Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2

Released 8/2022, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
8.5
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
38 ratings
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 continues to offer plenty of cushioning and solid overall performance.

Best Suitable For:

Shifty players who enjoy lots of cushioning

Price Comparison:

Available at 4 shops | Official Retail Price: $129.99
DICK's
$72.97
$130
StockX
from $80.00
GOAT
from $100.00
See all 4 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (10)
User Ratings (38)
Traction
8.8
Cushion
9.3
Materials
8.0
Support
7.9
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
40%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Lebron 21
Nike Lebron 21
Air Jordan 38 Low
Air Jordan 38 Low
Li-Ning Way of Wade All City 12
Li-Ning Way of Wade All City 12
Adidas Harden Volume 8
Adidas Harden Volume 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.58.8(0.3)8.9(0.4)8.5(0.0)8.8(0.3)8.6(0.1)
User Rating8.89.3(0.5)9.2(0.4)9.4(0.6)9.3(0.5)9.3(0.5)
Best Price
$72.97
$130
$94.99
$170
$99.97
$200
$100
$175
$149
$159.99
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight380g - 400g410g - 430gNANANANA
 Show More
30 likes
Track Red / Ember Glow / Sail / Football Grey
Track Red / Ember Glow / Sail / Football Grey
from DICK's
$72.97
$130
32 likes
Industrial Blue / Jade Ice / Bright Crimson / Black
Industrial Blue / Jade Ice / Bright Crimson / Black
from DICK's
$85.97
$130
20 likes
Black / Anthracite / Football Grey / White
Black / Anthracite / Football Grey / White
from DICK's
$100.97
$130
23 likes
Game Royal / White
Game Royal / White
from DICK's
$100.97
$130
31 likes
Black / White
Black / White
from DICK's
$130.99
22 likes
Wolf Grey / White
Wolf Grey / White
from DICK's
$130.99
97 likes
 Black/White/Anthracite/Bright Crimson
Black/White/Anthracite/Bright Crimson
from 3 Resellers
$90.00
17 likes
Pure Platinum / Summit White / Track Red / Metallic Silver
Pure Platinum / Summit White / Track Red / Metallic Silver
from 2 Resellers
$99.00
64 likes
Black / Metallic Summit / White / Desert Berry
Black / Metallic Summit / White / Desert Berry
from 3 Resellers
$100.00
62 likes
Black / Phantom / Pure Platinum / Cone
Black / Phantom / Pure Platinum / Cone
from 3 Resellers
$105.00
77 likes
Black / Off Noir / Racer Blue
Black / Off Noir / Racer Blue
from 3 Resellers
$115.00
61 likes
Leche Blue / Ashen Slate / Green Glow / Green Shock
Leche Blue / Ashen Slate / Green Glow / Green Shock
from 3 Resellers
$115.00
40 likes
"Devin Booker"
"Devin Booker"
from 3 Resellers
$118.00
68 likes
Aura / Barely Green / Vivid Sky / Sail
Aura / Barely Green / Vivid Sky / Sail
from 3 Resellers
$120.00
25 likes
University Red / White
University Red / White
from 3 Resellers
$121.00
88 likes
 Photon Dust / Phantom / Celestine Blue / Black
Photon Dust / Phantom / Celestine Blue / Black
from 3 Resellers
$129.00
64 likes
Blue / Orange
Blue / Orange
from KicksCrew
$150.00
66 likes
Summit White / Metallic Summit White / White
Summit White / Metallic Summit White / White
from 3 Resellers
$161.00
83 likes
Coconut Milk / Arctic Orange / Barely Green
Coconut Milk / Arctic Orange / Barely Green
from 3 Resellers
$162.00
157 likes
Pearl Pink / Multi Color
Pearl Pink / Multi Color
from 3 Resellers
$179.00
145 likes
"Dare To Fly"
"Dare To Fly"
from 3 Resellers
$237.00

Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 Review

Pros:
Plush and bouncy cushioning
Drop-in midsole offers a lot of support
Cons:
Not the most durable materials

Performance of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

The second installment in the G.T. Cut lineup features solid traction, but a break-in time is needed. It also isn't as good as the original. Cushioning for the shoe continues to offer some of the best bounce and impact protection. The drop-in midsole also features an improved liner for extra grip. The material used on the shoe makes it feel lighter, but some reviewers mentioned missing the plastic side wall previously on the lateral side. Players that enjoy a snug fit will enjoy the fit on the G.T. Cut 2. There's a lack of torsional stability, but the rest of the support and lockdown features perform well. The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 is a solid performer with fantastic cushioning.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Rating: 8.5 (ranks #114 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 31, 2022
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 is a fantastic performing basketball shoe. The traction and cushioning are top-tier, and I enjoyed the materials and fit on this shoe more than the last one.
 More details
9.0
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 offers some of the best cushioning on the market. It also has strong traction and comfortable materials. It's a solid shoe for quick, shifty guards.
 More details
8.6
August 21, 2022
The Nike G.T Cut 2 is perfect for players who perform a lot of twists and turns while driving to the rim. The cushioning is an improvement, but the traction takes a minor step back.
 More details
8.6
April 16, 2023
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 is an outstanding performer. It's low-cut and lightweight and has perfect traction and cushioning.
 More details
8.5
October 2, 2022
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 is an excellent performance basketball shoe. It's one of my favourite shoes to play in because of the cushioning and traction.
 More details
If the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 had a more secure tongue, it'd be a top 2 or 3 performer. The traction and cushioning are outstanding. Its fit didn't work for me, though.
 More details
8.4
August 21, 2022
The Nike G.T. Cut 2 is a solid shoe for advanced shifty players who will benefit from the flexibility and versatility this shoe offers. It might not be the best shoe for players relying on explosiveness and stability.
 More details
8.4
September 17, 2022
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 is a solid performer in all aspects. The traction isn't top-tier, and the cushioning is high off the ground, so the shoe isn't elite. It's still a fun shoe to play in, though.
 More details
8.3
October 2, 2022
The Nike Air Zoom G.T Cut 2 improves on some aspects but takes a step back for others. If you prefer cushioning over court feel in your shoe, this shoe is better than the previous model.
 More details
The Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2 is a solid performer. The traction is incredibly reliable, and the cushioning is comfortable. Just beware of the fit around the tongue.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #105 of 303)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
19
8 - Good
10
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
January 9, 2024
break in this shoe then it’s great. the cushion with the drop in react + zoom strobel is fantastic, higher off the ground than my other shoes but that can be a nice change of pace from my other shoes, no major instability from that due to the great materials and side walls of drop in. the traction, people don’t like it, but i do, it’s not top-tier and can be impacted by dust but when u need to stop it doesn’t slide out just decelerates u to move direction again, no solid bite tho. break it in!!!
 More details
8.6
March 31, 2023
I have a love/hate relationship with this shoe. It’s best trait is availability for a fair price unlike its predecessor. The only upgrade over the original is breathability. The traction is more durable, but not better. Overall, the playability of the shoe is high. They really compliment the shooting motion, and motions from front to back feel great. Ironically, my biggest issue with these is side to side cutting motions. The height of the cushioning and lateral containment can be hard to trust.
 More details
8.6
February 17, 2023
I had some problems with the fit and consequently with the support bc I usually go 1 size up bc my foot is kinda wide and I don't like a snug fit, this combined with the drop in midsole made the shoe wider than it should for me, so the support wasn't great but the fit is comfortable is just a little wider than I liked, but I still like the shoe, specially the cushion, is very high up but I don't mind court feel so I loved it, not very durable for outdoors, the arrows on the side are gone already
 More details
8.2
December 8, 2023
This shoe is great if you are looking for a shoe that features INCREDIBLE cushioning and a low top. The traction takes a while to finally soften and break in but afterwards the grip is solid. Cushion and the drop in midsole is perfect right outta the box, providing tons of bounce especially under your forefoot. The biggest issue with the shoe is due to the high cushioning setup, it feels very unstable to do lateral cuts and side to side movements, especially on defense. Great shoe for a PG or SG
 More details
9.6
October 23, 2022
User of J36's mids/lows and Zion 2. Never played in the 1's. I would say that these are very good for shifty players. As long as you're not playing on a trash court, these grip hard to provide that confidence you need in your game. I think a lot of the reason people don't like this shoe is because it takes a long time to break in. I would recommend getting the shoe a little tight, then as the forefoot bottoms out you will get an amazing shoe.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #115 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #146 of 303)
10 - Amazing
10
9 - Great
21
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 31, 2022
The traction grabs the floor nicely as you play. The performance was fantastic.
 More details
8.0
The traction on the shoe is solid. The tread pattern is deep and rigid, taking a lot of time to break in.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2022
The traction doesn't grip as hard compared to the original G.T. Cut. It still performs well, though.
 More details
10.0
April 16, 2023
The traction is multidirectional, and the performance is excellent. Dust was not an issue either.
 More details
9.0
October 2, 2022
I love the traction on the G.T. Cut 2. I had no issues, and the traction was sticking like glue.
 More details
The traction wrapped around the forefoot area grips the ground well. It's an improvement over the previous model.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2022
The tread pattern is deep and ridged. It needed a lot of time to warm before it performed well, but the performance remained consistent on all surfaces.
 More details
8.0
September 17, 2022
The traction performed well after I had some time to break them in. It was inconsistent for me at times, but the performance was solid on dust.
 More details
9.0
October 2, 2022
The traction is one of the best features of the shoe. It works when playing on all types of courts.
 More details
The traction was grippy and reliable in every setting.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.3 (ranks #31 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 9.1 (ranks #61 of 303)
10 - Amazing
19
9 - Great
19
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
August 31, 2022
A full-length Zoom Strobel and a drop-in React midsole provide a low-to-the-ground cushioning system. It's a plush and bouncy ride that I enjoyed.
 More details
10.0
The cushioning offers some of the best bounce and impact protection on the market. The midsole is thicker, so the foam is comfortable.
 More details
10.0
August 21, 2022
The drop-in midsole is much better on this shoe than the last one. It has a grip to make it easier to put on and a hex Zoom unit directly beneath your heel. The cushion features improved impact protection.
 More details
10.0
April 16, 2023
Impact protection feels awesome. The responsiveness is impressive too. The cushioning is top-notch.
 More details
9.0
October 2, 2022
The drop-in midsole is one of my favourite features of the shoe. It offers more comfort than the previous model. I didn't experience a crazy bounce, but the impact protection was there.
 More details
Impact protection on the shoe is tremendous. The full-length React midsole with a small embedded hex heel Zoom Air unit and full-length Zoom Strobel is an outstanding combo.
 More details
9.0
August 21, 2022
The G.T. Cut 2 is similar to the last model as it also has a drop-in midsole. The shoe also has a full-length Zoom Strobel and a small Zoom Air unit in the heel. It's better for shifty players.
 More details
9.0
September 17, 2022
The cushioning setup is crazy. The court feel is not good, but it has a lot of bounce, step-in comfort, and tons of compression.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2022
The React insole is thicker, which makes you sit higher within the shoe. It takes away from quickness but offers impact protection.
 More details
The drop-in midsole is firmer and thicker. It's not as low to the ground as the first shoe. It's comfortable yet stable.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #185 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.4 (ranks #137 of 303)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
16
8 - Good
22
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
August 31, 2022
The material on this shoe fit my foot better than the first Zoom G.T. Cut. It's nothing premium, but I enjoyed the setup.
 More details
8.0
The materials are soft and flexible but not very durable. The shoe is incredibly lightweight, though.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2022
The upper is screen mesh backed by an underlying fabric providing improved ventilation. There is also less plastic used on the lateral side of the shoe.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
The laces became undone often, and the breathability could be better. The simple synthetic makes the shoe light and comfortable, though.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2022
The heel slip-in feels comfortable. The laces don't feel cheap, and the rest of the shoe is breathable. I was surprised by the material quality. It's better than expected.
 More details
The materials are breathable and lightweight, but they could be of better quality.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2022
The materials are flexible and breathable but still stable. It isn't the most durable, though.
 More details
8.0
September 17, 2022
I feel like the materials are a downgrade from the original G.T. Cut. It feels minimal and lightweight.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2022
The materials are soft and breathable.
 More details
The materials keep the shoe light. The weight distribution is improved.
 More details

Support of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Support Rating: 7.9 (ranks #253 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #171 of 303)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
17
7 - Average
11
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
August 31, 2022
Support is where the shoe is lacking the most. The heel counter, lacing, and drop-in midsole are solid support features. I'm not a fan of the lack of torsional stability, though.
 More details
7.0
The stability is not the greatest because the shoe is high off the ground. I also had some heel slippage.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2022
I had solid lateral containment in this shoe, but I wish Nike had kept the lateral wing from the Cut 1. Heel containment and lockdown are the same as the previous model.
 More details
7.0
April 16, 2023
You'll be safe in the GT Cut 2 if you choose the proper size. The only lateral containment features are the lacing system and the drop-in midsole. Heel containment is not locked down. I felt movement.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2022
The heel lockdown is solid, and the lacing system works well. I had no issues with support and containment.
 More details
The support mainly comes from the fit, so the other support features will keep you locked in once you get a solid fit.
 More details
8.0
August 21, 2022
The heel counter, upper materials, and drop-in midsole offer a lot of flexibility. This setup can be good for shifty players, but players who need more stability may not like the added flexibility.
 More details
9.0
September 17, 2022
I had no issues with support and lockdown. The side wall of the drop-in midsole keeps you contained on the footbed during all moves.
 More details
8.0
October 2, 2022
The lacing system is effective, but I don't feel as contained because of the materials. The heel cup does its job, though.
 More details
The lockdown is solid. I enjoyed the heel counter too. There was no heel slippage.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #118 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #185 of 303)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
23
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
2
9.0
August 31, 2022
The fit is a bit snug, but it is a 1-to-1 fit.
 More details
8.0
The shoe is not as narrow as the original G.T. Cut, and the lacing system lets you customize the fit to your needs.
 More details
9.0
August 21, 2022
The materials make this shoe better fitting than the previous model. It's much more accommodating to most feet.
 More details
9.0
April 16, 2023
The shoe is easy to put on regardless of your foot shape. There's no break-in time needed.
 More details
The fit is perfect length-wise. Everything is solid except for the lack of wrap-around material on the tongue. My ankle shifted a bit because of it.
 More details
9.0
August 21, 2022
The fit was not as narrow and constricting as I thought when I played in this shoe.
 More details
8.0
September 17, 2022
The fit is incredibly snug. The length was perfect, though.
 More details
A thinner tongue causes some fit issues around the top of the ankle.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

User Durability Rating: 8.2 (ranks #196 of 303)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 40.0 (ranks #150 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 59.1 (ranks #143 of 303)
Good (100%)
8
Fair (50%)
14
Bad (0%)
5
good
The rubber is hard enough to take outdoors.
 More details
no
October 2, 2022
I wouldn't recommend this shoe for outdoor play.
 More details
fair
August 21, 2022
The rubber is hard enough to take outdoors.
 More details
fair
September 17, 2022
Durability should be decent.
 More details
The outsole performed well outdoors. The durability is questionable, though.
 More details

Width of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
8
regular
25
slightly wide
8
very wide
0
slightly narrow
August 31, 2022
I would go up half a size if you're a wide-footer.
 More details
slightly narrow
The snug fit makes wide-footers want to consider going half a size up.
 More details
regularly wide
August 21, 2022
Wide footers shouldn't have any problems.
 More details
regularly wide
August 21, 2022
Go up half a size if your foot is a 2E.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 17, 2022
If you have wide feet or don't enjoy a snug fit, go up half a size.
 More details

Size of the Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
38
slightly long
6
very long
1
true to size
August 31, 2022
The shoe does fit true to size.
 More details
true to size
The shoe does run true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 21, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
true to size
April 16, 2023
The sneaker is true to size.
 More details
½ size large
October 2, 2022
I went a half size down.
 More details
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 21, 2022
Go true to size if you have a narrow and medium foot.
 More details
true to size
September 17, 2022
True to size worked for me.
 More details
true to size
Going true to size should work.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: