Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

New Balance Kawhi 2

Released 3/2022, High Top, Kawhi Leonard, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
10.0
USER RATING
2 ratings
The Kawhi 2 is an improvement on the 1 in almost every way.

Best Suitable For:

Forwards and centers that need strong traction and stability.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
New Balance
Buy Now
Foot Locker
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.3
Cushion
7.8
Materials
8.8
Support
8.4
Fit
8.0
Outdoor
90%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
51 likes
Gray Mist / Pale gold
Gray Mist / Pale gold
in 6 shops
$159.99
29 likes
White / Black
White / Black
in 3 shops
$159.99
7 likes
White / Blue / Orange
White / Blue / Orange
in 3 shops
$159.99

New Balance Kawhi 2 Review

Pros:
Improved materials
Grippy traction
Cons:
Not the best for impact protection
No additional width options with this model

Performance of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Kawhi Leonard's latest signature model with New Balance is a solid step in the right direction. The traction bites on just about any surface after an initial break-in period. New Balance keeps the shoe feeling low to the ground and responsive with the full-length FuelCell setup. It isn't the plushest, but it helps players feel nimble. The materials used on the upper of the shoe are lightweight, breathable, and make the shoe feel very supportive. Working together with the materials, the heel counter and outsole tread that wraps up the shoe, keep your foot feeling secure. These features make support and lockdown a non-issue in the shoe. Most reviewers had no issues with the fit, but they did mention that New Balance doesn't seem to offer this model in extra widths. Overall, the New Balance Kawhi 2 is a strong performer that provides excellent traction and stability.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #122 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
April 1, 2022
Once I broke in the New Balance Kawhi 2, I really started to enjoy the stability, grip, and nimbleness that the shoe provides. I'd recommend this shoe for any larger players.
 More details
8.5
The New Balance Kawhi 2 is pretty damn good. There are no glaring flaws. I would definitely recommend this shoe to anyone looking for an all-around shoe.
 More details
8.3
April 3, 2022
The New Balance Kawhi 2 is my first ever New Balance shoe, and I do not regret picking it up. If you have a stop-and-go, run-the-floor style of play, I'm sure you'll love this shoe.
 More details
8.2
March 29, 2022
The only downside of the New Balance Kawhi 2 is that I wish they kept the same cushion found on the Kawhi 1. Every other aspect of the shoe is on par or better than the previous model.
 More details
8.2
March 31, 2022
The New Balance Kawhi 2 is a solid performer for the price point. It's a step in the right direction for the Kawhi lineup but still isn't quite as good as the Omn1s.
 More details
8.0
April 12, 2022
The New Balance Kawhi 2 is a solid shoe, but I wouldn't say it's my favourite. It's a lightweight, supportive, and minimal shoe.
 More details

User Reviews of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

User Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
May 15, 2022
It had awesome traction and a good fuelcell cushioning.
 More details
10.0
March 29, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #118 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 1, 2022
The outsole tread is my favourite part of the shoe. It grabs just about any surface.
 More details
8.0
The traction is pretty good. It picks up dust often, but it still performs.
 More details
8.0
April 3, 2022
I had no issues with traction whatsoever.
 More details
8.0
March 29, 2022
The traction of the shoe was gripping nicely on clean and dusty courts. It does take a bit of break-in time, though.
 More details
8.0
March 31, 2022
The traction is, for the most part, pretty good. At first, you slide a bit, but it gets better as you break the shoe in.
 More details
8.5
April 12, 2022
You need to break in the traction, but after a couple of days, it performs damn well. It picks up dust easily, but it still performs as long as you wipe.
 More details

Cushion of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.8 (ranks #161 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
April 1, 2022
The FuelCell provides energy absorption but isn't the best at energy return. It's an effectively engineered cushion.
 More details
9.0
The FuelCell is well constructed. The comfort is on point. This shoe has the perfect blend of court feel and impact protection.
 More details
8.0
April 3, 2022
The front half of the cushion is caged, so it isn't as comfortable as the back half, but I still liked it. I also enjoyed the impact protection in the heel.
 More details
7.0
March 29, 2022
The FuelCell foam on the Kawhi 2 is thinner than the Kawhi 1. I enjoyed the setup, but I liked the Kawhi 1 setup better. It's a shoe that's low to the ground and responsive.
 More details
8.0
March 31, 2022
The Kawhi features a partially caged, full-length FuelCell midsole. The cushioning feels better than the Kawhi 1 but not as good as the Omn1s. It still feels good and offers impact protection and responsiveness.
 More details
7.0
April 12, 2022
FuelCell cushion is usually soft, has a lot of compressions, and provides a good amount of rebound. In the Kawhi 2, it felt caged to the point where it's stiff.
 More details

Materials of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.8 (ranks #46 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 1, 2022
The materials are light and breathable. They also do a good job of adding to the performance.
 More details
9.0
The upper materials use what New Balance calls Fit Weave Lite. It keeps you secure in the shoe, and it feels damn good.
 More details
9.0
April 3, 2022
The materials feel comfortable from a step-in perspective. It's comfortable and breathable for the most part. I love the materials.
 More details
9.0
March 29, 2022
The upper is one of the biggest changes on the Kawhi 2. It's thin and light. I like the way that it feels.
 More details
8.0
March 31, 2022
New Balance uses a material called Fit Weave Lite. It's basically a textile, but it feels really good on foot. It also feels good to the touch.
 More details
9.0
April 12, 2022
New Balance uses Fit Weave Lite throughout the entire upper. The materials feel soft and supportive. I love how minimal it feels.
 More details

Support of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #111 of 205)
User Support Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
April 1, 2022
The ankle support and stability are some of the best on the market. These shoes also have one of the most supportive uppers I've played in this year.
 More details
8.0
The stability plate starts out feeling stiff, but it breaks in and feels nice after a few hours of play.
 More details
8.0
April 3, 2022
The shoe has a great lockdown in the heel area. I had no issues with stability and lockdown overall.
 More details
9.0
March 29, 2022
I feel very supported and stable in this shoe. My foot does not slip at all.
 More details
9.0
March 31, 2022
I had absolutely zero issues with the support in the shoe. I didn't have any heel slippage or side-to-side foot movement either.
 More details
7.5
April 12, 2022
For lateral containment, I was good to go. The upper and outsole provide a lot of lateral support. I did have an issue with lateral stability because of the rounded heel, though.
 More details

Fit of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #138 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 10.0 (ranks #1 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
April 1, 2022
The fit is the biggest bummer of the shoe for me. Unlike other New Balance shoes, these do not come in multiple widths. Other than that, they do fit well enough.
 More details
8.0
March 29, 2022
The lacing system on the shoe is also improved. It helps to provide a better fit.
 More details
8.0
March 31, 2022
The front half of the shoe has a narrow and snug fit that creates some pressure around your pinky toe. It does break in the more you play, though.
 More details
8.0
April 12, 2022
The shoe fits me very well. It is snug in the toe box, however. The materials also don't loosen much.
 More details

Durability of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

User Durability Rating: 10.0 (ranks #2 of 205)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 90.0 (ranks #34 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 75.0 (ranks #48 of 205)
Good (100%)
5
Fair (50%)
2
Bad (0%)
0
good
April 1, 2022
The rubber is very durable.
 More details
good
April 3, 2022
I think that these shoes will play well outdoors.
 More details
good
March 29, 2022
The rubber is thick and durable.
 More details
good
March 31, 2022
The rubber is actually really hard. I would say that the shoe should be durable outdoors.
 More details
fair
April 12, 2022
The rubber is hard, and the grooves are deep. The outsole seems durable.
 More details

Width of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
3
regular
3
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
regularly wide
April 1, 2022
Narrow footers can go down half a size, and wide footers (above a 2E) can go up a half size.
 More details
regularly wide
March 29, 2022
Go true to size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 31, 2022
The forefoot and toe box areas are narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
April 12, 2022
If you have a wide foot or want a roomier fit, I suggest going up a size.
 More details

Size of the New Balance Kawhi 2:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
3
slightly long
2
very long
0
true to size
April 1, 2022
Unless you have a narrow foot, you can go true to size.
 More details
½ size large
Going true to size felt loose. I'd suggest going down half a size.
 More details
½ size large
March 29, 2022
If you have a regular foot shape, go half a size down.
 More details
true to size
April 12, 2022
I went true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: