Nike Kobe Protro 8

Released 6/2024, Low Top, Kobe Bryant, 
Add to Favourites
8.2
EXPERT RATING
4 reviews
8.8
USER RATING
2 ratings
The Kobe 8 Protro is a solid performer featuring impressive traction.

Best Suitable For:

The shoe is best for quicker guards looking for an excellent court feel.

Price Comparison:

Available at 2 shops | Official Retail Price: $189.99
StockX
from $119.00
KicksCrew
from $148.00

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (4)
User Ratings (2)
Traction
9.3
Cushion
7.3
Materials
7.9
Support
8.5
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
13%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Kobe Protro 8
Nike Kobe Protro 8
Under Armour Curry 10
Under Armour Curry 10
New Balance TWO WXY V3
New Balance TWO WXY V3
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike LeBron NXXT Gen
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Nike Kyrie Low 5
Jordan One Take 4
Jordan One Take 4
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.28.8(0.6)8.7(0.5)8.7(0.5)8.3(0.1)8.1(0.1)
User Rating8.89.0(0.2)9.1(0.3)9.0(0.2)8.7(0.1)8.4(0.4)
Best Price$189.99
$106.99
$160
$119.99
$60.97
$160
$79.99
$110
$99.99
Type of CutLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow TopLow Top
WeightNA350g - 360g350g - 360g350g - 360g330g - 350g310g - 330g
 Show More
18 likes
White / White / White
White / White / White
from 2 Resellers
$119.00
18 likes
White / Court Purple / White
White / Court Purple / White
from 2 Resellers
$148.00
13 likes
White / Radiant Emerald / White
White / Radiant Emerald / White
from 2 Resellers
$172.00
29 likes
White / Metallic Gold / Black
White / Metallic Gold / Black
from 2 Resellers
$220.00
18 likes
 Stadium Grey / Metallic Silver / Tour Yellow
Stadium Grey / Metallic Silver / Tour Yellow
No stores found

Nike Kobe Protro 8 Review

Pros:
Outstanding traction performance
Impressive lockdown
Cons:
Not a lot of impact protection
Narrow fit causes some pinching

Performance of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

The Nike Kobe 8 Protro is the latest in Nike's performance retro lineup. The shoe features an incredible traction setup. The bite and grip are impressive, especially on cleaner courts. Cushioning is a drop-in React midsole. The foam is softer than Lunarlon and leans toward offering more court feel. The impact protection could be better. The materials are nothing special. The shoe is light, breathable, and durable. Support and lockdown weren't an issue for most reviewers. The shoe has an excellent heel counter. The fit is tricky because the width is very narrow. Players with wide feet should try the shoe on beforehand if possible. The Nike Kobe 8 Protro is a solid performer. The shoe is lightweight with excellent traction.
See all 4 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Rating: 8.2 (ranks #205 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.6
June 14, 2024
The Nike Kobe 8 Protro is a responsive shoe. I feel quick because of the top-tier traction and support. I wish Nike upgraded the cushioning more.
 More details
8.6
Monday at 12:53 AM
The Nike Kobe 8 Protro is a lightweight, minimal shoe. The traction performs very well, but the cushioning is not geared for impact protection. The shoe is better suited for shifty guards.
 More details
8.1
June 14, 2024
I'm not impressed by the improvements to the Nike Kobe 8 Protro. The cushioning could be better, but the traction and support are outstanding.
 More details
7.6
June 14, 2024
The Nike Kobe 8 Protro allows a lot of movement freedom and contortion. Lighter players who don't require impact protection will get the most out of this shoe.
 More details
Quiz
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

User Rating: 8.8 (ranks #103 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.8
June 26, 2024
Really good option just pick thick socks which are not to wide because the insole will stick to it like glue
 More details
8.8
July 11, 2024
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Traction Rating: 9.3 (ranks #35 of 311)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #99 of 311)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
June 14, 2024
The traction performance is freaking amazing. The stop and the bite are incredible on clean courts, and I wasn't affected by dust.
 More details
10.0
Monday at 12:53 AM
The traction works very well. The rubber is sticky almost instantaneously.
 More details
9.0
June 14, 2024
The traction performance is fantastic on clean courts. You'll have to wipe on dirty courts, but the performance holds up well.
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2024
The traction performs well after the rubber gets warm.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Cushion Rating: 7.3 (ranks #280 of 311)
User Cushion Rating: 8.5 (ranks #144 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
June 14, 2024
I prefer more springiness. The React foam feels softer than the older Lunarlon setup. Impact protection isn't the best. I love the court feel, though.
 More details
7.0
Monday at 12:53 AM
The React drop-in midsole feels firm. It doesn't offer much impact protection and feels minimal.
 More details
7.0
June 14, 2024
The cushioning is somewhat of a letdown. The React drop-in is thin, especially under the forefoot. It offers an impressive court feel, but I would like more cushioning.
 More details
7.0
June 14, 2024
The React midsole feels light and feathery but also flimsy.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Materials Rating: 7.9 (ranks #229 of 311)
User Materials Rating: 8.0 (ranks #194 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
June 14, 2024
The materials are thin but comfortable.
 More details
8.0
Monday at 12:53 AM
The materials feel stiff, but feel better after a break-in period. It gets the job done afterwards.
 More details
7.5
June 14, 2024
The synthetic materials are nothing special. I like that the mesh is breathable and durable.
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2024
The upper was not as breathable as expected. However, the heat retention is not affected. I like how the upper moulds to my feet, though.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #131 of 311)
User Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #171 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
June 14, 2024
I had zero issues with the support and lockdown. I would've felt better with more of a sidewall, but that's a personal preference.
 More details
9.0
Monday at 12:53 AM
The support feels good, especially the heel counter. It caters well to fast, shifty guards.
 More details
9.0
June 14, 2024
The support is one of the standout features. All positions can benefit from the lockdown and security of the Kobe 8.
 More details
7.0
June 14, 2024
I love the external heel counter for stability. Heel slippage is non-existent. The lack of rails on the drop-in midsole can cause your foot to roll over.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #132 of 311)
User Fit Rating: 8.5 (ranks #160 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
June 14, 2024
The width is narrow, but the length is roomy. I felt alright with the fit.
 More details
9.0
Monday at 12:53 AM
True to size feels good to me. It fits close to perfect.
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2024
I experienced some pinching near the outrigger. It makes the shoe feel narrow before breaking in. The toe box is fairly roomy, too.
 More details
8.0
June 14, 2024
The fit is slightly short and narrow.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

User Durability Rating: 7.5 (ranks #259 of 311)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 12.5 (ranks #235 of 311)
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
3
no
June 14, 2024
The rubber on this shoe is not a good option for outdoors.
 More details
no
Monday at 12:53 AM
The rubber is firm and rigid, but I wouldn't recommend taking these shoes outdoors.
 More details
no
June 14, 2024
I don't think I would take this pair outdoors.
 More details
fair
June 14, 2024
My version has a solid rubber outsole. It can perform decently outdoors.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

very narrow
2
slightly narrow
3
regular
1
slightly wide
0
very wide
0
very narrow
June 14, 2024
The shoe is quite narrow.
 More details
regularly wide
Monday at 12:53 AM
I like the width. It's not too narrow.
 More details
very narrow
June 14, 2024
The fit is extremely narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
June 14, 2024
The shoe feels narrow. 2E feet can go up 1 size.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kobe Protro 8:

very small
0
slightly small
3
true to size
3
slightly long
0
very long
0
½ size small
June 14, 2024
I went up half a size.
 More details
true to size
Monday at 12:53 AM
I would stay true to size.
 More details
½ size small
June 14, 2024
Go up half a size if you have a wide foot.
 More details
true to size
June 14, 2024
Narrow and medium feet can go true to size.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: