Search Shoe

Nike Lebron 18 Review

Nike Lebron 18
Nike Lebron 18
Nike Lebron 18
Nike Lebron 18
7 Shops from $199.99
8.3
Overall Rating:
8.3
based on 
3 expert reviews
LeBron's 18th signature shoe has one of the best cushion setups available.
Great for big guys who like soft and comfortable cushioning.
Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$199.99
Type:
High Top
Release Date:
10/2020
Traction
8.3
Cushion
10.0
Materials
8.0
Support
7.0
Fit
8.3
Outdoor
50%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike Lebron 18:

27 likes
Black / Multi-Color / White
Black / Multi-Color / White
in 8 shops
$199.99
24 likes
Black / Court Purple / White / Metallic Gold
Black / Court Purple / White / Metallic Gold
in 6 shops
$199.99
6 likes
Pink Prime / Multi / Blue
Pink Prime / Multi / Blue
in 7 shops
$200.00
18 likes
Light Cream / Game Royal / Spiral Sage / Pink Glow
Light Cream / Game Royal / Spiral Sage / Pink Glow
from Nike
$200.00

Summary of 3 Expert Reviews:

Pros:
Outstanding cushion
Premium materials
Cons:
Poor lateral stability and containment
Uncomfortable tongue

Performance of the Nike Lebron 18:

The traction of the Lebron 18 is good on clean courts, but inconsistent on dusty courts. The rubber of the outsole is durable enough for outdoor use. The cushion is one of the best setups you can buy today! The combination of full-length Zoom Air, Cushlon, and Max Air offers top of the line comfort with solid responsiveness. The $200 retail price is justified by materials that feel premium and durable, but some reviewers had issues with the tongue rubbing at the top of the foot. The Lebron 18 fits true to size, but the Batleknit materials take a little to break-in. The support is the low point of the shoe as reviewers had issues with lateral stability and containment due to the soft and high-off-the ground outsole. Overall the LeBron 18 is a comfortable shoe that is more suitable for big guys who can take advantage of the cushioning and don't make a lot of hard cuts.
See all 3 reviews

Reviews of the Nike Lebron 18:

The 8.3 average overall rating ranks #104 of 146 shoes overall
8.8
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
This is my favorite LeBron to play in! The only drawbacks are the weight, lateral stability, and court feel. Everything else performed well and I enjoyed playing in it. I'd 100% recommend these.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
Overall for $200 I wouldn't recommend the LeBron 18. The tongue was pretty uncomfortable, the traction wasn't great, and the lateral containment was an issue. Pick these up if you want a crazy cushion setup.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
The LeBron 18 is definitely a big boy shoe. The cushion is by far the best aspect of the shoe and the traction is solid too. The digging of the tongue into my foot and lateral stability were issues though.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike Lebron 18:

The 8.3 average traction rating ranks #84 of 146 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
Playing on an outdoor court, the traction was a little inconsistent. For the most part, I had a nice bite, but on some hard movements I slid out a bit.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
The traction on the LeBron 18 is okay. On clean courts I didn't have any problems, but on dusty courts you might run into some issues.
Watch the video
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
The traction performed above average and worked well most of the time. The only issue I had was some parts of the outsole picked up a lot of dust and caused a bit of slipping.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike Lebron 18:

The 10.0 average cushion rating ranks #2 of 146 shoes overall
10.0
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
The cushion setup is awesome! It's one of my favorite setups that I've tested recently. The combo of Air Max and full-length Zoom Air is insanely comfortably but lacks a little bit of court feel.
Watch the video
10.0
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
The cushion is insane and definitely the best aspect of the shoe. This is the craziest cushion setup I have tested to this day. It is very bouncy and comfortable. You do lose some court feel, but I like it better than the LeBron 17!
Watch the video
10.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
Full-length Zoom Air, Cushlon, and Max Air really make for a nice combination of impact protection and responsiveness. Overall, the cushioning is bonkers!
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike Lebron 18:

The 8.0 average materials rating ranks #96 of 146 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
The knit material is very nice and a bit thinner compared to previous LeBron models. It felt awesome on foot. I wasn't a big fan of the tongue though.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
The Battleknit upper feels very premium and has decent breathability. I had an issue with the tongue digging into my foot and it was not the most comfortable. Air Max in the tongue looks cool, but it's a gimmick and didn't do anything for me.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
The Battleknit is extremely strong and durable, but kind of suffocating. The Air Max in the tongue of the shoe is crazy, but I wasn't a big fan as it dug into the top of my foot and felt terrible.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike Lebron 18:

The 7.0 average support rating ranks #138 of 146 shoes overall
8.0
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
Lateral containment is good and the knit material didn't stretch out that much for me. Lateral stability was decent, but sometimes I felt like I might roll my ankle when the Air Max compressed. The base could be a little wider to provide more stability.
Watch the video
6.0
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
I think the support is the worst thing about the shoe. I had no heel slippage, but lateral containment was lacking. My feet would slide off the footbed on hard moves. They didn't give me the confidence I wanted when I was playing. Everything else was fine.
Watch the video
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
The lacing system is solid and it helped lock down my feet with good lateral containment. The stability is okay, but I did feel wobbly at times. Bigger hoopers shouldn't have issues with this.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike Lebron 18:

The 8.3 average fit rating ranks #87 of 146 shoes overall
9.0
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
The Lebron 18 fits nice and snug in the toe box area and feels great through the rest of the mid foot.
Watch the video
8.0
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
I thought these felt nice on my foot, but the tongue area felt a little bulky. The heel is sculpted well and the fit is good overall.
Watch the video
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
They were a little snug initially, but after breaking them in they fit well. The shoe is extremely comfortable from the bottom down, but the upper was just okay.
Watch the video

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 50% average outdoor rating ranks #55 of 146 shoes overall
no
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
The durability on the outsole isn't great and I wouldn't play in these outdoors.
Watch the video
good
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
The rubber felt durable enough for outdoor use.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike Lebron 18:

slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
These fit slightly narrow for me.
Watch the video
regularly wide
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
I have slightly wide feet and had no issues.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
Wide footers should go a half size up.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike Lebron 18:

true to size
The Sole Brothers
November 2, 2020
True to size fit me very well.
Watch the video
true to size
RicheeKim
October 24, 2020
I would say these run true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
October 9, 2020
Runs true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $199.99:
Black / Multi-Color / White
Black / Multi-Color / White
in 8 shops
$199.99
Black / Court Purple / White / Metallic Gold
Black / Court Purple / White / Metallic Gold
in 6 shops
$199.99
Pink Prime / Multi / Blue
Pink Prime / Multi / Blue
in 7 shops
$200.00
Light Cream / Game Royal / Spiral Sage / Pink Glow
Light Cream / Game Royal / Spiral Sage / Pink Glow
from Nike
$200.00
Black / Multi-Color / White
$199.99
on DICK's

Nike Lebron 18 Performance Review