Jordan Zion 2

Released 6/2022, Mid Top, Zion Williamson, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
9 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
27 ratings
The Jordan Zion 2 is a supportive shoe with traction to boot.

Best Suitable For:

Recommended for players that rely on lateral cuts and movements.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $139.99
StockX
from $62.00
GOAT
from $74.00
KicksCrew
from $85.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (9)
User Ratings (27)
Traction
8.4
Cushion
8.2
Materials
8.0
Support
8.7
Fit
7.9
Outdoor
58%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Jordan Zion 2
Jordan Zion 2
Adidas AE 1
Adidas AE 1
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
Nike G.T. Hustle 2
New Balance Kawhi 3
New Balance Kawhi 3
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Adidas D.O.N Issue #4
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Nike Lebron Witness 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.7(0.4)8.1(0.2)8.2(0.1)7.9(0.4)7.7(0.6)
User Rating8.69.3(0.7)9.3(0.7)8.4(0.2)8.4(0.2)8.5(0.1)
Best Price$139.99
$120
$101.97
$170
$159.99
$59.99
$120
$53.97
$110
Type of CutMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid TopMid Top
Weight400g - 420gNA330g - 350gNA360g - 380gNA
 Show More
20 likes
Red / Black
Red / Black
from 3 Resellers
$62.00
54 likes
White / Black / Dynamic Turquoise / Volt
White / Black / Dynamic Turquoise / Volt
from 3 Resellers
$74.00
34 likes
Black / Siren Red / Black / Light Smoke Grey
Black / Siren Red / Black / Light Smoke Grey
from 3 Resellers
$76.00
34 likes
Fossil / Team Gold / University Red / Sail
Fossil / Team Gold / University Red / Sail
from 2 Resellers
$80.00
12 likes
White / Black / Photon Dust / Flash Crimson
White / Black / Photon Dust / Flash Crimson
from StockX
$80.00
29 likes
Barely Green / Flash Crimson / Volt
Barely Green / Flash Crimson / Volt
from 2 Resellers
$83.00
37 likes
Hyper Royal / White / Black
Hyper Royal / White / Black
from 2 Resellers
$84.00
43 likes
Black / Green Strike / Bright Crimson / White
Black / Green Strike / Bright Crimson / White
from 3 Resellers
$88.00
28 likes
Cool Grey
Cool Grey
from 3 Resellers
$95.00
19 likes
Off-White / Coconut Milk
Off-White / Coconut Milk
from 2 Resellers
$98.00
31 likes
White / Metallic Gold / Vast Grey
White / Metallic Gold / Vast Grey
from 2 Resellers
$106.00
53 likes
Flax / Sesame / Fauna Brown / Muslin
Flax / Sesame / Fauna Brown / Muslin
from 2 Resellers
$107.00
97 likes
"Hope Diamond"
"Hope Diamond"
from 2 Resellers
$131.00

Jordan Zion 2 Review

Pros:
Solid traction
Support and lockdown are on point
Cons:
Kind of heavy
Not the most breathable materials

Performance of the Jordan Zion 2:

The Jordan Zion 2 plays with consistent traction, especially on clean courts. The cushioning is responsive but also bouncy. It felt well-balanced, although not the most plush. Reviewers had split opinions on the materials. Some liked that the materials were durable and provided extra support, but others felt the shoe was not breathable or flexible. The reviewers agreed that the support and lockdown were one of the better, more consistent features. The strap, in particular, does a good job of locking you into the shoe. Overall, the Jordan Zion 2 performs well for players who make a lot of hard cuts.
See all 9 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #176 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
July 7, 2022
The Jordan Zion 2 is an excellent basketball shoe. I was balanced and supported the whole time. They weren't the most breathable and are a bit heavy, though.
 More details
There's not much to complain about with the Jordan Zion 2. It's a low-to-the-ground, supportive basketball shoe with one of the best tractions available.
 More details
8.5
November 12, 2022
The Jordan Zion 2 has some of the best materials on a signature shoe to go along with being the most supportive shoe on the market.
 More details
8.4
July 26, 2022
I had a very good time playing in the Jordan Zion 2. The shoe offers a lot of support, and I was impressed with the cushioning and traction setup.
 More details
8.4
June 25, 2022
The Jordan Zion 2 has a better traction and cushion setup than the Zion 1, which makes this a great shoe to play in.
 More details
8.4
July 1, 2022
The Jordan Zion 2 is a solid shoe for players that like to operate in the paint and utilize lateral movement to their advantage. They are probably the best shoe for sturdy post players.
 More details
8.2
August 4, 2022
The Jordan Zion 2 is an upgrade from the Jordan Zion 1. The traction is good, the cushion feels nice, and the support is there.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
If you can try the Jordan Zion 2 on for size first, I'd recommend it as a performance basketball shoe. Just make sure that the Achilles pillows don't feel uncomfortable for you.
 More details
In my opinion, the Jordan Zion 2 is worse than last year's model. The traction is decent, and the support was great. However, I didn't like the materials and cushioning was mediocre.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Jordan Zion 2:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #152 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
18
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
January 10, 2024
The most versatile sneaker I've ever worn. The traction isn't amazing, but it works very well on clean courts and picks up a bit of dust. The cushioning is incredible, with a heel, comfortable and responsive. The best part of the Zion 2 INCREDIBLE FIT AND MATERIAL THAT I LOVED. Great feel on the court, low to the ground and very secure. Great fit. I love the Zion because my heel and ankle don't hurt and it has incredible sensitivity on the court. The Zion can be used by PGs and even for Centers
 More details
8.6
November 2, 2022
I liked it, at first the materials were bad, but when you break it in they get really good, the traction is pretty good, but when you are wearing this for a long time your feet might hurt a little but is not a big deal, the cushion and support are both amazing, it's a better option for big guys but you can also do good with them as a guard. Now I have these shoes for about 2-3 months and they are holding up great playing manly outdoors, and after broken in they feel kinda minimal tbh.
 More details
9.2
October 27, 2022
I play only on an outdoor court and I gotta say this shoe was worth every penny. After almost 2 months of everyday use the shoe is holding up pretty well. Most of the outsole is still intact except for a really small line in the forefoot area that doesn't really affect that much of the performance. Cushion is great, I can easily play +3 hours straight and don't feel any considerable foot pain. I have to say that you need to break the shoe in before taking an opinion on this shoe.
 More details
8.0
October 13, 2023
Possibly the best option offered by Jordan and Nike for outdoor play in recent years, decent traction and perfect cushioning for playing on cement and highly recommended for indoor positions, although as a perimeter player I have not noticed a pair with a lot of cushioning They support the foot very well, although they get tight on the toes when you've been playing for a while. The velcro honestly doesn't adjust the foot at all.
 More details
9.0
October 11, 2022
Once you slightly break in the shoes takes about 2 or 3 wears the pads and whole shoe form to your foot. Extremely comfortable and top tier traction. It also provide amazing sport while not feeling heavy. The air strobel unit in the heel with the zoom air up front provide amazing bounce. For the price one of then if not the best shoe.
 More details

Traction of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #178 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #189 of 303)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
15
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
July 7, 2022
The traction surprised me by performing better than expected.
 More details
The traction is the best aspect of the Zion 2. After breaking them in for an hour, they performed like one of the best traction patterns on the market.
 More details
7.5
November 12, 2022
You won't have any issues playing on clean courts, but make sure to wipe on dusty courts.
 More details
9.0
July 26, 2022
I was surprised with how well the traction performed. It's fantastic, especially on clean courts.
 More details
9.0
June 25, 2022
The traction is a huge upgrade on the Zion 2. This setup is one of the best from Jordan Brand.
 More details
8.0
July 1, 2022
The traction performs really well when you're going side-to-side and making lateral cuts.
 More details
8.0
August 4, 2022
The traction performs pretty well. It bites on clean courts, but you need to wipe for dustier courts.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
I had no issues with the traction.
 More details
I would say the traction on a clean court is decent, but it isn't good on dusty courts. They excel when making lateral movements.
 More details

Cushion of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.2 (ranks #192 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #121 of 303)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
16
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 7, 2022
I feel balanced when I elevate in these shoes. There were no issues with the cushioning for me.
 More details
The Zion 2 isn't as plush as last year's model. The heel provides plenty of impact protection, but the forefoot is lower to the ground than expected.
 More details
8.0
November 12, 2022
I enjoyed the cushioning setup. The shoe felt soft and comfortable right out of the box. There's impact protection in the heel and springiness in the forefoot.
 More details
9.0
July 26, 2022
This shoe has been one of my favourite cushioning setups recently. You feel low-to-the-ground, and it has a lot of bounce. The foam is also soft.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The cushion setup feels better in the Zion 2 than the Zion 1. It feels lower to the ground and more responsive. There's also plenty of impact protection under the heel.
 More details
8.0
July 1, 2022
The Air Strobel unit and shank only go to the midfoot, so the priority is on the heel. The Phylon does feel soft, and I felt like I was getting a lot of bounce out of the shoe.
 More details
9.0
August 4, 2022
An Air Strobel in the back and a forefoot Zoom unit combine to offer impact protection, bounce, and responsiveness.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
I have a love/hate relationship with the cushioning setup. The back half of the shoe uses an Air Strobel on half of the shoe. I loved the back half. I can feel the forefoot Zoom unit, but it could be much better.
 More details
I was very disappointed with the cushioning. It bottomed out too quickly. It's firm and does offer decent responsiveness.
 More details

Materials of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #189 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #179 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
20
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
July 7, 2022
I didn't like how the shoe felt initially, but after breaking them in, it felt pretty good.
 More details
Mesh and synthetics make up most of the shoe. The materials feel cheap but don't hinder performance.
 More details
9.5
November 12, 2022
I love what Jordan Brand did with the materials of the shoe. The suede feels soft, and the whole shoe feels breathable.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
On the forefoot, we have mesh. It's not bad and feels soft. Most materials on the shoe are synthetic. It doesn't feel stiff or cumbersome, though.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The materials are relatively thin but perform well. The shoe doesn't feel as bulky as it looks.
 More details
9.0
July 1, 2022
There are lots of panelling elements on the upper that work well to assist the fit and support.
 More details
8.0
August 4, 2022
The mesh material could be of better quality, but it doesn't feel too cheap. The heel area, however, does feel cheap. Performance isn't affected, though.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
There's tons of mesh and synthetic leather on the sneaker. It's a comfortable shoe.
 More details
Personally, I don't like the materials on the Zion 2. It's not breathable and it's stiff instead of flexible.
 More details

Support of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Support Rating: 8.7 (ranks #95 of 303)
User Support Rating: 9.1 (ranks #47 of 303)
10 - Amazing
12
9 - Great
16
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
July 7, 2022
One of the best features of the shoe is the ankle support. The shoe is also very stable.
 More details
These shoes' support features fit Zion's play style perfectly. They're stable, wide, and balanced.
 More details
10.0
November 12, 2022
I think this is the most supportive basketball shoe on the market. The heel counter is rigid, and the velcro strap helps keep you secure.
 More details
9.0
July 26, 2022
The forefoot strap doesn't do much, but the rest of the shoe provides plenty of support. This shoe is one of the more supportive shoes that you can get.
 More details
9.0
June 25, 2022
The large heel cup provides extra support around your ankle. The lacing system and strap also work to lock you down well.
 More details
9.0
July 1, 2022
The forefoot strap helps you dial in the amount of support you get towards the front of the shoe. The containment is also phenomenal, and the heel counter is the thickest I've ever seen.
 More details
8.0
August 4, 2022
I had no issues with the support. The internal heel counter keeps you contained, and the materials kept me from sliding laterally.
 More details
8.0
July 26, 2022
Heel slip-in comfort is probably my biggest gripe with the shoe, but the rest of the shoe is plenty supportive. The strap doesn't do much, but I liked that Jordan Brand included it.
 More details
The ankle pillows in the heel area caused me a lot of discomfort even after breaking them in. The strap does a good job of locking down your foot.
 More details

Fit of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.9 (ranks #251 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #162 of 303)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
13
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
July 7, 2022
The shoe fit more snugly than I would've liked.
 More details
The forefoot strap works well to help dial in the fit. Length-wise, the shoe is perfect too.
 More details
7.5
November 12, 2022
The only gripe I have with the fit is in the heel area. The collar rubbed against my heel, and it needed to break in.
 More details
7.0
July 26, 2022
The narrowness of the forefoot caused some pain on the outside of my foot, but it got better the more I played in the shoe.
 More details
8.0
June 25, 2022
The forefoot strap provides extra customizability to allow you to get the right fit. The shoe offers a great fit overall.
 More details
8.0
July 1, 2022
The strap worked to help customize the fit of the shoe. The first few runs could cause issues around the ankle until the shoe breaks in.
 More details
8.0
August 4, 2022
The overlays on the forefoot can cause some pinching pain. Besides that, the fit was solid for me.
 More details
The fit starts out snug, but after breaking the shoe in, they become a more regular fit.
 More details

Durability of the Jordan Zion 2:

User Durability Rating: 8.6 (ranks #125 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Jordan Zion 2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 58.3 (ranks #100 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 80.4 (ranks #69 of 303)
Good (100%)
18
Fair (50%)
8
Bad (0%)
3
The pattern won't last outdoors, but it will grip while it does.
 More details
good
November 12, 2022
I think these shoes are good to use outdoors.
 More details
no
July 26, 2022
It probably isn't the best option for outdoor play.
 More details
good
July 1, 2022
The rubber on the outsole is hard, which is impressive.
 More details
no
August 4, 2022
I do not think this outsole will last outdoors.
 More details
The rubber is durable, so these would do well outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Jordan Zion 2:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
12
regular
16
slightly wide
6
very wide
0
regularly wide
The width is accommodating enough for wide-footers.
 More details
regularly wide
November 12, 2022
In my opinion, the shoe is wide-foot friendly.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 26, 2022
The shoe is narrow, and I felt some pinching on my pinky toe.
 More details
slightly narrow
June 25, 2022
Go half a size up if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
July 1, 2022
Wide footers should go up half a size.
 More details
regularly wide
August 4, 2022
I have slightly wide feet and felt some pressure on the outside of my forefoot. You can consider going up half a size if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details

Size of the Jordan Zion 2:

very small
1
slightly small
6
true to size
26
slightly long
2
very long
0
½ size small
July 7, 2022
I personally would have preferred going up half a size.
 More details
true to size
We recommend true to size for everybody.
 More details
true to size
November 12, 2022
I would go true to size.
 More details
true to size
July 26, 2022
I went true to size, and the shoe fits me well.
 More details
true to size
June 25, 2022
Go true to size if you have a regular foot shape.
 More details
true to size
July 1, 2022
The shoe is a bit hard to get on, but going true to size should work for most people.
 More details
true to size
August 4, 2022
Going true to size is everyone's best bet.
 More details
true to size
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: