Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Kyrie Flytrap

Released 3/2018, Mid Top, Kyrie Irving, 
Add to Favourites
7.3
EXPERT RATING
5 reviews
7.7
USER RATING
6 ratings
The most affordable Kyrie model of all time

Best Suitable For:

Works well for wide-footers or if you are looking for a cheap outdoors shoe

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $79.99
StockX
from $133.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.3
Cushion
6.8
Materials
8.3
Support
6.8
Fit
6.5
Outdoor
100%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
NA
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
16 likes
Black / White / Volt
Black / White / Volt
from StockX
$133.00
23 likes
Black/Thunder Grey-Gunsmoke
Black/Thunder Grey-Gunsmoke
from StockX
$146.00
26 likes
University Red / Metallic Gold / Black
University Red / Metallic Gold / Black
from StockX
$298.00
14 likes
White / University Red / Deep Royal Blue
White / University Red / Deep Royal Blue
No stores found
14 likes
White / Metallic Silver / Wolf Grey
White / Metallic Silver / Wolf Grey
No stores found
11 likes
Anthracite / Black / White / Green
Anthracite / Black / White / Green
No stores found
15 likes
White / Black / University Red / Cool Grey
White / Black / University Red / Cool Grey
No stores found
21 likes
Black / Red Orbit
Black / Red Orbit
No stores found

Nike Kyrie Flytrap Review

Pros:
Good traction
Works well outdoors
Cons:
The fit is very weird
Little impact protection

Performance of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

At an incredible retail price of only $80, the "Flytrap" is Kyries most affordable basketball shoe so far. But does it perform like a true signature model? Reviewers agree that the traction is by far the best aspect of this shoe. One reviewer even suggests that the Kyrie 4 should use the outer sole of this budget model. Unfortunately, the cost-cutting is very obvious in the setup of the cushioning which comes with a tiny Zoom bag and thin Phylon insole. Other performance aspects of the Kyrie Flytrap are very basic but mostly get their jobs done. Most reviewers would rather spend $40 more and go for the Kyrie 4, but the Flytrap might work well for wide-footers or if you are looking for a cheap outdoors shoe.
See all 5 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Rating: 7.3 (ranks #200 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.2
March 25, 2018
This is by far the cheapest signature model on the market but it's still a very good performer. We enjoyed it a lot!
 More details
Considering that the Kyrie Flytrap is a budget model it gets the job done, but it's nothing spectacular. Save some extra money and get the Kyrie 4.
 More details
Not a bad shoe for $80, but I would opt for discounted Kyrie 4s — unless you happen to have a wide foot.
 More details
I can't recommend the Kyrie Flytrap from a performance standpoint. The Flytrap feels so cheap that it doesn’t even feel like it was made by Nike.
 More details
Is it worth your $80 bucks? I don’t think so.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

User Rating: 7.7 (ranks #165 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
7.8
February 22, 2022
Great for wide footers and this is the only shoe that the traction got worse each time i played in it.
 More details
7.4
April 26, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.8
November 29, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.0
March 30, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.6
January 20, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.3 (ranks #129 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 8.0 (ranks #153 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
6
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 25, 2018
Awesome stopping power and dust wasn't a big problem because of the wide traction pattern.
 More details
The traction is very good on lateral moves, but I had problems with the straight-line stopping power.
 More details
Works well on well-maintained courts, but I had problems on old and dusty courts.
 More details
The traction is the best aspect of the Kyrie Flytrap and comes very close to the original Kyrie 4.
 More details
The traction on the Kyrie Flytrap is excellent
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Cushion Rating: 6.8 (ranks #198 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 7.0 (ranks #162 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
0
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
7
6 - Subpar
2
5 - Poor
0
7.0
March 25, 2018
The Phylon cushioning isn't great but a lot softer than the extremely hard cushioning of the Kyrie 2 and 3.
 More details
The cushion in the Nike Kyrie Flytrap is about as minimal as it gets.
 More details
The Zoom bag found here is comically small and provides very little impact protection. The wafer-thin Phylon insole doesn't help much either.
 More details
The Phylon cushion setup isn't horrible.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.3 (ranks #101 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 7.2 (ranks #164 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
4
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
March 25, 2018
The material is super thin, very comfortable, and doesn't require any break-in period.
 More details
The basic materials feel light and comfortable and get the job done.
 More details
I was pleasantly surprised by the thin woven material used on the upper material.
 More details
The mesh-like knit provides a lot of support and containment.
 More details

Support of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Support Rating: 6.8 (ranks #199 of 205)
User Support Rating: 8.3 (ranks #130 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
1
8.0
March 25, 2018
There were no issues with support, lockdown, and stability.
 More details
I am not a big fan of the burrito style tongue, but lockdown and support are still decent.
 More details
The support in the shoe is adequate overall.
 More details
The Flytrap’s ankle support isn’t necessarily bad, just not very comfortable or confidence-inspiring.
 More details
The support was slightly below OK.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Fit Rating: 6.5 (ranks #203 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 7.5 (ranks #162 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
2
8.0
March 25, 2018
The fit of this shoe was off in our regular sizes. Think about going down at least half a size.
 More details
The fit didn't work very well for me because of my narrow feet.
 More details
I had to wear a second pair of socks to fill the dead space in the forefoot.
 More details
Everything about the fit for me was weird.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

User Durability Rating: 8.4 (ranks #111 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 100.0 (ranks #31 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: 90.0 (ranks #30 of 205)
Good (100%)
7
Fair (50%)
1
Bad (0%)
0
good
March 25, 2018
The rubber is pretty hard and should be very good outdoors!
 More details
good
I like these shoes better outdoors than indoors.
 More details
I should note that taking the Kyrie Flytrap outdoors was awesome as it gripped the blacktop nicely.
 More details

Width of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
1
regular
3
slightly wide
3
very wide
2
slightly wide
March 25, 2018
A lot of toe-space.
 More details
slightly wide
There is a lot of dead space in the toe box.
 More details
very wide
It feels like the shoe was made for wide footers.
 More details
slightly wide
A lot of dead space in the toebox.
 More details

Size of the Nike Kyrie Flytrap:

very small
1
slightly small
0
true to size
4
slightly long
2
very long
1
runs large
March 25, 2018
Go down half a size- these are stupid long.
 More details
true to size
True to size lengthwise.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: