traction on clean courts. I love the Jetboost midsole for cushioning, too.
 More details
8.6
March 17, 2024
The Adidas Harden Vol 8 has great traction and cushioning, but the weight holds back the performance. The shoe is better suited to bigger, more powerful players.
 More details
8.6
March 17, 2024
The Adidas Harden Vol 8 is a fantastic performer. The traction feels quick and responsive, and the cushioning is comfortable. Heat retention and weight are the main drawbacks.
 More details
8.6
March 17, 2024
The Adidas Harden Vol 8 has excellent traction, and the comfort exceeded my expectations. My only concern is the extra space in the toe box for people who prefer a snug fit.
 More details
8.6
March 22, 2024
The Adidas Harden Volume 8 is an amazing performer, especially for the price. The cushioning is ideal for me, and the lateral support is excellent.
 More details
8.5
March 17, 2024
The Adidas Harden Vol 8 has plush cushioning and reliable traction on clean courts. My main gripes are the weight and heat retention. The shoe is best for players looking to create space.
 More details
7.6
March 27, 2024
I enjoyed Volume 7 slightly more than the Adidas Harden Volume 8. The fit bothered me a bit and the cushioning felt firm. The traction performs well, though.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

User Rating: 9.0 (ranks #66 of 311)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.5
May 31, 2024
Super comfortable and responsive. Just a bit heavy. Perfect for a big man or bigger guards
 More details
8.8
March 21, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.8
March 27, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.6
April 21, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
10.0
May 2, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #73 of 311)
User Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #141 of 311)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The traction performance feels great. The 8 feels tackier than the 7 indoors.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The traction performs incredibly well, and it feels consistent on dust.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The traction performs very well. The bite feels as good as the Harden 7 and performs slightly better on dusty courts.
 More details
8.5
March 17, 2024
You will have no issues with lateral cuts and motions on clean courts. I recommend wiping on dusty courts because the outsole picks up dust quickly.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
I had no issues with the traction. The performance is dope.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
The traction becomes better after a break-in period. It's close to top-tier, but you must wipe the dust buildup.
 More details
10.0
March 17, 2024
Traction is one of the best features. You can't go wrong here. The performance is top-tier indoors.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The traction performance is great. You'll have no issues stopping on a dime on clean courts. Make sure to wipe off the dust to avoid minor sliding.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The traction is narrow, thin, and shallow. It performs best on clean indoor courts. The outsole picks up dust quickly until the rubber warms up.
 More details
8.0
March 27, 2024
The outsole uses a proven design, and it feels good.
 More details

Cushion of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.2 (ranks #45 of 311)
User Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #43 of 311)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The cushioning feels phenomenal after a short break-in period. It's a lot of bang for your buck.
 More details
10.0
March 22, 2024
The full-length Jetboost is a big step in the right direction. There's added impact protection with some bounciness.
 More details
10.0
March 22, 2024
The Jetboost feels comfortable, and I enjoy Boost in general. It feels low to the ground with added impact protection.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
There's a ton of impact protection, especially at the back of the shoe. The Jetboost feels plush and comfortable. I love what Adidas is doing with Jetboost.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
The cushioning feels great, especially towards the back of the shoe.
 More details
10.0
March 17, 2024
The full-length Jetboost does everything very well. It's one of my favourite setups. I like it slightly better than the Volume 7. The step-in comfort and responsiveness feel amazing.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
The Jetboost feels bouncy with a smooth transition. The impact protection is solid too.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The Jetboost perfectly blends impact protection, responsiveness, and court feel.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
Adidas' Jetboost provides launch, comfort, and impact protection. It does everything well except for heat regulation. The foam gets warm.
 More details
8.0
March 27, 2024
The Jetboost feels firm before you break the cushioning in.
 More details

Materials of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #236 of 311)
User Materials Rating: 8.6 (ranks #102 of 311)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The materials are interesting. It feels comfortable.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The upper materials feel softer than the Volume 7. I didn't experience any discomfort in this shoe.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The upper is a mix of synthetic and textile materials. I love the look. The weight improves slightly, but the breathability is still not there.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The upper is thin and breathable. The mesh is comfortable on your feet, too.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The shoe is heavy. I would've liked more padding around the heel collar. I like the materials, but it's also a hot sneaker.
 More details
7.0
March 17, 2024
The upper materials are my least favourite part of the shoe. It feels soft, but the toe box has excess material I didn't enjoy.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The materials feel cheap and almost flimsy, but it doesn't affect performance. I had no discomfort.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The quality could be better, but the materials get the job done performance-wise.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The materials are thin and forgiving but also stout. The foam on the sides of the shoe is soft. The main downside is the shoe holds onto heat.
 More details
7.0
March 27, 2024
The textile upper is not bad performance-wise.
 More details

Support of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Support Rating: 8.8 (ranks #73 of 311)
User Support Rating: 8.9 (ranks #93 of 311)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
11
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
The EVA sidewall offers tons of support, especially laterally. The wide base is stable, and the heel counter is massive.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The side panels provide extra lateral stability. The heel is also stable and secure.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The torsional support is solid. I prefer shoes with less forefoot flex. I feel safe and secure in the Harden Volume 8.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
There's no shortage of support features on the Harden Vol. 8. The heel and lateral containment are impressive.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
I had no issues with lockdown. The support feels great, too.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
You'll be covered for support and lockdown, especially for lateral containment.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
I had a small issue with torsional support and stability, but it didn't bother me. The support is a solid package overall.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
I had zero heel slippage in the shoe. Lateral containment is excellent, too.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
The double heel counter is outstanding, and the containment is excellent.
 More details
8.0
March 27, 2024
If you get the correct size, you won't have any issues with support and lockdown.
 More details

Fit of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #175 of 311)
User Fit Rating: 9.1 (ranks #28 of 311)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
The shoe fits identically to the Harden Vol 7. I had no issues with lace pressure or lockdown.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
I appreciate how easy the shoe is to put on.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
I like the consistency of the fit within the Harden line. It feels slightly snug.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
There's no extra room or volume in this shoe. I enjoy the sock-like fit. It feels close to being 1-to-1.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The shoe fits large, but it didn't affect performance too much.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The shoe fits me well, but there is a bit of extra length.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The shoe is easy to put on, but there's some dead space in the toe box. It didn't affect me performance-wise.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
I felt perfectly fine in terms of fit. It feels snug and locked in.
 More details
8.5
March 17, 2024
I didn't have an issue getting the shoe on my foot, and it felt secure and locked in when it was on.
 More details
7.0
March 27, 2024
The shoe is slightly spacious for me, especially length-wise.
 More details

Durability of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

User Durability Rating: 8.0 (ranks #217 of 311)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 7.1 (ranks #251 of 311)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #166 of 311)
Good (100%)
1
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
7
The grooves are thin and the rubber is soft. I would not use this shoe outdoors.
 More details
no
March 17, 2024
I wouldn't take these shoes outdoors.
 More details
no
March 17, 2024
I don't recommend this shoe for outdoors.
 More details
fair
March 17, 2024
The rubber feels durable, but be careful outdoors.
 More details
no
March 22, 2024
I wouldn't use this shoe outdoors.
 More details
no
March 17, 2024
The outsole pattern is too thin for outdoor use.
 More details
no
March 27, 2024
I recommend staying inside.
 More details

Width of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
8
slightly wide
3
very wide
0
slightly narrow
March 22, 2024
The shoe is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 17, 2024
I recommend trying the shoe in-store or going up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
regularly wide
March 17, 2024
People with wide feet can try going up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
March 17, 2024
The width feels normal.
 More details
regularly wide
March 22, 2024
My slightly wide foot had no issues.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 17, 2024
The fit tapers towards the forefoot. People with 2E and above feet can go true to size.
 More details

Size of the Adidas Harden Volume 8:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
11
slightly long
6
very long
0
true to size
Go true to size.
 More details
½ size large
March 22, 2024
I recommend going half a size down.
 More details
true to size
March 22, 2024
Go true to size to your Adidas size.
 More details
true to size
March 17, 2024
I went with my standard size 10.5 with no issues.
 More details
½ size large
March 17, 2024
I went half a size down. I probably could've gone a full size down.
 More details
½ size small
March 17, 2024
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
March 17, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 22, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size large
March 17, 2024
Narrow and medium feet can go down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
March 27, 2024
I suggest trying the shoe on. The fit is half a size big for me.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: