Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

New Balance Kawhi 1

Released 11/2020, Mid Top, Kawhi Leonard, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
5 ratings
Kawhi's first official signature shoe is a solid performer.

Best Suitable For:

Best for bigger players who need a very supportive and rigid shoe.

Price Comparison:

Available at 4 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
DICK's
$61.97
$160
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 4 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.5
Cushion
8.5
Materials
7.8
Support
9.4
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
75%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
23 likes
Black / Royal Blue
Black / Royal Blue
from DICK's
$61.97
$160
32 likes
White / Team Red
White / Team Red
from DICK's
$78.97
$160
23 likes
White
White
from DICK's
$87.97
$160
36 likes
Blue / White / Blue
Blue / White / Blue
from DICK's
$90.97
$160
10 likes
Bayside / Citra Yellow
Bayside / Citra Yellow
from DICK's
$119.99
$160
14 likes
Uv Glo / Velocity Red
Uv Glo / Velocity Red
in 3 shops
$139.99
$160
10 likes
"New Money" - Grey / Blue
"New Money" - Grey / Blue
from DICK's
$159.99
48 likes
Black
Black
from StockX
$85.00
51 likes
Red  / Vision Blue
Red / Vision Blue
from StockX
$85.00
15 likes
Pink / White / Multi
Pink / White / Multi
from StockX
$120.00
31 likes
Pink / Neo Flame
Pink / Neo Flame
from StockX
$141.00
1 likes
Red / White / Blue
Red / White / Blue
from StockX
$219.00
50 likes
Vision Blue / Aztec Gold
Vision Blue / Aztec Gold
No stores found

New Balance Kawhi 1 Review

Pros:
Very supportive
Durable outsole
Cons:
Heavy
Could have more premium materials

Performance of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Kawhi Leonard's first real signature shoe provides good traction on indoor and outdoor courts, but you will need to wipe regularly on dusty courts. The FuelCell cushion setup is very similar to the OMN1S, but with caging in the heel. Overall this setup is very responsive and bouncy with a lot of court feel, but the heel is a little firm. The materials are decent, but considering the premium price, they could have been better. Reviewers found them to be stiff even after breaking them in. The support is the highlight of the shoe - it's top tier! You won't be sliding on the footbed or experience any lateral instabilities thanks to the sturdy materials and good fit. Overall, the Kawhi is a solid first signature shoe that works especially well for bigger players who value stability and durability.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #89 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
I'd recommend the Kawhi 1 to everyone who is okay with a little bit of break-in time. They will be good for any playing style and especially cater to bigger athletes looking for more support.
 More details
8.4
November 25, 2020
I didn't like playing in the Kawhi, especially for $160. If you need a rigid and supportive shoe then these are for you, but if not I'd stay away from these.
 More details
8.2
November 19, 2020
The Kawhi retails for $160 and is a great performer. For the price I expected a little more, but overall these are nice.
 More details
8.2
May 6, 2021
The New Balance Kawhi 1 is a good first entry in Kawhi's signature line. It's a supportive and secure shoe with a decent cushion that provides impact protection. The traction also grips nicely, and the compound appears to be durable.
 More details

User Reviews of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #98 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
April 18, 2022
The KAWHI 1 is a decent shoe. It has a nice outsole, with thick grooves. However, the foam is thick, but very stiff like the materials. Is better once broken in, but takes some time. Good for about $100. Nothing really stands out besides durability and lateral containment, which is pretty good. I would suggest this shoe for bigger guys who need good stability with decent cushion and ok traction.
 More details
8.8
December 30, 2021
The Kawhi 1 is really good. But i don't like the heel, it is a bit hard.
 More details
8.6
January 16, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.6
December 29, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.6
June 14, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.5 (ranks #105 of 211)
User Traction Rating: 8.6 (ranks #110 of 211)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The data-driven outsole performs well. Dust was heavily attracted to the translucent part of the outsole, but the more aggressive traction under the ball of the foot gets rid of dust well.
 More details
9.0
November 25, 2020
The traction pattern on the Kawhi reminded me of a brain. The bite is great indoors and outdoors, but they pick up some dust so I had to consistently wipe.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2020
This traction pattern reminded me of a maze. I had no problems with grip on clean courts, but I did have to wipe on dusty courts to maintain a good bite.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The compound is hard, and the grooves are thick. The traction is on point.
 More details

Cushion of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #108 of 211)
User Cushion Rating: 8.4 (ranks #109 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The FuelCell foam used in the midsole is thicker than the OMN1S and the ride isn't as smooth because of it. Court feel isn't as good, but there is ample impact protection indoors. Not my favorite cushioning, but much better than others.
 More details
8.0
November 25, 2020
This cushion setup is very responsive and offers a lot of court feel. Impact protection is good too, but I wish the heel cushion wasn't caged. Overall, this cushion setup is nice.
 More details
9.0
November 19, 2020
The FuelCell midsole felt bouncier than the OMN1S in the forefoot. The heel is a little firmer because of the caging. Overall, I really liked the cushion setup.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The Fuelcell cushion is thicker than on the Omn1s and does a good job of providing impact protection. It has a bit of bounce but not too much.
 More details

Materials of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #167 of 211)
User Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #123 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The material construction is even more elaborate than it appears at first - which is a good thing. The one-piece bootie is not as stretchy as you may expect but they broke in and aged nicely.
 More details
7.0
November 25, 2020
These materials aren't my favorite. On foot, they didn't feel terrible, but they were stiff even after breaking in. There is a piece on the heel that dug into the back of my foot which was uncomfortable.
 More details
7.0
November 19, 2020
The materials used in the Kawhi 1 are alright. The upper is made mostly from hard textile and fuse which is a bit disappointing considering the premium price. Performance-wise these got the job done just fine.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The embroidery and leather on the colourway I had felt premium and durable.
 More details

Support of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Support Rating: 9.4 (ranks #3 of 211)
User Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #121 of 211)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The support is the best attribute of the shoe which makes sense considering these are designed for Kawhi. They almost felt too supportive at first, but they broke in nicely and are one of the most secure pair in my rotation.
 More details
10.0
November 25, 2020
Support is what this shoe does best! I had no issues at all and this is a shoe Zion Williamson could play in.
 More details
9.0
November 19, 2020
I didn't have any support issues with the Kawhi. They offer great lateral containment and stability. The heel counter and shank plate kept me locked in.
 More details
9.0
May 6, 2021
The ankle support and heel containment are excellent with the thick heel counter. The combination of fuse, mesh and leather around the upper also does a good job of keeping your foot secure.
 More details

Fit of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #115 of 211)
User Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #116 of 211)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
The fit is very snug and it was a little hard to get my foot in the shoe at first. As these break in this becomes easier and the fit improves.
 More details
8.0
November 25, 2020
The fit is pretty snug and the materials don't stretch out at all. They fit well with a little dead space in the toe box.
 More details
8.0
November 19, 2020
These fit pretty well. There was a little dead space in the toe box and they felt slightly bulky. Other than that, everything was fine.
 More details
8.0
May 6, 2021
The shoe fits well, but it is kind of snug around the midfoot.
 More details

Durability of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

User Durability Rating: 8.8 (ranks #71 of 211)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 75.0 (ranks #49 of 211)
User Outdoor Rating: 83.3 (ranks #39 of 211)
Good (100%)
3
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
0
Use these outdoors with caution.
 More details
good
November 25, 2020
The durability of the outsole is really good.
 More details

Width of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
4
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
regularly wide
True to size for wide footers.
 More details
slightly narrow
November 25, 2020
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
regularly wide
November 19, 2020
I am a slightly wide footer and had no issues.
 More details
regularly wide
May 6, 2021
The midfoot area is a bit snug.
 More details

Size of the New Balance Kawhi 1:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
5
slightly long
3
very long
0
½ size large
I went a half size down.
 More details
true to size
November 25, 2020
I went true to size and it was good for me.
 More details
½ size large
November 19, 2020
I'd recommend going down half a size from your normal shoe size.
 More details
true to size
May 6, 2021
If you have a regular foot, go true to size, and if you have a wide foot, you might want to go half a size up.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: