Search Shoe
Nike Kybrid S2
Nike Kybrid S2
Nike Kybrid S2
Nike Kybrid S2

Nike Kybrid S2 Review

Add to Favourites
8.7
A mashup of the Kyrie 4, 5, and 6 that uses some of the best aspects of each.
based on 2 expert reviews

Best Suitable For:

Great for guards and smaller wings who are quick on their feet.

Category Performance Ratings:

Traction
8.0
Cushion
7.5
Materials
8.0
Support
9.0
Fit
9.0
Outdoor
NA

Facts & Figures:

Type:
Mid Top
Release Date:
9/2020
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Colorways of Nike Kybrid S2:

25 likes
Cargo Khaki / University Gold / Veranda / Light Marine
Cargo Khaki / University Gold / Veranda / Light Marine
from Nike
$105.97
$140
25 likes
Blue Void / White / White
Blue Void / White / White
from Nike
$119.97
$140
33 likes
Fossil Stone / Glacier Ice / Fossil Stone
Fossil Stone / Glacier Ice / Fossil Stone
from Nike
$126.97
$140
48 likes
Black / Atomic Pink / Black
Black / Atomic Pink / Black
from Nike
$140.00
32 likes
Vast Grey / Sail / Volt / Black
Vast Grey / Sail / Volt / Black
from Nike
$140.00
89 likes
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from Nike
$140.00

Summary of 2 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Very supportive
Comfortable 1:1 fit
Cons:
Inconsistent traction on dust
No forefoot Zoom Air

Performance of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The Kybrid S2 is a hybrid model taking parts of the Kyrie 4, 5, and 6 to try to create the ultimate Kyrie signature sneaker. The traction is taken from the Kyrie 4, but unfortunately, it's pretty inconsistent on dust and requires consistent wiping. The cushion setup is also from the Kyrie 4 and provides a responsive and low to the ground cushioning. The Kybrid S2 uses a Zoom Air unit in the heel but reviewers agree that it would have been better positioned in the forefoot. The materials are a mix from the Kyrie 5 and 6 - they perform well and feel comfortable, but don't offer a lot of ventilation. The fit is similar to the rest of the Kyrie line and fit true to size. Wide footers should go up half a size. The support is the high point of the shoe and the combination of the flytrap lacing system and the most recent Kyrie heel counter provide great support. Overall, this combination of the Kyrie 4, 5, and 6 is not a gimmick but a great performance basketball shoe!
See all 2 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The 8.7 average overall rating ranks #40 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
The Kybrid S2 is a well-performing hoop shoe. I liked the combination of the Kyrie 4, 5, and 6! The cushion and the traction could have been a little better though.
Watch the video
8.4
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
The Kyrie Kybrid S2 is a great performing shoe besides the traction. I wish they used the traction and cushion setups from the Kyrie 5 or 6 because I think those were better. I would recommend these if you play on mostly clean courts.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The 8.0 average traction rating ranks #106 of 153 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
The Kybrid S2 reuses the outsole from the Kyrie 4 and the performance of the traction is pretty inconsistent. On clean courts, they did well, but on mild dust or worse I had to do some wiping.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
The traction pattern taken from the Kyrie 4 works well on clean courts. On dusty courts, I had to wipe a decent amount and the traction was inconsistent.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The 7.5 average cushion rating ranks #129 of 153 shoes overall
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
Zoom Air in the heel and none in the forefoot was slightly disappointing. The cushion is quite responsive and you are low to the ground which is nice.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
This nice cushion setup is recycled from the Kyrie 4. I wish that the Zoom Air unit was in the forefoot instead of the heel, but overall the cushion performed well and was comfortable.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #101 of 153 shoes overall
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
The combination of materials from the 5 and 6 is pretty solid. In terms of feel and comfort these are nice, but be aware that there is no ventilation.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
The engineered mesh material from the Kyrie 5 used here is sturdy and feels nice on foot. Performance wise they got the job done just fine.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The 9.0 average support rating ranks #19 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
The Venus flytrap overlay did a way better job locking my foot down than the strap from the Kyrie 6. The heel counter on the back worked great and overall these had great support.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
As expected, the support is great in the Kybrid S2. I had no lateral stability or containment issues and felt locked in by the flytrap.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Kybrid S2:

The 9.0 average fit rating ranks #14 of 153 shoes overall
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
The fit was really good and the shroud wrapped around my foot well. I got a good snug fit and comfort was solid.
Watch the video
9.0
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
The fit is similar to the rest of the Kyrie and everything felt really nice and snug once I was laced up.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

No opinions on outdoor use found

Width of the Nike Kybrid S2:

slightly narrow
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
As a slightly wide footer I went up half a size.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Kybrid S2:

true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 17, 2020
These run true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
October 17, 2020
I'd go true to size if you don't have wide feet.
Watch the video

Share this article:

Sharing is caring:
Cargo Khaki / University Gold / Veranda / Light Marine
Cargo Khaki / University Gold / Veranda / Light Marine
from Nike
$105.97
$140
Blue Void / White / White
Blue Void / White / White
from Nike
$119.97
$140
Fossil Stone / Glacier Ice / Fossil Stone
Fossil Stone / Glacier Ice / Fossil Stone
from Nike
$126.97
$140
Black / Atomic Pink / Black
Black / Atomic Pink / Black
from Nike
$140.00
Vast Grey / Sail / Volt / Black
Vast Grey / Sail / Volt / Black
from Nike
$140.00
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
Multi-Color / Multi-Color
from Nike
$140.00
Cargo Khaki / University Gold / Veranda / Light Marine
$105.97
on Nike

Nike Kybrid S2 Performance Review