Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Jordan Zion 1

Released 5/2021, Mid Top, Zion Williamson, 
Add to Favourites
8.0
EXPERT RATING
8 reviews
8.3
USER RATING
28 ratings
Zion's first signature shoe is a solid all-around performer.

Best Suitable For:

A very versatile shoe that will work for most players.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $119.99
Foot Locker
Buy Now
StockX
from $62.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (8)
User Ratings (28)
Traction
7.6
Cushion
8.4
Materials
7.5
Support
8.5
Fit
7.9
Outdoor
83%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Jordan Zion 1
Jordan Zion 1
New Balance Kawhi 1
New Balance Kawhi 1
Nike Lebron Witness 5
Nike Lebron Witness 5
Nike Kybrid S2
Nike Kybrid S2
Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Why Not Zero.5
Jordan Why Not Zero.5
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.08.5(0.5)8.7(0.7)8.7(0.7)8.3(0.3)7.8(0.2)
User Rating8.38.5(0.2)8.7(0.4)8.9(0.6)8.8(0.5)9.0(0.7)
Best Price
$119.99
$119.99
$160
$94.97
$100
$69.97
$140
$102.97
$140
$89.99
$150
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight380g - 390g450g - 470g370g - 390g390g - 410g400g - 420g350g - 370g
 Show More
46 likes
Black / Red / White
Black / Red / White
from DICK's
$119.99
41 likes
Midnight Navy / White / Dk Obsidian
Midnight Navy / White / Dk Obsidian
from DICK's
$119.99
27 likes
Light Smoke Grey / Smoke Grey / Black / Total Orange
Light Smoke Grey / Smoke Grey / Black / Total Orange
from DICK's
$119.99
15 likes
Universal Red / White / Gym Red
Universal Red / White / Gym Red
from DICK's
$119.99
23 likes
Royal Blue / White / Royal Blue
Royal Blue / White / Royal Blue
from DICK's
$119.99
17 likes
Black / White / Smoke Grey
Black / White / Smoke Grey
from DICK's
$119.99
19 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from DICK's
$119.99
8 likes
White / Laser Orange / Dynamic Turquoise / Black
White / Laser Orange / Dynamic Turquoise / Black
from DICK's
$119.99
15 likes
"Hyper Jade"
"Hyper Jade"
in 3 shops
$120.00
9 likes
Carbon Green / Asparagus / Beach / Black
Carbon Green / Asparagus / Beach / Black
from Foot Locker
$120.00
13 likes
Black / White / Blue
Black / White / Blue
in 3 shops
$120.00
30 likes
White / Hyper Pink / Dark Beetroot / Metallic Silver
White / Hyper Pink / Dark Beetroot / Metallic Silver
from StockX
$74.00
50 likes
Blue Void / Fierce Purple / Indigo Haze / Bright Crimson
Blue Void / Fierce Purple / Indigo Haze / Bright Crimson
from StockX
$78.00
26 likes
Blue Void / White / Metallic Gold / University Red
Blue Void / White / Metallic Gold / University Red
from StockX
$80.00
63 likes
Black / Bright Crimson / Amarillo / White
Black / Bright Crimson / Amarillo / White
from StockX
$97.00
95 likes
Black / White / Metallic Gold
Black / White / Metallic Gold
from StockX
$109.00
14 likes
"Gen Zion"
"Gen Zion"
No stores found

Jordan Zion 1 Review

Pros:
Large outrigger & very supportive
Well balanced cushioning
Cons:
Materials feel a little cheap in hand
Padding on the tongue is a little lacking

Performance of the Jordan Zion 1:

At Duke, Zion Williamson once destroyed a shoe in-game when his foot ripped through the upper material. The Zion 1 comes with one of the most extreme lateral outriggers ever in a basketball shoe to prevent another accident like this. The traction pattern is very sticky on clean courts, but is a little bit of a dust magnet and needs consistent wiping on dirty courts. The cushioning is well-balanced with a soft foam midsole, Air Strobel, and forefoot Zoom unit. It's not overly bouncy but provides impact protection and feels very smooth when transitioning from heel to toe. The materials are thin, soft, and get the job done but they definitely don't look or feel premium. Overall, the Zion 1 is a solid and affordable first signature sneaker that works for all player types.
See all 8 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Rating: 8.0 (ranks #189 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
June 14, 2021
The shoe very much feels like a budget model. There are certain aspects of the shoe that could have been done much better, but the mid-tier tech is what was put in the shoe instead.
 More details
8.3
July 1, 2022
The Jordan Zion 1 is one of my favourite shoes. The cushioning is comfortable, and the lockdown and stability are solid.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The Jordan Zion 1 is a good place to start Zion's signature shoe line. This is a well-balanced performer.
 More details
Every aspect of this shoe is solid. There is nothing amazing about this shoe, but there's nothing bad about it either. For $120 you get a solid first signature shoe that works for all types of players.
 More details
8.0
May 18, 2021
If you want a comfortable shoe that provides a lot of bounce and protection, this is a great shoe to pick up. On the flip side, because the cushion is very bouncy, the shoe does feel a bit slow. Couple that with the traction not being the most consistent, this shoe may not be the best fit for everyone.
 More details
7.9
March 28, 2022
Overall, if you like a firmer cushion setup, I think you'll enjoy the Jordan Zion 1. The shoe is super supportive, and the rubber is solid enough that it could be a decent outdoor pair.
 More details
7.8
The Jordan Zion 1 provides a smooth ride that leads you into the extra bottom-loaded Zoom unit in the forefoot for some extra nice pop. However, its shortcomings are a bit too much to overcome. The fit is not versatile enough to accommodate more types of foot shapes and I experienced quite a bit of slipping with the traction and in the heel area of the shoe.
 More details
7.8
May 13, 2021
The Zion 1 is a solid first signature shoe and was fun to play in. I just wish that they had used more premium materials.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Jordan Zion 1:

User Rating: 8.3 (ranks #162 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.6
January 27, 2022
Shoe feels great on foot. Very light and responsive. Traction is pretty bad on a dusty court. I’m constantly wiping. On a clean court, it has a pretty good stop. This is for the translucent outsole, so the solid rubber might work better. The outsole piece protruding out the bottom provides great support, and the materials feel a little cheap but ventilated. Overall I would recommend this shoe to someone who doesn’t play ball seriously because it is solid for the price.
 More details
8.4
June 21, 2022
The Zion 1 is a decent all-around option, a good budget option (on discount) for players looking for a cushiony and supportive shoe. Traction is inconsistent especially on dust, but lateral support is great, as is the cushion, especially in the forefoot. Materials are pretty solid, are light and breathable, but the tongue padding is a little disappointing. I would suggest this shoe for bigger guys who (like Zion), need lateral stability and cushioning.
 More details
8.6
November 3, 2022
I really like playing in these shoes, the traction and extra ankle support really gives me confidence that I won't suffer an injury when I'm making hard turns, the cushioning is also great, it absorbs a lot of shock when hitting the ground after a rebound, but the shoe does pick up a lot of dust quickly, I'd recommend this shoe for centers/wings.
 More details
7.8
August 12, 2022
Pros: Soft and comfortable cushioning setup, light weight, aesthetic, lateral support Cons: Cushion might not be enough for bigs Good for lightweight 2-4s who don't care about court feel.
 More details
7.6
January 11, 2022
These shoes were great to play in for the first 2 wears but then when I broke them in I would get super fatigued and catch myself stumbling because of how mushy the cushion is.
 More details

Traction of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.6 (ranks #199 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 7.8 (ranks #184 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
17
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
5
5 - Poor
0
8.0
July 1, 2022
I had no issues with traction on clean courts. It can occasionally slip on dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The traction pattern is really solid. I think it's a good setup.
 More details
The herringbone traction pattern allowed me to change directions easily.
 More details
6.0
May 18, 2021
It's not very nice indoors. On dusty court, you're going to need to wipe a lot because of the dust pickup. Even on clean courts, I slipped out a lot.
 More details
8.0
March 28, 2022
I would say the traction is decent, at best. They weren't great but held up for the most part.
 More details
7.0
I had a pair with an entirely translucent outsole and it picked up a lot of dust. It caused me to slip quite a bit whenever I tried to plant my foot hard on a lot of movements.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2021
On a clean court, the translucent rubber will stop on a dime. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe from time to time.
 More details

Cushion of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.4 (ranks #127 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 8.6 (ranks #112 of 233)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.0
June 14, 2021
This Air Strobel unit doesn't feel quite as nice as the Zoom unit in the KD 14 but feels nice regardless.
 More details
9.0
July 1, 2022
The insole feels incredibly comfortable, and the Air Zoom Strobel is bouncy.
 More details
9.0
January 22, 2022
The shoe excels in the cushioning department. It feels springy as soon as you put them on.
 More details
The cushioning setup is solid considering the affordable retail price. The Air Strobel gives you a cloudlike feel when you slip on the shoe but the forefoot Zoom unit felt pretty dead and didn't provide a lot of bounce.
 More details
9.0
May 18, 2021
The full-length phylon, Air Strobel, and Zoom unit in the forefoot all combine to make the shoe feel very bouncy. The shoe also provides plenty of impact protection, but it doesn't feel very responsive.
 More details
7.5
March 28, 2022
There is an Air Strobel unit with a Zoom Air unit underneath the forefoot. I couldn't feel the Zoom Air unit at all. Overall, the setup felt firm.
 More details
9.0
The full-length Air Strobel board feels cloud-like which is incredible for the price that the Zion comes in at.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2021
The full-length Phylon midsole with an Air Strobel and a Zoom unit in the forefoot feels very smooth, gives you good impact protection but isn't crazy bouncy.
 More details

Materials of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.5 (ranks #204 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 7.9 (ranks #171 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
10
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
2
8.0
July 1, 2022
The materials feel cheap, and the durability doesn't look the best. It doesn't affect the performance, though.
 More details
7.0
January 22, 2022
Most of the upper are made of fuse and textiles, and they feel like this is where Jordan Brand cut costs.
 More details
The materials make the shoe light, strong, and durable. The tongue is a little bit too thin for my liking.
 More details
8.0
May 18, 2021
There is no break-in time because the shoe is made of very minimal materials. However, they aren't the best in terms of quality.
 More details
7.5
March 28, 2022
Screen mesh and synthetic materials make up the majority of the shoe. The materials feel cheap, but they are breathable.
 More details
8.0
The materials are almost identical to those that can be found on the Jordan 34. With the lower price point of the ZIon, the materials make a lot of sense.
 More details
6.0
May 13, 2021
The materials are very, very basic with cheap-feeling Mesh and Fuse overlays for added durability. In terms of performance, they get the job done, however.
 More details

Support of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #107 of 233)
User Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #146 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
21
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
June 14, 2021
The shoe has quite a wide base to provide extra lateral support and stability.
 More details
8.0
July 1, 2022
The exaggerated outrigger is one of my favourite features on the shoe. The forefoot is wide, and the shoe has solid stability.
 More details
8.0
January 22, 2022
The lateral side of the shoe helps contain your foot on hard side-to-side movements.
 More details
The massive outrigger gives you a lot of stability on cuts and the lockdown keeps your feet in place when changing directions.
 More details
8.0
May 18, 2021
I had no issues with support and lockdown. The bottom two lace loops provide a bit of extra support with lateral movements. My only concern is the shoe feels very low and not tight around the ankle.
 More details
9.0
March 28, 2022
One of the strong suits of the shoe is the support. The shoe is fantastic at preventing you from rolling over.
 More details
8.0
I felt insecure in both the heel and the forefoot area. However, the shoe is saved by the midfoot feeling very locked in and the larger-than-average outrigger.
 More details
9.0
May 13, 2021
The internal heel counter is very stiff, rigid, and keeps your heel locked down. I had no side-to-side movement on the footbed and the wide base provides a lot of stability.
 More details

Fit of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.9 (ranks #196 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 7.8 (ranks #182 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
1
8.0
January 22, 2022
These have close to a 1-to-1 fit but are a bit more on the snug side when it comes to space in the forefoot area.
 More details
This is not the most comfortable shoe ever, but I never experienced any pain either.
 More details
9.0
May 18, 2021
If you like a bit of extra length in your shoe, you could go up half a size.
 More details
7.5
March 28, 2022
The shoe fits well for the most part, but I did have some rubbing in the forefoot area. It wasn't sloppy, and I did feel locked into the shoe.
 More details
7.0
The length of the Jordan Zion 1 is longer than expected. They fit quite long.
 More details
8.0
May 13, 2021
Overall the fit is pretty good and the materials hug your feet nicely. There is some excess space in the toe box and there is some bubbling if you tie them tightly.
 More details

Durability of the Jordan Zion 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.0 (ranks #161 of 233)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
4

Outdoor of the Jordan Zion 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #38 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 80.4 (ranks #45 of 233)
Good (100%)
17
Fair (50%)
8
Bad (0%)
1
The outsole seems to be pretty hard and durable and should work well outdoors.
 More details
good
May 18, 2021
The grooves are thick and the rubber is hard. The durability seems good enough for playing outdoors.
 More details
fair
March 28, 2022
The rubber feels hard, and it might perform well outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Jordan Zion 1:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
8
regular
21
slightly wide
2
very wide
1
slightly narrow
June 14, 2021
It's fairly narrow and snug in the forefoot area.
 More details
regularly wide
January 22, 2022
If you have wider feet, maybe test going half size up.
 More details
slightly narrow
Slightly narrow at first.
 More details
regularly wide
May 18, 2021
The materials break in quite a bit, so you should be fine going true to size.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 28, 2022
The shoe feels narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
It has a normal midfoot in terms of width, but even if you have a slightly wide fit, you still might want to go down because of the extra length.
 More details

Size of the Jordan Zion 1:

very small
1
slightly small
4
true to size
24
slightly long
5
very long
1
true to size
June 14, 2021
The Zion 1 has a snug fit even though I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 22, 2022
I went true to size and had no issues.
 More details
true to size
The Zion 1 runs true to size for me.
 More details
true to size
May 18, 2021
I went true to size and it felt pretty damn good.
 More details
true to size
March 28, 2022
I did go true to size.
 More details
½ size large
I recommend going half a size down if you have a narrow foot caused by the length of the shoe.
 More details
true to size
May 13, 2021
I went true to size as a slightly wide-footer and felt perfectly fine.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: