Search Shoe

Nike Kobe AD Exodus Review

Nike Kobe AD Exodus
Nike Kobe AD Exodus
Nike Kobe AD Exodus
Nike Kobe AD Exodus
8.3
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$139.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
8/2018
Ranking:
Traction
8.2
Cushion
8.4
Materials
7.6
Support
8.3
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
10%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

University Blue / Metallic Silver / White
University Blue / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Amarillo / Court Purple / Black
Amarillo / Court Purple / Black
No stores found
Game Royal / Metallic Silver / White
Game Royal / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Midnight Navy / Metallic Silver / White
Midnight Navy / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
White / Black
White / Black
No stores found
University Red / Metallic Silver / White
University Red / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Black / Metallic Silver / White
Black / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Orange Blaze / Metallic Silver / White
Orange Blaze / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Team Gold / Dark Grey / White
Team Gold / Dark Grey / White
No stores found
Team Red / Metallic Silver / White
Team Red / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Hyper Grape / University Gold / Black
Hyper Grape / University Gold / Black
No stores found
Gorge Green / Metallic Silver / White
Gorge Green / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found
Wolf Grey / Black / White
Wolf Grey / Black / White
No stores found
Black / White
Black / White
No stores found
Black/Multi Color
Black/Multi Color
No stores found
Pacific Blue / Turf Orange / Black
Pacific Blue / Turf Orange / Black
No stores found
Black/Racer Blue
Black/Racer Blue
No stores found
Vast Grey/Cobalt Blaze/Moon Particle
Vast Grey/Cobalt Blaze/Moon Particle
No stores found
Sail / Multi-Color
Sail / Multi-Color
No stores found
Gym Red / Metallic Silver / White
Gym Red / Metallic Silver / White
No stores found

Summary of 9 Expert Reviews:

Pros:

Comfortable cushioning in the heel
Great traction on clean courts

CONS:

Cheap materials
Outsole attracts a lot of dust

Performance of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

Reviewers tend to like the latest release of Kobes AD signature model, but they don't love it. The traction of the Kobe AD Exodus works very well on clean courts but attracts a lot of dust and isn't made for outdoor use. The huge 14mm Nike Zoom Air cushioning in the heel is very comfortable and the Phylon in the forefoot is low-to-the-ground and responsive. Support and lockdown are solid and the materials may look and feel cheap in-hand, but they get the job done! Overall, the Kobe AD Exodus is a very solid performance shoe that is especially recommended for quicker guards.
See all 9 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

The 8.3 average overall rating ranks #90 of 123 shoes overall
8.5
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
It's a great performing shoe, but for a Kobe signature model, the look and in-hand feel of the materials are disappointing.
Watch the video
8.4
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
It doesn't have the latest and greatest tech but this is definitely one of the more fun shoes I played in this year.
8.5
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
October 8, 2018
The latest Nike Kobe A.D. isn't spectacular, but it is an easy recommendation for players whose priorities lean towards light, minimal, and low shoes.
8.4
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
I like everything about this shoe! I just wished they would have taken the cushion from the Kobe AD NXT 360, because then it would have been my shoe of the year!
Watch the video
8.3
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
The Kobe AD Exodus isn't the best Kobe ever, but it does almost everything well on-court and is smooth on foot. Works especially well for quicker "Kyrie-like" guards.
7.1
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
Tech-wise it's not great but performance is solid and it looks good. Overall, we are a little underwhelmed though and the Kobe AD Exodus probably won't make it into our rotation.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
Good traction, good cushioning and the support and lockdown are on point. The materials may look cheap but they perform well. Overall, a very solid hoops shoe!
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
I am having fun in the Kobe AD, but the traction is problematic.
Watch the video
8.2
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
I like the Nike Kobe AD Exodus but I don’t love it. The Exodus is lightweight, low profile, and provides aggressive traction — it’s a shoe built for a fast-paced player that gets up and down the court.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Traction of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

The 8.2 average traction rating ranks #82 of 123 shoes overall
8.5
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
Overall, the traction was pretty good but I did have some slip-ups on a very dusty court. After a quick wipe, you are ready to go again.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
Looks similar as the NXT360 but performs better for me. Feels a little tackier and picks up little dust.
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
October 8, 2018
The translucent rubber provides outstanding traction and required very little wiping.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
The Kobe AD Exodus picks up a lot of dust, but it didn't affect performance at all.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Traction works well on clean courts but on dusty courts, you have to wipe every 4-5 possessions.
6.5
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
It started off really bad but got better with time. The Kobe AD Exodus picks up a lot of dust and is hard to wipe.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The traction is a strong suit of the Kobe AD Exodus and works especially well on clean courts.
Watch the video
6.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
I was slipping all over the place.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
I've had nothing but a positive experience with the traction.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Cushion of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

The 8.4 average cushion rating ranks #73 of 123 shoes overall
8.5
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
The forefoot is low-to-the-ground and responsive with a lot of court feel. The Zoom unit in the heel provides bounciness and impact protection.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
The Zoom Air units in Phylon carrier feels plush, absorbing and springy enough. I think most players will like this setup - I sure did.
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
October 8, 2018
The Phylon forefoot lacks the dynamic response of Air Zoom but provides excellent court feel and a very speedy feel which works perfectly for fast guards. The Air Zoom in the heel provides decent impact protection.
7.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
The stiff Phylon in the forefoot did tire my feet after a while of playing.
Watch the video
9.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Huge 14mm Zoom Air unit in the heel and basic injected Phylon in the forefoot. Not bad, but I would prefer full-length Zoom cushioning.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
The cushioning in the heel feels great. The forefoot has very little cushioning but is therefore very responsive. Overall, the shoe felt high-off-the-ground.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The cushioning is responsive, bouncy and springy - I like it!
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
I liked the bouncier cushioning setup of the Exodus compared to other current Kobe models. I felt very explosive and responsive.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
At $140 I expect better forefoot cushioning than injected Phylon. The heel Zoom Air unit is nice.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Materials of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

The 7.6 average materials rating ranks #110 of 123 shoes overall
8.0
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
The materials used in the Exodus are not up to par with other Kobe models like the AD NXT 360. On-court performance of the materials is solid.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
The materials feel kinda cheap but work fine.
8.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
The synthetic felt-like upper materials looks a little cheap but offered great containment and performance.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
I’ve seen better, but the materials work.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
The materials don't feel premium on-hand or on-feet but perform well.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The materials are not premium but feel good, fit good and get the job done.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
The materials feel a little cheap but perform well.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
The performance wasn't hindered by the materials, but the synthetic felt-like suede upper feels and looks cheap.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Support of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

The 8.3 average support rating ranks #90 of 123 shoes overall
9.0
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
No heel slippage, no slipping on the footbed and no lateral instability.
Watch the video
8.0
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
The support was fine for a Low-cut. Stability is great in the forefoot and just a little unstable and squishy in the heel.
9.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
October 8, 2018
The sculpted collar padding and external heel counter provide the excellent stability we know from the Kobe line.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Not once did I feel insecure in these shoes! No lateral movement, great lockdown, and stable base.
Watch the video
7.0
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Standard heel counter and raised midsole in the heel do an okay job. The missing lateral outrigger and midfoot shank didn't negatively impact stability.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
I didn't feel as stable on lateral cuts as in previous Kobe models.
Watch the video
8.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
The lockdown in the forefoot is absolutely fantastic, the midfoot and heel felt a little slippery out-of-the-box.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
The outsole is flat and the forefoot section is slightly wider to provide stability. Your foot sits within the midsole which acts as a natural outrigger - a setup I love.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Fit of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #79 of 123 shoes overall
8.5
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
Feels like it hugs my feet except for the flimsy and soft toebox.
Watch the video
9.0
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
The fit is great with no heel slip or other movement inside the shoes.
8.0
Zac Dubasik [SoleCollector.com]
October 8, 2018
I am not a fan of the sock-like construction and its lack of adjustability. But the Kobe AD Exodus provides above average fit considering the limitations of this construction.
9.0
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
The lacing system is fire!
Watch the video
9.5
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Lockdown is complete and total.
7.0
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
The fit was kind of weird. Narrow but a little too much space in the toe-box.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
Feels light and comfortable.
Watch the video
9.0
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
The fit is very good overall.
Watch the video
7.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
Lockdown is pretty good but a standard, separate tongue would have made it much easier to customize the fit to your feet.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 10% average outdoor rating ranks #85 of 123 shoes overall
no
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
I would not recommend outdoor use because of the nubs used in the traction pattern.
Watch the video
no
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Do not even think about playing the Kobe AD Exodus outdoors.
Watch the video
no
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Outdoor? Next...
no
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
No outdoor use for these!
Watch the video
fair
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
For what it's worth - after playing in the Kobe AD Exodus for a while, I didn't have any fraying or missing teeth.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Width of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

regularly wide
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
These felt perfectly fine for me as a wide-footer.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
The midfoot is pretty narrow.
slightly narrow
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Wide-footers should try this shoe first because it is a little narrow.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Schnug. Not unbearable-in-true-to-size snug, but a really close, tight fit.
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
The fit is rather narrow.
Watch the video
regularly wide
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The fit is comfortable going true to size.
Watch the video
regularly wide
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
Regularly wide.
Watch the Video|Read the article

Size of the Nike Kobe AD Exodus:

true to size
RicheeKim
October 30, 2018
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Schwollo
October 16, 2018
Go true to size unless you have very wide feet.
½ size large
Another Pair [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
I went true to size but they run a little bit long.
Watch the video
true to size
Duke4005 [weartesters.com]
October 1, 2018
Lengthwise the Kobe AD Exodus runs true to size.
½ size large
The Sole Brothers
September 26, 2018
I experienced a good amount of toe-space.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
September 26, 2018
The Kobe AD Exodus runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
JAHRONMON [Youtube]
September 26, 2018
True to size is absolutely fantastic.
Watch the video
½ size large
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
September 26, 2018
I initially wished I had gone down half size in the Kobe AD, and I still feel like I could have.
Watch the Video|Read the article