Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Fly By Mid 3

Released 1/2022, Low Top, 
Add to Favourites
7.4
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
4 ratings
The Nike Fly By Mid 3 definitely punches above its weight class.

Best Suitable For:

Players who are budget conscious or who're looking for a pair to beat up.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $64.99
Nike
Buy Now
Finishline

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (4)
Traction
7.8
Cushion
8.1
Materials
7.0
Support
7.0
Fit
7.0
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Fly By Mid 3
Nike Fly By Mid 3
Under Armour Anatomix Spawn 3
Under Armour Anatomix Spawn 3
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut 2
Nike PG 4
Nike PG 4
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.49.0(1.6)8.8(1.4)8.8(1.4)8.6(1.2)8.3(0.9)
User Rating8.68.9(0.3)9.2(0.6)9.7(1.1)NA8.6(0.0)
Best Price
$55.97
$65
$99.99
$169.99
$225
$169.99
$31.93
$110
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight330g - 350g340g - 360g410g - 430g360g - 370g380g - 400g380g - 400g
 Show More
10 likes
Pearl White / Doll / University Red / Black
Pearl White / Doll / University Red / Black
in 2 shops
$55.97
$65
3 likes
Black / Gym Red / White
Black / Gym Red / White
in 2 shops
$55.97
$65
23 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 2 shops
$65.00
30 likes
Black / Anthracite / Cool Grey
Black / Anthracite / Cool Grey
from Nike
$65.00
19 likes
White / Wolf Grey
White / Wolf Grey
from Nike
$65.00
1 likes
White / Green Glow / Game Royal
White / Green Glow / Game Royal
in 2 shops
$65.00
28 likes
Black / Pink Prime / Siren Red
Black / Pink Prime / Siren Red
No stores found
19 likes
Summit White / Photon Dust / Aura / Black
Summit White / Photon Dust / Aura / Black
No stores found
10 likes
Light Iron Ore / Atomic Green / Black / Phantom
Light Iron Ore / Atomic Green / Black / Phantom
No stores found

Nike Fly By Mid 3 Review

Pros:
The cushion feels surprisingly good.
Traction doesn't falter.
Cons:
Materials look and feel cheap.
May not be wide-foot friendly.

Performance of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Nike's latest entry in the Fly By Mid lineup feels like one of the best bang for your buck models on the market. The traction does everything that players need it to do. It performs well on clean and dusty courts, and it only needs minimal wiping. Cushioning is also a pleasant surprise considering the price of the shoe. It feels low to the ground and gives plenty of impact protection. The only con is that it isn't the most responsive. The materials are the one part of the shoe that reflects the price. They feel and look cheap. In terms of performance, they hold up nicely. When it comes to support and lockdown, the shoe does what you need it to do. The Nike Fly By Mid 3 may have the lowest price tag in Nike's basketball shoe lineup, but it is far from being Nike's lowest performer.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Rating: 7.4 (ranks #220 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.5
January 28, 2022
The Nike Fly By Mid 3 is Nike's lowest-priced shoe, but don't let that fool you. This shoe was a pleasant surprise. I liked playing in these a lot more than expected.
 More details
8.0
January 28, 2022
The Nike Fly By Mid 3 is a solid performance shoe at a low retail price. The cushion surprised me, and the traction is just what you want from a basketball shoe.
 More details
6.8
As much as I want to recommend the Nike Fly By Mid 3, I can't because of the fit and traction. It could still be worth it for those looking for an affordable budget option.
 More details
The Nike Fly By Mid 3 is an okay shoe for the price. There are better shoes at this price point, however. I'd only consider this if budget is your biggest factor.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #110 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
February 19, 2022
This shoe provides good traction, cushion and solid materials for a cheaper shoe. However, I do not recommend it for wide-footers, if you want it get it half a size up if you have wider feet because it runs true to size. The fit was good, but lateral support could be better. A good shoe for a cheap price.
 More details
9.6
April 29, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.4
February 7, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.8
April 4, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.8 (ranks #184 of 229)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #73 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 28, 2022
The traction is really nice. I feel like I needed to break them in a bit, but after that, it greatly improved.
 More details
9.0
January 28, 2022
The traction works really well. You'll have no problems with clean courts, and the traction holds up on dustier courts too.
 More details
6.0
The traction is mediocre. It holds up well enough on clean courts, but dust gives the shoe problems.
 More details
The traction pattern is inconsistent, but it does perform well enough to get the job done on clean courts.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.1 (ranks #153 of 229)
User Cushion Rating: 8.8 (ranks #86 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
January 28, 2022
The cushion is my favourite part of the shoe. It's low to the ground while still providing step-in comfort. The most surprising aspect of this setup is the impact protection it provides.
 More details
8.0
January 28, 2022
I have no idea what cushioning in this shoe, but it is very plush and soft. It feels much better than expected.
 More details
8.0
There's nothing special about the cushion. The court feel is ok, but the impact protection was better than expected. I liked it.
 More details
Nike uses regular Phylon for the cushioning, and it feels basic. It took about 3 hours to break them in to feel comfortable.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.0 (ranks #222 of 229)
User Materials Rating: 7.8 (ranks #168 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.0
January 28, 2022
The mesh feels cheap, but it's thin and flexible. It molds nicely to the foot, and it performs well.
 More details
8.0
January 28, 2022
Mesh makes up most of the upper, but synthetic leather is mixed in here and there. It feels nice and performs well.
 More details
7.0
It's a budget model, so don't expect much from the materials. It was enough to get the job done, though.
 More details
The textile mesh also feels basic. However, it does conform to your foot well enough over time.
 More details

Support of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Support Rating: 7.0 (ranks #217 of 229)
User Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #164 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 28, 2022
I had no issues with support and lockdown, especially with the lateral containment.
 More details
7.0
January 28, 2022
I had no issues with containment, but I did have a bit of sliding motion on the footbed. The sliding seemed to happen when I made hard lateral movements.
 More details
There's no outrigger on the shoe, but the base width makes up for that. Nothing is amazing in terms of support. It's just barely enough.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.0 (ranks #217 of 229)
User Fit Rating: 8.0 (ranks #155 of 229)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 28, 2022
The toe box area of the shoe feels snug and kind of narrow.
 More details
8.0
January 28, 2022
Over time the shoe does break in nicely. Other than some tightness in the forefoot to start, I wasn't bothered by the fit.
 More details
6.0
The fit and sizing is the biggest issue for the shoe. There was too much room in the shoe for me.
 More details
The shoe starts out feeling narrow and long, but the flimsier mesh does loosen up.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

User Durability Rating: 9.3 (ranks #31 of 229)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #1 of 229)
User Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #4 of 229)
Good (100%)
6
Fair (50%)
0
Bad (0%)
0
good
January 28, 2022
The rubber also feels durable enough to handle outdoor play.
 More details
good
January 28, 2022
I think these will hold up outdoors. The rubber is thick.
 More details

Width of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
4
regular
3
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 28, 2022
It feels like it's a bit on the narrow side.
 More details
regularly wide
January 28, 2022
I have a slightly wide foot, and it still fits me well. Try them on if possible if you have wider feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
I would recommend half a size up for wide footers.
 More details

Size of the Nike Fly By Mid 3:

very small
0
slightly small
0
true to size
7
slightly long
0
very long
1
true to size
January 28, 2022
For me, it runs a little bit long, just a tiny bit.
 More details
true to size
January 28, 2022
These run true to size.
 More details
runs large
I went true to size, and I had enough room in the front of the shoe to fit in a whole finger.
 More details
true to size
Normal and narrow-footers will be happy going true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: