Nike KD Trey 5 IX

Released 5/2021, Low Top, Kevin Durant, 
Add to Favourites
7.9
EXPERT RATING
2 reviews
8.0
USER RATING
25 ratings
KD's budget sneaker offers a lot of bang for your buck.

Best Suitable For:

Solid pickup if you are looking for lightweight, minimal, and affordable basketball shoes.

Price Comparison:

Available at 3 shops | Official Retail Price: $89.99
StockX
from $43.00
GOAT
from $55.00
KicksCrew
from $141.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (2)
User Ratings (25)
Traction
7.5
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.0
Support
8.5
Fit
7.5
Outdoor
50%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike KD Trey 5 IX
Nike KD Trey 5 IX
Jordan Why Not Zero.6
Jordan Why Not Zero.6
Jordan Zion 3
Jordan Zion 3
Jordan Tatum 2
Jordan Tatum 2
Adidas Dame 8
Adidas Dame 8
Jordan Luka 2
Jordan Luka 2
Add shoe
Expert Rating7.97.9(0.0)8.0(0.1)7.8(0.1)7.9(0.0)8.3(0.4)
User Rating8.08.6(0.6)8.0(0.0)6.6(1.4)8.6(0.6)8.6(0.6)
Best Price$89.99
$99.99
$140
$65.97
$140
$124.99
$130
$70
$130
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
Weight320g - 340g380g - 390gNANA390g - 410g390g - 410g
 Show More
33 likes
Pure Platinum / Cool Grey / Total Orange / White
Pure Platinum / Cool Grey / Total Orange / White
from 3 Resellers
$43.00
31 likes
Black / Anthracite / Wolf Grey / White
Black / Anthracite / Wolf Grey / White
from 3 Resellers
$44.00
21 likes
 Black / White / ​Gum Light Brown / Metallic Cool Grey
Black / White / ​Gum Light Brown / Metallic Cool Grey
from 2 Resellers
$55.00
22 likes
 Obsidian / Grey Black / Clear Emerald
Obsidian / Grey Black / Clear Emerald
from 2 Resellers
$59.00
29 likes
Black / White / Bright Crimson / University Red
Black / White / Bright Crimson / University Red
from GOAT
$67.00
37 likes
Black / Blue
Black / Blue
from 3 Resellers
$71.00
28 likes
Smoke Grey / Dark Smoke Grey / Barely Volt / Pure Platinum
Smoke Grey / Dark Smoke Grey / Barely Volt / Pure Platinum
from 2 Resellers
$136.00

Nike KD Trey 5 IX Review

Pros:
Lightweight and minimal
Quality materials for a budget model
Cons:
Traction is not top tier

Performance of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

The 9th iteration of Kevin Durant's budget model is a solid choice for price-conscious basketball players. The traction performs well on clean courts and outdoors, but has some issues when you are playing on a dusty indoor court. The full-length Renew foam cushioning offers solid impact protection and the forefoot Zoom unit adds a little bounce. Materials are surprisingly nice for a budget model, conform to your feet nicely, and provide enough support for all but the most explosive or heavy athletes. For a budget model, the KD Trey 5 IX is a solid performer. It doesn't compete with more expensive signature models, but it's a good pickup if you are looking for a lightweight and minimal basketball shoe.
See all 2 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Rating: 7.9 (ranks #258 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
May 10, 2021
For $90 retail this is a solid pickup. The firm cushioning feels like a downgrade to me, everything else is an upgrade from previous KD Trey 5 models.
 More details
7.8
May 10, 2021
The KD Trey 5 IX is a solid performer. This shoe might be for you if you are looking for a lightweight, minimal, and affordable shoe.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

User Rating: 8.0 (ranks #248 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.4
August 19, 2023
This is shoe is solid if your looking for a budget sneaker. The traction is solid, but would not recommend for outdoors. The cushion is solid but not the best. The support is decent but I did roll my ankle a few times in it. The materials are soft and breathable. The shoe does also fit true to size.
 More details
8.2
December 13, 2021
The shoe is very comfortable and is great for its price. It has Nike Zoom Air in the soles, which is incredibly comfortable when applying pressure. Material feels somewhat thin but is surprisingly very durable. 8.2/10.
 More details
7.8
September 1, 2022
its ok for a first shoe/budget option. Doesnt really lack in anything but doesnt excel in anything either. Really mediocre but when taking into consideration price they are ok.
 More details
6.4
November 12, 2023
I had these shoes for 4 months, and they are destroyed, I play 3 times a week, everytime that I play my feets hurts, if you want to buy them think twice.
 More details
8.8
November 9, 2021
I love the blue KD Trey 5 IX! They go with my basketball uniform and are super comfortable. These shoes have good grip on the court too!
 More details

Traction of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.5 (ranks #271 of 305)
User Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #234 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
8.0
May 10, 2021
The traction is really good on clean courts but you'll need to wipe on dusty courts because dust gets stuck in the traction pattern.
 More details
7.0
May 10, 2021
On clean courts, you get a nice, solid bite. On dustier courts, the traction wasn't as nice. Even wiping a lot I didn't get the performance I wanted.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #216 of 305)
User Cushion Rating: 7.6 (ranks #247 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
9
7 - Average
8
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
0
7.0
May 10, 2021
The full-length Review cushioning feels firmer than previous KD Trey 5 models. The forefoot Zoom unit is barely noticeable.
 More details
9.0
May 10, 2021
The full-length Review cushioning is pretty soft and offers better impact protection than Phylon. The forefoot Zoom unit offers a nice subtle bounce. The cushioning is my favorite part of this shoe.
 More details

Materials of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #200 of 305)
User Materials Rating: 7.7 (ranks #249 of 305)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
2
8.0
May 10, 2021
The upper materials are actually pretty nice considering the budget price.
 More details
8.0
May 10, 2021
The textile materials feel soft, supportive, and conform well to your feet. Considering the budget price, the materials are pretty damn nice!
 More details

Support of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #140 of 305)
User Support Rating: 7.8 (ranks #254 of 305)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
12
7 - Average
6
6 - Subpar
3
5 - Poor
0
9.0
May 10, 2021
The heel counter locked down my feet securely, I didn't experience any side-to-side movement on the footbed, and the wide base offers solid lateral stability.
 More details
8.0
May 10, 2021
Lateral support and containment were good for me, but if you are a big guy these might not be supportive enough.
 More details

Fit of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Fit Rating: 7.5 (ranks #275 of 305)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #167 of 305)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
12
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
1
8.0
May 10, 2021
The upper hugged my feet really nicely and I didn't have any dead space in the toe box.
 More details
7.0
May 10, 2021
The padding in the heel is pretty minimal which led to a little bit of heel slippage for me.
 More details

Durability of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

User Durability Rating: 7.5 (ranks #257 of 305)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
7
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 50.0 (ranks #123 of 305)
User Outdoor Rating: 63.2 (ranks #126 of 305)
Good (100%)
6
Fair (50%)
13
Bad (0%)
1
fair
May 10, 2021
The traction was solid on outdoor courts and the rubber held up pretty well.
 More details

Width of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
3
regular
21
slightly wide
3
very wide
0
slightly narrow
May 10, 2021
The width is slightly narrow like in most KD models.
 More details
regularly wide
May 10, 2021
The width is normal, which is weird for KDs that are usually rather narrow.
 More details

Size of the Nike KD Trey 5 IX:

very small
0
slightly small
1
true to size
20
slightly long
5
very long
1
true to size
May 10, 2021
I went true to size as a slightly wide-footer and had no issues.
 More details
½ size large
May 10, 2021
Runs a little bit long.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: