Search Shoe
SHOESQUIZPOPULARINFO

Nike PG1

Released 3/2017, Low Top, Paul George, 
Add to Favourites
8.6
EXPERT RATING
10 reviews
8.4
USER RATING
3 ratings
Great-fitting shoe made from high-quality materials

Best Suitable For:

Works best for guards with regular or narrow feet

Price Comparison:

Available at 1 shop | Official Retail Price: $109.99
StockX
from $187.00
Buy Now

Category Performance Ratings:

Expert Ratings
User Ratings
Traction
8.4
Cushion
8.0
Materials
8.9
Support
8.4
Fit
8.6
Outdoor
0%

Weight & Sizing:

Weight:
light
heavy
Sizing:
small
large
Width:
narrow
wide
18 likes
Black / Black Anthracite / Cool Grey
Black / Black Anthracite / Cool Grey
from StockX
$187.00
20 likes
Obsidian / University Gold / Hyper Violet / Wolf Grey
Obsidian / University Gold / Hyper Violet / Wolf Grey
from StockX
$224.00
17 likes
Navy / Multi-Color
Navy / Multi-Color
from StockX
$229.00
16 likes
Glacier Grey / Midnight Navy
Glacier Grey / Midnight Navy
from StockX
$247.00
28 likes
Black / University Gold / Wolf Grey
Black / University Gold / Wolf Grey
from StockX
$250.00
16 likes
University Red / White / Black
University Red / White / Black
from StockX
$280.00
29 likes
Black / Light Bone / Light Aqua
Black / Light Bone / Light Aqua
from StockX
$299.00
14 likes
Game Royal / Black / White
Game Royal / Black / White
from StockX
$300.00
23 likes
Wolf Grey / Wolf Grey / Cool Grey / Gum
Wolf Grey / Wolf Grey / Cool Grey / Gum
from StockX
$308.00
22 likes
Black / White / Hyper Turquoise
Black / White / Hyper Turquoise
from StockX
$311.00
22 likes
White / Black / Ice Blue
White / Black / Ice Blue
from StockX
$336.00
39 likes
Black / Deep Royal Blue / Photo Blue / Blue Fury / Hyper Violet
Black / Deep Royal Blue / Photo Blue / Blue Fury / Hyper Violet
from StockX
$390.00
28 likes
Neon Volt / White
Neon Volt / White
from StockX
$450.00
23 likes
Ivory / Oatmeal Gum / Light Brown / Vivid Sky
Ivory / Oatmeal Gum / Light Brown / Vivid Sky
from StockX
$500.00
19 likes
Bright Violet / Black / White / Total Orange
Bright Violet / Black / White / Total Orange
from StockX
$500.00
13 likes
Pure Platinum / Wolf Grey / University Gold
Pure Platinum / Wolf Grey / University Gold
No stores found

Nike PG1 Review

Pros:
material quality
only $110
Cons:
bootie design
durability of insole

Performance of the Nike PG1:

The first release in Paul George's signature line gets great reviews overall. All critics praise the very low list price of only $110. Other highlights are the excellent fit and high-quality materials. Great shoe for guards with regular or narrow feet. However, big guys with wide feet and a need for a lot of impact protection will probably not be happy with the Nike PG1.
See all 10 reviews

Expert Reviews of the Nike PG1:

Expert Rating: 8.6 (ranks #77 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
9.5
At $110 these are by far the best value performance basketball shoes available right now.
 More details
The Nike PG 1 features a consistent traction experience that holds up on a wide variety of court conditions as well as a decent cushion setup that favors quick, low to the ground players. At $110, it’s worth a shot right?
 More details
8.7
January 1, 2017
Overall I thought that shoe performed great! It's my go-to shoe right now and I will be hooping in them for a while!
 More details
8.6
December 27, 2017
For $110, I can absolutely recommend these shoes.
 More details
The PG1 performs on a level that far exceeds its relatively low price tag. Its cushioning and stability are top-notch, making it my favorite Nike of the season at any price.
 More details
I will say that the Nike PG1 is very good if you’re looking for a shoe that feels like an extension of your foot without breaking the bank.
 More details
The PG1 is a wonderful shoe to play in, as long as you don’t have wide feet and you can get your foot into the shoe. For a first signature model and it’s $110 price point, I think the shoe is fantastic.
 More details
8.4
January 1, 2017
I really like to play in the Nike PG1. Cushion and fit are nice and the traction gets good after breaking them in. At $110 they are a real steal!
 More details
8.3
January 1, 2017
For only $110 it is a very, very good performance basketball sneaker. You won't worry about sliding around, slipping on the floor, or the lockdown of the shoe. A
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Overall, the PG1 is a great start to a new signature shoe, far better than the Kyrie 1 in my opinion. Cushioning isn’t the best or very fun but it works fine while the rest of the shoe performs very well.
 More details

User Reviews of the Nike PG1:

User Rating: 8.4 (ranks #135 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.4
January 28, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
January 11, 2022
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
7.8
December 16, 2021
User didn't add a summary.
 More details

Traction of the Nike PG1:

Expert Traction Rating: 8.4 (ranks #117 of 205)
User Traction Rating: 9.0 (ranks #91 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
These shoes grip to the floor really well.
 More details
It isn’t quite elite, but the PG 1’s traction is just below that top tier thanks to its consistent performance on multiple surfaces.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
The traction of the PG1 held it's own and the translucent rubber sole didn't cause me any problems.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The traction bites really hard and I didn't have to wipe a lot.
 More details
From my first run in the PG1, I had secure footing and was making confident movements with minimal swiping.
 More details
The good news is that the pattern here really helps the rubber compound out and dust doesn’t stick to the pattern much.
 More details
The solid rubber outsole and traction worked above average
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
I was very disappointed at first, but after a while they broke in and got really good. Dust is a problem.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The traction is the best aspect of the shoe.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
Traction on the PG1 is on par with the Mamba Instinct, Kobe AD which is pretty damn good. Well done Nike!
 More details

Cushion of the Nike PG1:

Expert Cushion Rating: 8.0 (ranks #154 of 205)
User Cushion Rating: 7.7 (ranks #139 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
4
8 - Good
2
7 - Average
5
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
9.0
The cushioning of the forefoot zoom is by far my favorite part of this shoe because it is responsive like hell.
 More details
Can you find better value at $110? Probably, but for a signature model, it doesn’t get much better than this.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Forefoot zoom might be not enough cushion for some. But for me, this is a healthy balance between Kyrie 3 and Lebron 14. I really can't ask for much more!
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
I like the Zoom unit in the forefoot. Gives you a good blend of responsiveness and impact protection.
 More details
The PG1 doesn’t introduce any groundbreaking cushioning, but it incorporates the best use of standard Zoom Air in recent memory.
 More details
Some may feel the setup is a bit lackluster if they’re expecting an abundant amount of cushion, but if you are more into court feel then this will prove to be a worthy setup.
 More details
Forefoot Zoom, soft Phylon midsole, responsive court feel — that combination is definitely a setup worth taking a second look at.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
A little bit of cushion in the front, the heel is pretty much dead. Very responsive feel.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
Impact protection is just not excellent.
 More details
7.0
January 1, 2017
At $110, I didn’t expect much in terms of Zoom and it feels decent overall but feels just like a budget Nike shoe set up to me.
 More details

Materials of the Nike PG1:

Expert Materials Rating: 8.9 (ranks #44 of 205)
User Materials Rating: 8.7 (ranks #68 of 205)
10 - Amazing
3
9 - Great
2
8 - Good
5
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
The materials are really nice and feel soft and flexible.
 More details
The inner-bootie construction uses an extremely soft mesh/neoprene material that just feels too luxurious to be valued at $110.
 More details
8.0
December 27, 2017
Materials are on the budget side but get the job done
 More details
This is one of the best material options we’ve had from Nike Basketball in a long time.
 More details
10.0
The materials here are absolutely the star of the show.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
For a budget model the materials are really good.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
It’s a nice blend of old and new school materials that really gives the feel of a much more expensive shoe.
 More details

Support of the Nike PG1:

Expert Support Rating: 8.4 (ranks #120 of 205)
User Support Rating: 9.3 (ranks #25 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
7
8 - Good
3
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0
8.0
Support and lockdown are excellent. The forefoot strap really locks your feet in.
 More details
User didn't add a summary.
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The strap provides great forefoot lockdown and there was zero heel slippage.
 More details
Lockdown was secure in all directions. Stability inspired confidence yet still allowed for optimal range of motion.
 More details
Gives you the feeling that you’re not just wearing a shoe, but that the shoe is part of you.
 More details
Wonderful lockdown, solid traction, responsive ride — I’d say it’s pretty supportive, especially for a first signature model that is a low-top.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Heel feels a bit loose because of the bootie design.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The lockdown is really good thanks to the forefoot strap.
 More details
8.0
January 1, 2017
No issues with the support at all. Stability is fantastic on the PG1 thanks to a large forefoot outrigger and flat outsole.
 More details

Fit of the Nike PG1:

Expert Fit Rating: 8.6 (ranks #70 of 205)
User Fit Rating: 7.3 (ranks #166 of 205)
10 - Amazing
0
9 - Great
6
8 - Good
4
7 - Average
1
6 - Subpar
1
5 - Poor
0
8.0
A little snug and a little tight but the fit felt really nice.
 More details
The PG 1 provides a close one-to-one fit that stays with your foot during every cut, drive, jab and stop.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
The overall fit was the best feature of this shoe. After a break in period the feel crazy good!
 More details
9.0
December 27, 2017
The one-bootie construction was a nice fit for my feet.
 More details
I ultimately found the fit to be great. But the method in which its achieved isn’t ideal from an ease-of-use or comfort standpoint.
 More details
Lockdown is incredible. The midfoot feels perfectly secure and there are only four lace loops.
 More details
Even 1/2 size up, the PG1 required some break-in time due to the snugness.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
Fit is pretty good.
 More details
9.0
January 1, 2017
To me, the fit is the highlight of the shoe.
 More details

Durability of the Nike PG1:

User Durability Rating: 9.5 (ranks #24 of 205)
10 - Amazing
1
9 - Great
1
8 - Good
0
7 - Average
0
6 - Subpar
0
5 - Poor
0

Outdoor of the Nike PG1:

Expert Outdoor Rating: 0.0 (ranks #193 of 205)
User Outdoor Rating: NA 
Good (100%)
0
Fair (50%)
0
Bad (0%)
4
I wouldn’t recommend the PG 1 for outdoor use because the outsole will probably wear down quickly.
 More details
Outdoors the durability might not last as long due to the thin nodules.
 More details
no
January 1, 2017
The rubber is really soft so outdoor use is not recommended
 More details
no
January 1, 2017
Forefoot upper might get beat up outdoors since it is mesh.
 More details

Width of the Nike PG1:

very narrow
1
slightly narrow
10
regular
1
slightly wide
0
very wide
1
slightly narrow
It's really hard for athletes with wide feet to get into the shoe.
 More details
slightly narrow
Wide-footers beware because you’re going to have to go up half a size.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Wide footers: you need to try them on first!
 More details
slightly narrow
December 27, 2017
The PG1 runs fairly narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
The shoe is very tight, even before lacing up.
 More details
slightly narrow
They are very snug — just the way I like it
 More details
very narrow
The shoe is hella narrow and fits super snug
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
Pretty snug, you could go half a size up if you have wide feet.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
The fit is really narrow.
 More details
slightly narrow
January 1, 2017
The thick sockliner probably contributes to the tighter than normal fit of the PG1.
 More details

Size of the Nike PG1:

very small
1
slightly small
1
true to size
7
slightly long
1
very long
1
true to size
I went true to size and had no problems.
 More details
true to size
In my case going up half a size wouldn’t have been the best choice.
 More details
true to size
December 27, 2017
Runs true to size.
 More details
true to size
The PG1 runs true to size
 More details
true to size
The PG1 fits true to size
 More details
runs small
Fit was like a glove, a size too small.
 More details
true to size
January 1, 2017
Runs true to size.
 More details
½ size small
January 1, 2017
I opted for half size up and all was better though
 More details

Share this article:

Sharing is caring: