Nike G.T. Cut Academy

Released 1/2024, , 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.6
USER RATING
3 ratings
The Nike G.T. Cut Academy has pleasantly surprising traction, and the cushioning is comfortable.

Best Suitable For:

This shoe is best for players looking for shifty and reliable traction.

Price Comparison:

Available at 7 shops | Official Retail Price: $94.99
Foot Locker
See all 7 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (3)
Traction
9.1
Cushion
8.0
Materials
7.6
Support
7.9
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
38%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike G.T. Cut Academy
Nike G.T. Cut Academy
Nike Cosmic Unity 3
Nike Cosmic Unity 3
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 4 FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry 2 Low FloTro
Under Armour Curry Spawn FloTro
Under Armour Curry Spawn FloTro
Puma MB.01 Lo
Puma MB.01 Lo
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.0(0.2)8.7(0.5)8.4(0.2)8.4(0.2)8.9(0.7)
User Rating8.67.9(0.7)8.9(0.3)8.5(0.1)8.5(0.1)8.8(0.2)
Best Price
$74.97
$95
$79.97
$170
$129.99
$140
$129.99
$150
$129.99
$79.99
$120
Type of CutHigh TopLow TopHigh TopLow Top
WeightNANA320g - 340gNANANA
 Show More
8 likes
Black / Anthracite / Green Strike / Barely Volt
Black / Anthracite / Green Strike / Barely Volt
in 5 shops
$74.97
$95
12 likes
Summit White / Picante Red / Football Grey / Metallic Silver
Summit White / Picante Red / Football Grey / Metallic Silver
in 6 shops
$74.97
$95
13 likes
White / Black
White / Black
in 5 shops
$95.00
1 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 2 shops
$95.00

Nike G.T. Cut Academy Review

Pros:
The traction is better than expected
Comfortable Renew foam cushioning
Cons:
Lower quality materials
Breathability can be better

Performance of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

The first takedown model within Nike's G.T. lineup, the Nike G.T. Cut Academy, makes its mark as a solid budget performer. Reviewers agree the traction is better than expected. Some even called the performance top-tier. Nike uses Renew foam and a forefoot Zoom unit for the cushioning. It's comfortable and geared more towards impact protection. The material breathability could be better, but the shoe is comfortable. There are no performance issues with the materials either. Support and lockdown are also solid. The shoe has the added benefit of additional lace holes for extra customization. The Nike G.T. Cut Academy is a worthy first takedown entry within the G.T. line of shoes, thanks to the impressive traction.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #202 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
January 31, 2024
The Nike G.T. Cut Academy has phenomenal traction and comfortable cushioning. I felt quick when I was playing with this shoe. This is one of the best shoes under $100.
 More details
8.4
February 1, 2024
The Nike G.T. Cut Academy is a beast of a performer for the price. The slight heel slippage and narrowness were the only downsides. I enjoyed the cushioning, and the traction is top-tier.
 More details
8.4
March 9, 2024
The Nike G.T. Cut Academy is the best budget shoe this year. The traction is some of the best on the market, and the support and lockdown feel secure.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The Nike G.T. Cut Academy is a solid performer for the price. The cushioning is decent, and the traction performed better than expected.
 More details
7.9
February 24, 2024
I enjoyed playing in the Nike GT Cut Academy. It has outstanding traction, and the cushioning felt comfortable. The main downfall is the cheap materials.
 More details
7.8
January 29, 2024
The Nike G.T. Cut Academy feels similar to the G.T. Cut 3. It feels more stable, but it does not have the tools and pop the G.T. Cut 3 has.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

User Rating: 8.6 (ranks #147 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.5
February 24, 2024
Very surprised about the traction for this shoe, very grippy
 More details
8.4
February 24, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
8.9
March 9, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.1 (ranks #61 of 303)
User Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #51 of 303)
10 - Amazing
4
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 31, 2024
The traction feels outstanding. The rubber grip and bite are top-tier. Make sure to wipe on dustier courts.
 More details
10.0
February 1, 2024
The traction stops on a dime on clean courts. It performed well on dustier courts, too.
 More details
10.0
March 9, 2024
The traction has consistently strong performance, especially on dusty courts. This is some of the best traction available.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
I was pleasantly surprised with how well the traction performed.
 More details
9.5
February 24, 2024
You will have no issues playing on clean courts. I wiped a bit on dusty courts, but the performance was not hindered.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The traction is decently grabby. It doesn't slip from underneath you.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #200 of 303)
User Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #118 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 31, 2024
The cushioning pleasantly surprised me. The Renew foam is soft but not bouncy. This setup is better for impact protection than court feel.
 More details
8.0
February 1, 2024
The Renew foam feels smooth, and it has decent impact protection. The forefoot Zoom unit provides some slight bounce, too.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The cushioning gets the job done. It's nothing impressive.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The cushioning feels decent but weird. There's impact protection under the heel, and I like how the Renew foam feels. My main gripe is the lack of court feel.
 More details
8.0
February 24, 2024
The Renew foam is soft and plush. In my experience, Renew does bottom out quickly, so beware.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The Renew foam feels spongy and squishy. The cushioning is shifty but not as bouncy as the G.T. Cut 3.
 More details

Materials of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.6 (ranks #254 of 303)
User Materials Rating: 7.7 (ranks #246 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 31, 2024
The textile materials feel better than the G.T. Cut 3. The upper feels comfortable and supportive.
 More details
8.0
February 1, 2024
The textile and mesh materials are decent. They get the job done.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The materials feel better than expected, but they're nothing special.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The sneaker construction is super light. The padding is comfortable, but the materials feel cheap. The performance will last, though.
 More details
6.5
February 24, 2024
The materials feel cheap and low quality. It works on the court, and I had no issues performance-wise.
 More details
7.0
January 29, 2024
I enjoy the material setup, especially around the lace line. The construction and durability are solid, but the breathability can be better.
 More details

Support of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Support Rating: 7.9 (ranks #250 of 303)
User Support Rating: 8.0 (ranks #225 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
January 31, 2024
The shoe lacks torsional support. Lateral containment and lockdown were not an issue, though.
 More details
8.0
February 1, 2024
I thought the support felt good. I had minimal heel slippage, but you're covered for all side-to-side movements.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The lockdown feels secure and has no heel slippage.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The heel counter feels comfortable. I didn't have support issues.
 More details
7.5
February 24, 2024
The heel counter offers impressive fit and lockdown at the back of the shoe. It's a decently supportive shoe, but I wish there were a midfoot shank plate.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The lace setup helps you remain secure with different customization options.
 More details

Fit of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #174 of 303)
User Fit Rating: 9.0 (ranks #48 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
January 31, 2024
The fit feels close to 1-to-1, and it's supportive on foot. The fit is near perfect for me.
 More details
8.0
February 1, 2024
The toe box feels narrow, but it didn't hinder the performance. It almost feels like a 1-to-1 fit.
 More details
8.0
March 9, 2024
The fit feels snug.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The fit is solid.
 More details
8.0
February 24, 2024
The fit is close to my foot shape. I had no issues.
 More details
8.0
January 29, 2024
The length is true to size, and the width is slightly narrow.
 More details

Durability of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

User Durability Rating: 8.5 (ranks #139 of 303)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 37.5 (ranks #153 of 303)
User Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #159 of 303)
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
4
Bad (0%)
1
fair
January 31, 2024
The rubber hardness should be decent outdoors.
 More details
fair
January 29, 2024
The outsole is decent enough for outdoors.
 More details
fair
February 24, 2024
The rubber compound is firm enough for outdoors.
 More details
no
January 29, 2024
Keep this pair on indoor courts.
 More details

Width of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
5
regular
1
slightly wide
2
very wide
0
slightly narrow
January 31, 2024
The width is narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 1, 2024
The shoe is slightly narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
March 9, 2024
The toe box and midfoot have standard width.
 More details
slightly narrow
February 24, 2024
The width is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 29, 2024
2E feet can go up half a size.
 More details

Size of the Nike G.T. Cut Academy:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
7
slightly long
0
very long
0
½ size small
January 31, 2024
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
February 1, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 9, 2024
The shoe is true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 29, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
February 24, 2024
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 29, 2024
Narrow and medium feet can go true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: