Nike KD 16

Released 8/2023, Low Top, Kevin Durant, 
Add to Favourites
8.4
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
8.9
USER RATING
31 ratings
The Nike KD 16 is a versatile performer with comfortable, plush cushioning.

Best Suitable For:

The shoe has something for all positions. There are no outstanding weaknesses.

Price Comparison:

Available at 6 shops | Official Retail Price: $159.99
DICK's
$78.27
$160
Finishline
See all 6 shops

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (10)
User Ratings (31)
Traction
8.4
Cushion
8.7
Materials
8.1
Support
8.5
Fit
8.2
Outdoor
13%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike KD 16
Nike KD 16
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Li-Ning Way of Wade 10
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Nike Air Zoom G.T. Cut
Li-Ning Way of Wade All City 12
Li-Ning Way of Wade All City 12
Nike Lebron 21
Nike Lebron 21
Air Jordan 38 Low
Air Jordan 38 Low
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.48.9(0.5)8.8(0.4)8.9(0.5)8.9(0.5)8.6(0.2)
User Rating8.99.5(0.6)9.3(0.4)9.3(0.4)9.3(0.4)9.4(0.5)
Best Price
$77.97
$160
$225
$94.99
$170
$149
$63.97
$200
$112.99
$175
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
WeightNA360g - 370g410g - 430gNANANA
 Show More
20 likes
Black / Dark Smoke Grey / Coconut Milk / Black
Black / Dark Smoke Grey / Coconut Milk / Black
from DICK's
$77.97
$160
17 likes
White / Black
White / Black
from DICK's
$78.27
$160
30 likes
"Deep Royal"
"Deep Royal"
from DICK's
$78.97
$160
12 likes
Wolf Grey / White
Wolf Grey / White
from DICK's
$93.97
$160
24 likes
Stadium Green / Hyper Violet / Barely Green / Playful Pink / University Gold
Stadium Green / Hyper Violet / Barely Green / Playful Pink / University Gold
in 5 shops
$100.00
$160
18 likes
Black / Metallic Silver / Bright Crimson
Black / Metallic Silver / Bright Crimson
from DICK's
$105.99
$160
10 likes
Black / White
Black / White
in 3 shops
$159.99
29 likes
Black / Vivid Purple / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
Black / Vivid Purple / Bright Crimson / Metallic Silver
from 2 Resellers
$78.00
63 likes
Green / Mint Foam
Green / Mint Foam
from 2 Resellers
$86.00
37 likes
Red / Ember Glow
Red / Ember Glow
from 2 Resellers
$96.00
13 likes
Game Royal / White
Game Royal / White
from StockX
$98.00
76 likes
Field Purple / Rush Fuchsia
Field Purple / Rush Fuchsia
from 2 Resellers
$100.00
13 likes
University Red / White
University Red / White
from 2 Resellers
$105.00
90 likes
White / Gold / Red
White / Gold / Red
from 2 Resellers
$135.00

Nike KD 16 Review

Pros:
Well-balanced cushioning
Improved support features
Cons:
Traction takes time to break in and warm up
Slightly heavier and bulkier materials

Performance of the Nike KD 16:

Kevin Durant's latest signature model has slight tweaks to the tech in the shoe. The traction takes some time to warm up, but the performance is solid in all directions. There's no Zoom Strobel anymore. It uses an Air Strobel and a forefoot Zoom Air unit instead. The KD 16 provides plush and comfortable cushioning. The fit feels snug and tight. Some players will have to go up half a size. Heel containment and lockdown are improved. There's no noticeable heel slippage. The support and containment feel improved too. Overall, the Nike KD 16 is well-balanced. It's a versatile shoe.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Rating: 8.4 (ranks #141 of 311)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
The Nike KD is a well-balanced hoop shoe. I enjoy the comfortable cushioning, and the shoe feels like an improvement from last year.
 More details
8.8
March 22, 2024
The Nike KD 16 is one of my favourite performers. The cushioning is catered to impact protection, and the support and materials combine to provide excellent comfort.
 More details
8.6
August 18, 2023
The Nike KD 16 is perfect for players looking for heel impact protection and low movement latency. The traction is decent, but the cushioning is where the shoe excels.
 More details
8.4
August 25, 2023
The Nike KD 16 feels quick. It's a solid shoe, but there are better options on the market. The cushioning is soft, and the traction plays well on clean courts.
 More details
8.3
October 5, 2023
The Nike KD 16 is a decent performer. The cushioning was a letdown compared to last year, but the support and lockdown felt fantastic.
 More details
8.3
September 22, 2023
I enjoyed playing in the Nike KD 16, even with the change in cushioning. The traction feels nice, and the shoe is supportive.
 More details
8.2
August 18, 2023
The Nike KD 16 is a well-rounded, versatile sneaker. It has traction, cushioning, and support for multiple positions and play styles.
 More details
8.2
September 12, 2023
The Nike KD 16 doesn't pack the same punch as previous models. It's still a solid performer because none of the features are bad, but it's not exceptional.
 More details
8.2
January 15, 2024
I recommend the Nike KD 16 if you're playing on clean courts. The shoe is comfortable, and the cushioning feels incredible. Avoid playing on dusty courts, though.
 More details
7.8
July 24, 2023
The Nike KD 16 is plush and maneuverable, but it doesn't have the bite of the previous models.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike KD 16:

User Rating: 8.9 (ranks #82 of 311)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
17
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.4
February 3, 2024
Have these in the aunt pearl colourway. Traction is insane have to wipe because of dust pick up though. Cushion is good. Bounce springy forefoot set up with zoom and the long shank plate. The air strobes and cushlon wasn’t elite but was good. No large outrigger so I did roll my ankle a few times but the shoe is still fine. Chances are you won’t roll your ankle unless you are in an awkward situation. Fits slightly long. Great shoe would recommend for more forwards and centers than gaurds.
 More details
9.2
March 1, 2024
The KD 16 is another great performer from the KD Line. The traction is amazing on clean courts, but does pick up some dust. The cushion is the perfect cushion for a basketball shoe. A large-volume Zoom Air Unit in the fore-foot, and a Large Air unit in the heel, plus a TPU plastic shank plate give you a great mix of plush and responsive cushioning. Support doesn't lack anything, and keeps you locked in the shoe. The only real issue with these, is that they run narrow, so go a half size up.
 More details
8.9
February 18, 2024
Great shoe overrall bud really sensitive to dust, i had to wipe every now and then when playing in dusty courts. In indoor courts and clean courts they grip like a glue on the floor! Great durability for outdoor too if you have an agile footwork type of playstyle (outer rubber is softer though than actual rubber so go xdr if playing outdoors) experience no slippage too but it's going to be bad for wide feet as it hurts my medial side and also this shoe traps a lot of moisture!
 More details
8.8
April 17, 2024
The kd 16 by no means are a bad shoe. In particular I love the colourway and performance of the shoe. However compared to previous models, like the 13s, 14s, and 15s I feel like the performance is subpar compared to the performance of the other models. But still a great shoe in the rotation.
 More details
8.5
January 5, 2024
Best for players who would exchange court feel for comfort, the shoe is comfortable but as someone who wants to get the ground off quick and love court feel, this isn’t the best shoe for me (court feel is not bad at all, I just like more responsiveness)
 More details

Traction of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #179 of 311)
User Traction Rating: 8.8 (ranks #142 of 311)
10 - Amazing
9
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
16
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.0
The traction provides solid multidirectional coverage after a break-in period, but breaking them in was rough.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The traction performs decently well. My translucent outsole option performed excellently on clean courts.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The traction feels decent for the most part. It performs well on most courts, but it's not top-tier.
 More details
8.0
August 25, 2023
The traction improves the more you play in the shoe. The performance is just below top-tier. Dust hinders the traction a bit.
 More details
8.0
October 5, 2023
You won't have issues with clean indoor courts. I had to wipe every few plays on dirty courts.
 More details
8.0
September 22, 2023
The rubber compound is pliable, providing solid performance. The grip feels nice.
 More details
9.0
August 18, 2023
The traction was solid. It had my movements covered in multiple directions, and I enjoyed the outer wrapping.
 More details
9.0
September 12, 2023
Dust pickup and hard stops are not an issue. It's not as grippy as the KD 15, but the performance is still excellent.
 More details
8.0
January 15, 2024
The traction performed well after I broke the rubber in. The bite is solid on clean courts, but dust can cause slipping. Avoid playing on dusty courts.
 More details
8.0
July 24, 2023
It takes about 10 minutes to warm up the traction to get a solid grip. It works well but isn't the best for powerful lateral cuts.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.7 (ranks #122 of 311)
User Cushion Rating: 9.2 (ranks #56 of 311)
10 - Amazing
17
9 - Great
14
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
9.5
The cushioning is excellent. The combination of the Air Strobel and forefoot Zoom Air offers responsiveness, impact protection, and comfort.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The Air Strobel and forefoot Zoom Air unit feel comfortable. It's soft with extra impact protection. I like the performance on the court.
 More details
10.0
August 18, 2023
The cushioning is my favourite part of the sneaker. The Cushlon and Air Strobel feel incredibly bouncy underfoot.
 More details
9.0
August 25, 2023
I like the Air Strobel unit under the heel, and the forefoot Zoom unit feels bouncy. The foam is soft and comfortable, too.
 More details
8.5
October 5, 2023
The cushioning setup feels plush and comfortable, but I prefer last year's cushion.
 More details
8.0
September 22, 2023
Performance-wise, the cushioning feels good. It feels plush with plenty of impact protection. It's also feels bouncy in the forefoot.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The cushioning is comfortable, but there's not a lot of court feel. It felt firm initially, so I had to spend more time breaking them in.
 More details
8.0
September 12, 2023
The cushioning takes time to break in. The heel is soft, and the forefoot becomes bouncy over time.
 More details
9.0
January 15, 2024
The cushion feels phenomenal. I love the balance between court feel and impact protection.
 More details
8.0
July 24, 2023
The foam is Cushlon, and there's a rearfoot Air Strobel too. There's also a forefoot Zoom Air bag. It has shock absorption, but I prefer the Zoom Strobel.
 More details

Materials of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.1 (ranks #162 of 311)
User Materials Rating: 8.5 (ranks #118 of 311)
10 - Amazing
8
9 - Great
9
8 - Good
19
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.5
The materials feel similar to the KD 15, but the shoe is bulkier and heavier. It's padded and doesn't take any break-in period.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The textile mesh is well-ventilated and requires no break-in time, which I appreciate.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The padding and materials are comfortable on foot. I especially enjoy the tongue setup.
 More details
8.0
August 25, 2023
The quality isn't worth the price. It gets the job done when playing, though. The upper feels minimal and supportive.
 More details
7.5
October 5, 2023
The materials are nothing special. They break in nicely and feel breathable.
 More details
8.0
September 22, 2023
There's no break-in time with the upper materials. It feels comfortable immediately.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
There's a minor break-in period, but the mesh is flexible and breathable.
 More details
8.0
September 12, 2023
The materials don't hinder performance, but they aren't the best. Breathability isn't good, either.
 More details
8.0
January 15, 2024
The materials feel fine. The performance feels solid.
 More details
8.0
July 24, 2023
The materials feel comfortable, but the plastic pieces are broad.
 More details

Support of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #134 of 311)
User Support Rating: 8.6 (ranks #154 of 311)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
18
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
9.5
The support feels great because of the midfoot panel and the base stability of the shoe. I didn't have containment issues, either.
 More details
9.0
March 22, 2024
The TPU side panels contain your foot through all lateral movements. I enjoy the torsional support as well.
 More details
9.0
August 18, 2023
There's no heel slippage with the KD 16. The overall support, lockdown, and stability feel excellent.
 More details
8.0
August 25, 2023
Support and lockdown were good for me. I felt contained and stable. My foot wasn't leaving the footbed at all.
 More details
9.5
October 5, 2023
The heel counter is sturdy and keeps your foot in place. The plastic wings also offer additional rigidity, and the base is stable.
 More details
9.0
September 22, 2023
The upper materials, particularly the plastic wings, keep you locked in and secure. I had no issues with lateral containment.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The heel containment is improved, and the support is solid.
 More details
8.0
September 12, 2023
Torsional support and lateral containment are solid. Heel lockdown could be better.
 More details
8.0
January 15, 2024
The support performed well after I cranked down on the laces. Without a tight lace setup, there's some heel slippage.
 More details
7.0
July 24, 2023
You have to crank the laces to get lockdown. The heel containment could be better too.
 More details

Fit of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.2 (ranks #180 of 311)
User Fit Rating: 8.9 (ranks #84 of 311)
10 - Amazing
16
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
14
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
2
9.0
The shoe feels snug but loosens up over time.
 More details
8.0
March 22, 2024
The shoe fit is snug.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The shoe conforms to your foot nicely. There's not much wiggle room.
 More details
9.0
August 25, 2023
The shoe fits me well. It feels snug, like a glove.
 More details
8.0
October 5, 2023
The fit is 1-to-1, which I like. It's snug.
 More details
8.0
August 18, 2023
The shoe moulds to your foot nicely, but it's a snug fit overall.
 More details
8.0
September 12, 2023
The shoe is short length-wise, and it provides a snug fit.
 More details
8.0
January 15, 2024
The fit is comfortable after playing a few games.
 More details
8.0
July 24, 2023
The fit is forgiving but stubby. You have to tie down the laces tightly for a contained fit.
 More details

Durability of the Nike KD 16:

User Durability Rating: 8.7 (ranks #107 of 311)
10 - Amazing
7
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1

Outdoor of the Nike KD 16:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 12.5 (ranks #237 of 311)
User Outdoor Rating: 47.4 (ranks #202 of 311)
Good (100%)
4
Fair (50%)
12
Bad (0%)
11
Be careful using these shoes outdoors.
 More details
no
March 22, 2024
I don't recommend these shoes for outdoors.
 More details
no
August 18, 2023
I wouldn't take these shoes outdoors.
 More details
fair
August 25, 2023
Durability seems decent.
 More details
fair
October 5, 2023
The rubber is thick and firm enough for outdoor play.
 More details
no
September 22, 2023
I wouldn't suggest using these outdoors.
 More details
no
January 15, 2024
Stay indoors.
 More details
no
July 24, 2023
Keep these for indoor use.
 More details

Width of the Nike KD 16:

very narrow
3
slightly narrow
14
regular
19
slightly wide
2
very wide
1
slightly narrow
The shoe feels narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
March 22, 2024
The KD 16 is better for wide feet than previous KDs.
 More details
slightly narrow
August 25, 2023
The width is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
October 5, 2023
The fit is slightly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
August 18, 2023
The shoe feels snug and tight.
 More details
slightly narrow
September 12, 2023
Go half a size up if you prefer a roomier fit.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 15, 2024
The width is slightly narrow in the forefoot, but the shoe breaks in nicely.
 More details
regularly wide
July 24, 2023
If you have a 2E foot, go true to size for a performance fit or half a size up for a roomy fit.
 More details

Size of the Nike KD 16:

very small
0
slightly small
8
true to size
27
slightly long
3
very long
3
true to size
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
March 22, 2024
I recommend going true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 18, 2023
Go true to size.
 More details
½ size small
August 25, 2023
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
October 5, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
September 22, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
August 18, 2023
I went true to size because I don't mind a snug-fitting shoe.
 More details
true to size
September 12, 2023
I went true to size.
 More details
true to size
January 15, 2024
The shoe runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
July 24, 2023
Go true to size if you have a narrow or medium foot.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: