Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike Lebron 17

Released 10/2019, High Top, Lebron James, 
Add to Favourites
8.7
EXPERT RATING
6 reviews
8.4
USER RATING
12 ratings
The huge Max Air unit in the heel and 2 Zoom Air units in the forefoot provide crazy cushioning

Best Suitable For:

Top choice if you are looking for a comfortable, supportive shoe with a ton of impact protection

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $199.99
StockX
from $101.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings (6)
User Ratings (12)
Traction
7.8
Cushion
9.5
Materials
9.1
Support
8.5
Fit
8.4
Outdoor
25%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide

Comparison to Similar Shoes:

Nike Lebron 17
Nike Lebron 17
Nike Air Zoom GT Jump
Nike Air Zoom GT Jump
Air Jordan 36
Air Jordan 36
Nike Lebron 19
Nike Lebron 19
Nike Lebron 18
Nike Lebron 18
Nike Kyrie 8
Nike Kyrie 8
Add shoe
Expert Rating8.78.8(0.1)9.1(0.4)8.3(0.4)8.2(0.5)8.5(0.2)
User Rating8.49.0(0.6)9.3(0.9)8.0(0.4)8.8(0.4)9.0(0.6)
Best Price$199.99
$80.96
$180
$185
$93.47
$200
$119.97
$200
$60
$140
Type of CutHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh TopHigh Top
Weight480g - 500g460g - 480g370g - 390g550g - 570g490g - 510g370g - 390g
 Show More
91 likes
University Red / Black / White
University Red / Black / White
from StockX
$101.00
81 likes
Black/White/Black
Black/White/Black
from StockX
$111.00
102 likes
Desert Sand/Cedar/Metallic Gold
Desert Sand/Cedar/Metallic Gold
from StockX
$113.00
114 likes
Racer Blue/ Black / White
Racer Blue/ Black / White
from StockX
$114.00
135 likes
Black / University Red / White
Black / University Red / White
from StockX
$122.00
58 likes
University Red / University Red / White
University Red / University Red / White
from StockX
$122.00
117 likes
Navy Heather / Multi-Color / Black
Navy Heather / Multi-Color / Black
from StockX
$124.00
84 likes
White / Black / University Red
White / Black / University Red
from StockX
$126.00
90 likes
Black / Multi-Color / Black
Black / Multi-Color / Black
from StockX
$130.00
108 likes
Black / Eggplant / Amarillo / White
Black / Eggplant / Amarillo / White
from StockX
$139.00
90 likes
Green Slate Heather / Neptune Green / Black
Green Slate Heather / Neptune Green / Black
from StockX
$150.00
81 likes
College Navy / Game Royal / White
College Navy / Game Royal / White
from StockX
$150.00
64 likes
Midnight Navy / White / Varsity Crimson
Midnight Navy / White / Varsity Crimson
from StockX
$155.00
96 likes
University Red/Bright Crimson/Team Red/University Red
University Red/Bright Crimson/Team Red/University Red
from StockX
$174.00
104 likes
Black/Black
Black/Black
from StockX
$184.00
160 likes
White / Multi-Color / Black
White / Multi-Color / Black
from StockX
$191.00
159 likes
White / Tech Grey / Quasar Purple
White / Tech Grey / Quasar Purple
from StockX
$269.00
90 likes
Court Purple / Court-Purple
Court Purple / Court-Purple
from StockX
$325.00
46 likes
White / Black / Black / Metallic Silver
White / Black / Black / Metallic Silver
No stores found

Nike Lebron 17 Review

Pros:
Insanely comfortable cushioning
Premium upper materials
Cons:
Steep $200 retail price
Heavy

Performance of the Nike Lebron 17:

The Lebron 17 is one of the most expensive basketball shoes on the market, does it justify it's $200 retail price? Reviewers' opinions on the traction were split: the Solebrother called it "god-levels" especially on a translucent rubber pair while Nightwing2303 didn't like the white solid rubber, even on clean courts. The cushioning, however, was loved by everyone. A huge Max Air unit in the heel is combined with Zoom in the forefoot and they provide a ton of impact protection and bounce. The new Knitposite upper material is thick, soft and comfortable - but it gets pretty hot after a while. Overall, the Lebron 17 is a great performer, especially you are a heavier player looking for a comfortable and supportive shoe.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Rating: 8.7 (ranks #64 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 6, 2019
The Lebron 17 is an awesome shoe! Strongly recommended if you are looking for the best cushioning setup available and you can afford the steep $200 retail price.
 More details
If it wasn't for the inconsistent traction I would have really enjoyed the Lebron 17. I liked everything, loved some things, but disliked the traction.
 More details
8.8
May 7, 2021
The Nike LeBron 17 are very fun to play in. The combination of the traction and cushion was beastly. It is an impressive shoe 17 models into the LeBron signature lineup.
 More details
8.8
October 13, 2019
The Lebron 17 is a great shoe - one of our favorite Lebrons. Insane impact protection, incredible traction - there's really nothing to complain about.
 More details
8.8
November 6, 2019
This might be the best shoe in the Lebron series!
 More details
7.6
March 18, 2020
The Lebron 17's just aren't going to be for everyone. How high you sit off of the ground is really jarring, but over time I did start to appreciate the Knitposite upper and the cushioning system that is pretty explosive. The Lebron 17 features the largest Air unit ever to be in a basketball sneaker, so if that caters to your playing styles I'd say check these out.
 More details
It's Quiz Time!
Answer 6 easy questions and find
your perfect basketball shoes!
Let's Get Started!

User Reviews of the Nike Lebron 17:

User Rating: 8.4 (ranks #155 of 233)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.2
August 10, 2022
This shoe performs great on an indoor court and has superb cushioning and a great fit which allows for an extremely comfortable experience. If used exclusively on an indoor court there will be minimal wear, however, if used on an outdoor court for extended periods of time the sole will start to decay.I recommend this shoe for any larger players due to the size and weight of it and probably advise smaller players to stay away from it because it may be hard to do complicated and fast paced handles
 More details
8.3
January 14, 2022
The Nike LeBron 17 is a solid shoe for forwards and bigs. It fits best for big post players. The traction is solid with a bit of slippage. The cushion was great, with good bounce and impact protection. The support was good, but I would constantly roll my ankle due to the lack of an outrigger and because of the high footbed. My foot would also slide out of the footbed. Ankle support was great, but my ankle was bothered at times. The material wasn’t too breathable but the quality was great!
 More details
7.7
January 16, 2022
The traction was average and not durable at all! The cushion was probably the best part of the shoe, however I felt a little unstable on the huge air unit in the heel… I liked the materials and they are quality and all, but they were very heavy and played hot… Overall, as a guard I did not like the Lebron 17, but I could see how a post might like them…
 More details
8.8
July 13, 2022
Yes, it is a heavy shoe for wings/center/heavy players, absolutely not for guards. If you play more like James Harden/Doncic/Lebron, this is the top pick for sure. Since this is the most securely locked-in and stable shoe I ever had before.
 More details
9.2
December 13, 2021
The shoe is very comfortable and is expensive but very good. It boasts special tech like a massive airsole, giving a bit of a cushion as you fall. Material feels incredibly premium and is very durable. 9.2/10.
 More details

Traction of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Traction Rating: 7.8 (ranks #191 of 233)
User Traction Rating: 7.9 (ranks #181 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
3
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
October 6, 2019
On clean courts, I didn't have any issues. On dusty courts, you will need to wipe from time to time. Overall, I was really happy with the traction.
 More details
No matter the court, I just could never get any reliable coverage.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
Performance-wise, the traction was grippy. It doesn't pick up must dust either. I had no issues with the traction.
 More details
10.0
October 13, 2019
The traction on the translucent pair was amazing from the getgo. The black solid rubber didn't perform as well. Dust pickup is minimal and the durability of the rubber should be good.
 More details
8.0
November 6, 2019
The traction didn't blow me away but it did its job.
 More details
6.0
March 18, 2020
The outsole for the Lebron 17 is a recipe for disaster because the traction pattern is tight, compact, and flat. I was surprised initially that the traction was really responsive, but over time the traction proved that it couldn't keep up. I had multiple instances where I was slipping and sliding no matter how many times I wiped.
 More details

Cushion of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Cushion Rating: 9.5 (ranks #21 of 233)
User Cushion Rating: 9.1 (ranks #60 of 233)
10 - Amazing
6
9 - Great
10
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
October 6, 2019
The Lebron 17 has so much cushioning - it's crazy. Heel-to-toe transition is surprisingly good!
 More details
You literally feel as if you’re running around on Air. Maybe the best impact protection ever but court feel is non-existent.
 More details
10.0
May 7, 2021
Two Zoom pods in the forefoot and an Air Max bubble in the rear, I was really impressed with the cushion in the LeBron 17. It's one of the softest and plush setups on the market.
 More details
9.0
October 13, 2019
Even though Air Max isn't our favorite setup, the cushioning of the Lebron 17 is really nice. Impact protection is great, there's a good amount of bounce, but the court feel is lacking.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
The huge Air Max unit in the heel and the two Zoom units in the forefoot provide crazy impact protection.
 More details
9.0
March 18, 2020
The large Air Max unit in the heel couples with forefoot Max Zoom Air is a very explosive setup that is the definition of maximum cushioning. If court feel is what you're looking for these aren't gonna be it, but if you wanna have a little extra pep in your step with maximum impact protection it doesn't get any better.
 More details

Materials of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Materials Rating: 9.1 (ranks #7 of 233)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #86 of 233)
10 - Amazing
5
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
8
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
10.0
October 6, 2019
The knit upper materials are extremely nice! They feel really comfortable and provide a ton of containment.
 More details
The Knitposite upper materials have that nice broken-in feeling fresh out the box while still offering great containment and support.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
The Battleknit upper really works. It feels very supportive and comfortable.
 More details
9.0
October 13, 2019
The materials are top-notch, really thick, and comfortable. Ventilation is non-existent, you are going to sweat in these!
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
Knitposite material is really strong and supportive, unfortunately it's also really hot.
 More details
8.0
March 18, 2020
The materials on the Lebron 17 are balanced and work well. The mid foot and the heel have Knitposite which is basically glue over a knitted material that does a fantastic job at adding more support and rigidity. The forefoot doesn't have Knitposite and is much more soft.
 More details

Support of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Support Rating: 8.5 (ranks #115 of 233)
User Support Rating: 7.8 (ranks #187 of 233)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
3
6 - Subpar
4
5 - Poor
0
9.0
October 6, 2019
No heel slippage, no side-to-side movement on the footbed, and the outriggers in the forefoot and heel provide more stability on lateral cuts than previous Lebron models.
 More details
The LeBron 17 shows that maximum cushion setups can also offer stability and support.
 More details
9.0
May 7, 2021
The upper does an excellent job of providing support for your foot, even though LeBrons are known for being high off the ground.
 More details
8.0
October 13, 2019
No issues with lateral containment or heel slippage. Since the cushioning is really high, I felt a little unstable on lateral movements.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
The extended outrigger gives you lateral stability, the TPU barrier prevents side-to-side movements, and the heel counter keeps your feet locked down.
 More details
7.0
March 18, 2020
I didn't personally run into any major issues with the support system, but one thing is that it feels like you will roll your ankle in these. Nike put the largest Air unit to ever be in a basketball sneaker in the Lebron 17, so your foot is extremely high off the ground. The lateral outrigger and upper did a decent job from keeping my foot from sliding off of the footbed though.
 More details

Fit of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.4 (ranks #111 of 233)
User Fit Rating: 8.3 (ranks #151 of 233)
10 - Amazing
2
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
7
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
October 6, 2019
There's a little bit of dead space in the toe box, other than that, the fit is really nice.
 More details
For my feet, the fit and lockdown were fantastic.
 More details
8.0
May 7, 2021
Since there isn't much stretch in the shoe after breaking in, I went down half a size to get more support from the upper hugging my foot.
 More details
8.0
October 13, 2019
The fit was rather roomy and I would have liked a little less space in the toe box. The lacing system is really annoying.
 More details
9.0
November 6, 2019
The materials conform to your feet nicely and the lacing system works perfectly.
 More details
8.0
March 18, 2020
The fit is pretty solid - the mid foot is great, the forefoot is awesome, and the heel lockdown is fantastic. I do have a problem with lacing system though because Nike used a huge overlay on the tongue that makes the laces go underneath it, so it was really hard to adjust.
 More details

Durability of the Nike Lebron 17:

User Durability Rating: 7.8 (ranks #187 of 233)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
5
8 - Good
1
7 - Average
2
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
2

Outdoor of the Nike Lebron 17:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 25.0 (ranks #147 of 233)
User Outdoor Rating: 28.6 (ranks #165 of 233)
Good (100%)
1
Fair (50%)
3
Bad (0%)
5
fair
October 13, 2019
Playing outdoors should be fine.
 More details
no
November 6, 2019
This shoe should not be played outdoors as the rubber will not last very long.
 More details

Width of the Nike Lebron 17:

very narrow
0
slightly narrow
0
regular
7
slightly wide
8
very wide
0
slightly wide
October 6, 2019
The fit is a little bit on the snug side. I'm a slightly wide footer and going true to size worked for me.
 More details
slightly wide
October 13, 2019
The fit is wide-foot-friendly.
 More details
regularly wide
November 6, 2019
The width of the shoe is regular and should fit everybody.
 More details

Size of the Nike Lebron 17:

very small
0
slightly small
2
true to size
11
slightly long
4
very long
0
true to size
October 6, 2019
Runs true to size.
 More details
½ size small
The shoe does run a little short.
 More details
true to size
October 13, 2019
Go true to size.
 More details
true to size
November 6, 2019
True to size.
 More details
true to size
March 18, 2020
I recommend you go true to size on the Lebron 17.
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: