Search Shoe

Nike PG 3 Review

Facts & Figures:
List Price:
$109.99
Type:
Low Top
Release Date:
2/2019
# of Reviews:
6
Traction
9.1
Cushion
9.0
Materials
8.2
Support
8.7
Fit
8.9
Outdoor
25%
very narrow
very wide
runs small
runs large

Colorways of Nike PG 3:

-25%
White/Black/White
$81.97
from Nike
1 more shops
-25%
Game Royal/White/Game Royal
$81.97
from Nike
1 more shops
-25%
University Red/White/University Red
$81.97
from Nike
1 more shops
-25%
Black/White/Black
$81.97
from Nike
2 more shops
-25%
Wolf Grey/White/Black
$81.97
from Nike
1 more shops
-25%
Midnight Navy/White/Midnight Navy
$81.97
from Nike
-23%
Obsidian/Wolf Grey/Chrome Yellow/Pink Blast
$85.00
from Finishline
-18%
Black/Photo Blue/Total Orange/White
$89.99
from DICK's
1 more shops
-18%
Platinum Tint/Light Current Blue/Lime Blast/Platinum Tint
$89.99
from DICK's
-18%
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
$89.99
from DICK's
-12%
University Red/White/Black/University Red
$96.97
from Nike
Black/Light Aqua/Black
$110.00
from Finishline
Black/Black
Black/Black
No stores found
White/Black/Wolf Grey
White/Black/Wolf Grey
No stores found
Black/Black/White/Laser Fuchsia
Black/Black/White/Laser Fuchsia
No stores found
Multi-Color/Opti Yellow
Multi-Color/Opti Yellow
No stores found
White/Metallic Gold/Midnight Navy
White/Metallic Gold/Midnight Navy
No stores found
Reflect Silver/Reflect Silver
Reflect Silver/Reflect Silver
No stores found

PROS:

  • Great traction
  • Very supportive shoe

CONS:

  • Materials feel cheap in-hand
  • Long break-in period

Summary of 6 Expert Reviews:

Sneaker reviewers like almost everything about the PG3 - except its looks. The "moon crater" traction pattern works very well on all surfaces but might take a little while to break in. The Zoom Air cushioning in the forefoot is responsive and bouncy and the foam in the heel provides decent impact protection. Materials feel a little cheap in-hand, but are comfortable on-foot and absolutely get the job done. Overall, the PG3 is a great performer that will work for a wide array of players and comes at a very fair price of only $110.
See all 6 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike PG 3:

The 8.9 average overall rating ranks #9 of 116 shoes overall
8.6
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
The PG3 gives you everything you want in a low top for a lower-than-average price. I have zero complaints!
8.6
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
Easily the best PG sneaker so far! This is one of my favorite Nike shoes in a long time.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
I hated the PG3 after my first few hours in them. However, I’m glad I stuck with them as by the end of the week I was just excited to lace them up for another few hours of pick-up runs
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
I really like everything about the PG3 except the materials and the looks.
Watch the video
9.2
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
Paul George’s signature sneaker represent him well: these are the perfect shoes for a smooth, two-way player that can get busy when necessary.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
The PG3 performs exceptionally well! I really, really enjoyed playing in these. Definitely one of the best basketball shoes out right now.
Watch the video

Traction of the Nike PG 3:

The 9.1 average traction rating ranks #25 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
Soft rubber, multi-directional coverage, and nice depth allow the traction to do its job.
9.0
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
Wow, did we stick to the court!
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
Traction started out really poor, but now they are super consistent and require almost no wiping.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
The "moon crater" traction pattern has you covered in every direction.
Watch the video
9.5
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
No matter the surface condition, traction had my back!
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
The circle traction pattern is soo nice! On a clean court, you are sticking like glue and even dusty courts are not a big issue.
Watch the video

Cushion of the Nike PG 3:

The 9.0 average cushion rating ranks #27 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
Big forefoot Zoom sits in a slightly softer and bouncier foam carrier.
9.0
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
We got court feel, comfort, response, and durability. And who doesn't like forefoot Zoom?
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
Now that everything is broken-in, the cushioning feels nice, like really nice.
Watch the Video|Read the article
9.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
I love the forefoot Zoom Air cushioning!
Watch the video
9.0
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
The Zoom Air unit in the front is responsive and bouncy, the Phylon in the heel is comfortable enough so I didn't have issues playing for hours.
9.0
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
The softer and lighter foam combined with the forefoot Zoom feels great.
Watch the video

Materials of the Nike PG 3:

The 8.2 average materials rating ranks #78 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
Nike has made the materials a little less premium since the PG 1.
8.0
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
The break-in period was minimal and the materials feel really good.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
Materials may feel cheap depending on the colorway, but the performance is there.
Watch the Video|Read the article
7.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
The mesh material on the upper is pretty rough and feels "plasticky". Overall, the materials feel pretty cheap and are a downgrade compared to previous models.
Watch the video
9.0
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
The materials don't scream "signature sneaker" but they function exactly how I would like them to.
8.0
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
In-hand the material feels super cheap, but on-foot it's really comfortable.
Watch the video

Support of the Nike PG 3:

The 8.7 average support rating ranks #50 of 116 shoes overall
8.0
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
Zero issues overall with support and stability on the PG3.
8.0
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
The support comes from 3 things: internal heel counter, the lockdown of the lacing system and sturdy materials, and the lateral outrigger that provides a lot of stability.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
I would have liked a slightly wider base and an outrigger but I never encountered any issues.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
The forefoot wings, internal heel counter, and ankle collar provide a lot of support and containment.
Watch the video
9.0
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
No rollovers, no heel slip, no negatives in my book.
10.0
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
Support is really good! No problems with lateral containment, or heel slippage.
Watch the video

Fit of the Nike PG 3:

The 8.9 average fit rating ranks #30 of 116 shoes overall
9.0
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
No dead space, no side to side movement, no heel slip right out of the box.
9.0
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
The lacing system works perfectly and lockdown is great.
Watch the video
9.0
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
By night four, the shoe felt like it was made for me but until then, I experienced a lot of pain.
Watch the Video|Read the article
8.0
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
Comfort and fit are solid -no issues here!
Watch the video
9.5
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
After a little break-in time, the fit was near perfect for me.

Is Outdoor Use recommended?

The 25% average outdoor rating ranks #65 of 116 shoes overall
fair
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
I wouldn't recommend the translucent rubber for outdoors, but the solid rubber should be fine!
Watch the video
fair
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
The outsole is pretty durable, so outdoor use should be okay.
Watch the video
no
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
Don’t expect it to last very long outdoors.
no
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
The rubber is pretty hard, but there was some fraying. Outdoor use is not recommended.
Watch the video

Width of the Nike PG 3:

slightly narrow
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
Starts off tight
slightly narrow
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
This shoe is a little snug in the beginning.
Watch the video
slightly narrow
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
The shoe does fit on the snug side.
slightly narrow
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
Slightly narrow, go up half a size if you are a wide-footer.
Watch the video

Size of the Nike PG 3:

true to size
Schwollo
March 19, 2019
Go true to size.
true to size
PureKicks
March 7, 2019
The PG3 fits true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
NightWing2303 [weartesters.com]
February 23, 2019
I tried a half size down, a half size up, but went with true-to-size in the end.
Watch the Video|Read the article
true to size
Nelson Chan @Hoop and Life
February 11, 2019
The PG3 runs true to size.
Watch the video
true to size
Jalique Gabay [weartesters.com]
February 11, 2019
I’m in love with how the PG3 fit me true to size.
true to size
The Sole Brothers
February 1, 2019
Go true to size.
Watch the video
Deals from $81.97:
-25%
White/Black/White
$81.97
from Nike
-25%
Game Royal/White/Game Royal
$81.97
from Nike
-25%
University Red/White/University Red
$81.97
from Nike
-25%
Black/White/Black
$81.97
from Nike
-25%
Wolf Grey/White/Black
$81.97
from Nike
-25%
Midnight Navy/White/Midnight Navy
$81.97
from Nike
-23%
Obsidian/Wolf Grey/Chrome Yellow/Pink Blast
$85.00
from Finishline
-18%
Black/Photo Blue/Total Orange/White
$89.99
from DICK's
-18%
Platinum Tint/Light Current Blue/Lime Blast/Platinum Tint
$89.99
from DICK's
-18%
Multi-Color/Multi-Color
$89.99
from DICK's
-12%
University Red/White/Black/University Red
$96.97
from Nike
Black/Light Aqua/Black
$110.00
from Finishline