Nike Book 1

Released 2/2024, Low Top, Devin Booker, 
Add to Favourites
8.3
EXPERT RATING
11 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
3 ratings
Devin Booker's debut signature shoe features impressive traction and materials.

Best Suitable For:

The Nike Book 1 is better for lighter, shiftier players.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $149.99
Foot Locker
StockX
from $124.00
KicksCrew
from $168.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (11)
User Ratings (3)
Traction
8.6
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.7
Support
7.9
Fit
7.9
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Book 1
Nike Book 1
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Puma MB.01 Lo
Puma MB.01 Lo
Nike Lebron 20
Nike Lebron 20
Under Armour Curry 11
Under Armour Curry 11
Puma All Pro Nitro
Puma All Pro Nitro
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.38.4(0.1)8.9(0.6)8.8(0.5)8.7(0.4)8.5(0.2)
User Rating8.98.5(0.4)8.8(0.1)9.2(0.3)8.6(0.3)9.2(0.3)
Best Price
$150
$129.99
$150
$79.99
$120
$119.99
$200
$90
$160
$99.99
$130
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
WeightNANANA390g - 410gNA380g - 400g
 Show More
5 likes
Clay Orange / Light Silver / Dark Stucco
Clay Orange / Light Silver / Dark Stucco
from Foot Locker
$150.00
16 likes
Grey / Multi
Grey / Multi
from 2 Resellers
$124.00
17 likes
"Mirage"
"Mirage"
from 2 Resellers
$139.00
1 likes
Black / Hemp / Metallic Red / Bronze
Black / Hemp / Metallic Red / Bronze
from StockX
$139.00

Nike Book 1 Review

Pros:
Fantastic traction
Comfortable materials
Cons:
It's not the plushest cushioning
The shoe heats up quickly

Performance of the Nike Book 1:

Nike went with the tried and true herringbone traction pattern, and the performance does not disappoint. The cushioning setup feels basic. The Cushlon has decent responsiveness, and the Zoom unit under the heel is there for impact protection. Fans of more traditional materials will enjoy the main nubuck setup on the Nike Book 1. The setup is comfortable for performance. The fit is short and snug. Make sure to try it on first, if possible. All the necessary support features are there, but the shoe favours lighter players. Devin Booker's first signature shoe with Nike gets off to a solid start because it nails the traction.
See all 11 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Rating: 8.3 (ranks #166 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.9
February 27, 2024
I enjoyed playing in the Nike Book 1. The performance is justified. The traction and materials are standout features.
 More details
8.8
March 17, 2024
I recommend the Nike Book 1 for every position. I like the traction and cushioning but wish the breathability was better.
 More details
8.4
March 22, 2024
I like the Nike Book 1. The performance is best for shooters because of the traction and cushioning setups.
 More details
The Nike Book 1 is a decent basketball shoe. I love the materials and traction performance. The cushioning is slightly lacking, though.
 More details
8.2
March 17, 2024
The Nike Book 1 is an impressive shoe because of its traction and materials. The only downsides are the lateral containment in the forefoot and the lack of forefoot impact protection.
 More details
8.2
March 9, 2024
The Nike Book 1 is simple and effective. It plays fast with traction which works, and the materials are good quality. My only gripe is with the lack of forefoot cushioning tech.
 More details
8.2
March 9, 2024
The Nike Book 1 is slightly expensive for the features you get. I enjoyed the responsive cushioning and the premium-feeling materials.
 More details
8.2
March 9, 2024
I love the materials on the Nike Book 1. The traction is surprisingly good, and the cushioning is comfortable.
 More details
8.0
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
I like the look, materials, and style of the Nike Book 1. In terms of performance, they're better suited for players with a perimeter focus.
 More details
8.0
December 28, 2023
The Nike Book 1 is incredibly light of foot. It has quick and light side-to-side movement, and the cushioning and traction are impressive for lighter players.
 More details
7.6
March 9, 2024
The Nike Book 1 is a well-made and aesthetic sneaker. I enjoyed the materials and support. The traction and cushioning could be better.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Book 1:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #77 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.4
March 3, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.4
March 7, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
10.0
April 3, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.6 (ranks #138 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #50 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 27, 2024
You're not going to have any issues on clean courts. It hugs the floor on all movements. I only had to wipe on dustier courts.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
The traction is better than expected. The performance felt great.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The traction performs extremely well. The outsole does pick up dust, but it doesn't hinder the performance.
 More details
The traction excels. The herringbone gets the job done. I had to wipe occasionally.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
You can't go wrong with the herringbone traction. It feels amazing.
 More details
9.0
March 9, 2024
The herringbone traction is simple and proven. It performs very well.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The traction performs well on clean courts. The bite is impressive. Maintain the dust build-up by wiping.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The traction exceeded my expectations for a translucent rubber.
 More details
9.0
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
The traction grips well on every type of court I played on.
 More details
9.0
December 28, 2023
The herringbone traction has an unbelievable grip. I had zero issues, even if the rubber isn't the tackiest.
 More details
7.0
March 9, 2024
I'm not satisfied with the traction of the Nike Book 1. I need to wipe often. The performance is average.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #198 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.3 (ranks #169 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.5
February 27, 2024
The Zoom unit offers tons of impact protection in the back of the shoe. The Cushlon foam is as expected.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
I love the cushioning, especially under the heel. The forefoot responsiveness feels comfortable, too.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The heel cushioning is very comfortable, and the forefoot is low to the ground. Avoid this shoe if you need forefoot impact protection.
 More details
The cushioning setup is decent. The lateral side is caged, so it doesn't feel too plush. It feels stabilized.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The Cushlon feels comfortable and it provides decent impact protection. I would've liked additional forefoot cushioning.
 More details
7.0
March 9, 2024
The cushion is Cushlon and a heel Zoom unit. It's nothing spectacular, but it's not uncomfortable. I enjoy the responsiveness, though.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The cushion setup is fine, but not the best. The responsiveness is decent. Impact protection is lacking, though.
 More details
9.0
March 9, 2024
The cushioning feels comfortable. It doesn't feel chunky or stiff. I enjoyed the responsiveness and had no issues with the impact protection.
 More details
8.0
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
The Cushlon foam is softer than it looks, and it provides enough impact protection. This setup is solid for lighter guards.
 More details
8.0
December 28, 2023
The Cushlon and rearfoot Zoom unit are consistent with other similar setups. The shock absorption is solid, and there's a bit of bounciness.
 More details
7.0
March 9, 2024
I was disappointed with the cushioning. I wish the Zoom unit were under the forefoot instead of the heel.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #56 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #88 of 303)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
8
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 27, 2024
The materials are one of the shoe's standout features. The upper is nice to the touch, and the setup feels premium for the price. My only complaint is the outsole peeled quickly.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
I cannot believe how comfortable the shoe feels. The materials are soft around my foot, but the shoe is not breathable.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The materials are comfortable. I like how they feel right out of the box, and the padding is soft.
 More details
The materials are my favourite part of the shoe. I love the nubuck materials.
 More details
9.0
March 17, 2024
Material quality is better than expected. It feels soft, flexible, and supportive. It feels comfortable and cozy on your feet.
 More details
9.0
March 9, 2024
Materials are where the sneaker excels. It feels nice on the court, and the quality is impressive.
 More details
9.0
March 9, 2024
I love the material usage. The quality feels premium.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The materials are comfortable and feel premium.
 More details
9.0
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
The materials need to be broken in, and breathability is non-existent. The quality is top-notch.
 More details
8.0
December 28, 2023
The upper is surprisingly comfortable, especially with the padding and sculpted foam heel. The breathability suffers a bit, though.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The synthetic leather feels soft. The upper is comfortable and contains your foot nicely.
 More details

Support of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Support Rating: 7.9 (ranks #249 of 303)
User Support Rating: 9.0 (ranks #55 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 27, 2024
My heel was locked in. I had no issues with sliding on the footbed either. The base also feels stable.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The heel lockdown is not an issue. Lateral support could be better, but the stability is impressive.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The shoe feels balanced and secure. I like the torsional support and lacing system as well.
 More details
The stability is reminiscent of a Curry shoe. I had no issues with the support. The transition is slightly sloppy, though.
 More details
8.0
March 17, 2024
The torsional support seems decent. Support and lockdown feel decent, but the lateral containment in the forefoot can be better with some additional reinforcement.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
I felt contained mainly because of the snug fit.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The Book 1 has all the necessary support features, but nothing is spectacular.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
I had no problems with lateral containment. The flexibility is better than expected, too.
 More details
7.0
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
The shoe lacks lateral containment when the materials warm up. The lockdown is decent with the laces, but I had issues with heel lockdown.
 More details
7.0
December 28, 2023
The containment is better for smaller players than for larger players.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The lateral support feels good but not great.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.9 (ranks #246 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 9.3 (ranks #17 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
February 27, 2024
I had some issues with the fit. The length is too short. Once I found the right fit, I enjoyed how snug they felt.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The width and toe box feel snug.
 More details
The fit is 1-to-1. It's snug and slightly pointy. I love it, but I can see it causing others trouble.
 More details
7.0
March 17, 2024
The fit feels short and narrow because of the extra padding in the shoe.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
I enjoy the fit, but it is snug, tight, and compact.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The forefoot felt tight at the beginning but became better with play. I enjoyed the fit.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
My toes hit the upper when I performed a step back. It was slightly uncomfortable. The fit feels snug, but it won't be an issue for most.
 More details
7.0
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
The fit feels snug because of the extra padding inside.
 More details
8.0
December 28, 2023
The fit is a little wide in the midfoot and slightly short length-wise.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The shoe hugs my foot well.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Book 1:

User Durability Rating: 9.0 (ranks #46 of 303)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Book 1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #101 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 75.0 (ranks #81 of 303)
Good (100%)
2
Fair (50%)
5
Bad (0%)
1
fair
March 22, 2024
The outsole's durability seems solid enough for outdoor play.
 More details
fair
The herringbone grooves are thick enough for outdoors.
 More details
good
March 17, 2024
The rubber is tough enough for outdoor use.
 More details
no
March 9, 2024
I would not use these shoes outdoors.
 More details
fair
December 28, 2023
The rubber performs decently outdoors.
 More details
fair
March 9, 2024
I think the traction is okay for outdoor use.
 More details

Width of the Nike Book 1:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
5
regular
4
slightly wide
1
very wide
0
slightly narrow
February 27, 2024
The taper is not suited for widefooters.
 More details
very narrow
March 22, 2024
The shoe feels very narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
I would ignore this shoe if I had a wide foot.
 More details
very narrow
March 17, 2024
The width feels extremely narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 9, 2024
Try going half a size up if you need more space in the toe box.
 More details
slightly narrow
March 9, 2024
The width is slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
If you don't like a snug shoe, go up half a size.
 More details
slightly wide
December 28, 2023
The shoe is slightly wide.
 More details
regularly wide
March 9, 2024
My Asian pair is not narrow.
 More details

Size of the Nike Book 1:

very small
0
slightly small
4
true to size
9
slightly long
0
very long
0
½ size small
February 27, 2024
I had to go up half a size because of the length.
 More details
½ size small
March 22, 2024
I would recommend going up half a size if you have wide feet. Normal feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
½ size small
March 17, 2024
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
March 9, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 9, 2024
The shoe is true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 9, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
Yesterday at 12:32 AM
The sizing is true to size.
 More details
true to size
December 28, 2023
Narrow, medium, and 2E feet can go true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 9, 2024
I went true to size and it worked for me.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: